Cubacan

3.8
503 Reviews
$30 and under
Latin / Spanish
Cubacan Restaurant & Bar offers lunch, dinner, and drinks overlooking the Asbury Park, New Jersey Boardwalk and the Atlantic Ocean. If the ocean view provides the inspiration, guests can try the sea bass dish branzino a la planxa. Those more inclined to turf rather than surf may enjoy Cubacan's pernil asado, a traditional Cuban pork roast, or the ropa vieja, which is a braised beef dish.

Cubacan Restaurant & Bar also serves a variety of mojito cocktails and has an extensive wine list for those who want kick back, relax and watch the waves roll in.

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
  • Sealed or wrapped utensils used
Physical Distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Protective Equipment
  • Waitstaff wear masks
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
What 503 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.8based on recent ratings
3.8
food
3.7
service
3.9
ambience
3.5
value
Noise · Moderate
68% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
MP
MaryP
1 review
Dined on December 12, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great restaurant, food was awesome! Hope to be able to go back soon.

DC
DinoC
Philadelphia
1 review
Dined on December 4, 2020
Overall2food1service4ambience3

I was very disappointed with our visit to Cubacon. The food was served cold and had no flavor at all. The pumpkin martini my wife ordered was horrific and I believe the pumpkin creme liquor they used was curdled. We will not be back.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Philadelphia
2 reviews
Dined on November 28, 2020
Overall2food2service3ambience5

Food was overpriced for the amount given but tasted good. Drinks were okay but overpriced and not worth the money. Service was good and the waiter was attentive.

CA
ChristineA
Philadelphia
9 reviews
Dined on November 27, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Always love it there. Fantastic food and drinks. I do wish they would bring back the Latin Croquettes though. My favorite is the corn esquites and the pineapple mojitos.

FC
FoodiesChoice
Mexico City
1 review
Dined on November 8, 2020
Overall2food3service1ambience1

Muy mal servicio.
Ir con tiempo pues la comida tarda mucho en estar lista.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
1 review
Dined on November 8, 2020
Overall1food1service1ambience2

The service was absolutely horrible!! We ordered 2 drinks (1 beer 1 mojito) we also ordered 2 apps, the apps came out about 20 mins later, had to ask for our drinks, we were done with the apps and still no drinks. Finally asked a different waiter if he can check on them. They came out about 30 mins after ordering them.. Warm and watered down. We ordered our food, asked for a beer and the house wine, food came out and no drinks... Half way done with our food and still no drinks, waived the manager over asked for out drinks he came right out with them. No apology or anything.. The food was just ok; I have been to plenty of Cuban restaurants and this is definitely on the bottom of my list, sad because I was really disappointed, I wanted to really like this place..

JD
JackieD
1 review
Dined on November 7, 2020
Overall1food1service1ambience1

Bland food, small portions for high prices, and service was inattentive. Won’t be going back.

e
vipeatoutoften
New York Area
17 reviews
Dined on November 7, 2020
Overall1food1service1ambience3

the service was very slow. it was a warm not so there was a lot of outside dining and inside and there wasn’t enough staff. we had to wait a half an hour before we got a drink. the food was not that good . the menu on the computer was not what was at the resterant. they said they had just changed the menu. we had to ask to for our check

OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
1 review
Dined on November 7, 2020
Overall1food4service1ambience3

Had to go up to the bar to grab my own drinks after 30minutes of waiting because a waiter never came to even give us water. As well had to get up to talk to a manager to get our orders even taken and have a waiter come to our table.

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
New York Area
1 review
Dined on November 7, 2020
Overall1food1service1ambience1

Terrible food and service. We haven’t been here for three years because of poor service last time. Unfortunately we had similar experience. Poor service, and mediocre food at best.

BF
BenitoF
New York Area
1 review
Dined on November 6, 2020
Overall2food2service2ambience3

Food quality has gone south, it’s not what it once was. Don’t think we will go again.
Very disappointed and sad. And I’m not that hard to please.

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
New York Area
1 review
Dined on October 24, 2020
Overall4food4service2ambience5

Service was slow but food was good. The portions were small for the price.

c
cblin
New York Area
3 reviews
Dined on October 24, 2020
Overall1food4service1ambience1

Very poor service. Long waits for drinks, food, table to be cleared. No consistency in bar drinks and taste of drinks were terrible. Server was abrupt and did not want to answer questions about menu. Restaurant was dirty and not so busy to justify the wait times. First and last time I'll go.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on October 21, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience3

Great food and service!

MD
MDye
1 review
Dined on October 17, 2020
Overall3food4service2ambience3

I wish there were more vegan options and that the black bean soup didn’t have chorizo in it.

v
vacationingfun
London
7 reviews
Dined on October 15, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Immediate family get together night out

OA
vipOutstandingAsUsual
New York Area
20 reviews
Dined on October 14, 2020
Overall3food3service3ambience4

Our hostess was wearing fuzzy slippers and not dressed appropriately for an up scale type of restaurant. It appeared as though she was wearing pajamas. The table and chair/ bench had crumbs when we were seated. Nobody attempted to wipe them down. This spoiled our overall impression of the great decor and location.
Our order was not entered correctly. We did not receive the correct food and had to wait for one item for a while. With restaurants battling for business and it being a mid-week dinner this restaurant should have been up to par. This is sad because the location is excellent and the decor is lovely.

N
Nicole
New York Area
7 reviews
Dined on October 10, 2020
Overall3food5service1ambience5

The food was excellent. How ever the service was lacking. They had to many hostesses and having entry in the front and back seems to be a problem so you may have to wait even with a reservation. We were out side right by the board walk entrance. The hostess would habitually stand right on our table with her but right on our face while we dined. Our waitress was pleasant but it took us ten minutes to get menus we had to ask the hostess for. It took 20 minutes for the waitress to show up to take our orders. Once she took our order and brought our drinks, we never saw her again until we were done. So we were not even able to get a water refill through the meal. We drove an hour to get there so while the food was very good the restaurant seemed disorganized and maybe our server had to many tables not sure about that. Maybe we would give it a second try but unlikely.

AH
AngieH
New York Area
1 review
Dined on October 10, 2020
Overall1food1service1ambience3

The service was very slow, we were ready to order, waited 20 mins. and had to get the waitresses attn to let her know we were ready to order. We arrived at 7pm and didn't get our food till 8. She never checked to see if there was anything else we needed or a drink re-fill. I'm Latin and was craving lechon asado, ordered it but was not what I got. Instead I was served what looked like sliced pork loin smothered in peppers, onions and oil to camouflage it so I wouldn't notice. I did! We had to order bread (pan) for $5. No bread, no salad came with our meals.

Small portions, slow service, fake Cuban. Will not go back!

g
grandanse
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined on October 10, 2020
Overall3food3service4ambience4

Nice location on boardwalk and good Cuban dishes.

SJ
SusannaJ
New York Area
1 review
Dined on October 10, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing food and great service!!! Will definitely return

Cubacan
Responded on October 15, 2020

Hi Susanna, thank you for sharing your wonderful review with us! We appreciate your feedback and recommendation. Thank you again, we look forward to your next visit with us. -Cubacan Management

Report
SF
vipSandraF
New York Area
8 reviews
Dined on October 6, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food was excellent. We sampled three entrees and all were excellent. Will return!

CD
CornellD
New York Area
1 review
Dined on October 4, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

My 1st going last year on the 4th of July was not good at all but this time everything was GOOD the food, service and the drinks ALL ON POINT

OT
OpenTable Diner
Philadelphia
4 reviews
Dined on October 3, 2020
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Great food and atmosphere. Had dinner outside and really enjoyed the full moon..

Cubacan
Responded on October 13, 2020

Hi, thank you for sharing your review! We are so glad you enjoyed and we look forward to your next visit with us! -Cubacan Management

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
New England
1 review
Dined on October 3, 2020
Overall4food5service4ambience4

They could use outdoor heaters for outdoor dining

n
vipnatashae
New York Area
30 reviews
Dined on October 1, 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Service was great. Michelle went out her way to correct our crooked table. We sat outside, it was a beautiful night and the moon was orange for a while. Sangria was good, white so it wasn’t strong. The food was great, just some pieces were a little on the cooler side, not as hot. I had Branzino and my green beans were on the cooler side. The bread was awesome as usual. Wish they had more dessert options although I’m normally too stuffed to eat. We had the Apple empanada with icecream. It was okay. I’ve never really had any complaints when I dine here, that’s why I return.

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
New York Area
8 reviews
Dined on September 26, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

This was my first time going out to dinner since February. The restaurant was fantastic. I am definitely going to be coming back. My date and I share the grilled octopus salad. It was awesome!!! I had the skirt steak for dinner. It was cooked to the requested temperature and tasted fantastic. I recommend this restaurant to everyone.

JM
vipJanineM
Baltimore
1 review
Dined on September 26, 2020
Overall3food3service2ambience2

My family and I were uncomfortable as we were sitting at our table watching some staff members not wearing their mask properly. The tables were also not 6 feet or more in distance for one another . I would also like to add that the hostess that sat us was not very pleasant.

CC
vipColleenC
Philadelphia
18 reviews
Dined on September 25, 2020
Overall4food4service3ambience5

Wedding Anniversary

OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
1 review
Dined on September 23, 2020
Overall5food5service4ambience5

It was a good experience

LV
vipLalyV
New York Area
4 reviews
Dined on September 19, 2020
Overall5food5service3ambience5

Great food!

JM
JustinM
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on September 12, 2020
Overall3food3service3ambience3

Loud music, food got cold sitting outside on the runners tray, and food was over-priced.
The food was good, but just average for the price.
Service was lackluster and not very attentive.
Most likely would not push to attend again.

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
New York Area
14 reviews
Dined on September 7, 2020
Overall2food3service1ambience5

Food was ice cold but still tasted good. I blame COvid protocols!

SC
SamanthaC
1 review
Dined on September 7, 2020
Overall2food2service1ambience4

Staff was a bit rude. Felt like we were inconveniencing her. Food was way over priced. Ceviche was everything but fish would not recommend. Over all with food and staff I would not go here again.

Cubacan
Responded on September 10, 2020

Hi Samantha, thank you for taking the time to share your honest review with us. We apologize for the lackluster overall experience you had during this visit. We are striving for improvement so your feedback can only make us better. We will look into the issues you had mentioned and correct this. We hope you decide to give us another chance. Thank you again.

Report
C
Candice
New York Area
4 reviews
Dined on September 7, 2020
Overall1food2service1ambience2

Came here for dinner yesterday and was greeted by a lady who asked us to wait aside as she gets our table ready. We watched her turn away 3 other group of people since they didn't have reservations. My husband asked her if our table was ready and she forgot to tell someone to clean up our table so she ended up cleaning herself. She had her mask down her nose btw.

As we sat on the table. It was a crazy mess. Two people tried to put water on our table that was shaking so we asked them to put something to keep the table steady and he did. Then a woman kept coming to our table saying she will take our order. She came by twice then a man with blonde hair came to take our order. What a mess. Then we got our orders and it arrived in a timely manner. I got the shrimp garlic with rice and beans. I was not impressed. It was in the bland side and not worth what I paid for. My husband beef dish was bland aswell and he asked the waiter for some salt and hot sauce. He never came to say the least. Then we saw people next to us where getting bread and was disappointed that they never gave us any. It must've the whole confusion that two waiters was trying to get our order. Anyways in the end we asked the waiter 3 times until he finally brought us the check. I had to walk inside and ask him to bring it out as we had to leave. He looked very dazed. Not sure if he was just tired or high on something as his blond hair was over his eyes. Overall a very unpleasant meal for such a high priced place.

CH
CynthiaH
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined on September 6, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Love the food here - and the drinks are great too. Table was ready when expected - and service was great.

Cubacan
Responded on September 10, 2020

Hi Cynthia, thank you for taking the time to share your awesome review with us. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon. Thank you!

Report
JD
JerseyDon
New York Area
8 reviews
Dined on September 5, 2020
Overall2food2service3ambience3

Dry Ropa Vieja. Pork and Patatas Bravos were ok. The food was overall somewhat disappointing and this being my second visit, I probably won't return. Seated in the outdoor dining area on the boardwalk. Main appeal was the view of the ocean.

OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
5 reviews
Dined on September 5, 2020
Overall4food5service5ambience4

We had a nice evening with good food and good service. We were seated on time and served our food and beverages in a timely fashion. The wait staff are friendly and very helpful in explaining the menu. The outdoor seating is adequate and does meet social distancing guidelines however we had a very wobbly table which becomes annoying quickly.

MN
vipMikeN
Seattle
16 reviews
Dined on September 4, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience5

Food and service were great, per usual. Hostess a little confused about COVID-19 seating requirements and tried to seat people at tables right next to us until we let her know that she couldn’t do that. It was the first night of indoor dining, but still that should’ve been something she was informed about. Everything else excellent.

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
New York Area
9 reviews
Dined on September 4, 2020
Overall3food3service2ambience2

Food was ok. Service was ok.

FAQs

Cubacan offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (732) 774-3007.

Cubacan is rated 3.8 stars by 503 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.

Tweets by Cubacan