This restaurant added safety precaution details

This includes info about cleaning, sanitizing, social distancing, and usage of personal protective equipment. Learn more.

Cubacan

3.9
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
490 Reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Latin / Spanish
Cubacan Restaurant & Bar offers lunch, dinner, and drinks overlooking the Asbury Park, New Jersey Boardwalk and the Atlantic Ocean. If the ocean view provides the inspiration, guests can try the sea bass dish branzino a la planxa. Those more inclined to turf rather than surf may enjoy Cubacan's pernil asado, a traditional Cuban pork roast, or the ropa vieja, which is a braised beef dish.

Cubacan Restaurant & Bar also serves a variety of mojito cocktails and has an extensive wine list for those who want kick back, relax and watch the waves roll in.

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
  • Sealed or wrapped utensils used
Social Distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
Personal Protective Equipment
  • Waitstaff wear masks
What 490 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.9based on recent ratings
3.9
food
3.8
service
4.1
ambience
3.6
value
Noise · Moderate
77% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
New York Area
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall4food4service2ambience5

Service was slow but food was good. The portions were small for the price.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience3

Great food and service!

MD
MDye
1 review
Dined on October 17, 2020
Overall3food4service2ambience3

I wish there were more vegan options and that the black bean soup didn’t have chorizo in it.

v
vacationingfun
London
7 reviews
Dined on October 15, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Immediate family get together night out

OA
vipOutstandingAsUsual
New York Area
20 reviews
Dined on October 14, 2020
Overall3food3service3ambience4

Our hostess was wearing fuzzy slippers and not dressed appropriately for an up scale type of restaurant. It appeared as though she was wearing pajamas. The table and chair/ bench had crumbs when we were seated. Nobody attempted to wipe them down. This spoiled our overall impression of the great decor and location.
Our order was not entered correctly. We did not receive the correct food and had to wait for one item for a while. With restaurants battling for business and it being a mid-week dinner this restaurant should have been up to par. This is sad because the location is excellent and the decor is lovely.

N
Nicole
New York Area
6 reviews
Dined on October 10, 2020
Overall3food5service1ambience5

The food was excellent. How ever the service was lacking. They had to many hostesses and having entry in the front and back seems to be a problem so you may have to wait even with a reservation. We were out side right by the board walk entrance. The hostess would habitually stand right on our table with her but right on our face while we dined. Our waitress was pleasant but it took us ten minutes to get menus we had to ask the hostess for. It took 20 minutes for the waitress to show up to take our orders. Once she took our order and brought our drinks, we never saw her again until we were done. So we were not even able to get a water refill through the meal. We drove an hour to get there so while the food was very good the restaurant seemed disorganized and maybe our server had to many tables not sure about that. Maybe we would give it a second try but unlikely.

AH
AngieH
New York Area
1 review
Dined on October 10, 2020
Overall1food1service1ambience3

The service was very slow, we were ready to order, waited 20 mins. and had to get the waitresses attn to let her know we were ready to order. We arrived at 7pm and didn't get our food till 8. She never checked to see if there was anything else we needed or a drink re-fill. I'm Latin and was craving lechon asado, ordered it but was not what I got. Instead I was served what looked like sliced pork loin smothered in peppers, onions and oil to camouflage it so I wouldn't notice. I did! We had to order bread (pan) for $5. No bread, no salad came with our meals.

Small portions, slow service, fake Cuban. Will not go back!

g
grandanse
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined on October 10, 2020
Overall3food3service4ambience4

Nice location on boardwalk and good Cuban dishes.

SJ
SusannaJ
New York Area
1 review
Dined on October 10, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing food and great service!!! Will definitely return

Cubacan
Responded on October 15, 2020

Hi Susanna, thank you for sharing your wonderful review with us! We appreciate your feedback and recommendation. Thank you again, we look forward to your next visit with us. -Cubacan Management

Report
SF
vipSandraF
New York Area
8 reviews
Dined on October 6, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food was excellent. We sampled three entrees and all were excellent. Will return!

CD
CornellD
1 review
Dined on October 4, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

My 1st going last year on the 4th of July was not good at all but this time everything was GOOD the food, service and the drinks ALL ON POINT

OT
OpenTable Diner
Philadelphia
1 review
Dined on October 3, 2020
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Great food and atmosphere. Had dinner outside and really enjoyed the full moon..

Cubacan
Responded on October 13, 2020

Hi, thank you for sharing your review! We are so glad you enjoyed and we look forward to your next visit with us! -Cubacan Management

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
New England
1 review
Dined on October 3, 2020
Overall4food5service4ambience4

They could use outdoor heaters for outdoor dining

n
vipnatashae
New York Area
27 reviews
Dined on October 1, 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Service was great. Michelle went out her way to correct our crooked table. We sat outside, it was a beautiful night and the moon was orange for a while. Sangria was good, white so it wasn’t strong. The food was great, just some pieces were a little on the cooler side, not as hot. I had Branzino and my green beans were on the cooler side. The bread was awesome as usual. Wish they had more dessert options although I’m normally too stuffed to eat. We had the Apple empanada with icecream. It was okay. I’ve never really had any complaints when I dine here, that’s why I return.

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
New York Area
8 reviews
Dined on September 26, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

This was my first time going out to dinner since February. The restaurant was fantastic. I am definitely going to be coming back. My date and I share the grilled octopus salad. It was awesome!!! I had the skirt steak for dinner. It was cooked to the requested temperature and tasted fantastic. I recommend this restaurant to everyone.

JM
JanineM
Baltimore
1 review
Dined on September 26, 2020
Overall3food3service2ambience2

My family and I were uncomfortable as we were sitting at our table watching some staff members not wearing their mask properly. The tables were also not 6 feet or more in distance for one another . I would also like to add that the hostess that sat us was not very pleasant.

CC
vipColleenC
Philadelphia
17 reviews
Dined on September 25, 2020
Overall4food4service3ambience5

Wedding Anniversary

OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
1 review
Dined on September 23, 2020
Overall5food5service4ambience5

It was a good experience

LV
vipLalyV
New York Area
4 reviews
Dined on September 19, 2020
Overall5food5service3ambience5

Great food!

JM
JustinM
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on September 12, 2020
Overall3food3service3ambience3

Loud music, food got cold sitting outside on the runners tray, and food was over-priced.
The food was good, but just average for the price.
Service was lackluster and not very attentive.
Most likely would not push to attend again.

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
New York Area
14 reviews
Dined on September 7, 2020
Overall2food3service1ambience5

Food was ice cold but still tasted good. I blame COvid protocols!

SC
SamanthaC
1 review
Dined on September 7, 2020
Overall2food2service1ambience4

Staff was a bit rude. Felt like we were inconveniencing her. Food was way over priced. Ceviche was everything but fish would not recommend. Over all with food and staff I would not go here again.

Cubacan
Responded on September 10, 2020

Hi Samantha, thank you for taking the time to share your honest review with us. We apologize for the lackluster overall experience you had during this visit. We are striving for improvement so your feedback can only make us better. We will look into the issues you had mentioned and correct this. We hope you decide to give us another chance. Thank you again.

Report
C
Candice
New York Area
4 reviews
Dined on September 7, 2020
Overall1food2service1ambience2

Came here for dinner yesterday and was greeted by a lady who asked us to wait aside as she gets our table ready. We watched her turn away 3 other group of people since they didn't have reservations. My husband asked her if our table was ready and she forgot to tell someone to clean up our table so she ended up cleaning herself. She had her mask down her nose btw.

As we sat on the table. It was a crazy mess. Two people tried to put water on our table that was shaking so we asked them to put something to keep the table steady and he did. Then a woman kept coming to our table saying she will take our order. She came by twice then a man with blonde hair came to take our order. What a mess. Then we got our orders and it arrived in a timely manner. I got the shrimp garlic with rice and beans. I was not impressed. It was in the bland side and not worth what I paid for. My husband beef dish was bland aswell and he asked the waiter for some salt and hot sauce. He never came to say the least. Then we saw people next to us where getting bread and was disappointed that they never gave us any. It must've the whole confusion that two waiters was trying to get our order. Anyways in the end we asked the waiter 3 times until he finally brought us the check. I had to walk inside and ask him to bring it out as we had to leave. He looked very dazed. Not sure if he was just tired or high on something as his blond hair was over his eyes. Overall a very unpleasant meal for such a high priced place.

CH
CynthiaH
1 review
Dined on September 6, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Love the food here - and the drinks are great too. Table was ready when expected - and service was great.

Cubacan
Responded on September 10, 2020

Hi Cynthia, thank you for taking the time to share your awesome review with us. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon. Thank you!

Report
JD
JerseyDon
New York Area
8 reviews
Dined on September 5, 2020
Overall2food2service3ambience3

Dry Ropa Vieja. Pork and Patatas Bravos were ok. The food was overall somewhat disappointing and this being my second visit, I probably won't return. Seated in the outdoor dining area on the boardwalk. Main appeal was the view of the ocean.

OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
5 reviews
Dined on September 5, 2020
Overall4food5service5ambience4

We had a nice evening with good food and good service. We were seated on time and served our food and beverages in a timely fashion. The wait staff are friendly and very helpful in explaining the menu. The outdoor seating is adequate and does meet social distancing guidelines however we had a very wobbly table which becomes annoying quickly.

MN
vipMikeN
Seattle
14 reviews
Dined on September 4, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience5

Food and service were great, per usual. Hostess a little confused about COVID-19 seating requirements and tried to seat people at tables right next to us until we let her know that she couldn’t do that. It was the first night of indoor dining, but still that should’ve been something she was informed about. Everything else excellent.

OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
6 reviews
Dined on September 4, 2020
Overall3food3service2ambience2

Food was ok. Service was ok.

JP
JessP
New York Area
3 reviews
Dined on September 4, 2020
Overall2food2service3ambience4

Patatas bravas were covered in cheese wiz/movie theater nacho cheese, which, though not all-together unpleasant, isn't typical and wasn't in the menu description. The wings, which looked crispy from afar, were just dry and stringy on the outside, and their pineapple barbecue sauce was really bland. The empanadas had a nice pastry, but the chicken filling was dry and pretty bland.

I've heard their steak and garlic shrimp are pretty good, but based on this trip, I would never come back to find out.

JB
vipJacquesB
New York Area
8 reviews
Dined on September 4, 2020
Overall2food2service4ambience3

Very overpriced for mediocre food. Excellent setting on the boardwalk and our server was good but overall do not recommend based on food and value.

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
New York Area
9 reviews
Dined on September 1, 2020
Overall2food2service3ambience2

My husband and I were really looking forward to our visit to Cubacan. We’d been hearing about it for years and we expected to thoroughly enjoy ourselves. But it was an enormous letdown. The food was subpar; flavorless, hastily arranged on the plates, and my soup was lukewarm. The staff were friendly-ish, but seemed to not really care about us or any of the other patrons. Our server didn’t smile at us once, answered our questions with one syllable answers and failed to bring us the salt & pepper we asked for repeatedly. I don’t think we even bothered to finish our food. We will never go back again.

g
vipgailm
New York Area
22 reviews
Dined on August 30, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Went with my husband was very good been there before enjoy it always

TG
TatianaG
New York Area
1 review
Dined on August 30, 2020
Overall3food4service1ambience4

Service was VERY unprofessional, need more experienced guys. Food is good!

PP
PattiP
New York Area
28 reviews
Dined on August 27, 2020
Overall3food3service4ambience4

Overpriced, great views. Waitress very good. Hostess very very slow.

h
hkj333
Tampa
3 reviews
Dined on August 26, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

My churrasco was delicious. The bread with mango infused butter absolutely yummy. Our server was lovely. And dining on the boardwalk is always divine. Lovely all around

SC
ScottC
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined on August 25, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Always an excellent experience at Cubacan. I had an amazing Cubano sandwich - the salad it came with was delicious too. My business partner had a salad with salmon...she loved it! Thanks for the great service.

c
cel07
New York Area
3 reviews
Dined on August 23, 2020
Overall3food1service3ambience4

I'm Cuban and I was less than impressed with food. Super oily and meat not cooked well.

GB
GeorgeB
1 review
Dined on August 23, 2020
Overall3food2service4ambience3

I ordered the shrimp and I wasn't impressed, I expected a flavor explosion but was very disappointed especially for 30 bucks.

TL
TLSCOOP
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined on August 21, 2020
Overall2food2service1ambience4

Booked a lunch res for outdoor dining during our Covid world. As I was checking in with hostess, another group took our table so our party of 3 had to sit at a table for 2. Hostess apologetic but not willing to ask them move because it’s ‘hard to control’.

I will not be back during Covid as I did not feel safe. We all had to use the restroom at some point and noticed that most of the staff do not wear masks while inside. So when they come outside to serve the tables - they often forget to put the mask back on. I had to ask our server to put his mask on while serving us and we noticed him - and others - serving without masks on. So concerning - obviously management does not take this seriously.

Service was also terrible - which we forgive on a beautiful lazy summer day. The wrong appetizer came out. Entrees took more than 60 minutes to arrive - some hot, some not and some dried out. Thankfully we had some delicious cocktails.

OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
1 review
Dined on August 20, 2020
Overall2food1service3ambience3

I ordered a seafood dish but it came with two chicken wings and they were almost raw. They apologized and took $10. Off the bill. The entire main course should have come off the bill. I could have gotten very sick. I will not go there again.

FAQs

Cubacan offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (732) 774-3007.

Cubacan is rated 3.9 stars by 490 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.

Tweets by Cubacan