Craft House at Sky Deck

4.3
75 Reviews
$30 and under
American
We have a 15 minute grace period. Please call us if you are running later than 15 minutes after your reservation time.

We may contact you about this reservation, so please ensure your email and phone number are up to date.

Your table will be reserved for 1 hour 30 minutes for parties of up to 2; 2 hours for parties of up to 4; and 2 hours 30 minutes for parties of 5+.

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
Physical Distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Protective Equipment
  • Waitstaff wear masks
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
What 75 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.1
service
4.4
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
j
james
San Diego
10 reviews
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Sunday brunch at Craft in Sky Bar features great entrees and spicy drinks.

I had the hash, and despite the fresh grilled peppers and chilies I had no heart burn. Thank you for fresh ingredients.

The bloody Mary had pretty crown with Olive Jalapeño and celery. Neither my wife nor I were able to determine the secret spice, but we both found it unique and fun.

A cool breeze would blow in at times through the garage door style doors to the deck. The views were of tree tops and quite relaxing.

Our server was a Ucsd grad student from Oklahoma. He was friendly and enthusiastic about the Craft House.

We will be back for more. I may need a few partners to help me tackle the 38 ounce Tomahawk Steak.

OT
OpenTable Diner
San Diego
1 review
Dined on November 27, 2021
Overall4food5service5ambience5

Food and service was good but on the pricey side. Loud music made it difficult to have casual conversation… a little unusual for a sit down restaurant.

MP
vipMaiP
San Diego
2 reviews
Dined on November 26, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience4

First time there , nice environment and server was super nice and friendly

DC
vipDianeC
San Diego
56 reviews
Dined on November 24, 2021
Overall5food5service3ambience5

The service is episodic. You have to flag someone down. Understaffed, but food amazing.

F
vipFdseatyv
San Diego
7 reviews
Dined on November 23, 2021
Overall3food4service4ambience2

The outside area could use come work. It’s very dark and hard to see. Hanging lights and candles would go a long way. The inside is full of greenery but the outside has no character or aesthetic.

The food was good. We had ceviche, octopus, burger, fries, and tomato soup. Some of the food is expensive. The burger is huge. Octopus is amazing.

Cocktails were good and service was too.

LB
LenaB
1 review
Dined on November 18, 2021
Overall2food1service1ambience2

The place is beautiful, but .... it sounded like we were at a bumpin' nightclub, but it was 6pm dinner and i couldn't hear Any conversation at our table. The food was bland and boring. The waiters were working hard, but there just weren't enough of them so the service suffered. And the bill was Way too high for the food and experience. I would never have dinner here again. Just go for drinks and the scenery, you'll be disappointed if you go for more.

K
Kurb
San Diego
4 reviews
Dined on November 17, 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Great location in new Skydeck food hall! Food was all fantastic, we loved the Brussel sprouts, lobster Mac, steak/fries. Side salad was just greens and dressing, they could throw a couple tomatoes or nuts on it and would make world of difference. Drinks were good, great presentation. Servers were friendly, helpful, however they were busy, so took a bit for water, drinks, appetizers, etc. Would highly recommend for dinner with friends!

DC
vipDianeC
San Diego
56 reviews
Dined on November 14, 2021
Overall4food5service1ambience5

Way too loud and poor service. Otherwise food is excellent.

HT
HarryTheHornet
San Diego
3 reviews
Dined on November 13, 2021
Overall3food3service4ambience4

Meh.
Food was OK, (alleged) "string onions" on my burger were more like fossilized onion slices, but the patties was good. Beer selection is very limited.

SB
SonjaB
Atlanta
3 reviews
Dined on November 13, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience5

The atmosphere was great. We got a little confused about where to check in. It took awhile to get our cocktails. The food was good, however they did not get my order correct the first time. I ordered a well done burger and received a rare burger instead. It was our first time there. I would hope they do better if we go a second time.

L
vipLaura
San Diego
2 reviews
Dined on November 12, 2021
Overall4food5service4ambience4

Great food, fun atmosphere. Service was little slow - probably understaffed like everywhere else these days.

GF
GregF
San Diego
2 reviews
Dined on November 10, 2021
Overall4food5service4ambience4

Second time coming here. Food is very good and atmosphere is loud and fun. Wine selection is a bit limited. Prices are about 20% higher than comparables - so not a great value nor a neighborhood “go to” spot.

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Edinburgh
1 review
Dined on November 6, 2021
Overall3food3service4ambience4

Too noisy even outside, uncoordinated/sloppy kitchen execution.

Craft House at Sky Deck
Responded on November 10, 2021

Greetings, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We genuinely appreciate you taking the time to provide us feedback. We have experienced challenges in the post pandemic hiring market finding quality candidates to help execute our menu. I do apologize if your experience was negatively effected. We just wrapped up our first quarter as a new restaurant and are committed to improving. Thank you again for letting us know about your experience. We would love to host you again soon.

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
San Diego
3 reviews
Dined on November 5, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Outdoor seating

Craft House at Sky Deck
Responded on November 10, 2021

Thank you for your stellar review! Glad to hear you enjoyed the patio area. We will be outfitting the patio with additional lighting to add some intimacy to the setting. We hope to host you again soon in the near future. Best regards, David, AGM

Report
DR
DavidR
San Diego
1 review
Dined on November 5, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Everything is great! Could increase portions on some cocktails!

JJ
JeffJ
San Diego
3 reviews
Dined on October 29, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience3

Really loud inside so thankfully we ate outside. Fun atmosphere and our table was ready at the time reserved.

Craft House at Sky Deck
Responded on November 6, 2021

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to review our restaurant. We hope to serve you again in the near future. Best Regards, David, AGM

Report
B
Brittny
San Diego
1 review
Dined on October 27, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

All the food we ordered was incredible. The flavors and seasonings were on point. I cannot wait to go back!

Craft House at Sky Deck
Responded on October 29, 2021

Good Evening, Love this review. When people are having fun, enjoying their food and the ambiance we know we have done our jobs well. We hope to see you again soon. Best regards, David, AGM

Report
AR
vipAlejandraR
Cancun
12 reviews
Dined on October 27, 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Great food and drinks. Really cool spot to have some drinks. Service was a little slow but no bad after a drink 😉

GC
GloriaC
Los Angeles
1 review
Dined on October 23, 2021
Overall2food4service1ambience4

Service for drinks & food was delayed.
Poor service.
Noise level high- ambience was good.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Los Angeles
1 review
Dined on October 23, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Once we arrived to Sky Deck, the restaurant was inside. The decor/ambiance to this whole place was beautiful. I really enjoyed the vibe. The food was great, the drinks were good, and Brian our server was really on top of things despite them being short staffed. We ordered the grilled octopus, elote, steak frites, and the salmon. Our drinks were the Lavender Lemon Drop and Dead Mans Old Fashion. I would definitely come back again. There was mention of Sunday Brunch that happens here and is something we would want to try as well.

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
San Diego
1 review
Dined on October 22, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

If you don’t enjoy a crowd be sure to ask to sit outside. Really enjoyed the food and drinks.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on October 21, 2021
Overall5food4service4ambience5

It was very loud, way too loud to talk

M
Momocita
San Diego
2 reviews
Dined on October 17, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Good food and service. I would recommend this place for casual dining again.

LF
LinF
Seattle
1 review
Dined on October 15, 2021
Overall3food4service5ambience4

Delicious food and service but the music was way too loud to have any conversation.

Craft House at Sky Deck
Responded on October 17, 2021

Hello LinF, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our restaurant. We are committed to improvement and making sure we provide a great experience to all of our guests. I am sorry that the music impeded your experience we will be sure to be more cognizant of the music levels. Please come visit us again soon. Best regards, David, AGM

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
San Diego
1 review
Dined on October 9, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food is phenomenal. Ambiance is inviting. Always a great time. The smoked old fashion is the best I’ve had in all of San Diego. I’m become a regular. This place never disappoints.

Craft House at Sky Deck
Responded on October 17, 2021

Thank you kindly for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your experience. Hope to host you again soon in the near future. Best regards, David, AGM

Report
SP
vipSusanP
New York Area
11 reviews
Dined on October 9, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

The Craft House is an amazing addition to our area! The food was innovative and delicious… I had the Steak Frites…. Outstanding! Dinner here is a good value, as you can order a pricier entree, or have a lighter dinner; the cocktails are original and fairly priced; the wine has reasonable options, by the glass.
Only possible negative, was the music was too loud, which makes it difficult to converse with other people at the table. They were more than happy to turn it down a bit. I highly recommend this restaurant!

Craft House at Sky Deck
Responded on October 17, 2021

SusanP, What a pleasure it is to read this review. I have shared this review with our staff. We are committed to improvement and want to ensure all of our guests have a wonderful time experiencing our space. We will be more cognizant of the music level going forward. Thank you again for your beaming review. We hope to see you again soon. Best regards, David, AGM

Report
GT
GTH2U
San Diego
14 reviews
Dined on October 8, 2021
Overall3food4service3ambience3

Our outside table wasn’t ready so we ended up with one inside instead. The sound levels were a bit high inside, it was distracting, had to talk over it. We liked our server she was good. Seemed like too many tables per servers. The filet was good cooked perfectly and the short rib mole awesome. I liked that the chef checked on our table.

Craft House at Sky Deck
Responded on October 17, 2021

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. Hope to host you again soon. Best regards, David, AGM

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
1 review
Dined on October 8, 2021
Overall3food4service2ambience4

1.5 hours minimum at a table?! We were scarfing down our food in a hurry before the hostess came to let us know it was time for us to vacate the table since another party has arrived. What?!?!

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
San Diego
9 reviews
Dined on September 30, 2021
Overall2food5service2ambience3

Pros and cons of our experience…
Cons…
-Ordered a glass of wine. Looked like a small pour and was $12. Turns out they have markers on glasses and is not a full pour. In order to get a standard size glass of wine like at any other restaurant I’ve ever been to, you have to order a double. It’s the restaurants choice of course to do things this way but best to let a customer know upfront so they’re not left feeling disappointed. Perhaps when one orders asking do you want a x ox pour or a xx oz pour. Asked to speak to the manager about it and our server told the manager to come by, and he never came by. He was too busy chatting with the hostess and eating.
-Managers/owners sat at table up front on laptops and eating the entire time we were there. One even stood up to leave table, had food in hand that he placed in his mouth as he walked across the restaurant eating and chomping away, while going to get a plate. Super tacky and something you’d see at a bar restaurant in PB.
Pros…
-Food was delish!

Coms ruined it for us and we won’t be coming back anytime soon. This place better step up their game or they will not make it. Plenty of places near by with great service and good food. 10 years in the service industry myself and was shocked by the cons during our experience!

Craft House at Sky Deck
Responded on October 1, 2021

Greetings & Good Afternoon, Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback. I do apologize if our service staff did not meet your expectations. We are amidst training new personnel and if there were any issues I am deeply you had a negative experience. We would like to invite you back for a round of wine on the house including a share plate. Again, thank you for your feedback we would love to make this right. Best Regards, Craft House Mgmt.

Report
JD
JoannaD
1 review
Dined on September 24, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food, great drinks and great service! We would definitely come back again!

Craft House at Sky Deck
Responded on September 28, 2021

JoannaD, Thank you for taking the time to review Craft House. I am very happy to hear that Gabby took great care of you. She is a huge asset to our team and we are lucky to have her aboard. We would love to host you again soon. Thank you again for the fabulous review. Best regards, David, Assistant General Manager

Report
SA
SantiagoA
1 review
Dined on September 22, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great ambient, good music, they were playing J balvin for a long period and I was loving it, the service was great, we got a really friendly Brazilian waiter, decoration is gorgeous, last but not least, the quality of the food, 5 starts!

Craft House at Sky Deck
Responded on September 28, 2021

SantiagoA, Thank you for taking the time to review Craft House. We are thrilled you enjoyed your experience with us, from the ambiance to the food. Glad to hear our service staff did a great job taking care of you. We hope to see you again soon! Best regards, David, Assistant General Manager

Report
J
Joel
San Diego
12 reviews
Dined on September 22, 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience4

Food here is great. Definitely try the braised short ribs in mole. The muscles are awesome.

Craft House at Sky Deck
Responded on September 23, 2021

Joel, Thank you for your feedback. It is a pleasure to see your review. The short ribs are incredible, definitely a staff favorite. We are starting brunch this Sunday. Come by and try some of our new offerings. Thanks again and have an awesome week. Best regards, David, AGM

Report
s
sheilaf
San Diego
1 review
Dined on September 22, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I had an amazing experience at Craft House. We went for my husband’s birthday and this place did not disappoint. We had brussel sprouts, octopus and the best burgers we’re ever had. The lavendar lemon drop cocktail is a must, I had too many to admit. Try this place, you won’t regret it!

AV
vipAquaV
San Diego
184 reviews
Dined on September 19, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Best new restaurant we have tried in a while.
Loved everything.
The Tamarind Painkiller is award winning.
The burgers are out of this world.
Best Brussels on the planet.
Will definitely be back!

Craft House at Sky Deck
Responded on September 23, 2021

AquaV, WOW! What a review. On behalf of the Craft House Sky Deck team we would like to thank you for taking the time to post this awesome review. I am overjoyed to hear we met your expectations and executed a great service for you. Hope to host you again soon! Best regards, David, AGM

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
San Diego
1 review
Dined on September 18, 2021
Overall3food5service2ambience3

We arrived on time for our reservation and when we checked in, we were informed by the hostess that there was no table available for us. Apparently they had a glitch in their system that caused them to overbook their tables for 5 that evening. They had told us they could move us up to the waitlist to get our own table but that would be a 1.5 hour wait, which was disappointing as I had made the reservation a week in advance. The other option was to sit at the other end of a larger table, which already had a party seated there. We decided to do that instead of wait 1.5 hours. The hostess had seated us at the end of that table and there weren’t enough actual chairs for the 5 of us so one of us had to go back to the front and have a chair brought to the table. I thought the situation was poorly handled. It seemed as if the two hostesses had no experience and poor communication skills. Then I received an email later that evening stating that the restaurant said I never made it to my reservation, which I found very odd and rude as we definitely made it on time. Not only did we make it on time for our reservation but the restaurant didn’t have a table for us and then they had the audacity to mark that we did not show up was what I found to be very rude.

Aside from the poorly managed check in and that follow up email, the rest of the experience at the restaurant wasn’t too bad. The food tasted great, but we had to wait quite a while for the food.

Craft House at Sky Deck
Responded on September 23, 2021

Thank you for leaving your review. First and foremost, I want to sincerely apologize for any issues you faced at check-in. There are no excuses for poorly receiving our guests. It is our priority to ensure you have a wonderful visit with us and I apologize if we fell short. We certainly have a younger host team behind the podium many of which it is their first job. In light of issue, I would like to invite you back to give us another try. Please let me know if you care to join! David, AGM

Report
S
Susan
San Diego
7 reviews
Dined on September 18, 2021
Overall3food3service2ambience2

We were happy to have an outside table but no real ambiance. Lighting after dark was poor. Sad kitchen ran out of brussel sprouts. Servers could have been more attentive and communicative. Menu by QR code was difficult to see, maybe paper menu for table to share would be helpful. Would like to see more options for entrees on menu

JN
vipJohnNSanDiego
San Diego
38 reviews
Dined on September 18, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience3

I walked out of this place. I won’t be back. I’ve only done that one other time in my life at a restaurant. Unfortunately, I didn’t look at the reviews ahead of time to see that this is common here.

We sat there at an outdoor patio table for 25 minutes before we were finally able to get someone to come to the table. Not our server, but he reluctantly responded. That drink order we placed came at 45 minutes in but was incorrect. The correct order never came. The staff were not that busy, if they were, we would understand. The staff just had no interest in caring, as many walked by multiple times and looked right at our empty table. An hour in, we gave up and walked out.

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
San Diego
5 reviews
Dined on September 17, 2021
Overall4food4service1ambience2

Food was a bit salty. Drinks took forever!! So much so that I was hoping for one to be comped, but they didn't do anything. It was super loud so hard to have a conversation. Might go back

OT
OpenTable Diner
San Diego
1 review
Dined on September 17, 2021
Overall3food3service4ambience5

The ambiance is was amazing.

S
Sara
San Diego
3 reviews
Dined on September 15, 2021
Overall3food3service4ambience5

Food was ok - prices are high for what you get. Loved the cheddar jalapeño rolls, but would have loved them more if they were included. I get that places need to make up for Covid losses but still burns me a little to pay anything (let alone $2/small roll) for bread at a med/high priced restaurant. Got the grilled corn which my husband loved and I liked. We also shared the steak frites. Asked for it cooked medium well, came out closer to medium and was an ok steak. Fries and mixed greens that it came with were great. I don’t get why this place is called “craft house” - I assumed it was a reference to craft beer but they only had maybe 5 beer options so it’s not that. There are heaters outside, but if you sit at the table on the south end you won’t get any heat (no biggie for us but just something to consider). Inside was nice ambiance. Don’t think they have dessert as we weren’t offered any. Did love that they have “pay at the table”, as it was very efficient. Our server started out a bit cold but warmed up to us. I’d eat here again if someone else wanted to go but it wouldn’t be at the top of my list.

FAQs

Craft House at Sky Deck offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (858) 925-7067.

Craft House at Sky Deck is rated 4.3 stars by 75 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.