Coastal Provisions

4.5
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
135 Reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Southern
Coastal Provisions offers upscale yet resort casual dining to the Charleston area public and resort guests. Menus change seasonally, allowing us to capture the freshest ingredients of the moment. Proud partner of the South Carolina Aquarium's Good Catch program supporting local, sustainable seafood choices.
What 135 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.7
service
4.6
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
OT
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Food and service is excellent! Attractive surroundings; comfortable bar area for drinks and dinner as a more casual alternative to the main dining room. Quiet main dining room,with a slightly noisier bar area, as would be expected.

o
New York Area
1 review
Dined on December 31, 2019
Overall4food5service5ambience4

We had New Year's Eve diner with the folks at Coastal Provisions and the Chef out did themselves with a fresh menu and a balanced selections of delightful parings. The staff was attentive and well informed making for a very enjoyable culinary experience...

Coastal Provisions
Responded on January 5, 2020

Thank you so much for choosing to celebrate the new year with us! We're glad you enjoyed our pre-fix menu, as we only do so for our last service of each year! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others online through your review! Cheers to 2020 and serving you again soon

Report
LJ
Charleston
59 reviews
Dined on December 30, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

For a resort restaurant, this one is quite extraordinary. Great service, wonderful menu, expertly prepared. Bravo.

Coastal Provisions
Responded on January 5, 2020

Wow, LobstaJohnson, thank you so much for your kind words! We're pleased you decided to join us and we look forward to your return! We take great pride in our work and always appreciate sharing it with you all

Report
s
Charleston
1 review
Dined on December 28, 2019
Overall4food5service4ambience3

Had two dinners and a breakfast here during a weekend stay at Wild Dunes. Food was excellent, though menu was limited. While our food was delicious and reasonably priced, I steered away from the outrageously overpriced options. Service was friendly and efficient for the most part. Unfortunately, we had a loud talker next to us one night and three tables of unruly children next to us the second night, which definitely impaired the dining experience and conversation. Doubt I’ll ever go back to this “resort” but if I do, I will definitely eat at Coastal Provisions again.

VC
New York Area
4 reviews
Dined on December 25, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We dined at Coastal Provisions on Christmas evening and we were very impressed. Our waitress was very friendly and did a wonderful job giving us enough time to make our choices but not so much time that we felt neglected. The she crab soup was wonderful with the most delicious bit of crusty, buttery toast,,, I wanted more of that. Our entrees were the short rib which was flavorful and tender with a great accompaniment of vegetables and the ribeye steak was also cooked perfectly.

Coastal Provisions
Responded on January 5, 2020

Wow, thank you, VickieC! I'm so glad you enjoyed your holiday with us and had such a great time with your party. The short rib and our steaks are a rich treat! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review and we look forward to your return.

Report
L
Charleston
5 reviews
Dined on December 25, 2019
Overall5food4service5ambience5

The food and service was great. We were looking for a low key Christmas lunch and this was it. Definitely will be back.

Coastal Provisions
Responded on December 28, 2019

Thank you so much for the kind review, Lyndacot! We are so grateful you chose to spend some time with our team this Christmas! Safe travels and cheers to 2020!

Report
OT
Charleston
1 review
Dined on December 24, 2019
Overall4food4service4ambience5

Christmas dinner with our 4 boys. Beautiful setting. Food was very flavorful. A little expensive for what we received.

CP
Pittsburgh
1 review
Dined on November 28, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

This meal exceeded our Thanksgiving dinner expectations-the Turkey dinner was absolutely delicious. My daughter had a Filet that melted in our mouths. Dallas provided the best service for the entire meal-thanks for making our Thanksgiving away from home so wonderful!

Coastal Provisions
Responded on December 2, 2019

Thank you ChristineP! We are so thankful you joined us for the holiday and that Dallas and the team made it special for you! We look forward to your return! Warm regards, Andrew Stress

Report
D
Charleston
7 reviews
Dined on November 16, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience4

I wasn’t quite sure what to expect here. We sat in the bar area, which is ultra casual as expected. Noise level was busy, but not crazy. We started with the She Crab soup. It was one of the best I have ever had. Light, but rich, with plenty of small slivers of crab. The shaved tenderloin salad was amazing as well. I ordered the Chicken Leg confit. It was perfectly prepared, and accompanied by grilled squash and rainbow carrots, with a pecan gremolata. It was absolutely perfect. I’d go back based on it alone.

We will be returning soon. Glad we found this place.

L
Jacksonville
26 reviews
Dined on November 9, 2019
Overall4food4service4ambience5

We ordered cocktails. They were good but the food was brought at the same time as the drinks. The salad too. Beet salad was just okay. She crab soup delicious. Fish, asparagus and risotto was good. Beautiful decor. Nice place:

p
Charleston
5 reviews
Dined on October 31, 2019
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Service is always fantastic!

Coastal Provisions
Responded on November 10, 2019

Thank you for specifically recognizing our service team! We are certainly proud of them. We appreciate your business and look forward to your return!

Report
OT
Cleveland
10 reviews
Dined on August 24, 2019
Overall2food1service5ambience5

Cold loaded baked potato
Brussels sprouts undercooked ..... - like raw
and piled a mile high.
But
Service was fantastic - our girl cared & checked on us frequently
The drinks from the bar were fantastic

Coastal Provisions
Responded on August 26, 2019

I am so sorry to hear your meal didn't meet expectations. I do hope that our team was able to offer something in place of these items at your request. We appreciate your kind words about the bar and service. Should you consider joining us again, I know we are capable of a better experience. Do not hesitate to reach out to me to discuss further. Best, Andrew Stress Restaurant General Manager

Report
BC
Charleston
5 reviews
Dined on August 15, 2019
Overall3food5service2ambience5

This place really leaves me torn. Every dish we ordered was almost too beautiful to eat and tasted spectacular. The service, however, left A LOT to be desired. Upon arriving, we were “greeted” by an extremely unfriendly young lady who could not find our reservation. When I showed her our confirmation on my phone, she said, “do you want to look on here to try and find your name?”, implying that I was lying about our reservation. With an attitude, she finally seated us. After being seated, it was 10 minutes before we received water and close to 20 before receiving our drinks. There was a mix up between two servers on which would serve us and I believe they each thought the other was taking care of us so we sat with no service for a while. Our server was friendly when we finally got one but she wasn’t available when we needed her. Very seldom checked on us and left us sitting for a good 15 minutes after we finished our dinner, waiting for our check. In an upscale restaurant like Coastal Provisions, this type of service is unacceptable. It’s a shame because the food was FABULOUS!

Coastal Provisions
Responded on August 17, 2019

Good afternoon, This review is terribly disappointing as that is not the expected standard or attitude we pride ourselves on. Please accept my sincere apology. I plan on using the review to address the behavior and I appreciate you time to sharing the feedback. Our culinary team was very pleased to hear you enjoyed the meal! Please reach out to me at the restaurant if we may discuss further 843 886 2200 Andrew S Restaurant General Manager

Report
M
Chicago
7 reviews
Dined on August 10, 2019
Overall4food3service5ambience3

Angelo was our waiter and he was a highlight of the evening. Great waiter and great guy!! Food wasn’t as good as usual but it was still good. The restaurant is pretty reliably good. Service is always top notch.

MA
1 review
Dined on August 6, 2019
Overall4food4service5ambience4

My wife and I went to the wild dunes resort to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary. We stayed in one of the condos on the beach and had a delightful stay. Costal Provisions is the main restaurant at WD. We ate there on 4 different occasions, 3 dinners and once with drinks and appetizers while listening to some great guitar entertainment.
CP has the best She Crab Soup on the island, I sampled many. Crab cakes, snapper, beef tenderloin, shrimp, all were done to our satisfaction. A good cocktail menu and wine list was appreciated. Service was great, every time. The staff are friendly and helpful. Highly recommended, on the high side of price, but it is a resort restuarant. Don't go if you are on a budget with the kids. There are many venues there on the isle of palms for that.
One issue they need to address, and many other restaurants as well, is seating comfort. When you are young, you may not notice that the plastic or wooden seat you are sitting on is cutting I to the back of your thighs or creating a dent in your posterior! CP has some great furnishing at the table but not at all of them. When you can sit comfortably for an hour or more you enjoy more...simple economics!
I would highly recommend Costal Provisions when your in the area.

VB
1 review
Dined on August 4, 2019
Overall3food3service3ambience1

Place was very noisy. Great that wasn't any wait to get table.

R
Charleston
31 reviews
Dined on July 28, 2019
Overall3food4service4ambience3

Went expecting Sunday brunch the only thing was lunch menu. Was poor and expensive

TS
New York Area
5 reviews
Dined on July 26, 2019
Overall4food3service4ambience4

As a party of six family we decided to have our farwell dinner last night staying at wild dunes.
Our waiter was attentive and provided good serice and hospitality. They seated us in the bar area which was noisy and obnoxious loud drunk bar crowd.( although made my reservation a month in advance???) and main dinning area virtually empty.The local dishes we ordered were outstanding ! crab hush puppies, hog snapper and shrimp grits fabulous. The steak different story, both my adult sons choose the premium steak option no flavor and average quality .. A $75 steak demands high quality meat along outstanding with flavor. We are from the metro N.Y.C area and have no problem with price as long as the quality and flavor are as premium as the price!

N
Cincinnati
34 reviews
Dined on July 25, 2019
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Good food and good service but overpriced.

B
1 review
Dined on July 17, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing drinks, food, service and place to go with good friends. Thank you!

PW
Charleston
2 reviews
Dined on July 16, 2019
Overall2food2service5ambience4

The location was hard to find at first. It’s located in the lobby of the hotel. Valet parking was free. Service was spot on! The menu was very limited! Not many local seafood items on the menu. The menu itself was very selective! Prices were outrageous even for a resort. I would not recommend this place to anyone looking for Lowcountry food items

Coastal Provisions
Responded on July 24, 2019

Thank you for the feedback. While I'm pleased to hear you took advantage of complimentary valet once you arrived at The Boardwalk Inn and found service attentive, I wish we had more dishes you expected. We take pride in being a Platinum Partner of the South Carolina Aquarium's Good Catch program. We make the extra effort in sourcing sustainable, Southeast seafood from our local purveyors and committing to reducing single use plastics. I'm sorry to hear you feel we didn't meet your expectation.

Report
LJ
Charleston
59 reviews
Dined on July 15, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Brilliantly rendered. Excellent service. Limited menu (which is a good thing). Recommended.

w
Los Angeles
7 reviews
Dined on July 7, 2019
Overall3food4service3ambience4

Food was good but not for the price. Dessert was awful. Needed a chainsaw to cut through the cookie. Waiter was nice and friendly but needs a tad more experience other than McDonald’s for this type of venue charging these prices. Super expensive and not with it.

DH
Cleveland
10 reviews
Dined on June 17, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We came here for our anniversary and Mackenzie did an excellent job! Highly recommend the 1855 beef tenderloin and fried green tomatoes. Service was great as we celebrated our anniversary with a special dessert!

TC
1 review
Dined on June 16, 2019
Overall3food3service2ambience3

Service was ok, had to ask for waitress several times. Did not get our orders right. Steaks were overdone. Price was high.
Would not eat there again.

OT
Chicago
1 review
Dined on June 5, 2019
Overall1food1service3ambience5

It’s a beautiful restaurant and the service was good, but the food was not. I order Carbonara all of the time, and this version was the worst I’ve ever had. I’m pretty sure there was shredded cheese from a bag on top of the dish. Even the mac and cheese was below average. It was very disappointing, especially given how expensive it was and the fact that the other restaurants within Wild Dunes were so good.

S
New England
4 reviews
Dined on May 27, 2019
Overall2food4service3ambience3

The food and service at Coastal Provisions was good. However there were only about 10 entrees on the menu. Many were priced a la carte and were far too expensive for what we received. At $36 for 2 normal sized lump crab cakes, we shouldn’t have had to pay another $12 to get a side (broccolini). I ordered a salad and paid $12 extra to have it topped with grilled shrimp: I received 4 shrimp. This is also the only restaurant I’ve been to in S.C. that serves water without ice. There are too many other great options in restaurants on Isle of Palms and in the area to return to a restaurant with such a limited menu and such high prices. We won't be back.

AH
New York Area
1 review
Dined on May 25, 2019
Overall4food4service4ambience5

The food was good and nice cocktail selection. The Caesar salad was okay but the fish special was delicious. It was a bit expensive in my opinion for what you’re getting but really nice for a special occasion!

HR
1 review
Dined on May 21, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We sat outside and ate breakfast. The pancakes were amazing and the grits were the best grits ever. I was stuffed for the rest of the day! Would definitely go back!

RL
New Orleans
2 reviews
Dined on May 6, 2019
Overall5food4service5ambience5

A great spot for breakfast. Loved sitting outside on the Terrace

JD
Chicago
13 reviews
Dined on April 6, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Outstanding creative dinner for all 3 of us including one vegan. Fresh ingredients used in creative and fabulous combinations. A delightful surprise, worth driving from Charleston to dine! Talented chef and supportive staff.

TA
Birmingham
1 review
Dined on March 23, 2019
Overall2food4service3ambience1

Reservations recommended but totally unnecessary; noise from bar was extremely disruptive.

OT
1 review
Dined on March 16, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Our server, Dallas, was great.

SG
Wilmington
7 reviews
Dined on February 15, 2019
Overall3food3service3ambience4

We had dinner reservations for 6:45 and we didn’t leave the restaurant until somewhere between 8:45 and 9. It’s not a large room so I can’t understand the reason for the delay in our food. The first server ask us for our order 3 times. Then spilled water while she was pouring it into our glasses. We never saw her again. Two other servers were waiting on us but they too had their wires crossed. What ever we asked for - bread or wine took an extraordinarily long time to arrive. It was so unusual that we had to laugh. We didn’t think service like this could be possible in a popular venue such as this. Also, I thought that the price of my entre’ was expensive for 4 medium size shrimp and fish that I ordered. It was the Cioppolini. The waitstaff was so friendly and they tried their best but I say it’s a thumbs down for me.

OT
Raleigh
2 reviews
Dined on February 14, 2019
Overall4food4service5ambience3

Valentine’s Day. Waitress great-stuck by kitchen door-noisy.

GW
Columbus
3 reviews
Dined on December 25, 2018
Overall3food3service5ambience2

It was Christmas Day, there was no indication on the reservation that this part of the Wild Dunes Resort. Very limited lunch menu. For a place named Coastal Provisions, you would assume there was more seafood on the menu than she-crab soup. The service was great, but not even ice in your water glasses? Overpriced and disappointing.

ES
Charleston
1 review
Dined on December 7, 2018
Overall5food5service5ambience5

As usual, our server, Dallas, made our night very enjoyable.

E
Charlotte
5 reviews
Dined on December 7, 2018
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food was absolutely delicious and well presented. My husband had the beef Wellington which he says was marvelous and i gad the slow cooked grouper- perfect. Our server Dallas was delightful and attentive. All in all a great dining experience.

OT
Houston
5 reviews
Dined on November 25, 2018
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We have visited the restaurant 3 times during our trip this week. Each visit has been amazing. The service and food are both excellent.

NM
Charleston
1 review
Dined on November 16, 2018
Overall2food2service4ambience4

The atmosphere and service were good, but the food was mediocre. We both had the filet, and were both disappointed. Very tender, but flavorless. Not worth the price.

Tweets by Coastal Provisions