The property was originally built in 1910. As a family home it has seen generations of only four families. Built for the Lane family as their country retreat the bell system in the kitchen still has their names painted in gold under each room. Following the Lanes, the house was owned by Group Captain Holmes. As manager of the England Cricket team he hosted many dinners here for the team and was decorated during World War Two. Kerry and Lorraine purchased the property from the Davies’ in 2002. During the Davies’ tenure it is rumoured that the property would often host the patrons of the Queen’s Head Pub in Sedlescombe when it closed on a Sunday!
- Surfaces sanitized between seatings
- Common areas deep cleaned daily
- Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
- Contactless payment available
- Limited number of seated diners
- Distancing maintained in common areas
- Extra space between tables
- Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
Not a great atmosphere and the food wasn’t as expected. The wine was left in the bucket without being served. The service wasn’t up to the standard of the hotel, which is lovely.
We have eaten at this hotel before and the food is lovely. The staff are polite and professional
We sat in the garden which is very peaceful.
Strange venue. I imagine the garden is good on a sunny day and then a few drinks would improve the experience. It was raining when we went and apart from 2 hotel guest sat on laptops that was it. It felt like eating in a conference facility. No tables set up for dining. We were asked if we wanted to pay for drinks when we ordered them. Strange. Made me think some people might leave before the food arrived. We got our food first cutlery followed. Food was average at best. Disappointing.
We went as only available choice at 1pm on a Sunday lunch. Lovely lovely food but we were the only person there. We had to pay as you go can you believe very strange. Burger was lovely though as was the Prosecco shame I had to pay for each item as I ordered ade you think that you were going to run out without paying not sure how as in middle of county lane
We are pleased you enjoyed the food. We have been operating as "pay as you order" in our outdoor Beer Garden since April, in line with other outdoor venues, and will be introducing a "pay at end" for indoor dining very soon as the staff undergo training. Unfortunately, its a shame, but yes we have had someone leave without paying when one of our staff incorrectly allowed a tab outdoors. We hope to see you again.
Most staff were lovely, there was one that didnt speak as she handed us our drinks, but we literally just stopped on route with 5 minutes notice and the other 2 staff members were very warm and welcoming especially the young blonde haired lady, food was lovely and cooked fresh
Thank you for visiting us. We are pleased you enjoyed the food and that most of the staff were lovely. Some of our staff are new however I will continue remind them that is ok to smile and chat! We hope to see you agiain.
Lovey little place near Battle. Came here for Sunday lunch. Really appreciated being able to sit under cover as weather was a bit iffy. Food was good-would recommend the Sunday Roast-chicken for the portion size. Ordered using the app which may not suit all but worked well for us as made service pretty efficient. Setting is quite pretty too
We are pleased you enjoyed your Sunday lunch. Guests have the option of ordering with our staff too however we are delighted that you found our App efficient.
The food was nice and the staff were friendly, but there was loud 'rave' music playing, and they described the normal relaxed way of enjoying your meal (adding drinks and desert as you go) as 'running a tab' which apparently they do not allow, so arrive, get a glass of wine, pay, wait for friends to arrive, order drinks, pay, order meal, pay, order pudding, pay, order teas and coffee, pay. All a bit intrusive and not very relaxing.
We are pleased you enjoyed the food and found the staff friendly. We are only allowed to serve food outdoors at the moment and, like most outdoor Beer/Pub garden environments, we are sorry we cannot allow running tabs outside. Our staff are offering table service to avoid guests constantly going to the bar to order food (or guests can order on our App) however we apologise if you still found this intrusive and that you did not like Ibiza Chill music.
Excellent roast beef lunch. Beef really tender!
A nut roast would be good to add to the menu
We are delighted you enjoyed your Sunday roast and thank you for your suggestion of a nut roast.
its a quite nice place obviously we were outside, menu was very limited, staff were friendly, if im honest food was quite expensive , 6.95 for 8 halloumi fries with bit of salad, glad we tried it, prob alot better when open properly, quite nice setting,
everything perfect as usual .staff very friendly .
Thank you for dining with us once more. We are pleased that you enjoy dining here and hope to see you again soon.
Lovely place nice waitress.
Need to sell crisps though!
Thank you for your positive feedback and we now sell crisps. Thank you for the suggestion.
Nice setting, polite staff, would recommend. Lovely food
Such a beautiful place to visit. Beautiful scenery, staff were really nice. Very clean and the beer garden, especially on a sunny day, was so nice! When the wind picked up a member of staff gave me a blanket which was very nice! Will definitely come back if we’re in the area again!
great meal lovely waitress .back here on 23rd and new years eve hopefully .
A four year gap between our visits and of course there have been a few changes. The new restaurant was very nice and socially distanced as you would expect. The service was great, the food was great and for four people I thought the cost was also pretty much spot on
Food was amazing and the staff were attentive without being annoying. Great meal, will definitely be going back.
Nice food well cooked and great to have a few veggie options. Great service with very good COVID restrictions in place. Nice room and everything was spotlessly clean. Becky looked after us very well 🙂
perfect in every way food great waitress very polite
Service Fantastic. Staff helpful and friendly. Food is first class as always and good value. Would 100% recommend it!
Thank you for dining with us. We appreciate the positive feedback - especially in these challenging times. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
We had to order food from the bar menu was very poor service non existent dining room had no atmosphere we will not be returning
It's a shame you didn't bother to read the description when you booked online. It says - "During the COVID restrictions we are only operating the beer garden. A family atmosphere with pub style al fresco dining. Covered area for inclement weather. We are using our Function Room for indoor dining to meet social distancing regulations. Please look at the sample menu before booking. Our fine dining restaurant is now closed." You paid "Half Price" Eat out to help out. You're no loss to us.
everything from start to finish was perfect .staff were polite and food great
Thank you for dining with us. We are delighted you enjoyed the food and service and we hope to see you again.
Service was good until the pudding ,had to wait quite along time,but when it did arrive the crumble wasn’t crumble it had been microwaved to death and ended up soggy
Thank you for dining with us. We apologise if there was a problem with your crumble and we are happy to issue a refund if you contact us.
Nothing but a glorified function room. Food was pub standards a bit expencive for what it was considering it's a 5 star hotel I expected alot higher standards
It's a shame you didn't read the description when you booked. "During the COVID restrictions we are only operating the beer garden. A family atmosphere with pub style al fresco dining. Covered area for inclement weather. We are using our Function Room for indoor dining to meet social distancing regulations. Please look at the sample menu before booking. Our fine dining restaurant is now closed." As far as being expensive you had 2 meals at £12.95 one of which was free. EOTHO Scheme.
Lovely setting and nice food, not over busy and friendly staff
Thank you for dining with us and for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your meal and we hope to see you again.
A very nice evening with very fresh and well presented food. Very good service and nothing was too much for them. A lovely secluded country house hotel.
Thank you for dining with us and for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your meal and service and we hope to see you again.
Ate out using the Eat Out to Help Out scheme but will certainly visit again.
The bistro menu was available which had a lovely choice of dishes.
All the food was well presented and was delicious.
Thank you for dining with us. We are delighted you found the food delicious and well presented and we look forward to welcoming you back.
It's a makeshift restaurant in a room that looks like a small hall. The entrance is not clearly signposted, so we walked around a bit before going in through the beer garden.
Starters and dessert was nice, but the chicken and mushrooms main dish was disappointing. No coffees were available either. Overall it was ok, but I expected more from a place called "Claverton Hotel".
Thank you for dining with us on a "Eat out to Help out" evening. We have been advertising that the restaurant is now in our Function Room with Beer Garden and there is a large sign over the entrance to it. Due to social distancing, our main restaurant can only cater for 8 persons and we have 24 guests staying in the hotel. We hope to return to normal as soon as permitted.We have a range of coffees available and guests that evening were ordering them so I am sorry if you missed out on that.
Whilst we enjoyed the food due to Covid the ambience was lacking. However, everything was done to make us feel comfortable and we will be dining there again.
Thank you for dining with us and for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed the food and look forward to welcoming you back.
Super food, service and great location, will visit again soon.
Thank you for dining with us and for your private note thanking us for the super service and food. We are pleased you chose us for your special occasion and we hope to see you again.
The food is excellent and just wish the breakfast was a little bigger. The rooms are very impressive and comfortable
Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed the food and your stay at Claverton and we hope to see you again. Kind Regards Lorraine
Sadly was very disappointed eating here. Not what we expected at all, tables for dinner was in a small function room that was very sparse and had no atmosphere .
Food was not great quality, salad was on the point of turning brown and the vegetables that came with the meals had a frozen quality to them 🙁
Was looking forward to eating here but won’t be coming back.
We are disappointed you did not get what you expected here on the "Eat out to Help out" evening. We advertise that, due to social distancing, we were using our Function room venue as a Beer Garden. We were fully booked but, as the weather was lovely that evening, most of the guests were dining outside in the sunshine. We light the tables with candles, have music playing and have fairy lights over the outside bar to create a summer holiday ambience. All our food is freshly prepared.
Help to Eat Out excellent value. Fully recommend.
Thank you for dining with us. We are delighted you enjoyed our new Beer Garden and the food and we hope to see you again.
From the moment we rang the doorbell, we knew this would be no ordinary evening meal out! We were not disappointed. The Staff were SO friendly while we had our drinks and perused the menu. The food was delicious, the sea bass I had was the best I’d ever tasted and the braised lamb my husband had, melted in his mouth. We finished our meal with the chocolate and orange puddings which were not too rich, just right. We shall visit again!
Staff were a true asset, very welcoming and pleasant. Food was excellent too, thanks for making our evening special
Lovely meal here the food is amazing and lovely friendly staff. Definitely recommend
Really it’s for patrons, those staying in the 5 star hotel. We booked through this site and found a confused manager at the hotel on the other end. The food and ambience were fantastic. But I don’t think they generally allow outside visits for their food venue.
The gratuity is included in the bill. A cosy room with bar, plenty of wines and spirits available.
I recommend attending only on a Friday or Saturday for meals. They take bookings for their a la carte evenings.
This intimate and cosy restaurant provided a perfect setting for a romantic meal for two. The staff were friendly, efficient and attentive but discreet and certainly not in your face. Each of the three courses we had were cooked and presented well and were very tasty. We had the Carr Taylor sparkling wine which I thought made an excellent accompaniment to our meal.
I cannot recommend this restaurant enough.
Lovely hotel, friendly staff and great service.
We very much enjoyed the whole experience at the Claverton.
Claverton Hotel is rated 3.9 stars by 40 OpenTable diners.
Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.