Char - Nashville

4.6
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
589 Reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Reservations are accepted via OpenTable for parties of four or less. For larger groups, please call the restaurant directly, at 615-891-7181.

Char is a southern-style modern steakhouse offering USDA Prime & Choice cuts of meat, fresh seafood, home-style sides to share, weekday lunch specials, classic cocktails and an extensive wine and bourbon selection. Live entertainment is provided nightly in the Piano Bar with a jazz trio during Sunday brunch.

avatar copy

Private Dining

Book your next event with us

View details
What 589 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.7
service
4.6
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Filters
GG
Nashville
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Char is my Sunday brunch place! Love the ambiance and the jazz trio.

M
Nashville
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great spot for a nice, quality dinner. Has the basics you'd expect at a nigher restaurant and some nice extras. They promote the sides as 'shareable,' and take that to heart. They are HUGE. My husband and I each got an entree and two sides to share and we should have just done one. Not too many items on cocktail menu, but the one drink I had was very tasty and a good value for the price. Will definitely go again.

OT
Dallas
2 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall1food1service1ambience3

Disappointed by the service at Char restaurant. Wait times
For service were a little excessive. About 45 min to get our drinks. The steak was overdone. It is not hard to get the right temperature on a ribeye...this place cant apparently. Not worth the money you’re going to spend. Potatoes were way too over salted. Brussel sprouts were oily, avoid them no matter what they say. There are better steakhouses in Nashville that offer better service and food. I would suggest staying away.

Char - Nashville
Responded 2 days ago

Thank you for your recent visit to Char. I'm so sorry to learn that you experienced delays throughout your meal. While our goal is to provide a nice leisurely dining experience, we never want guests to suffer from long wait times. Furthermore, it's disappointing to learn that when you did receive your meal, your steak wasn't delivered at the proper temperature. We'd like to speak to you more about your experience-- would you mind sending me your contact information at your convenience?

Report
OT
Columbus
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Delicious food. Great service. Bar was a little slow. Overall definitely would come back.

EM
Atlanta
35 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food and service. Will definitely go back again

ME
Nashville
7 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

My mother and I were very impressed by this restaurant. Omg the fried green tomatoes were so good and I got the cowboy ribeye, just grilled to perfection. Great place and a piano player to top it off. I will be back!

Char - Nashville
Responded 5 days ago

Hi Melissa, we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience! It’s wonderful to learn that it was a positive one. The cowboy ribeye is one of our most popular entrees—we love to hear that you enjoyed it! Thanks again for the five stars; we hope you’ll return again soon!

Report
GA
Nashville
18 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall4food5service4ambience4

Got the tuna Niçoise salad it was awesome nice big chunks of grilled rare tuna, eggs, haricot vert, tomatoes and artichoke hearts on baby greens. My wife got their awesome shrimp and sausage gumbo which is worth the drive.

Char - Nashville
Responded a day ago

Hi there, we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience! It’s wonderful to learn that it was a positive one. The tuna niçoise salad is one of our most popular dishes—we love to hear that you enjoyed it! Thanks again for the review; we hope you’ll return again soon!

Report
L
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent experience, once again. We had visited Char in Jackson, MS and were please to hear of a Nashville location. It does not disappoint. It is our new local favorite! We are planning to have our Christmas dinner with our team there. Looking forward to it already.

Char - Nashville
Responded a day ago

Hello Leigh, we love to hear that you enjoyed your recent experiences at Char! Thank you for dining with us and taking the time to share your meal. We look forward to seeing you for the Christmas dinner soon!

Report
M
San Francisco
17 reviews
Dined 7 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Actually really enjoyed Char. The two bartenders Jamie and Jarrod were great. Everyone helpful and friendly. Food outstanding.

Char - Nashville
Responded 2 days ago

Hi Mike, thank you for the feedback! We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed a memorable meal with us. Please come back again soon!

Report
J
Kansas City
59 reviews
Dined on November 10, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We enjoyed another great evening at Char.

CS
1 review
Dined on November 10, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

A great Sunday night dinner. We started with a couple of cocktails (McAllen 12 year Scotch & Sauvignon blanc) and the gumbo soup appetizer. For entrees, we ordered Ribeye (rare) and Salmon. Both were perfect. The waitress was quick, informative, and friendly. Highly recommend.

Char - Nashville
Responded 6 days ago

Hi Chuck, thank you for the review! It’s wonderful to learn that your recent dinner at Char was an exceptional one. We hope to see you back again soon for the ribeye or salmon!

Report
r
Dallas
1 review
Dined on November 10, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

very well presented
excellent service
attentive supervisory personnel

t
Nashville
9 reviews
Dined on November 10, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Absolutely a pleasurable experience! We had brunch and were impressed by the quality of the poached eggs on the Benedicts. The most generous Mimosas were refreshing as was having the very obviously hand-cut fruit as a side on the egg dish rather than what is standard elsewhere (potatoes). All in all, a well balanced breakfast - satisfying AND left room for dessert. The blueberry bread pudding was also quite a generous portion and decadently satisfying. The servers in their neat white jackets added an extra level of "special" to a Sunday morning, and the live jazz combo in the piano bar was at just the right sound level. Such a pleasant way to have brunch. I will come again!

Char - Nashville
Responded 6 days ago

Hello, thank you for the lovely review! We love to hear that our team helped to make your brunch experience at Char such a special one. The live jazz trio is always a nice addition to our Sunday mornings at Char, we're glad you enjoyed it. Thanks again for your feedback; we hope you’ll join us again soon!

Report
L
Nashville
8 reviews
Dined on November 9, 2019
Overall3food3service5ambience5

But don't order Prime Rib..
12oz cut was 9 oz of fat.

Char - Nashville
Responded on November 12, 2019

I am sorry to hear that you did not care for your recent meal with us. We source our meats from Greater Omaha, a family-owned beef facility dedicated to quality and sustainable practices. It is disappointing to learn about your prime rib, and we will be following up with them to ensure the product we receive is on par with both of our standards. Please know that we are always happy to replace anything that is less than perfect, as we want every guest to leave with a five-star experience.

Report
S
Nashville
4 reviews
Dined on November 8, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

My birthday

Char - Nashville
Responded on November 12, 2019

Thanks for celebrating your special day with us, Steven! Please join us again soon!

Report
BB
New York Area
7 reviews
Dined on November 6, 2019
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Very good but not great. NOLA BBQ shrimp appetizer was the highlight for me. My wife makes a better gumbo. Lamb chops were very good, but mint cilantro relish was not a favorite. Seared scallops were also very good, but we've had better. Service was attentive without being overbearing. Piano music added a very nice touch.

4
Nashville
79 reviews
Dined on November 3, 2019
Overall3food3service5ambience5

Was off a bit from routine. One of our favorite restaurants with live music in the evenings. Great service, good wine but food was a bit off.

Char - Nashville
Responded on November 6, 2019

Thank you for your recent visit to Char! I am sorry to hear that you weren't blown away by your meal. If you have specific feedback you could share with us, we'd love to hear from you. We are always open to hearing from our guests and will happily replace or take care of anything you are not fully satisfied with. I am hopeful we have the opportunity to rectify your experience soon.

Report
NW
1 review
Dined on November 1, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience4

We visited Char to celebrate a birthday with friends. The food was delicious, the portions were huge, and the service was outstanding. The desserts are massive and delicious. They are made to share. We will definitely go back.

Char - Nashville
Responded on November 7, 2019

Hi Nancy, we appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback! It sounds like a memorable birthday was enjoyed at Char. We look forward to seeing you back for another special occasion soon!

Report
KB
Wilmington
5 reviews
Dined on October 26, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Our food was awesome, if you get the crab claws app I would recommend sautéed over fried (we got half and half). Also, save room for dessert!!!

Char - Nashville
Responded on October 31, 2019

Hi Kristen, thank you for the feedback! We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed a memorable meal with us. Please come back again soon for the crab claws!

Report
LM
1 review
Dined on October 25, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Tyler was great! Food was amazing and one of our friends LOvED the crab cakes app. Thanks for a yummy dinner!

Char - Nashville
Responded on October 29, 2019

Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us, Lynne! We appreciate your kind review and hope you’ll join us again soon to enjoy the crab cakes!

Report
S
Nashville
8 reviews
Dined on October 24, 2019
Overall3food3service3ambience5

Waitress rushed us, 2 woman having dinner. Food was brought out before salads were finished. I asked her to take mine back and keep warm. When we finished our dinner she brought check without removing dinner plates. This was a week night, did not see anyone waiting on table. We both had the salmon, why is is so oily? It appeared as if kitchen poor soil over whole plate as even vegetables were swimming in oil

Char - Nashville
Responded on October 28, 2019

Hi Sarah, thank you for your recent visit to Char. I hate hearing that we missed the mark on your meal -- this is not the type of quality experience we are proud to provide our guests with! I have shared your review with our management and culinary team; I sincerely apologize for failing to provide you with a nice meal. We'd love to speak with you to determine how we can rectify the disappointing meal you had. Would you mind sharing your contact information at your convenience?

Report
MC
Nashville
1 review
Dined on October 24, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Exceptional dining experience. Everything was delicious! Service was outstanding and we enjoyed the atmosphere. Highly recommend.

GM
Nashville
4 reviews
Dined on October 20, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent food and service

TY
Oklahoma City
3 reviews
Dined on October 20, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Perfect Sunday brunch spot! The food was fantastic, Mimosas were yummy and the live music set the mood. We will return.

Char - Nashville
Responded on October 24, 2019

Hi there, thank you for sharing your Sunday afternoon with us at Char! We hope to see you for another mimosa soon!

Report
F
Nashville
115 reviews
Dined on October 19, 2019
Overall4food4service3ambience4

This was our second visit to Char. Love the location and ambiance. Menu and wine selections are very good. Service on both visits was OK and could be improved. Our server on this visit seemed unsure of himself and there were long periods before check backs.

Char - Nashville
Responded on October 22, 2019

Thank you for your recent visit to Char! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your menu selections, although I am sorry to learn that you experienced delays in service. While our goal is to provide a nice leisurely dining experience, we never want guests to suffer from long wait times. Please accept our apology for any negative impact this had on your evening. Thank you for sharing your feedback so we can pass it along to our service team for improvement. We hope to see you back in soon!

Report
RS
4 reviews
Dined on October 18, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food and service was amazing. Crab cakes, fried green tomatoes, red fish and chicken all off the charts. Jamie, the best server ever took care of us beyond all expectations. A must do spot. Ask for Jamie.

Char - Nashville
Responded on October 22, 2019

Hi Ron, thank you for your kind words! It’s a pleasure knowing that Jamie provided exemplary service during your recent visit to Char. Please come back and see us again soon!

Report
OT
Nashville
1 review
Dined on October 13, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Enjoyed it

TB
Nashville
43 reviews
Dined on October 13, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food , great service. Very nice setting with beautiful live soft piano music. The crab cake appetizer is a must. The Wedge Salad was great and the filet was cooked to perfection. Great bourbon list and reasonably priced wines also.

Valet parking makes it easy given the restaurant is in Green Hills. We’ll be back!

Char - Nashville
Responded on October 17, 2019

Hi Tom, we appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback! It sounds like a memorable evening was had at Char. We look forward to seeing you back for the filet again soon!

Report
JR
Birmingham
3 reviews
Dined on October 13, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Very nice Sunday lunch. Good service. Nice portions but not mega sized. I like that half portion salads are available. Overall very delightful experience.

Char - Nashville
Responded on October 16, 2019

Thanks for the lovely review, Jane! We hope to see you for lunch again soon!

Report
JE
1 review
Dined on October 11, 2019
Overall3food4service2ambience4

The food was well made, however the service we received for my fiancé birthday dinner was terse to say the least. Although we did have a reservation and arrived a few minutes early it took to long in my opinion to be sat. It appeared that the floor manager was not prepared for our reservation. I was disappointed with our server. Either he was upset that we were sat in his section or he was having an off night we were certainly not his priority that night. An example would be it took over ten minutes to serve us our drinks. Food came out timely and was over all well prepared if not slightly over priced for portion but it is located in green hills. The highlight of the evening was the table busser. He was polite friendly and extremely helpful. I do not believe we will be back to Char. There a plenty of great restaurants in Nashville that provide great food and much better service.

Char - Nashville
Responded on October 14, 2019

Hi Jeremy, thank you for your recent visit to Char. We sincerely appreciate you choosing to celebrate your fiance's birthday dinner with us, although I'm very sorry to hear that we failed to make your celebration a memorable one. I apologize for the delays in service you experienced throughout your meal, and I will be sharing your comments with our management team for review.

Report
DS
New York Area
41 reviews
Dined on October 10, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

A pretty restaurant in a nice area, not too crowded. No valet available, but lots of parking lots close by we could park in.
Staff very pleasant. Very nice service of drinks & food. Food was excellent, we had prime rib, rib-eyes & scallops. Salads & potatoes come with your entree. Reasonably priced. Would definitely tell someone to go there!

Char - Nashville
Responded on October 15, 2019

Hi Dayna, thanks for sharing your experience with us! We're excited to learn that it was a memorable one. Please visit us again soon for the prime rib!

Report
AJ
Las Vegas
4 reviews
Dined on October 9, 2019
Overall5food5service4ambience5

I especially like to eat here because I have food allergies, and they prepare it special for me.

g
Nashville
11 reviews
Dined on October 8, 2019
Overall4food4service5ambience4

The food and service were very good. I wish this restaurant and others would offer smaller cuts of meat as 12 oz's is far to much to eat and I really do not like to order one entry and an additional plate.

I really no longer desire that quantity size of meat when eating out.

Char - Nashville
Responded on October 14, 2019

Hi Gary, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed both service and cuisine on your recent visit! We do offer an 8oz filet on our lunch and dinner menus, so we hope you'll return soon to try that. Thank you for your review and patronage; we look forward to seeing you in again in the near future!

Report
B
Portland
69 reviews
Dined on October 7, 2019
Overall4food4service5ambience4

If you looking for a nice evening out Char is a great place. They have both table and booth seating. We sat at a booth. Our server was attentive but not overly intrusive. Let us move at our own pace. Meal was very good. And if you leave room for dessert don't miss the Pecan Pie. An absolute must. Great place for a date or special occasion.

OT
Chicago
1 review
Dined on October 5, 2019
Overall1food3service1ambience2

I don’t think I’d go there again! It wasn’t very busy and it took an hour to get our salads and appetizers! We ordered them as soon as we sat down so that was ridiculous! It was expensive and so not worth the price.

Char - Nashville
Responded on October 7, 2019

Thank you for your recent visit to Char. I am sorry to learn of the delays you experienced during your visit and understand your frustration. We strive to serve our guests in a timely manner, though it sounds as if we dropped the ball here; I sincerely apologize for how this affected your meal. I have shared your feedback with our team so that we can address this issue internally with our staff. Thank you for dining with us -- we hope that you will give us another chance in the near future.

Report
OT
1 review
Dined on September 29, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Wonderful service. Delicious food

OT
Nashville
1 review
Dined on September 28, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The quality of the food and the taste was amazing. The price of the food was very reasonable. This is a great place to dine for lunch/dinner.

Char - Nashville
Responded on October 1, 2019

Thanks for the five stars! We hope to see you for lunch or dinner again soon!

Report
C
Nashville
4 reviews
Dined on September 27, 2019
Overall2food2service3ambience3

We have dined at Char on several occasions and have always been pleased. This time both of our steaks were over-cooked and the potatoes were under cooked. Our server wasn't overly apologetic but did offer us a free dessert, which was really good. Would have preferred to have some taken off of our bill so we will be encouraged to try again.

Char - Nashville
Responded on October 1, 2019

Hi Carol, thank you for joining us at Char. I'm so sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your selections and regret that the server was not more in tune with your experience. We strive to provide attentive service with quality cuisine to match, though it sounds like we fell short. I'd love to chat with you more about your visit-- would you mind sharing your contact information at your convenience? Thank you for your time and patronage --I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Report
GA
Nashville
19 reviews
Dined on September 22, 2019
Overall3food2service2ambience4

The restaurant was busy with several large parties of 10 or more people - one by us was 16. Our server was on the table of 16 with another server. We waited 30 mins to get our drinks, which, after I complained the restaurant comp'd the drinks (which was gracious). Our food arrived cold (fried crab claws and a redfish sandwich). We asked to have the food heated up and the manager came by and assured us she was personally taking care of it. The food came back and was hot the second try . The manager apologized profusely and gave us a gift card to encourage us to return. Nice atmosphere with live music on the weekend. My only observation otherwise was that their wine is rather pricey the most affordable 9oz glass was $16.50, which is a bit high compared to competition nearby.

Char - Nashville
Responded on September 27, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We strive to provide five-star cuisine and service to each and every guest, so it's disappointing to hear that we fell short. However, I am pleased to hear that our management team stepped in to help remedy the situation while you dined with us. We appreciate your candid feedback and look forward to the opportunity to provide a five-star meal on your next visit soon!

Report
JN
Atlanta
3 reviews
Dined on September 15, 2019
Overall3food2service3ambience4

The Crab Cake Benedict was sadly lacking in crab. There were miniscule servings of crab. On an earlier visit the Creole Saute also had very little crab and other seafood. The flavor was there but not the items described. Both items were a disappointment and not worth the price. One of our party had the cornmeal encrusted red fish and said it was among the very best fish he had ever had. The other person had the King Salmon and said nothing about it. Th other person had the Southern Benedict and was pleased with his selection. The $5.00 Mimosa and Bloody Mary are a nice feature of the restaurant. People from the Nashville Jazz Workshop play and it's pleasant to have music of their caliber in the background.

Char - Nashville
Responded on September 18, 2019

Hi James, thank you for your recent visits to Char! We appreciate your review and are pleased to hear that you have had nice experiences overall. I do apologize if your dishes fell short of expectations-- we certainly don't want you to feel as if your meals were lacking in value in any way. I've passed this along to our culinary team to review; thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We sincerely hope you will return soon as I am confident we can find a dish you will love!

Report