Char - Jackson
Book your next event with us
- Surfaces sanitized between seatings
- Common areas deep cleaned daily
- Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
- Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
- Sealed or wrapped utensils used
- Limited number of seated diners
- Distancing maintained in common areas
- Extra space between tables
- Waitstaff wear masks
- Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
- Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
greens | bacon | cheddar shreds | egg | tomato
maître d' butter | choice of side
grilled round chuck | demi-glace | choice of two home-style sides
Great meal, great service!
We reserved a table at Char because it looked to be the most upscale restaurant in town. While the server was friendly the rest of the meal was disappointing. Service was slow. The AC was freezing cold. They brought out the wrong salad at the start and then came back to tell us that they ruined the sauce on our entree so we couldn’t order it. The tuna dish was filled with peppers only and unappealing. All disappointing at that price point $$$$.
I made a reservation for 7 people more than a week in advance for 3:30pm on a Sunday. It was a very special occasion for our family, and I assumed Char would not be too busy at that time. When we arrived, on time, we still had to wait 15-20 minutes to be seated. Then, we were seated basically in the lobby amidst all of the noise and overwhelming foot traffic. Plus, the table was way too small for 7 people, and we were trampled by people coming and going. There was no ambiance at all, and we were very uncomfortable. I had invited guests from out of town and was very embarrassed. The steaks were subpar - cooked either too much or still too rare. Items we ordered were missing and never served. The waitress was friendly but service was slow. They appeared overall to be unprepared for a table of 7. I immediately asked the hostess to reseat us in a better location, but my request was ignored. I’ll think twice before going back to Char.
I'm so sorry to hear about your recent visit to Char! This is neither the level of service we instill in our team nor is it the quality food we are proud to serve our guests, and I regret how this affected your experience with us. Would you mind sharing your contact information with us so that our General Manager can reach out to you directly? We'd love the opportunity to make it right! Thank you for bringing this to our attention; I look forward to hearing from you soon.
Seafood options were outstanding;we had just returned from Perdido Key and found Char’s gumbo to be the best of all;Also the no bread Crab Cakes live up to their name!
Justin was a great waitor next time I go I am going to have to ask for him.
Great experience! Always professional and entrees were delicious!!!
I love char- excellent service, excellent food and most of all excellent drinks!!!!!!!!!
Only issue I saw was the table we were at was way to close to the people next to us
My experience at Char was outstanding. It was my wife and I first time there. The servers were outstanding. The food was wonderful. The ambiance was great. Overall a great experience.
First time we have been there. Prompt service, great food, reasonably priced. Will definitely come back
We sat on the patio. Our Brunch entrees were very good. RO served us well and kept our coffee filled until we could drink no more. We will be back.
Crab fingers were not up to char Standards I think they were at the bottom of the bowl or not fresh because there was a lot of missing on the crab fingers . Lots of items was just fried finger with no meat lots or fried with no meat . Should have said something about it when .
Hi Charlene, thank you for your recent visit to Char! I'm very sorry to learn that your crab claws fell short of expectations. Please know that we are always happy to replace or take care of any dish you don't absolutely love! I have shared your comments regarding this particular dish with our culinary team for review. Thanks again for taking the time to share your feedback; we appreciate your patronage and hope to see you back again soon!
Very nice ambiance. Make sure to make a reservation to get the best experience. Good customer service. They were efficient in checking on my party and I.
Everything was great!
Lunch at Char on this date was very slow. Food was great as always, but our server must've been overloaded, as the service was very slow and several items were missed. This won't keep us from going back, just not what we've come to expect from this venue.
Thank you for joining us for lunch. I am so sorry to learn that we fell short of providing you with a five-star experience this time around. Your feedback is valuable to us, and I have shared this with our management team to review. We are always grateful for the opportunity to hear from our guests and improve where necessary, so we appreciate you letting us know about the level of service you experienced. We hope to see you in again soon for lunch, dinner, or happy hour.
Love Char you can’t beat the service, food and hospitality
Love this restaurant!! Best place ever.
We had a reservation but you don’t need one. I just wanted to make sure we didn’t have to wait a long time. The staff was great and friendly. The food (steak) was awesome cooked exactly how I asked. They were also following Covid guidelines and wearing masks. I enjoyed my time.
We went to Char to celebrate our anniversary. This was our first visit and we really enjoyed our experience. The food was very good and the service was attentive, but not intrusive.
I would recommend Char for special occasions and any time you want a high end meal.
Service just fair. No one to clean dishes off before next course. Just bring next course and push dirty dishes aside using the next course plate.
Thank you for your feedback from your recent visit to Char. I want to sincerely apologize for the lack of attention on keeping your table cleared. That is a basic step of service that should be executed with every guest, but it sounds like we dropped the ball here. I hope this will not deter from you visiting us again in the future. We take all of our guests' feedback seriously, and will address this with our staff so we can improve. Thank you for your patronage; we hope to see you again soon.
Great food, staff , and lovely atmosphere. Nice place that’s peaceful enough to enjoy a great meal!
The server cld not make change fr cash; my friend had to send her back; the server blamed the bar for not having change & also said she did the change due in her head. We were perplexed!
Otherwise, she was great.
Great dinner! Great service! No negative things to say.
Great experience! Good service...Grest food!..............
Char is always an excellent choice. Food and service were exceptional!!
The food was excellent. The service made the night! We had the best server and table in my opinion. I wonderful experience overall!
Service is always top notch, and the food is always consistent!
After a disappointing visit two weeks ago due to substandard service, our visit Saturday night was back to expectations and Char standards. Steaks were excellent as was the service.
Amazing food and service! Char provides five star dining!
Was very accommodating to my husband's needs. Staff was friendly and helpful. Food was delicious and filling.
Excellent dining experience. Customer service is exceptional
This is one of our “go-to” date night spots. We had an amazing experience. The food was delicious and the service was amazing. We will be returning.
Food and service was great.
The noise is so loud that you can't hear people at your own table! Really loud.
Hi Ted, thank you for your recent visit to Char. I am sorry to hear that the ambiance hindered you from having a pleasant experience. We would be happy to set you up at a table along a wall or in a corner for a quieter, more relaxing setting on your next visit. We never want our guests to feel uncomfortable in any way, and I apologize that this particular visit was not an enjoyable one for you. We hope you will give us another chance and come see us again soon!
We have been going to Char many years (over a decade) but sadly over the past several years have noticed a steady decline in food quality and service standards. The last two visits were subpar compared to the past. We may be phasing out this one as a go to in the future.
Hi Clark, thank you for your recent visit to Char. I am sorry to learn about your lackluster experiences! Our standards of service have not changed since opening our doors over 20 years ago, so it is disappointing to learn that you've experienced a shift as of late. We would love to speak with you to learn more-- would you mind sharing your contact information at your convenience? Thank you again for your patronage and feedback; we look forward to speaking more with you soon.
Wonderful! Good and service amazing. We will be back soon!
Im a My Rewards member and forgot prezent my card. #6000 1406 0215 3018. Rab $100.45. Anyway still get credit?
Service was great, but entree: salmon, was disappointing
Hi Pamela, I'm so sorry to hear that you didn't care for the salmon! If you have specific details as to how we came up short on this particular dish, we'd love to hear from you! We value our guests' feedback and are always open to hearing ways on how we can improve. Feel free to share additional details, along with your contact information, at your convenience. We appreciate your patronage and hope to hear from you soon.
Char - Jackson offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (601) 956-9562.
Char - Jackson is rated 4.7 stars by 1636 OpenTable diners.
Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.