Captain Whidbey Restaurant
Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers
The restaurant is helmed by Chef Eric Truglas, whose menu veers towards the French, rustic and hearty, with inventive shellfish dishes and other delicacies. Christmas Eve Dinner is served 4pm to 8pm and is a 4 Courses Prix Fix Dinner, Adults - $89, Kids a la cate menu, all + tax + 20% gratuity
Tuesday, December 24, 2019
We had not been to the Captain Whidbey for several years because of a bad experience there. But we had heard that it was under new ownership and had a new chef, so we decided to check it out. It is much improved. The service, which had been a major problem, is now friendly and attentive. The food, which was okay before, is now quite good. All our dishes were tasty. Our only complaint was that my wife thought her lemon start was insufficiently lemony. The setting is, as always, terrific, even though we were there on a rainy night that precluded eating out on the deck. We have put the Captain back on our list of places to eat on the island.
Beautiful location on the shore, quaint cabinesque ambience. Cocktails were generous and wine list adequate. Food choices met all our specific needs. Servers were new and fun. It’s good to have a restaurant open on Monday evenings.
Thank you Stollywg for your feedback and review of your experience, we are happy as well to provide locals an options on Monday and Tuesday nights.
This was first time and it won’t be our last. The food was excellent and the wait staff was super. It was a Birthday and we requested a window table and it was terrific!! The Inn is gorgeous and embodies the beauty of the Pacific Northwest.
So happy to hear you spent your birthday Lindah at Captain Whidbey, thank you so much...and yes a window view can be pretty magical for sure.
It took 15 mins or more to be seated despite having had a reservation. But our experience otherwise was great! Great food, great view, cute atmosphere. We’d definitely reccomend...
Im sorry Tulip it took so long, at times and for the sake of your experience, we ask guests if they wouldn't mind waiting for a few extra minutes past their reservation time so we can let our team catch up, happy to see you had a great experience once sat.
Beautiful setting, casual atmosphere outside. We loved the view!
Thanks CatlinS, we appreciate that...come back any time.
I came for Sunday brunch with my husband as we were celebrating our two year wedding anniversary, we got married at the Captain Whidbey Inn and had a wonderful experience then (2017). I am sad to say that on 8/25/19 we had horrible service, the waitress didn’t explain the menu at all, we didn’t get our drinks until halfway through our meal, the food was very bland and overpriced, the waitress didn’t take our plates and it attracted wasps, not friendly staff at all and unwelcoming. I sadly wouldn’t recommend going, but it is a beautiful location with history.
Good service, attentive wait staff, food was good but the bread for mussels was very hard and old, no taste PLEASE get another bread supplier. Other dishes in our 4 person party were good...
Thank you for your review. We make our bread in house and the kitchen has been made aware of this issue. We hope to see you again soon.
We look forward to visiting again. The view is outstanding, the atmosphere friendly, and the outside visitors adorable. There were bunnies in the yard, birds on the water and flying around, and an otter made his or her way to the back porch as well. The bar drinks were refreshing!
Situated in the most stunning Penn Cove full of mussel habitat, this charming Historical venue is a must for special occasions, out of town guests or just a beautiful afternoon relaxing on the open deck. We were extremely well taken care of and all dishes served were so artfully prepared one paused before devouring the tasty meals we ordered. Highly recommended as a unique PNW, Madrona tree lodge inn.
Thank you so much for the glowing review! We are so happy you enjoyed your meal and hope to see you again soon!
The setting and scenery are wonderful. The service is good. The food needs a lot of improvement to get our vote. It’s very expensive. Chowder is thin and very salty. Bread is very salty. Butter is salty. Who tastes the food prior to playing? Anyone? Caesar was advertised as having white anchovies. They forgot them and we had to ask. Dressing was just flavorless. Burrato salad was ok. Dessert? Maybe that’s what we should go for next time. Dessert and wine are good.
We appreciate your feedback and have relayed your comments to the chef. Thank you for visit and for your review.
I'd highly recommend Captain Whidbey as they had very delicious food, in a beautiful setting. Slow roasted pork shank and my husband had duck. Very flavorful and something I can't make that good at home. Traveling by boat and arriving at their boat dock made it all the more exceptionally fun!
We are so happy to hear about your beautiful visit to the Captain. Thank you for the wonderful review and we hope to see you again soon!
Location is spectacular, food was good, service was neither. Which is a total bummer! This place is SO great. This is at least our 6th visit since new owners, all different times and meals and I’m just perplexed.
We appreciate your review and take all of our guest comments to heart. Is there anything in particular in regards to the service that we can improve upon?
Loved this quaint restaurant. The burrata salad wasn’t the best I’ve ever had. The pasta was good...good texture, great flavors. My fav of all was the freshly baked bread...crusty on the outside, soft and perfect inside....delicious!!! The same bread is used for toast on their breakfast boards!
Thank you for your review! We hope to see you again soon.
Each time we return it gets better. Fantastic David Bowie cocktail theme. Lovely Penn Cove Mussels. Great wine and the view makes it unbeatable.
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We look forward to your next visit!
We celebrated a dear friends birthday, which the restaurant promptly forgot. Service was spotty and the assistant waiter was excellent. The night before, the restaurant/hotel had a large wedding, so all hands on deck then, but tired the next night. Heat lamps all were not working, so we sat outside in bitter cold. On the bright side, the management was very responsive; the food was outstanding - each course beautifully prepared - mussels, scallops, skirt steak, desserts - especially the flourless chocolate cake and the white wine selection was a hit out of the park. Will definitely try again. Hoping everything will be back to normal again and perfected.
Thank you for taking the time to visit us and to share your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal and look forward to the opportunity to serve you again. If I remember your group correctly, you have my business card and my promise that we will make things right on your next visit. Thank you again.
Took out-of-town guests for brunch. Arrived with lots of wedding party people on site having a good time (which was fine). Asked if had a reservation. Said "yes" (gave no name/time of reserve/no list or reservation verification attempted). Was shown to a table (nothing really to complain about). Nice view. People having good time which made things a bit noisy but not unpleasant. The music playing over dining room speakers was unpleasantly loud causing us and those around us to speak loudly to be heard. Waiter came in a relatively short time and took our food/drink orders. LONG time until food arrived (didn't use watch but conservatively 45 minutes+). Drinks came perhaps 10 minutes after food. Food was not great but not bad...average. Considering food costs...below average. Didn't see waiter for approximately another 45 minutes. Asked for drink refills...took at least 15 minutes. Wait staff appeared to consist of only one waiter who had too many tables to cover thus the long delays in food/drink service...he was amiable and apologetic (when available). Another long wait paying our bill. Gave credit card. 20 minutes or more later received the wrong bill copy without credit card. Assisted by checkin employee to get correct bill/card back. This wasn't the worst dining experience, but it in no way encourages us to return. Too bad in that the view/surroundings were very nice and waiter friendly despite being apparently overloaded. Nothing about the food screams for one to rush back for more.
Menu is confusing with few main dishes, many sides or appetizers. No one in our party of 4 really enjoyed their dinner and we felt it was way too expensive. Will not be returning.
We are saddened to hear you will not be returning, but appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback.
My salmon dish was great. I asked for it undercooked, and it arrived perfectly. However, my wife's dish of a black bean burger was a bust. It fell apart right away in the bun. Different kinds of beans were used, and some were not cooked as thoroughly as needed. The schmear of hot sause was on just one side of the bun. And no pickles. Despite what the menu said.
Maybe an off day.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your salmon and are always happy to accommodate any requests our guests may have. Your feedback about the black bean burger has also been shared with the kitchen in the hopes that our "off days" will become fewer and farther between.
The setting is lovely and the food and cocktails were very good, especially the root vegetables with goat cheese, the burrata and the cedar planked salmon. An unusual take on lemon meringue pie that didn’t work for us but they did not charge us for it so all was good.
Thank you Anne for your positive feedback we appreciate it, we will keep working on the meringue.
Went there for happy hour. the selection on happy hour menu wasn't very good and selection of beer wasn't very good, but we mostly went there for the views and patio. The service was great and atmosphere awesome.
Thank you SandraR for dropping by for our social hour, we apologize if it didn't meet your expectations, as you saw we are approaching the happy hour time frame differently than other restaurants. We have 6 beers and 1 cider on draft for you to enjoy, I'm sorry you weren't able to find one that worked, they rotate occasionally so please check back the next time you're in town. Happy to see that the service met your expectations.
I love this place. Considering it's location ( center of nowhere) the food and delivery are good. I will say I had the best clam chowder I've ever had and that's saying something as I order it everywhere. The rest of the meal was OK, served well but a little lackluster. I had Cassoulet which you certainly don't have access to often and although the duck was very good the rest was just OK. My daughter had the black bean burger and it was also just OK. Maybe it was the lack of spicing? Having criticized a portion of the meal I would go back anytime as the atmosphere is wonderful. Rustic and charming. The staff was good and allowed us to finish our wine glass down by the water -- also prepared a very nice pot of tea with warm mugs for us to take to our rooms. I'd give the staff a 5 star. and the atmosphere a 10 star.
Wow ValerieW, thanks for your kind words and for the review of your experience, we are happy to see that you found the staff and atmosphere so wonderful and attentive, were really happy to see you also stayed with us, thank you! We obviously missed the mark on the Cassoulet and the Black Bean Burger it looks like, for that I apologize.
We came back to Captain Whidbey Restaurant to celebrate a birthday. It was a perfect afternoon in the sunshine, and we had a lovely table in the outdoor seating area. Servers were attentive and helpful (brought extra bread, when requested; described the various drinks, etc.); we didn't feel hurried. Food was delicious -- mussels were the best ever. We'll be back!
Thank you MarleneK for the review of your experience, we are happy to see that you found the staff so wonderful and attentive especially on your birthday! We look forward to seeing once again on our patio this summer.
We had dinner the night before and it was fine but brunch needs some help. We had told the host we would have a drink at the bar first before our table reservation and were ignored for about 30 minutes and the my husband went over and we were then told there was no bartender but someone would come say hi. Then a lady came over and proceeds to chat up and serve a guy beer that had just walked up. She still ignored us and then loaded the dishwasher. We said we’d like to order a drink while we waited for our table and she said she had to make other drinks for the tables outside first. But she could take the order. We then decided we may as well move to our table early if that was the only way to get service. Two of the four drinks came out and one was wrong. Our new waitress was nice but did not stick around for additional table questions/needs. We were told they were out of the crab cocktail. The avocado toast was not good. I just expected more specially following the holiday so technically it was a holiday weekend. We stayed at the hotel for three nights and had some friends meet us for brunch and I did not make them want to come stay there. I’d say all this could be blown off but given the $200 + brunch bill, the $1000 hotel bill and the holiday weekend, I’d recommend a service and hospitality meeting with the restaurant staff.
We appreciate your feedback and apologize for your unsatisfactory experience. We have been growing our staff since our reopening and, since customer service is our top priority, we understand that staff coaching is a daily necessity. As a team we are disappointed that we missed the mark during your stay. We have also recently made some changes to our menus based on the feedback we have received and aim to provide a better experience to all our guests going forward.
Had a terrible experience here. I brought my elderly parents visiting from out of town after a recommendation. Checked the website, reviews and instagram and received no warning that despite all the money poured into the renovations to make this place as instagrammable as possible, they made zero attempt to make it ADA compliant or accessible to anyone with vision or mobility problems. The main building with the restaurant is almost completely inaccessible with no ramp, only two poorly placed and ill marked stair railings and the only way in being extremely high and steep steps. The surfaces around it are irregular and unpaved with no markings and minimal lighting anywhere. No one in a wheelcI managed to get my legally blind father and my mother who just had a knee replacement into the building with difficulty and no offers of help from any of the staff, who seemed indifferent at best but were most surly and harassed in the their manner. No one in a wheelchair could ever enter the main building from what I can see but there is no warning anywhere. The dining room is cute but the meal did not make up for their lack of accommodations. It was fair to inedible (the sardines) and the portions were too small at this price point for this level of fine dining. Many mistakes in preparations. Temperatures were lukewarm. We were desperate to escape by the time our waitress tried to strong arm us into dessert, the most interest she had shown all evening. We found exiting just as hard as the entry. The bathrooms are down a long, narrow, almost unlit hall and are not accessible either. While my father was using them, I asked the receptionist to either help him down the steps when he came (he is blind) or ask him to wait for my return as I was helping my mother down the steep steps. She refused repeatedly, even when I explained the issue. When my father came, she told him that they were “thinking of adding a ramp but it would ruin the look.” That sums up this place. AVOID.
Thank you Anonymous for your review. We realize our historic building is not for everyone due to the nature of its layout. Please reach out to our Hotel GM directly/privately so that he may explain our abilities to meet ADA standards in a 112-year-old historic building, he would be more than happy to review with you the process and what we have been working on.
Super cute spot,cozy and welcoming. I prefer spicier mussels so if you’re not a spice lover, this is perfect for weaker spice lovers.
Thank you NidaG, we appreciate your feedback and may need to kick up the spice next time your in.
The drinks were very good. Our waitress was very nice n helpful. We ate salmon n meat. The salmon was not very good as far as taste. It was just blah IMO only. The potato salad was very wet n sloppy. Overall we will b back to try a second time in the future.
Thank you Lovers for the review of your experience, we are happy to see that your waitress was nice and helpful and appreciate that feedback. We obviously missed the mark on the Salmon it appears, we hope you will give us another chance as that is one of our most popular dinner entrees.
Had a reservation for 2:00 lunch, however no window tables available. Waiter informed us when he brought the menus that they had no Penn Cove mussels or salmon due to supplier shortage. Penn Cove mussels were half the menu items and the only other seafood was shrimp or crab. Portions were very small for the price (a few butter lettuce leaves, a couple of tomato quarters and 4 shrimp for $22; a crab roll and fries for $24). On our way out, we found out they were having a BBQ later that day - with Penn Cove mussels and salmon! Very disappointing experience. My dad has been going there for over 50 years and said he won’t go back.
Thank you SavannahLocal for the review of your experience, I'm sorry to see there were no window tables available, with only 4 they are very popular and go quickly. Im sorry you found our portions small for the price and we certainly should not have run out of mussels in light of their feature on our menu and the 4th of July dinner, we are however at the mercy of the supplier at times, regardless, we apologize and do hope you will give us another chance.
A taste of old Whidbey. Beautiful location, rustic, charming. Limited menu. Shared plato
Thank you KathleenW for the review of your experience, it is a beautiful location, we are happy you enjoyed it.
The Inn itself has maintained the same look and feel which we were very happy about. The food left a lot to be desired. Seems like presentation means more than substance. It is a limited menu and they were out of half the choices. Everything we had looked forward to eating. My husband had fish and chips. Fish was fabulous but served on top of the mound of fries which had absorbed the grease from the fish. Unfortunate. I had the crab roll (they were out of the rolll) served on toast which I had asked for as a substitute. The crab was flavorless and had large pieces of sun dried tomato with the skin hanging off. Had to be cut before eating.
Disappointing. The staff is wonderful! Very friendly and attentive. We loved them. The dessert (creme brulee, was amazing! We will wait awhile to see if the y up the food flavor and availability before returning.
Thank you DavidZ for the review of your experience, we are happy to see that you found the staff so wonderful and attentive, that's important for us to hear as we make sure to focus on our service levels each and every day. We obviously missed the mark on the crab roll and the fries under the fish, for that I apologize.
1. Play only instrumentals. We came to eat and talk, not listen to someone singing.
2. One waiter is not enough to do all the jobs needed. Aaron was wonderful,but he should not be expected to do it all.
3. Menu needs a larger font.
4. Food was delicious!
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are happy to accommodate any requests that will improve your overall experience. We have also been growing our staff each week to better provide a more seamless and attentive dining experience. Thank you again for the 4 stars. We hope to serve you again soon.
It was a good day for Sunday brunch with friends! We tried the cold carrot turmeric soup, very thick and yummy! Good meal, service could be better. This is our third visit and the food is really good but for whatever reason the service does not match the food. I’m sure it will improve.
We are so happy to hear you have been enjoying the food! We are confident that with the addition of new staff members we will more consistently provide the experience excellence we strive for each day. Thank you for your feedback.
We wanted to check out the Inn after the recent renovation, having gone there for years to eat mussels on the deck every summer.
Deck's still there, and the mussels are still on the menu. The menu is much bigger, and better; the drinks are great (kudos to the new bartender). Great attention to detail in the food: my cassoulet had beans that were cooked just right, still toothsome and not falling apart, the sausage was great, the duck was lovely, the pork belly crispy and luscious. Service is friendly and accommodating as always.
A small thing: the chairs on the deck are no longer the comfy plush things we used to sit in, but French-public-park-style and uncomfortable for long dinners.
Prices have gone up significantly. So, perhaps not as great a value as in the past.
Thank you for the wonderful review! We do now have some comfortable lounge furniture on the upper deck and will soon be able to offer cushions for diners seating on the lower deck. We hope that these additions will make the new furniture more comfortable and inviting. Have a great day!
The service made the entire experience poor. Unfortunately we did not have a good dinner. The server came to our table twice and upon the second time she said she needed to drop 2 beers and she would be back. At that time as we were very hungry and with 2 young children we just asked to give her our order. She then stood like a child being disciplined to take our order and was extreemly unhelpful when asked questions about the menu. The martini I ordered with olives came with nothing but an excuse for why it had nothing to accompany it. My husband and I were sharing the large rib eye and had ordered the temp medium and it was medium rare. Oddly that was the first dish to arrive and really with nothing else but 2 small plates and knives. At the time of ordering the steak I had asked for horse raddish to accompany the steak however it was missing along with the rest of the food for the table. We did have a table full of used empty cups but not much room for the food we were hoping was coming. After the adults had all finished our food then the kids food finally arrived. The kids menu said to was salmon fish a chips but what arrived was cod fish and chips. I think the kids menu also said the burger would have cheese however it did not. Over all the experience was a terrible end to a georgous day. We are a family who like to eat out and enjoy. While we enjoyed the hotel what we all said to each other on the way home was next year we will cook hot dogs on the fire and avoid that all together. The outdoor tables and chairs were not comfortable or large enough for the price of the dinner. If the servers are unable to give good service to the outdoor diners then don't serve the high end plates outside. I never saw a mananger for the restraunt. We had a reservation so I would expect to have good service and a yummy meal its very unfortunate that we absolutely did not.
We were staying at the Inn so we had cocktails on the deck, a dinner and a breakfast. The cocktails were good and the deck vibe was very enjoyable. The skinny fries were kind of soggy but a nice flavor. At dinner the burger, cioppino and beets were tasty, but the desserts look like an afterthought (mostly ice cream) and the fruit tart was boring at best, and required a jackhammer to get through the crust. The $8 plate of bread was stale and had obviously been sliced hours earlier. The server whisked away our unfinished cocktails (can't they ask first?). The coffee was cold, although the server protested, saying "but I saw steam coming out as I poured it" but she did replace it. As for breakfast, the bacon was tasty but again, not crispy, the eggs fine but the toast a disappointment. The "veggie" smoothie was too sweet to even sip, and the breakfast board featured a stale pastry and half-muffin, more of the sugary smoothie, some tough, curly-dried smoked salmon. They are good at throwing adjectives on the menu and presenting an instagramable-looking plate, but the eating experience, not so much. We'd go back for cocktails, but not a meal.
Thank you for your feedback and for the 4 stars. We appreciate your comments about the food and service, all of which has been relayed to the staff so we can avoid such missteps in the future. We look forward to serving you again, especially in July when we roll out our new summer cocktail menu.
Sam the waiter dumped a glass of wine in my lap soaking my pants and feet. We had to use our own napkins to clean it up and they were never replaced Sam shows up 5 min later with a wet rag Dinner went down from there. Two if us got our order and the other was 15 min later. The beans in the cassoulet were uncooked. They poured the wrong drinks in the wrong glasses. The entire time there were rambling excuses. Nothing was taken off the bill.
By all means go if you want to be doused in wine!
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We certainly can appreciate how quickly the tone of an evening can be set, and if it's a negative experience right off the bat, it can be very hard to recover from. And sometimes, an offering of free dessert is just too little too late. We apologize that this was your experience. We take each and every review as a teaching moment and strive every day to be better than the day before. Thank you again for your review.
The clam chowder was the best I have ever had. The food was excellent and the service even better. The wait staff were attentive but not overly so and they shared lots of information about the local area when we asked questions.
The view of the water from the restaurant was beautiful and the building and grounds were charming.
Thank you so much for dining with us and for your kind words! We are happy to hear you liked the chowder, that dish is a staff favorite. We hope to see you again soon!
Our food was ok. Our friends food was terrible. All of the food was way over priced.
We are so sorry to hear you did not enjoy your dining experience. We appreciate all our guests' feedback, positive or otherwise, and appreciate the time you took in writing your review. We have recently released our lunch menu, which has a lower price point overall, and we will soon be updating our dinner menu for the summer months. We hope that you will try us again as we would love the opportunity to provide you with the excellent experience we strive for every day.
We had a great time and love the upgrades to the property inside and out! We will be back!
Thank you for the wonderful review! We look forward to serving you again soon.
It is a lovely setting and the menu concept and decor and flavors were actually quite good. They have a long way to go in communication and service and timing. It was palpably uncomfortable several times throughout our meal and could see it happening all around us. And for the price, service must get better. Even after several complete misses in a row, we were presented with the full bill which was really shocking that there was no acknowledgement of the lack of service and mistakes. I recommend a glass of wine on the patio... but I hope they grow and improve their team because they have a beautiful opportunity.
Thank you for taking the time to visit us and to share your comments. We are sorry to hear your experience was not as seamless as it should have been. We are still working on growing our staff and a few of our servers are still quite new. However, we are blessed with employees who have big hearts and are very passionate about customer service, so we are confident that the hiccups you experienced will be ironed out in the very near future. We hope you chose to visit us again soon.
Great food, nice ambiance and an amazing waiter. The food was excellent but I felt that the prices were a bit high. Fun drink menu too!
We are so happy to hear you had a pleasant dining experience with us! We hope you will join us for lunch, if you haven't already, as the price points are a little lower than at dinner. Thank you so much for spending time with us and for the good review!