Captain Whidbey Restaurant
The Captain Whidbey’s beautiful waterfront setting, edible gardens and Penn Cove view, provided all guests with a memorable experience. Focusing on ingredients grown locally on Whidbey Island, as well as produce, flowers and herbs harvested from the Captain Whidbey gardens, our culinary focus is on Northwest comfort foods.
The mussels were the best I have had. As a Whidbey Island resident, I'm so pleased to see the Capt. Whidbey dining room succeeding again
Thank you mel1012 we REALLY appreciate your kind feedback on the mussel dish you enjoyed and as a local island resident, your support, we look forward to seeing you once again at Captain Whidbey when we re-open.
I cannot rate the food because I didn't end up eating, but this is a review of the service. I had a reservation for 10:30am for brunch on the day of my check out from the lodge. We arrived at 10:29 on the dot. There was a group of 6 people in line in front of us who noted that they had an 11:30am reservation but arrived early and hoped they could be seated. The hostess was able to seat them and attended to us about 5 minutes later, no big deal. Once we were sat down the hostess gave us our menus and poured water from the table. Just after my husband and I decided what to eat the hostess came back and noted that they were serving their musslefest menu and exchanged the menu we had been looking at for that one. Upon reading the special menu we realized there were no breakfast items. Oysters on the half shell did not sound good at 10:30 in the morning. Since we were seated directly next to the hostess I turned around and asked if they in fact were not serving brunch. He noted that he would check with the kitchen to see if they could accommodate brunch items. He quickly confirmed that they could, which was nice. This all passed within the first 10 minutes of us sitting at our table. From this point on we watched as the group of 6 who had been seated right before us and directly next to us had their drink order taken and subsequently served 6 coffees. We waited patiently for our turn. Another 10 minutes passed and a few tables were served food and the group of 6 next to us had their food order taken. We thought for sure that the waitress would stop by our table next and at least take a drink order, but no, she quickly turned and went the other way. I tried on several occasions to make eye contact with either of the servers to no avail. About 10 more minutes passed and it was 10:56, so we got up and walked out of the door. Totally unnoticed. I did mention this to the front desk on my way out. This experienced sealed the fact that I would not stay at the lodge again either
Thank you Angela for sharing your experience during MusselFest, needless to say we didn't come close to giving you the proper Captain Whidbey experience. Regardless of the fact it was Musselfest we should have taken better care of your group. We will use this feedback and your lack of an experience as a learning opportunity for the staff and management and review this with the team. We certainly hope you give us another chance.
My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful breakfast at Captain Whidbey this weekend. Beautiful ferry ride, scenic drive and we were there. Look forward to going back soon!
Thank you Rob for your kind feedback, we love that you enjoyed our breakfast and your stay and appreciate you staying with us, see you again soon!
Couldn’t have been happier with all the food and environment. The house cocktails are delicious!
WOW thats wonderful feedback, thank you for the 5 ⭐️ and your kind comments , we appreciate it! The cocktail menu is about to change for the Spring and be named after a new singer/artist, we hope you come back to try those as well.
Fantastic menu and preparation, excellent service, lovely surroundings...This was a meal to be remembered. Unconditional recommendation.
WOW Song0728, considering the property this time of year is not in "full bloom" we appreciate your kind comments. We are happy as can be that you enjoyed your meal, an "unconditional recommendation" is amazing.
Wedding dinner with family! Our children flew up to surprise us for our wedding, and even though The Captain Whidbey was full for dinner, their staff made special arrangements to accommodate the extra 3 attendees. The food and service were divine! Could not have asked for a better wedding night dinner! The salmon was cooked to perfection!
Thank you Rebecca for letting us know about your experience on February 28th, were so happy we gave you a great CW experience and could not be more thrilled that you chose us for your Wedding dinner. The Salmon dish is one of our favorite, were glad you enjoyed it....see you soon!
6:30 reservation - one soup came 45 minutes later. Another hour for the mains to come. Never any feedback from wait staff re delay. Food was tasty but way over priced - this is not the city. Meat ordered rarest possible - came medium-well. Have lived on the island for 25 years. Have experienced better and worse at Capt Whidbey, but unlikely to be back under this regime - second bad experience for us, third for our guests. Also hear that they don’t care if locals like them - think that’s the death knell.
Hello and thank you for taking the time and giving us your feedback. I am sorry that your experience was not what you were looking for and to find out that we could have done a much better job. I want to let you know that we are working hard on improving the overall experience and as the General Manager of the Captain Whidbey and someone who grew up on the Island I can assure you that we care about the locals.
Amazing ambiance and delicious food - dining at the bar was just as nice as a table.
The food at Captain Whidbey Restaurant has gone from hit and miss to superb. I am a local resident and love to have good restaurants close. Now we can depend on this one to feed us and make us happy. I stopped going two years ago. We went a week ago because there was not where we could get in. And then, we went again just to make sure they were consistent! This is an OMG restaurant experience. The lamp chops, the vegetarian risotto request I made, the cioppino clam dish was all amazing. We also had the roasted broccoli and cauliflower with blue cheese slaw as an appetizer. WOW. We will be a top supporter of this restaurant and will send many people here - we have a lively Airbnb and we are just 2 minutes from the restaurant. Keep up the good work!
Mellow ambiance and great food. Will go back for more
Thank you for the 5 ⭐️ JiminAZ, we appreciate it, we look forward to having you join us again!
Great food and bar service! It was a quiet weekday Winter night, so we had the place mostly to ourselves. The bartender was very fun to chat with, and we were able to get free sparkling wine tastings which was lovely. We grabbed a table after that and got our delicious food promptly. Highly recommend!
We had a wonderful time. The moon reflecting on the water was an added treat. The service and food were 5 star. My only little peep, the prices were a bit high on the food and drinks. My bill for one was 83.00 plus. I had bread, the beet starter, half rack of lamb and a glass of wine. It was delicious!
Environment is amazing. Our wait person was awesome. My food was great but my wife’s food came out cold. I would eat here again but my wife’s cold food was kind of a let down.
We were guests in the hotel, as well. So looking forward to a nice meal. Our server was very good, but food was so disappointing. My husband had the risotto with chicken wings...sticky, mushy risotto with no flavor. He sent it back (which he has never done) and got the flank steak with fries, which were fine. I had the salmon and it was, again, tasteless and luke warm. The hotel stay was wonderful and the front desk so welcoming.
We ordered the avocado toast and shakshuka. The first time the shakshuka came out the eggs were one step from being completely raw. We sent the dish back and it took nearly 15 minutes to get it back. It appeared that they may have put it at the end of the line of other dishes instead of putting it at the front so the other people at the table did not have to wait for their food.
New owners, and it shows! A little remodeling in the dinning area makes a big difference! And the chef and food greatly improved. You have to try the brussel sprouts!
Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed your time with us and that everything was to your liking. We hope to see you back again soon.
We stayed at the Inn attached, so this may be a unique review, but the ambiance is pretty amazing (stellar tracklist on the speakers), the service was solid, we had a great time. The only thing I can agree with on some of the reviews was that food, for the price, was just not quite what it should be. We more or less agree... some of the items lacking just a little extra flavor? The beet/goat cheese dish needed more beets, the salmon/potatoes were just a bit bland, the portobello mushroom had to much "fry" (though the flavor was top-notch).
We stayed two nights at the Captain Whidbey Inn and had 2 breakfasts, 1 snack hour, and 1 dinner there. The staff was so kind and attentive at all times, even letting us stay late past closing hours on Saturday night to have a last drink at the bar.
Highlights included the avo toast with harissa aioli, the Penn Cove mussel cioppino, and the chocolate and almond cakes at dessert.
Definitely make a reservation for dinner, the space is quite small. We didn't make breakfast reservations and found space at the bar to walk-in.
Hello, Thank you for your feedback and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay and your time with us. It's always great when we find out our staff does a great job. Thanks again and we hope to see you back again soon.
We are residents of Whidbey Island and long for a few more dining options. Naturally, we were excited to read an outstanding review of the Capt. Whidbey in a renown fashion/lifestyle magazine late last year. Sadly, it is an understatement to suggest that our first (and likely, last) experience with the Capt. Whidbey, was underwhelming. While the service was friendly and polite, the staff was clearly overwhelmed and unable to keep-up with the limited number of requests coming from our table. For example, getting a second glass of wine was as frustrating as waiting for a sunny day in April. In terms of the food; Things started out well with a dozen, Penn Cove Select oysters. However, it all deteriorated from there. After a very average salad course, we received our main courses... My husband ordered what was supposed to be pork-shoulder, which he described as similar to eating hardtack. Grossly overcooked, dry-as-a-bone and cold. It was certainly not prepared with a slow-roasted technique that you would expect for a dish described as BBQ. He also said the Hoisin BBQ sauce that topped the dish was "out of the jar" and sweeter than a spoonful of saccharin. I had the salmon which arrived as if it had been briefly seared and finished in the refrigerator. While I enjoy sushi and seared, rare to med-rare fish, this was just an under-cooked and ice-cold attempt at what should be a PNW staple. I've had better salmon at a steakhouse in Arkansas. Our friends who joined us for dinner had comments about their meals that ranged from "bland" to inedible. Further, sitting nearby to us was another couple with whom we have often dined-out. Needless to say, their experience was consistent with ours. While we understand that Whidbey Island is not a dining-destination, there are a number of restaurants that serve quality, competent and delicious fare, for significantly less than the $380 that our table spent at the Capt. Whidbey this past Saturday evening.
Food was fantastic; noise level was miserable.....very difficult to have a conversation.
We went to the fix price Christmas dinner. The food simply did not live up to the price we paid - $288 ($89 apiece for eh dinner plus beverages extras, and an automatic 20% tip). The food was consistently B-B+ game and never attained a level of excellence we expected for the price. A major disappointed. We felt stupid for having done.
Survente, We are very sorry to see we did not meet your expectations with respect to the food quality, we had many positive reviews to our Christmas Eve and Day dinner but obviously missed the mark for your experience.
Had to wait a while to get acknowledged that we were trying to get seated but once seated the staff was attentive. Excellent food, prepared perfectly. A little pricey though.
Thank you for your feedback Leslie we appreciate it, we are happy to see you enjoyed your meal, happy new year!
First time there and we loved it! My only wish is that you had the Miracle glassware for sale.
They offered us mussels with wine and garlic sauce only to come back later and tell us they had no garlic so they put shallots in the sauce which was only moderately satisfactory, which was too bad because otherwise it was a nice meal. Then we asked about dessert and choose the pear tart, again only to be told after a wait that they did not have any tart. Overall the servers were very rushed and the wait times for everything were longer than expected for the price.
The food was good, not great but I’m sure it’s hard to do a thanksgiving menu. The charm of the place was worth it. We returned 2 days later for brunch and the food was much better.
Thank you Ellen for joining us for Thanksgiving Dinner and for brunch over this past weekend, we appreciate your insight into the challenge of Thanksgiving for 100+ as we always strive for "great" rather than good..
Only for the atmosphere--understaffed and very slow service. Food was OK--breakfast board was lovely. The Inn and property is well maintained and very nice. The staff is very nice and accommodating.
Thank you Anna for your review, we are so happy to learn you enjoyed our unique breakfast board and sincerely apologize for any staffing issues around the holidays, happy to know they were nice and accommodating, that's always a priority even when understaffed.
The food was honestly so horrible. The service was great, but everything else just wasn’t at all worth the price.
Thank you Chloe for sharing your experience, we are sorry we obviously didn't meet your expectations, one of our team members will be reaching out to you directly for additional information and feedback.
Ambiance and food was great. Service was slow.
Thank you for your feedback on your dining experience on 11/16, we will take your feedback and continue working with the team on their speed of service.
We stayed at Captain Whidbey for our anniversary and had dinner and brunch here. The food, service and ambience was wonderful! The view of the water is beautiful and the food feels like an elevated rustic ode to the northwest. The service was fantastic and we loved the cocktails and food. Highly recommend!
Thank you for joining us for your anniversary, we are so honored and appreciate your wonderful feedback on the experience you had. We do consider our unique property an elevated PNW experience, thank you for seeing that and hope to see you again soon...maybe this winter?
We had the most wonderful server. She was just so accommodating and pleasant. We dined there two nights in a row.
Thank you Paul we appreciate your kind feedback on the server, hope to see you again soon.
I think it may be better at dinner. Brunches are often too limited and vastly ignored. So I will try it again before finalizing a conclusion.
Thank you Sofie for giving us a try at Brunch, any additional feedback on our brunch menu is appreciated as all feedback helps us improve. We DO hope to see you at dinner one of these evenings.
So fun to see the ancient Captain Whidbey updated! Our server, Sophie, was delightful. Food not terribly good, though. Signature blue cheese slaw was SO full of creaminess I couldn’t eat it, though good idea to combine those ingredients. Hopefully menu execution will improve, it’s a gem of a location.
Went for my birthday dinner which happened to be the same evening as a high school reunion, so I assume it was much louder in the restaurant than usual, but it was a fun energy for a Sat night out on the island. Our server was pleasant but not as attentive as I would have liked to see. Took a while to get our food, then it all came a bit too quickly. Then, a friend had called earlier that day and ordered us glasses of champagne that ended up being delivered to us with our entree and the glass of wine I had ordered when ordering our meal. Would have been nice to get the champagne upon check in for our reservations when we arrived vs at the end of the meal and at the same time as my other drink. Not cool. Ambiance was magical, love the charm and history, and the food was pretty tasty! All in all, we had a really nice evening at Captain Whidbey.
Thank you for celebrating with us Erin we appreciate it, it does appear as if your dinner was the same night as the 1974 graduation reunion, I apologize if it was noisier than normal with so many guests enjoying themselves at the bar. We should have timed the champagne better and for that, I apologize, we certainly hope you give us another chance and don't judge us on that experience.
The duck and mushrooms were excellent. Service was also very good.
Thank you Pugetmac for taking the time to rate us 5 stars, were so happy you enjoyed the Duck and Mushrooms!
Great value for the price. Wonderful view, nice quiet place with excellent service.
Thank you Penny we appreciate all the positive feedback.
This was my second visit to Captain Whibdey's hotel restaurant. The first visit was 2-3 yrs ago. Each time the food was underwhelming. This visit for lunch 2019 the Caprese salad was a huge ice cream scoop of cheese and tomatoes around it. Lettuce was needed. The ratio was not good of tomatoes to cheese. The fish and chips was very crusted . Deep fried to a hard crisp so much so I just ate the fish from the hard fried shell. Just not impressive. I do not recall what I had 2-3 yrs ago but the same impression, just not some place I would return to for the food. It is absolutely charming in atmosphere.
Thank you for your feedback PasadenaLady, we will use it as a learning experience and make sure to focus on the preparation of both those dishes.
Such a lovely atmosphere! Relaxing and charming. Great history of the place. A nice mix of old and new. The four new cabins are a treat (except for the thin wall between two of them). Delicious food and attentive staff. A must come back to spot!
We had the same server for dinner and lunch the next day. He was awesome, but when ordering lunch, first I ordered the chioppino, which was out, then I ordered the salmon sandwich with bacon, which they were out of bacon and then I ordered a butter lettuce salad, out of butter lettuce. That was a little frustrating. I ended up with the salmon sandwich that was good, but that was a lot of items to be out of.
We had the salmon for dinner the previous evening, which was very good. The wine selection for reds, could be better. Not great choices if you do not like Pinot Noir.
All this being said, everyone was very friendly, loved our room and the atmosphere was wonderful!
So glad we got to be a part of your celebration. Hope to see you again!
Meat was over cooked, drinks watery, fries cold, and puff pastry was stale, greasy, and reheated.