Butcher & Bull

4.1
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
89 Reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Located in the heart of downtown Winston-Salem, Butcher and Bull is a contemporary take on the traditional steakhouse. Featuring three private dining rooms, an energetic atmosphere, the freshest ingredients and adventurous dishes as well as an extensive wine list and signature cocktails. Complimentary valet parking. Hours: 11 am - Midnight Daily

avatar copy

Private Dining

Book your next event with us

View details
What 89 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.1based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.1
service
3.8
ambience
3.6
value
Noise · Moderate
67% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
n
niteonthetown
Greensboro
3 reviews
Dined on March 11, 2020
Overall3food2service3ambience3

Entrees were mediocre. Certainly not worth the price and not the experience we hoped for. My 8 oz filet couldn’t have been 8 oz and though I asked for it pinkish red which the server told me was medium, most looked more like medium well. Restaurant was not busy at all but service was also mediocre. Definitely not going back.

TH
TylerH
Greensboro
9 reviews
Dined on March 7, 2020
Overall4food5service4ambience1

The food and drinks were fantastic. The only negative to this restaurant is it’s ambience. I know it’s located inside a hotel, but it’s treated like a restaurant in a lobby. It was loud, we were interrupted with dinner from parking car head lights and all in all made for a poor experience.

The service was also great!

e
vipeateateat
Charlotte
34 reviews
Dined on March 5, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Our food was amazing! We can highly recommend the scallops and the pot roast.

TV
TomV
Greensboro
14 reviews
Dined on March 5, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience3

Enjoyed the Thursday Prime Rib special. Not best I have ever had, but certainly not the worst.

FP
FrankP
New York Area
4 reviews
Dined on March 2, 2020
Overall3food3service3ambience4

Maybe because it was a Monday night? Four of us ordered steaks. Two bone in ribeyes, a filet and a NY Strip. Two steaks and two sides came out, then a minute delay and a third steak made its appearance, then the next two sides, then about 3 or 4 minutes and the final steak came out. All cooked about the same way. Then we asked for spoons to serve ourselves the sides. I don't know, maybe because it was a Monday? The steaks, all four, were unevenly cooked. Some parts under and some over done to our orders. I don't know, maybe because it was a Monday? The wine was nice. The place has a nice vibe, wide open and modern decor.

VO
ValerieO
1 review
Dined on February 29, 2020
Overall4food5service5ambience4

The food was very good however the 6oz Filet seemed smaller than 6 oz and for the price to serve it plain seemed expensive. Also, I made resv on Open Table and indicated we had a birthday in the party, I also told the hostess when she seated us. Nothing was done. I did mention it to seating hostess as we left.

AD
AlexDummit
Acapulco
4 reviews
Dined on February 28, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Everything was good. The shrimp cocktail seemed pretty ridiculously priced. $14 for for large shrimp... idk. But the steak was great, poorly trimmed but delicious none the less. Our server was good and attentive.

HF
vipHeatF
Charlotte
3 reviews
Dined on February 16, 2020
Overall3food5service3ambience3

Food was good. Only one server working and she was definitely overworked, waited for drinks, etc. Lighting is too bright and there needs to be some background music. Ambiance is definitely lacking.

NG
NatG
San Francisco
6 reviews
Dined on February 16, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience3

It was ok, nothing super special. Parking was an issue. Food, service, etc acceptable.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Greensboro
2 reviews
Dined on February 15, 2020
Overall2food3service2ambience4

My husband and I went to Butcher & Bull tonight to celebrate Valentine’s and my upcoming birthday. We shared the charcuterie and cheese board and a bread basket. I ordered the arugula salad, wagyu tenderloin and asparagus. My husband had the Caesar salad, NY strip and mashed potatoes.

So before I give my opinion on the food let me share about our experience. The server was friendly but only semi attentive. Our salads came out after a very long wait and about 10 minutes before the charcuterie board. After another very long wait my steak came out literally ice cold. With apologies it was taken back and I again had to wait a significant amount of time before I got another. At no time was anything offered to make up for the issues with our service or the food being cold. Not even a free bread basket or offer of dessert.

The food was good quality. The charcuterie board and my arugula salad were amazing. The steak was good but I’ve had better other places. My husband felt the mashed potatoes were terrible, not flavorful or memorable in any way.

We definitely won’t go back. Our bill was $150 and experience wasn’t worth the cost.

d
dh22
Columbus
4 reviews
Dined on February 15, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Best steaks in town

s
sweeteats2014
Charlotte
1 review
Dined on February 15, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Best steaks for value hands down. Everything was delicious. Steaks were cooked as we requested, food came out quickly, craft cocktails were amazing, overall, 5 stars! We will definitely be back!

AH
AndreaH
San Francisco
1 review
Dined on February 15, 2020
Overall3food3service4ambience3

My husband and I went to this new (to us) restaurant to celebrate Valentine's Day. I picked the restaurant because my husband loves steak and this place obviously was known for its steaks because of the name. I got a seafood entre that was good, but my husband got a ribeye steak that was horrible. He even questioned the waitress about whether he was truly given a ribeye due to the taste, toughness, and general appearance. We were offered another steak but were under a time crunch so we couldn't wait for another to be cooked (and actually doubted whether it would be better than the first one). So, my husband ended up eating half of my scallops. Gratefully, we did not have to pay for the $31 steak, but we will never go back to this restaurant. Definitely a disappointing experience!

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Greensboro
14 reviews
Dined on February 14, 2020
Overall1food3service1ambience1

We had a reservation but when we got there the hostess said they were running behind. She didn’t even take her name - just told us to wait until she could even start a list. We left and went somewhere else to eat

k
kdoub
Greensboro
9 reviews
Dined on February 14, 2020
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Great. Will return

J
Julia
Greensboro
8 reviews
Dined on February 14, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Best steak I’ve had in Winston and we consider ourselves connoisseurs. Great cocktail menu and wine selection. Service is spot on.

OT
OpenTable Diner
San Francisco
11 reviews
Dined on February 14, 2020
Overall4food4service3ambience3

Ms.Scarlet in the kitchen with the booch bottle.

CP
ChasP
Greensboro
1 review
Dined on February 14, 2020
Overall2food2service3ambience3

Over priced average food. I have had better steaks at chain steakhouses. Very disappointing.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Charlotte
1 review
Dined on February 14, 2020
Overall3food4service3ambience2

They expanded to an extra room for the Valentine’s Day. Not the quality expected for this type of restaurant and disappointed they took this approach

LD
LarryD
1 review
Dined on February 14, 2020
Overall3food3service3ambience2

My steak was chewy. I couldn’t eat it all. My fries were cold. I glass of house wine cost $16.

MD
MelanieD
New York Area
1 review
Dined on February 11, 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience4

I did not know there was free parking up to two hours with validation and so parked blocks away since the parking garage across the street was closed. The servers were excellent and the food was great. I just would have like a few more selections for lunch compared to the vast breakfast and dinner menu.

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Raleigh
3 reviews
Dined on February 9, 2020
Overall2food2service2ambience2

All of the food came out cold, steaks, potatoes, spinach, and Mac and cheese. The spinach was also too salty to eat.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on February 8, 2020
Overall2food3service2ambience2

Food was very salty and service was poor no ambience the place was basically dead

OT
OpenTable Diner
Denver
6 reviews
Dined on January 28, 2020
Overall4food5service4ambience4

Went to "The Bull" as part of the Big Eat event. On the menu was scallops. We started with the shrimp cocktail. It was served in a way I had never experienced. I don't want to spoil it but give it a shot. The main course was really delicious. They have certainly upped their culinary game with this restaurant. Totally hidden as a hotel restaurant yet it fully delivers through on the menu. Give them a shot. I will return to try some of the other items seemly crafted for the region with a higher level of dining experience in mind. Kudos. Keep up the good work!!

PC
PaulC
1 review
Dined on January 28, 2020
Overall4food5service5ambience3

Dinner (scallops) was very good, but there weren't many, so value wasn't there.

D
Diner74
Miami
7 reviews
Dined on January 3, 2020
Overall3food3service4ambience3

Food was tasty but overpriced. Definitely felt like we were sitting in a hotel lobby restaurant. Service was fine. There are better, less costly restaurants nearby.

BB
BetsieB
Raleigh
1 review
Dined on December 31, 2019
Overall3food5service3ambience1

If you are staying in the Marriot, go for it. If you are a local looking for a cool place to have dinner with friends/family, this is not it. The food was great, but the menu was sorely small and the ambiance was straight out of Stranger Things season 1.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Greensboro
1 review
Dined on December 31, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We dined at Butcher and Bull for NYE. We were thrilled by the Miracle pop up! The menu had several options, from small plates to entrees to desserts. We both ordered the steak frites. The steak was cooked perfectly, and our appetizer and desserts were wonderful as well. A wonderful experience, we’ll definitely be back to check out the regular menu!

OT
OpenTable Diner
Charlotte
3 reviews
Dined on December 31, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

New Year’s Eve dinner. Christmas decor is great!!

SL
ScottL
Greensboro
1 review
Dined on December 29, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience4

The meat we had was excellent and creatively prepared. Will return.

OT
OpenTable Diner
San Francisco
3 reviews
Dined on December 23, 2019
Overall3food3service5ambience3

There for miracle bar at Christmas time. Menu was very limited. No vegetarian options and lots of pork and bacon. Drinks were fun but just ok compared with other cocktail bars around. Waiter was great tho!

DP
DougP
Greensboro
1 review
Dined on December 21, 2019
Overall1food1service1ambience1

B&B decided to put a 'Miracle on Cherry Street' pop-up in place over the holidays. Easily missed on their website, which I did.m HORRIBLE food, atmosphere, drinks, etc. Will never go back.

Butcher & Bull
Responded on December 31, 2019

Hello Doug, Thank you for joining us and taking the time to share your feedback. We're sorry to hear that you had a less than excellent experience at our holiday pop up. We will be back to our contemporary american steakhouse menus January 3rd until next holiday season and would like to invite you back. Please reach out to us the next time you would like to join us. 336.722.5232

Report
EG
ErinG
Baltimore
1 review
Dined on December 17, 2019
Overall3food4service3ambience4

I reached out to them about our visit and super bizarre experience but I never heard anything back. I would not recommend.

Butcher & Bull
Responded on December 20, 2019

Hello, Thank you for joining us and taking the time to share your feedback. We're sorry to hear that you had a less than excellent experience. We have reviewed your feedback with the team to better ourselves and would like to invite you back. Please reach out to us the next time you would like to join us. 336.722.5232

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on December 14, 2019
Overall2food2service2ambience1

The menu was ridiculously small, not even a side salad was offered. The bar offerings were also slim, both drinks I ordered were not drinkable. The prices are way too high for the quality of food. We will not be returning.

Butcher & Bull
Responded on December 20, 2019

Hello, Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience. We strive for culinary & mixology excellence and are very sorry to hear that we missed the mark. We have taken your feedback, reviewed it with our team, and would like to invite you back. Please reach out the next time you would like to join us and we will make sure to provide an awesome experience. 336.722.5232

Report
S
Sevillano
Washington DC
7 reviews
Dined on December 2, 2019
Overall1food3service1ambience1

The closed the restaurant to decorate for Christmas and tried to seat us in the cafe. We ended up leaving and going to another place to eat.

Butcher & Bull
Responded on December 20, 2019

Hello, Thank you for joining us and taking the time to provide your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you had a less than excellent experience. Please reach out the next time you would like to join us and we will make sure to provide an awesome experience. 336.722.5232

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
New England
35 reviews
Dined on November 30, 2019
Overall2food3service3ambience1

Awful. The restaurant is located inside the Marriott in downtown Winston-Salem. They had a rowdy, drunk mob of people at the bar area and seating area when we arrived. Our table wasn't ready and we were asked to wait for a private room, which we did appreciate. Drunk people wandered in an out of the private room more frequently than our wait staff. The food was flavorful, but had multiple issues. We asked for the meat to be cooked well done and it was bloody. Mac and cheese side dish was dry and overcooked, with a huge puddle of grease at the bottom. The manager did comp us 20% off, but the bill still came out to a lot more than the meal was worth. Skip this place.

Butcher & Bull
Responded on December 20, 2019

Hello, Thank you for joining us and taking the time to share your feedback. We're sorry to hear that you had a less than excellent experience. We have reviewed this with the team to better ourselves and would like to invite you back. Please reach out to us the next time you would like to join us. 336.722.5232

Report
v
veronicaf
Western NC
1 review
Dined on November 30, 2019
Overall4food4service3ambience2

Very busy night. Waitress was very sweet but she had many tables and it was a bit much for her at times. Bartender slow on getting drinks back to us as well. It was very loud and busy due to a wrestling convention coming into the hotel. Ambiance not so great but would def go back. Not sure they were prepared for the Thanksgiving crowd in town.

M
vipMisol
Greensboro
24 reviews
Dined on November 29, 2019
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Butcher & Bull is now one if my son’s top five favorite restaurants. Too bad the bread he loves so much went from$3.00 to $3.50! That is $1.12 per slice!

KL
KerriL
1 review
Dined on November 28, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Went for Thanksgiving dinner and it was excellent.

M
vipMisol
Greensboro
24 reviews
Dined on November 17, 2019
Overall5food5service4ambience5

We were back for a second time and enjoined it just as much as the first!

FAQs

Butcher & Bull is rated 4.1 stars by 89 OpenTable diners.

You can book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size.

Tweets by Butcher & Bull