Buca di Beppo - St. Paul

4.5
1177 Reviews
$30 and under
Italian
If you are looking for an Italian Restaurant in St. Paul, MN then come to Buca. Our Italian Restaurant serves Authentic Family Style Italian Food. When you want plentiful portions of the best tasting Italian food, you better go to Buca. Located on Gannon Road, in a bend of the Mississippi River, your St. Paul Buca is serving up authentic Italian pastas, entrees, and pizzas for lunch and dinner every day.
avatar copy

Private Dining

Book your next event with us

View details

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
  • Sealed or wrapped utensils used
Physical Distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Protective Equipment
  • Waitstaff wear masks
  • Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
What 1177 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.3
service
4.6
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
K
Keri
Minneapolis
3 reviews
Dined on October 9, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Delicious food as always!

JT
vipJackieT
Minneapolis
27 reviews
Dined on October 6, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

It was national pasta day, so why wouldn't we go to Buca! Seriously great food and service, as usual! The chicken carbonara was delicious.

Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Responded on October 8, 2021

We are happy to hear how much you enjoy dining with us at Buca di Beppo! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report
l
viplicsw
Minneapolis
21 reviews
Dined on September 26, 2021
Overall2food2service2ambience2

Food was bland and without any distinction. Sauce was no better than a cheap Jared sauce. Cheeses were flavorless. Salad reminded me of an “Olive Garden”. Iceberg lettuce, basic Italian dressing.
The only extraordinary part was the the cost. About $35.00 per person.

Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Responded on October 8, 2021

We are sorry to hear you had an unsatisfactory experience and value your feedback. We will be sure to share this experience with our staff in an effort to improve future guest experiences.

Report
R
Randy
St. Louis
2 reviews
Dined on September 25, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

You have got to try this place. My wife and I enjoyed food that taste amazing. We were greeted with a warm welcome. Seated very quickly. Our waitress was spot on, she never missed a beat. And did I mention how amazing the food was? The baked ziti was just fabulous. The bread will have you wanting to take some home.

Just a wonderful place and I will definitely be back there when my travels take me to Minneapolis.

Kudos to the entire staff and the kitchen was spot on!

Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Responded on October 8, 2021

Thank you for the great review! We strive to provide great food and world class service, so we're happy to see that reflected on your visit! We hope to see you again soon!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on September 18, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Never dissatisfied. Love their canoli

Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Responded on September 20, 2021

Thank you! We look forward to welcoming you back to Buca di Beppo soon!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Indiana
1 review
Dined on August 12, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience4

Had a party of 17 in town for a family gathering. They were very accommodating to our group. Food was tasty, service was excellent.

MB
MonkeyBill
Minneapolis
43 reviews
Dined on August 10, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

As always, good food. Not very busy which is unusual but no complaints about anything as they always do a great job.

Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Responded on August 12, 2021

We are happy to hear how much you enjoy dining with us at Buca di Beppo! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report
C
vipCoolmom8
Minneapolis
9 reviews
Dined on July 15, 2021
Overall4food4service3ambience4

Portions seemed smaller. $15 small pizza.

Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Responded on July 18, 2021

Thank you for dining with us. We appreciate your feedback as they highlight areas in need of improvement. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report
JF
JohnF
Minneapolis
29 reviews
Dined on July 10, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food and service.

Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Responded on July 14, 2021

Thank you! We look forward to welcoming you back to Buca di Beppo soon!

Report
FE
vipFadedElegance
Palm Springs
41 reviews
Dined on July 9, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Our party of 7 (4 adults, 3 kids 11 and under) was pleasantly surprised by how good the food is. Antipasto salad, fried calamari, garlic bread, chicken saltimbocca, eggplant parm and fettuccine Alfredo all disappeared! Remarkable for a corporate chain and perfect for a family night out. Highly recommended.

Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Responded on July 14, 2021

We pride ourselves in providing great food and service and are always glad to hear that's being reflected by our team. We hope to see you again soon.

Report
DW
DanW
Las Vegas
3 reviews
Dined on June 18, 2021
Overall3food4service4ambience1

The managers and server knew my husband and I had t seen each other for a week - they were great. The hostess proceeds to set a family with three small children directly behind us - it was 6pm there were TONS of empty tables. We couldn’t hear ourselves speak as the kids were singing, screaming and staring over the booth at us. Unfortunately it was a major fail on the hostess and then made us quickly finish our dinner and leave; we usually order dessert and an other cocktail.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on June 12, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

A fun and memorable birthday celebration!!!

Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Responded on June 14, 2021

Thanks for the rave review and for choosing Buca di Beppo to celebrate such a special occasion! We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and hope you visit us again soon!

Report
TZ
TriciaZ
Atlanta
1 review
Dined on May 29, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent service & meal. Light crowd, so hoping it starts to pick up for our restaurants!!

Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Responded on June 1, 2021

Thank you for dining out with us! We appreciate you sharing your experience and look forward to serving you again.

Report
CK
CruiserK
Minneapolis
5 reviews
Dined on May 28, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We love BUCA, but forgot how large the servings are. We will come with a group next time. It cost too much for two people to have several choices. We had great leftovers!

Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Responded on June 14, 2021

We appreciate you dining with us and are happy you had such a great experience. Come back soon!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
San Francisco
1 review
Dined on May 10, 2021
Overall2food2service2ambience4

While Buca had been our families choice to go for great family style meals with good quantities and quality it just wasn't there. They ran out of Pepsi,so after 3 of my son's first drinks our waitress never asked them if they wanted anything else, I had to ask her what they had else to offer? They didn't have enough for large order of 2 of the 3 dishes we wanted to order. Was just very disappointed having loved Buca in the past and it just not being the same.

Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Responded on May 20, 2021

We regret to hear that your meal was not up to our usual standards. We appreciate that you have taken the time to write to us and will share this experience with our management team in an effort to improve future guest experiences. Thank you for reaching out to us.

Report
a
vipazhunt
Hawaii
1 review
Dined on April 11, 2021
Overall2food3service1ambience2

Menu is family style, great for families, and I did not pay attention when I made the reservation, my bad. Food was fine and simple, service was unimpressive.

Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Responded on April 14, 2021

We appreciate your feedback and thank you for bringing these opportunities for improvement to our attention. We will undoubtedly pass your feedback to the management team

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
San Francisco
1 review
Dined on April 4, 2021
Overall2food3service1ambience3

There was a hair in my drink water might I add, Then the next water she brings me had a fly in it.


got the wrong food multiple times,


Paid for extra items On a salad and didn't get the items

Yeah extremely upsetting that after all these disgusting fails of not noticing quite obvious items on top of the water in addition to me ordering with the same waitress and Her FAILIMG noticing the items on top of the salad that were quite blatantly NOT on the salad as well.


We never received a comped for any of these mistakes for the hair or insect in my drink OR wrong order

Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Responded on July 14, 2021

We're very sorry to hear about your dining experience on your recent visit. Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us. We'll be sure to share your review and feedback with our management team to address your concerns and improve our guest experience.

Report
BH
BethH
Minneapolis
2 reviews
Dined on April 4, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I enjoy the comfortable, low key feel of this place. Everyone loved the Caesar salad. The cheese stuffed cannelloni and spicy rigatoni were delicious. Service was attentive, accommodating, and friendly. We will be back to try new dishes.

Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Responded on April 14, 2021

Our goal is to provide a great customer experience so we're always happy to hear that's being reflected. We look forward to serving you again.

Report
E
vipElle
Chicago
10 reviews
Dined on April 1, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Buca is a classic eclectic yet classy experience!! We love their food- I wish I could eat there every day!!!
The cheesecake is truly the best- every bite is sheer bliss!!

Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Responded on April 6, 2021

We appreciate your loyalty & patronage. We hope to continue serving you and look forward to seeing you at your nearest Buca soon.

Report
CJ
CraigJ
Las Vegas
1 review
Dined on March 12, 2021
Overall2food2service2ambience2

Glad I had a gift card to help offset the overpriced menu at this once great restaurant.
For a group of 4 including a 12-year old we ordered the Bruschetta to start ($20), a small Cesar salad ($21), and two pasta entrees to share. Small Spaghetti with Meatballs ($34), and small Penne alla Vodka ($31). With drinks and everything else the bill was over $150. For plates of pasta....??? Way Overpriced... And, the quality was poor. The spaghetti was overcooked and watery like the pasta hadn't drained, and I didn't like the way the bruschetta was served. They pile all of the topping into an oversized martini glass and stick thinly cut crusty bread into it all around, and you basically serve yourself. It looked unappetizing and you would have swore it was Ahi Poke when I first saw it.

I've eaten at Buca for over 20 years, but it had admittedly been a while. We won't be back soon as this place has gone far, far, far downhill from what I remember. I've had some great meals in the past, but they seem to have forgotten how to cook. And to charge $31 for the penne alla vodka, with no meat and just sauce - what is their food cost for that, about $4? Seriously. Same goes for the other menu items.

We won't be back any time soon.

Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Responded on March 20, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to write this review as our customer’s feedback is very important to us. We apologize your experience was not up to our usual standards. We will undoubtedly contact management and make them aware of the situation to ensure it does not reoccur in the future. Thank you again for reaching out to us.

Report
J
vipJak14
Minneapolis
7 reviews
Dined on March 11, 2021
Overall2food3service3ambience3

It’s becoming a ripoff. I understand COVID is impacting and I’m trying to help by dinning but the prices of the food and the quantity has been awe full. You should by charging $20+ for a small plate appetizer in a saucer size container. I get the same quantity in a fine place at about the same price

g
groupofsix
Minneapolis
22 reviews
Dined on February 14, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Buca di Beppo is always a fun place but other diners can get noisy. The food and service is always good!

KB
vipKerryB
Minneapolis
57 reviews
Dined on January 22, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food was tasty. We ask for spicy and we got it. Very laid back waitress to serve us. Attentive staff.

UM
vipUMparent
Minneapolis
13 reviews
Dined on October 17, 2020
Overall1food5service5ambience5

Open Table reward card rejected. Reservation properly booked following all guidelines. Extremely disappointed. Causes great harm to future business because of Open Table failure. Suggest this business reassess use of Open Table, failure costing you customers and business.
Update: Contacted Open Table. This restaurant tried to charge the full amount of the bill to the Open Table reward card not the $25 amount on the card. Restaurant Management needs training, I will use my reward at another business, thank you Carmen at Open Table for helping me resolve.

KP
vipKPJ77
Minneapolis
29 reviews
Dined on September 19, 2020
Overall2food2service1ambience3

We’ve celebrated at Buca for years & this time was really underwhelming. The service was slow, they were out of our favorite food (chicken Marsala) & the waitress wore a mask but it NEVER covered her nose/mouth - gross. Plus, a GLASS of wine cost my sister $23! It used to be a fun, wacky place to eat - now it’s just sad.

Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Responded on September 23, 2020

We appreciate you taking the time to write to us and are sorry to hear you did not fully enjoy your recent visit. Please know that your feedback will be shared with our management team in an effort to improve future guest experiences. Thank you for reaching out to us.

Report
B
Barbara
Minneapolis
14 reviews
Dined on September 18, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great service and great food. The portions are enormous so there are plenty of leftovers to take home. The restaurant was immaculately clean and I felt very safe here. There was plenty of distance between me and the next table. I felt very welcomed at this restaurant and would certainly come back. Make sure you leave room for dessert.

Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Responded on September 22, 2020

Thank you for that glowing review! We are happy to hear you had a blast with our famiglia! We look forward to serving up another great experience.

Report
KB
vipKerryB
Minneapolis
57 reviews
Dined on September 6, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

COVID Times. Quieter than usual. Food was hot and tasty. Always a treat

Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Responded on September 11, 2020

Thank you! We hope to see you at your nearest Buca di Beppo soon!

Report
K
Kathy
Minneapolis
16 reviews
Dined on August 28, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner. The food was excellent, just too much. We ordered the small portions and took some home for the next day. Dessert was superb!! Our waitress was attentive with out being bothersome. Very friendly.

Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Responded on September 1, 2020

Thank you for dining out with us! We appreciate you sharing your experience and look forward to serving you again.

Report
R
Rachlovesfood
Minneapolis
8 reviews
Dined on July 17, 2020
Overall1food2service2ambience1

This is what I sent ti corporate And to the regular “contact us” section, with no responses from either. And the manager was snippy when I called with my issues. Waste of money and time.

I’m writing to inform corporate about my experience at Buca in St Paul, Minnesota. My family has enjoyed many dinners over the years at your restaurant and we were so looking forward to a post quarantine meal. Sadly, it was very disappointing. I cannot Justify the amount of money I spent On Friday July 17th. I might add, that I sent an email to the “contact us” section on the website, as well as called the restaurant directly, speaking to the manager. I did not get a response from the email and when I spoke to the manager today I was surprised to find out that she was actually on duty on Friday night. She never came over to my table to even ask how the dinner was going even after I complained to one of the servers about the flies that kept surrounding our table. All she said was they’re doing the best they can in the current state of the corona virus. This is not an excuse for multiple flies trying to land on our food for the entire dining experience, nor the lack of drinkd vailable. The only fountain drinks available were Mountain Dew and Pepsi. On the phone, she said they’re working on the fly situation, admitting the severity of the situation. This in itself is a health hazard and violation. My bill was over $120. Not worth it at all, and she made no attempt at an apology. What was meant to be a special evening has made me resentful in the money I wasted at a restaurant we held in high esteem.

Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Responded on July 23, 2020

Hi Rachel, we're very sorry to hear you had such a negative experience. We've reached our to our divisional vp, so she can reach out to you directly.

Report
LG
LisaG
Minneapolis
3 reviews
Dined on July 6, 2020
Overall3food4service3ambience3

No special occasion, just dinner out. Restaurant was not busy at all at 7:15 which was nice. Food was good but some of it was not so good. Olive oil for dipping bread tasted pungent. Meat sauce was light on the meat but heavy on the tomatoes, was like it was originally marinara that they just threw some meat into at the last minute and called it good. Didn’t get bread until we asked at the end of our meal. Not sure if the server was new but we noticed small things that we would normally not have to ask for. Grated cheese, bread, butter, water, ...

Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Responded on July 9, 2020

We appreciate you taking the time to write to us and are sorry to hear you did not fully enjoy your recent visit. Please know that your feedback will be shared with our management team in an effort to improve future guest experiences. Thank you for reaching out to us.

Report
SL
SaraL
Minneapolis
3 reviews
Dined on February 23, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great service and food

Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Responded on February 25, 2020

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you at your nearest Buca di Beppo soon!

Report
RP
vipRachelP
Chicago
4 reviews
Dined on February 22, 2020
Overall3food4service2ambience5

It’s not too often that a server pays attention to just one patron at a table for six, but it happened to us Saturday evening. The server asked JUST my husband for his beverage order, JUST my husband if an appetizer or two was to be ordered, JUST my husband with any questions or requests...Luckily my husband ordered beverages for the rest of us after seeking the server’s attention. He had already received his order! Luckily my husband collected the thoughts of the rest of the table for food requests. Luckily he was able to capture the server’s attention again to state that our table still had not received all that was ordered after waiting with half our meal. Luckily my husband was issued the entire bill too! 😂 Service was awful.

Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Responded on February 25, 2020

Our service should have been much better than what you received. Please know that we will address this with our team and will do our best to make this an isolated experience. Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback!

Report
SR
ShelleyR
Minneapolis
1 review
Dined on February 15, 2020
Overall4food5service4ambience5

Fantastic host was able to accommodate our large group on short notice on very busy night. Much appreciated!!

Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Responded on February 17, 2020

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you at your nearest Buca di Beppo soon!

Report
BK
BK72
Minneapolis
22 reviews
Dined on February 14, 2020
Overall2food2service3ambience2

Bartenders could learn to be more friendly and not hand your credit card back to you wet/dirty. We were seated (2 of us) in the backroom for a table big enough for 6-7 people. The whole back room felt like an afterthought and simply a boring overflow area. Also, a big spider dropped from the ceiling between or table and 2 others, nearly missing the servers hair. Yuck! Brussel sprouts were charred and soaked in oil. Lemon butter chicken simply tasted like butter.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Las Vegas
1 review
Dined on February 14, 2020
Overall2food2service1ambience3

Service was extremely slow. Food was cold.

Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Responded on February 16, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to write this review as our customer’s feedback is very important to us. We apologize your experience was not up to our usual standards. We will undoubtedly contact management and make them aware of the situation to ensure it does not reoccur in the future. Thank you again for reaching out to us.

Report
M
Mojo
Minneapolis
3 reviews
Dined on February 14, 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Lots of great ambiance. Service was fast and personable.

Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Responded on February 16, 2020

Thank you for that glowing review. We are happy to hear you had a blast with our famiglia! Come back to see us again soon!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
New England
8 reviews
Dined on February 11, 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience4

This was my first visit to Buca. My only complaint is that all the entrees are for 3-5 people. I was traveling in the St. Paul area and staying at a hotel so I didn't want to have a lot left over. I wish they would offer more selections in the 1-serving size.

Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Responded on February 16, 2020

We appreciate you for taking the time to write this review as our customer's feedback is very important to us. We will be sure to share your thoughts with our team and thank you for reaching out to us.

Report
JP
JohnP
Minneapolis
1 review
Dined on February 8, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Our server was fabulous. She helps make it an amazing dinner.

Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Responded on February 10, 2020

We look forward to serving you again and providing you with an unforgettable Buca di Beppo experience!

Report
A
Apple
Minneapolis
5 reviews
Dined on February 1, 2020
Overall1food1service3ambience1

The food was horrible!!! Nothing was freshly made. If I had to guess most of their food is frozen and just reheated. Even the salad was bad!! A large salad which I think feeds 5 people came with 4 black olives, 2 green olives, 1 cut up Roma tomato and a ton of lettuce that was swimming in the oil dressing. We will never be back!

Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Responded on February 3, 2020

We are sorry to hear you had an unsatisfactory experience and value your feedback. We will be sure to share this experience with our staff in an effort to improve future guest experiences.

Report
LT
LaurelT
Chicago
4 reviews
Dined on January 31, 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience3

We had a group of 14, and it was fun to order “family style”. The music was a hit loud and made it hard to talk but the manager was able to turn in down in our section. Our server was great. Very attentive but not intrusive.

Buca di Beppo - St. Paul
Responded on February 3, 2020

We appreciate you for taking the time to write this review as our customer's feedback is very important to us. We will be sure to share your thoughts with our team and thank you for reaching out to us.

Report

FAQs

Buca di Beppo - St. Paul does offer delivery in partnership with Postmates. Buca di Beppo - St. Paul also offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (651) 772-4388.

Buca di Beppo - St. Paul is rated 4.5 stars by 1177 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.

Tweets by Buca di Beppo - St. Paul