Boathouse at Breach Inlet

4.2
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
3473 Reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood

Top Tags:

Casual
This waterfront locale is historically known as the launching site of our country's first submarine, the H.L. Hunley. Poised at the breach between the Intracoastal Waterway and the Atlantic, you can enjoy a meal amongst the spectacular sunset views and balmy ocean breezes of the Isle of Palms. Come early and have a cocktail at the Rooftop Bar while enjoying amazing views before dining.
What 3473 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.2based on recent ratings
4.0
food
4.3
service
4.3
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
80% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
OT
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall4food3service5ambience3

Staff was very friendly and accommodating. We asked to move to a larger table and they found us a better spot. The food was very tasty. We will return. The oyster Rockefeller was ok. Just couldn't taste the oysters.

OT
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on November 28, 2019
Overall4food5service3ambience4

We waited 45 minutes past our reservation time to be seated. Then once seated and our order taken, it took more than an hour to receive our food. So a total of 2 hours from arriving to being served our meals. Our waiter told us to be sure to order dessert when ordering our meal so we would be assured to get the dessert we wanted. Unfortunately, the kitchen staff had other ideas. The key lime and pumpkin pies ran out, and all that was left was carrot cake. What was the point of ordering it with our entree. Our waiter was very nice. We just don't think the management did a very good job of calculating the volume of food for 375-400 reservations on Thanksgiving.

2
Charleston
10 reviews
Dined on November 28, 2019
Overall3food2service4ambience3

Poor table right in the sun with no shade or view. Inconsistent food quality. Decent service and salads. Entrees were hit and miss. Four adults and one child cost more than our second Thanksgiving dinner for five adults and 3 children at a different ( and nicer) restaurant not on the water. You pay extra for the location, not the food quality at The Boathouse.

OT
1 review
Dined on November 28, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great Thanksgiving lunch!!!!

D
Charleston
4 reviews
Dined on November 26, 2019
Overall3food3service3ambience4

Your run of the mill fried food / over priced broiled fish joint. Its cool because of location, but it is not charleston caliber food / dining.

OT
Western NC
1 review
Dined on November 24, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great experience for my daughter and I.
Enjoyed some girl time!

GF
Chicago
17 reviews
Dined on November 22, 2019
Overall3food3service4ambience4

The food was just okay. Nothing special. The best part of the meal was the blue cheese cole slaw. That was very good. Otherwise, somewhat bland.

MH
Charlotte
8 reviews
Dined on November 21, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We always make this one of our stops when we come to Isle of Palms. Food is great and always consistent. Always have great service! Love the blue cheese coleslaw.

D
Portland
50 reviews
Dined on November 9, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Delicious meal. We had a group of 6. The service was great and we all enjoyed our entrees.

OT
Charleston
1 review
Dined on November 5, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Great experience. The food was great. No waiting in line. The pecan chicken was delicious. Would definitely be back.

M
Cleveland
2 reviews
Dined on October 30, 2019
Overall3food3service4ambience4

The Boathouse has been our staple restaurant for as long as we have visited IOP (25+ years). My favorite meal is shrimp and grits and I don't appreciate the fact that they have changed the recipe. The waiter said the owner wants to change things up. Don't change a good thing please. It was perfect as it always was. Also we have historically loved the Boathouse bread. They no longer serve bread. This decision also apparently came from the top. Sounds like we have a new owner we feels that things must change for a restaurant to be good. Big mistake. When you spend $150 for three people you are turned off when nice, free bread isn't offered. I am thinking that there are other choices for me to go to based on this experience.

Boathouse at Breach Inlet
Responded on November 5, 2019

Matt, Thank you for your longtime support of The Boathouse. We are sorry for your disappointing experience. The Shrimp & Grits recipe has not changed. I apologize if your server communicated this in error to your party. Consistency is a goal we strive to achieve every service, and our kitchen put out an inconsistent dish. Thank you for this information. We recently ended bread service due to the waste we were accumulating each service. We try to be keenly aware of our ecological footprint.

Report
MW
Houston
1 review
Dined on October 27, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Had the fried green tomato eggs Benedict. It was great!!!

Boathouse at Breach Inlet
Responded on November 5, 2019

Thank you MichelleW!

Report
MT
Charleston
1 review
Dined on October 26, 2019
Overall1food1service1ambience1

Had reservations. Host and hostess not organized, or welcoming. Seating crowded and uncomfortable.
Very loud. Conversations difficult. Service minimal. Food portions also minimal and flavor disappointing. Will not recommend.

Boathouse at Breach Inlet
Responded on November 5, 2019

MaryT, We are sorry to hear that your overall experience last week was only 1 star worthy. Our team would like the chance to make amends for your poor dinner. At your earliest convenience please email colleen@elliscreekfishcamp and shawn@boathouserestaurants.

Report
OT
Philadelphia
1 review
Dined on October 26, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Loved the upstairs bar before dinner. The hush puppies were great! We all enjoyed our dinners.

Boathouse at Breach Inlet
Responded on November 5, 2019

Thanks!

Report
JD
Charleston
2 reviews
Dined on October 26, 2019
Overall3food3service3ambience3

Disappointed in Boathouses since I had last been there.

OT
Charleston
1 review
Dined on October 23, 2019
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Ordered crab cake and lobster dinner. Crab cake was excellent! Lobster was slightly too done and not very tasty! Service was excellent and scenery over the water was extraordinary as always! Loved watching the dolphins play while the sun set created a pattern of brilliant colors in the sky.

Boathouse at Breach Inlet
Responded on November 5, 2019

Anonymous, Thank your input letting us know where we succeeded and unfortunately failed. I will discuss with our chefs the importance of delivering properly cooked lobster.

Report
AB
New Orleans
2 reviews
Dined on October 21, 2019
Overall4food4service3ambience3

Overall good dinner experience on IOP . Enjoyed the Gouda Mac n cheese and pimento cheese appetizer. Few IOP restaurants with a view.

PS
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on October 21, 2019
Overall4food4service5ambience4

With the exception of two dishes, SEAFOOD ONLY! WONDERFUL seafood but if you go with friends, make sure they love seafood.

MA
Atlanta
6 reviews
Dined on October 19, 2019
Overall3food3service5ambience4

The Boadhouse was below our usual experience and expectations. We have been going to the Boathouse for a number of years. However, this time, the Ceasar salad was pitiful, the crab cake was no better than so-so. the white wine was warm. Not at all our usual experience. We want the Boathouse to get back to it’s usual standard.

Boathouse at Breach Inlet
Responded on October 22, 2019

Mims And Diesel, Thank you for your continued support of The Boathouse. We sincerely apologize for your sub-standard meal on Saturday. I am pleased to read in your review your service was 5 stars! If I may I would like to send you a gift card totaling the amount of the Caesar salad and crab cake. Thank you for your feedback. Warm Regards, Colleen OConnor

Report
SR
Charleston
3 reviews
Dined on October 19, 2019
Overall5food4service5ambience4

Fabulous—as always!

Boathouse at Breach Inlet
Responded on October 22, 2019

Thank you SRfoodie!

Report
AC
Pittsburgh
5 reviews
Dined on October 18, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Exceptional service was provided by Matt! As always the food was delicious.

Boathouse at Breach Inlet
Responded on October 22, 2019

Thank You AnneC!

Report
OT
San Francisco
1 review
Dined on October 18, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Always fantastic food and service! Unbelievable views!

KP
Grand Rapids
1 review
Dined on October 18, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food—prompt service and delicious seafood. Cooked to perfection. We dined just before 6pm and beat the crowd which by 6:15 was getting pretty lively. Great location and views too.

Boathouse at Breach Inlet
Responded on October 22, 2019

Thank you KathleenP!

Report
OT
Atlanta
8 reviews
Dined on October 13, 2019
Overall4food4service5ambience5

I highly recommend the shrimp and grits!!! You will not be disappointed

J
Charleston
13 reviews
Dined on October 13, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food and service with a beautiful view. There is something for everyone there.

Boathouse at Breach Inlet
Responded on October 22, 2019

Thank you Jeannie!

Report
JF
Charleston
15 reviews
Dined on October 13, 2019
Overall3food2service4ambience3

You cannot beat the view, especially when seated outside. The atmosphere is comfortable, and the server was attentive. However the quality of the food was only average, and some of it (grits and polenta) not edible at all. Food was EXTREMELY slow n arriving. Five scallops for $28 is quite expensive. They were tasty, but certainly not filling. We will not go there again.

Boathouse at Breach Inlet
Responded on October 22, 2019

JacquelineF, We apologize for the quality of our Shrimp and Grits. To ensure this does not happen again may I inquire as to why the dish was inedible- too salty, soupy, undercooked...? Consistency is very important to ensuring our guests of 20+ years continue to visit, and I want to ensure our signature dish of 22 years is delivered flawlessly every time. Thank you for your time and feedback. Warm Regards, Colleen OConnor

Report
TM
Charleston
5 reviews
Dined on October 13, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We are on vacation. We eat here every time we visit Isle of Palms. Excellent food!

Boathouse at Breach Inlet
Responded on October 22, 2019

Thanks for your continued support TeresaM!

Report
G
Charleston
1 review
Dined on October 13, 2019
Overall3food1service3ambience4

Favorite spot when we are in the area. First time we have been disappointed.
We were seated on time, in requested area. Server was very good. Drinks were great.
Appetizer of fried green tomatoes was very good. Both orders of crab Benedict had eggs that were hard boiled. Discussed this with server, she said she had received other complaints and would replace them.
After a long wait, order came out with some eggs hard boiled and some undercooked, not healthy to eat.
We ended up not eating, they didn't charge us for the food, but we left hungry.
Hopefully, whatever was wrong in the kitchen will be corrected.

Boathouse at Breach Inlet
Responded on October 22, 2019

Golfer, Thank you for making The Boathouse a "favorite spot" when you are in town. I am truly sorry for the disappointing brunch you had. I am glad to read that management took your entrees off your bill. A customer should never pay for a meal which is inaccurately prepared twice. If I may, I would like to send you a gift card for you to use the next time you are in town. Please let me know a good address where I may mail the gift card. Warm Regards, Colleen OConnor

Report
y
St. Louis
81 reviews
Dined on October 12, 2019
Overall3food3service4ambience3

Been theire 50 times. This time not do good . Shrimp tasted of iodine and fish was overcooked .

Boathouse at Breach Inlet
Responded on November 5, 2019

Yumyum, First thank you for your continued support of The Boathouse. I apologize for your over cooked fish and shrimp. I will let the chefs know they sent out an inferior product than we are known to produce. Please let us know the next time you are in for dinner. We would like to rectify this poor dinner.

Report
AR
Charleston
1 review
Dined on October 12, 2019
Overall5food5service4ambience4

Never disappoints. Food was delicious as always. This is my favorite seafood restaurant. Every year for my birthday.

Boathouse at Breach Inlet
Responded on October 22, 2019

Thank you AureliaR!

Report
OT
Richmond
3 reviews
Dined on October 11, 2019
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Spectacular view, wonderful service and delicious food

C
Jacksonville
118 reviews
Dined on October 10, 2019
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Great view for sunsets and water and good service‼️Food is pretty good too!

OT
E. Tennessee
3 reviews
Dined on October 9, 2019
Overall4food4service5ambience3

On vacation.

Report
C
1 review
Dined on October 7, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Dinner was absolutely fantastic, the atmosphere was wonderful and the company was the best. Only disappointment was as we went after dark so could not see the dolphins but that was not the fault of the Boathouse. The service was excellent and very prompt. Would highly recommend this to anybody that is in the area and will return next time I am back but during the golden hour. Thank you for a wonderful evening!!

Boathouse at Breach Inlet
Responded on October 22, 2019

Thank you Clancy!

Report
OT
Naples
1 review
Dined on October 4, 2019
Overall2food2service4ambience2

Used to be one of our favorites but the food has really gone down hill. Poor quality of food for the price! Much better options in the area.

Boathouse at Breach Inlet
Responded on November 5, 2019

Anonymous, Please let us extend our deepest regrets in your recent disappointments in our food quality. If you have time please email colleen@elliscreekfishcamp and shawn@boathouserestaurants with any additional/specific information you are able to relay. This will aid us in ensuring our quality does not continue to decline.

Report
SM
1 review
Dined on October 4, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Very pleasant dining!!Will definitely go back!! Great service, great food and wonderful view!!

Boathouse at Breach Inlet
Responded on November 5, 2019

Thanks SusanM!

Report
OT
St. Louis
12 reviews
Dined on October 3, 2019
Overall3food3service4ambience4

Our service was great! Very attentive without being over the top. Food was good. We had concern with one of the oysters and they replaced it without question. The scorpion fish was tasty but a bit over salted. Overall not too bad but there are far better values in the area.

DP
Charleston
1 review
Dined on October 1, 2019
Overall5food5service4ambience5

This is where we bring the special people in our lives. The view, the food, the staff are all wonderful. Got to see a dolphin and had a glass of wine. Ate well and had marvelous conversation. Been here many times and we'll be back.

WT
Orlando
2 reviews
Dined on September 30, 2019
Overall4food3service4ambience4

Great atmosphere!!! Good seafood.

MM
Philadelphia
2 reviews
Dined on September 29, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

What a wonderful place to eat along the water. The meals were wonderful and our service was even better! We watched the dolphins in the water while eating a delicious dinner and drinking delicious wine. Great place!