Boathouse at Breach Inlet
Staff was very friendly and accommodating. We asked to move to a larger table and they found us a better spot. The food was very tasty. We will return. The oyster Rockefeller was ok. Just couldn't taste the oysters.
We waited 45 minutes past our reservation time to be seated. Then once seated and our order taken, it took more than an hour to receive our food. So a total of 2 hours from arriving to being served our meals. Our waiter told us to be sure to order dessert when ordering our meal so we would be assured to get the dessert we wanted. Unfortunately, the kitchen staff had other ideas. The key lime and pumpkin pies ran out, and all that was left was carrot cake. What was the point of ordering it with our entree. Our waiter was very nice. We just don't think the management did a very good job of calculating the volume of food for 375-400 reservations on Thanksgiving.
Poor table right in the sun with no shade or view. Inconsistent food quality. Decent service and salads. Entrees were hit and miss. Four adults and one child cost more than our second Thanksgiving dinner for five adults and 3 children at a different ( and nicer) restaurant not on the water. You pay extra for the location, not the food quality at The Boathouse.
Great Thanksgiving lunch!!!!
Your run of the mill fried food / over priced broiled fish joint. Its cool because of location, but it is not charleston caliber food / dining.
Great experience for my daughter and I.
Enjoyed some girl time!
The food was just okay. Nothing special. The best part of the meal was the blue cheese cole slaw. That was very good. Otherwise, somewhat bland.
We always make this one of our stops when we come to Isle of Palms. Food is great and always consistent. Always have great service! Love the blue cheese coleslaw.
Delicious meal. We had a group of 6. The service was great and we all enjoyed our entrees.
Great experience. The food was great. No waiting in line. The pecan chicken was delicious. Would definitely be back.
The Boathouse has been our staple restaurant for as long as we have visited IOP (25+ years). My favorite meal is shrimp and grits and I don't appreciate the fact that they have changed the recipe. The waiter said the owner wants to change things up. Don't change a good thing please. It was perfect as it always was. Also we have historically loved the Boathouse bread. They no longer serve bread. This decision also apparently came from the top. Sounds like we have a new owner we feels that things must change for a restaurant to be good. Big mistake. When you spend $150 for three people you are turned off when nice, free bread isn't offered. I am thinking that there are other choices for me to go to based on this experience.
Matt, Thank you for your longtime support of The Boathouse. We are sorry for your disappointing experience. The Shrimp & Grits recipe has not changed. I apologize if your server communicated this in error to your party. Consistency is a goal we strive to achieve every service, and our kitchen put out an inconsistent dish. Thank you for this information. We recently ended bread service due to the waste we were accumulating each service. We try to be keenly aware of our ecological footprint.
Had the fried green tomato eggs Benedict. It was great!!!
Thank you MichelleW!
Had reservations. Host and hostess not organized, or welcoming. Seating crowded and uncomfortable.
Very loud. Conversations difficult. Service minimal. Food portions also minimal and flavor disappointing. Will not recommend.
MaryT, We are sorry to hear that your overall experience last week was only 1 star worthy. Our team would like the chance to make amends for your poor dinner. At your earliest convenience please email colleen@elliscreekfishcamp and shawn@boathouserestaurants.
Loved the upstairs bar before dinner. The hush puppies were great! We all enjoyed our dinners.
Disappointed in Boathouses since I had last been there.
Ordered crab cake and lobster dinner. Crab cake was excellent! Lobster was slightly too done and not very tasty! Service was excellent and scenery over the water was extraordinary as always! Loved watching the dolphins play while the sun set created a pattern of brilliant colors in the sky.
Anonymous, Thank your input letting us know where we succeeded and unfortunately failed. I will discuss with our chefs the importance of delivering properly cooked lobster.
Overall good dinner experience on IOP . Enjoyed the Gouda Mac n cheese and pimento cheese appetizer. Few IOP restaurants with a view.
With the exception of two dishes, SEAFOOD ONLY! WONDERFUL seafood but if you go with friends, make sure they love seafood.
The Boadhouse was below our usual experience and expectations. We have been going to the Boathouse for a number of years. However, this time, the Ceasar salad was pitiful, the crab cake was no better than so-so. the white wine was warm. Not at all our usual experience. We want the Boathouse to get back to it’s usual standard.
Mims And Diesel, Thank you for your continued support of The Boathouse. We sincerely apologize for your sub-standard meal on Saturday. I am pleased to read in your review your service was 5 stars! If I may I would like to send you a gift card totaling the amount of the Caesar salad and crab cake. Thank you for your feedback. Warm Regards, Colleen OConnor
Thank you SRfoodie!
Exceptional service was provided by Matt! As always the food was delicious.
Thank You AnneC!
Always fantastic food and service! Unbelievable views!
Great food—prompt service and delicious seafood. Cooked to perfection. We dined just before 6pm and beat the crowd which by 6:15 was getting pretty lively. Great location and views too.
Thank you KathleenP!
I highly recommend the shrimp and grits!!! You will not be disappointed
Great food and service with a beautiful view. There is something for everyone there.
Thank you Jeannie!
You cannot beat the view, especially when seated outside. The atmosphere is comfortable, and the server was attentive. However the quality of the food was only average, and some of it (grits and polenta) not edible at all. Food was EXTREMELY slow n arriving. Five scallops for $28 is quite expensive. They were tasty, but certainly not filling. We will not go there again.
JacquelineF, We apologize for the quality of our Shrimp and Grits. To ensure this does not happen again may I inquire as to why the dish was inedible- too salty, soupy, undercooked...? Consistency is very important to ensuring our guests of 20+ years continue to visit, and I want to ensure our signature dish of 22 years is delivered flawlessly every time. Thank you for your time and feedback. Warm Regards, Colleen OConnor
We are on vacation. We eat here every time we visit Isle of Palms. Excellent food!
Thanks for your continued support TeresaM!
Favorite spot when we are in the area. First time we have been disappointed.
We were seated on time, in requested area. Server was very good. Drinks were great.
Appetizer of fried green tomatoes was very good. Both orders of crab Benedict had eggs that were hard boiled. Discussed this with server, she said she had received other complaints and would replace them.
After a long wait, order came out with some eggs hard boiled and some undercooked, not healthy to eat.
We ended up not eating, they didn't charge us for the food, but we left hungry.
Hopefully, whatever was wrong in the kitchen will be corrected.
Golfer, Thank you for making The Boathouse a "favorite spot" when you are in town. I am truly sorry for the disappointing brunch you had. I am glad to read that management took your entrees off your bill. A customer should never pay for a meal which is inaccurately prepared twice. If I may, I would like to send you a gift card for you to use the next time you are in town. Please let me know a good address where I may mail the gift card. Warm Regards, Colleen OConnor
Been theire 50 times. This time not do good . Shrimp tasted of iodine and fish was overcooked .
Yumyum, First thank you for your continued support of The Boathouse. I apologize for your over cooked fish and shrimp. I will let the chefs know they sent out an inferior product than we are known to produce. Please let us know the next time you are in for dinner. We would like to rectify this poor dinner.
Never disappoints. Food was delicious as always. This is my favorite seafood restaurant. Every year for my birthday.
Thank you AureliaR!
Spectacular view, wonderful service and delicious food
Great view for sunsets and water and good service‼️Food is pretty good too!
Dinner was absolutely fantastic, the atmosphere was wonderful and the company was the best. Only disappointment was as we went after dark so could not see the dolphins but that was not the fault of the Boathouse. The service was excellent and very prompt. Would highly recommend this to anybody that is in the area and will return next time I am back but during the golden hour. Thank you for a wonderful evening!!
Thank you Clancy!
Used to be one of our favorites but the food has really gone down hill. Poor quality of food for the price! Much better options in the area.
Anonymous, Please let us extend our deepest regrets in your recent disappointments in our food quality. If you have time please email colleen@elliscreekfishcamp and shawn@boathouserestaurants with any additional/specific information you are able to relay. This will aid us in ensuring our quality does not continue to decline.
Very pleasant dining!!Will definitely go back!! Great service, great food and wonderful view!!
Our service was great! Very attentive without being over the top. Food was good. We had concern with one of the oysters and they replaced it without question. The scorpion fish was tasty but a bit over salted. Overall not too bad but there are far better values in the area.
This is where we bring the special people in our lives. The view, the food, the staff are all wonderful. Got to see a dolphin and had a glass of wine. Ate well and had marvelous conversation. Been here many times and we'll be back.
Great atmosphere!!! Good seafood.
What a wonderful place to eat along the water. The meals were wonderful and our service was even better! We watched the dolphins in the water while eating a delicious dinner and drinking delicious wine. Great place!