Boathouse at Breach Inlet
Delicious meal. We had a group of 6. The service was great and we all enjoyed our entrees.
Great experience. The food was great. No waiting in line. The pecan chicken was delicious. Would definitely be back.
The Boathouse has been our staple restaurant for as long as we have visited IOP (25+ years). My favorite meal is shrimp and grits and I don't appreciate the fact that they have changed the recipe. The waiter said the owner wants to change things up. Don't change a good thing please. It was perfect as it always was. Also we have historically loved the Boathouse bread. They no longer serve bread. This decision also apparently came from the top. Sounds like we have a new owner we feels that things must change for a restaurant to be good. Big mistake. When you spend $150 for three people you are turned off when nice, free bread isn't offered. I am thinking that there are other choices for me to go to based on this experience.
Matt, Thank you for your longtime support of The Boathouse. We are sorry for your disappointing experience. The Shrimp & Grits recipe has not changed. I apologize if your server communicated this in error to your party. Consistency is a goal we strive to achieve every service, and our kitchen put out an inconsistent dish. Thank you for this information. We recently ended bread service due to the waste we were accumulating each service. We try to be keenly aware of our ecological footprint.
Had the fried green tomato eggs Benedict. It was great!!!
Thank you MichelleW!
Had reservations. Host and hostess not organized, or welcoming. Seating crowded and uncomfortable.
Very loud. Conversations difficult. Service minimal. Food portions also minimal and flavor disappointing. Will not recommend.
MaryT, We are sorry to hear that your overall experience last week was only 1 star worthy. Our team would like the chance to make amends for your poor dinner. At your earliest convenience please email colleen@elliscreekfishcamp and shawn@boathouserestaurants.
Loved the upstairs bar before dinner. The hush puppies were great! We all enjoyed our dinners.
Disappointed in Boathouses since I had last been there.
Ordered crab cake and lobster dinner. Crab cake was excellent! Lobster was slightly too done and not very tasty! Service was excellent and scenery over the water was extraordinary as always! Loved watching the dolphins play while the sun set created a pattern of brilliant colors in the sky.
Anonymous, Thank your input letting us know where we succeeded and unfortunately failed. I will discuss with our chefs the importance of delivering properly cooked lobster.
Overall good dinner experience on IOP . Enjoyed the Gouda Mac n cheese and pimento cheese appetizer. Few IOP restaurants with a view.
With the exception of two dishes, SEAFOOD ONLY! WONDERFUL seafood but if you go with friends, make sure they love seafood.
The Boadhouse was below our usual experience and expectations. We have been going to the Boathouse for a number of years. However, this time, the Ceasar salad was pitiful, the crab cake was no better than so-so. the white wine was warm. Not at all our usual experience. We want the Boathouse to get back to it’s usual standard.
Mims And Diesel, Thank you for your continued support of The Boathouse. We sincerely apologize for your sub-standard meal on Saturday. I am pleased to read in your review your service was 5 stars! If I may I would like to send you a gift card totaling the amount of the Caesar salad and crab cake. Thank you for your feedback. Warm Regards, Colleen OConnor
Thank you SRfoodie!
Exceptional service was provided by Matt! As always the food was delicious.
Thank You AnneC!
Always fantastic food and service! Unbelievable views!
Great food—prompt service and delicious seafood. Cooked to perfection. We dined just before 6pm and beat the crowd which by 6:15 was getting pretty lively. Great location and views too.
Thank you KathleenP!
I highly recommend the shrimp and grits!!! You will not be disappointed
Great food and service with a beautiful view. There is something for everyone there.
Thank you Jeannie!
You cannot beat the view, especially when seated outside. The atmosphere is comfortable, and the server was attentive. However the quality of the food was only average, and some of it (grits and polenta) not edible at all. Food was EXTREMELY slow n arriving. Five scallops for $28 is quite expensive. They were tasty, but certainly not filling. We will not go there again.
JacquelineF, We apologize for the quality of our Shrimp and Grits. To ensure this does not happen again may I inquire as to why the dish was inedible- too salty, soupy, undercooked...? Consistency is very important to ensuring our guests of 20+ years continue to visit, and I want to ensure our signature dish of 22 years is delivered flawlessly every time. Thank you for your time and feedback. Warm Regards, Colleen OConnor
We are on vacation. We eat here every time we visit Isle of Palms. Excellent food!
Thanks for your continued support TeresaM!
Favorite spot when we are in the area. First time we have been disappointed.
We were seated on time, in requested area. Server was very good. Drinks were great.
Appetizer of fried green tomatoes was very good. Both orders of crab Benedict had eggs that were hard boiled. Discussed this with server, she said she had received other complaints and would replace them.
After a long wait, order came out with some eggs hard boiled and some undercooked, not healthy to eat.
We ended up not eating, they didn't charge us for the food, but we left hungry.
Hopefully, whatever was wrong in the kitchen will be corrected.
Golfer, Thank you for making The Boathouse a "favorite spot" when you are in town. I am truly sorry for the disappointing brunch you had. I am glad to read that management took your entrees off your bill. A customer should never pay for a meal which is inaccurately prepared twice. If I may, I would like to send you a gift card for you to use the next time you are in town. Please let me know a good address where I may mail the gift card. Warm Regards, Colleen OConnor
Been theire 50 times. This time not do good . Shrimp tasted of iodine and fish was overcooked .
Yumyum, First thank you for your continued support of The Boathouse. I apologize for your over cooked fish and shrimp. I will let the chefs know they sent out an inferior product than we are known to produce. Please let us know the next time you are in for dinner. We would like to rectify this poor dinner.
Never disappoints. Food was delicious as always. This is my favorite seafood restaurant. Every year for my birthday.
Thank you AureliaR!
Spectacular view, wonderful service and delicious food
Great view for sunsets and water and good service‼️Food is pretty good too!
Dinner was absolutely fantastic, the atmosphere was wonderful and the company was the best. Only disappointment was as we went after dark so could not see the dolphins but that was not the fault of the Boathouse. The service was excellent and very prompt. Would highly recommend this to anybody that is in the area and will return next time I am back but during the golden hour. Thank you for a wonderful evening!!
Thank you Clancy!
Used to be one of our favorites but the food has really gone down hill. Poor quality of food for the price! Much better options in the area.
Anonymous, Please let us extend our deepest regrets in your recent disappointments in our food quality. If you have time please email colleen@elliscreekfishcamp and shawn@boathouserestaurants with any additional/specific information you are able to relay. This will aid us in ensuring our quality does not continue to decline.
Very pleasant dining!!Will definitely go back!! Great service, great food and wonderful view!!
Our service was great! Very attentive without being over the top. Food was good. We had concern with one of the oysters and they replaced it without question. The scorpion fish was tasty but a bit over salted. Overall not too bad but there are far better values in the area.
This is where we bring the special people in our lives. The view, the food, the staff are all wonderful. Got to see a dolphin and had a glass of wine. Ate well and had marvelous conversation. Been here many times and we'll be back.
Great atmosphere!!! Good seafood.
What a wonderful place to eat along the water. The meals were wonderful and our service was even better! We watched the dolphins in the water while eating a delicious dinner and drinking delicious wine. Great place!
This was a terrible place to eat- nice place to visit. The view was great but the food was lacking as well as the service. We got there about 1145 so not busy yet on a Sunday and our waitress was almost annoyed to have people there it seemed. The boathouse Benedict came with parboiled eggs not poached and little sauce to mask it. The waitress saw it was inedible but said nothing. Would never return here- too many options in Charleston to deal with a place that clearly doesn’t want you there.
We arrived 10 mins before our reservation and was told they would text us when our table was ready, we walked outside as their "waiting" area was not air-conditioned, after 20 minutes, seeing other going right in, we returned and and reminded them we were waiting.. they looked confused (liked they forgot about us) then prompting sat us... Food was average to below average. Extremely over-priced for the quality and taste. Server was slow and inefficient...
We haven’t been to the boathouse in several years but I don’t remember the service being this bad. They moved us from table to table because they couldn’t remember which table they had set aside for our reservation, Our server was very nice and attentive but had zero support. The server assistant that brought out our salads actually rolled his eyes and slammed around the plates on the table knocking a fork covered in oyster goo into my lap when we asked if he could take the appetizer plates with him. The kitchen was way behind and our food took over an hour to come out. The server continued to apologize but there was really nothing she could do. When our food finally arrived it was cold and two out of the six plates were missing the scallops from the plate. When the scallops finally came out they were cold. The waitress apologized again, but it was just so disappointing because this was an expensive meal. What a waste of money.
Unsure if I will return as we were a party of 2 celebrating a special occasion and were crammed in against a loud party of 7. Food was great but server was insistent on speeding our service with no attention given to the fact of entrees arriving when we had not even finished the appetizer. My recommendation would be to avoid this restaurant should you desire a slower paced dinner opposed to being run in and out as quickly as possible.
Great food and service. Our group of 6 enjoyed the filet mignon, crab cakes, oysters,and decadent chocolate pie. Wish we were more hungry to order more fully from the entree. We will be back next time down at Isle of Palms!
Great food and atmosphere. Tables were a little close which made it awkward.
Have dined before at the Boathouse and it was wonderful however this visit was a total disappointment! The appetizers on the top deck were very good. The view was awesome. The dinner was the disappointment. The hushpuppies were very hard and dry. The grits had several golfball size "clumps" of grits. We really wanted oysters and unfortunately they ran out. The shrimp on the seafood platter was very good...The piece of fish on the platter wasn't even the size of a dollar bill. The seafood past was good. We didn't feel that the cost of the food was worth the value. We will come for drinks on the top deck again!!
A bit cramped, difficult to maneuver around. I suggest removing a couple tables to open up the space.
I know an older couple that own a winter home in the area, but don't go due to the difficulty of maneuvering the space.