Abanico Tapas Bar and Restaurant

4.3
95 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Spanish
Abanico ~ Tapas Bar Restaurant & Music is excited to offer Spanish European cuisine to the Upstate. Experience a stylish gourmet meal full of elaborate tastes of a never-ending variety and one of its kind in Greenville, SC!

Our most popular dishes are the Pulpo a la Gallega - Tender Grilled Octopus with Olive Oil and Pimentón, Paella de Mariscos - Spanish Style Rice with Seafood with Saffron, and Rabo de Toro-Slow braised Ox Tail with Red Wine Reduction.

Many couples on a date night visit for tapas & drinks, dinner and dancing afterwards at Abanico Upstairs, Friday & Saturdays 10 pm - 2 am.

We also off catering for special events and a venue space available for private events.
For additional information, please contact Natalie Hendrick (864) 360-5222 or by email: natalie.abanico@gmail.com

What 95 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.1
service
4.3
ambience
4.5
value
Noise · Moderate
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
TF
Charleston
2 reviews
Dined on April 10, 2019
Overall 4food 5service 4ambience 5

Great place to meet up with friends for a mid week get together. Food was amazing. Service was lacking. Will go back though because the food was just that great! Tuna was the best!

Report
Helpful
c
Charleston
66 reviews
Dined on April 6, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 4

Great tapas, good wine menu, and the service was also good.

Report
Helpful
MP
1 review
Dined on April 4, 2019
Overall 3food 2service 3ambience 5

Was not authentic Spanish tapas. Had to wait on refills and flag the bartender to get a refill. We were the only ones in there.

Report
Helpful
T
Miami
24 reviews
Dined on April 3, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 4ambience 2

Highly recommended with many positive reviews. I would say mostly accurate but this is not a five star experience. The dishes are good not great, nothing is outstanding. Drinks, good. Service is very good. Noise level is almost annoying if there’s a large group in the bar area, which there was during our meal. It’s good.

Report
Helpful
JP
Charleston
5 reviews
Dined on March 30, 2019
Overall 1food 5service 1ambience 4

I felt they were understaffed. And then when the server abandoned us and about 5 other tables it was sad. We were early bird and did get our food. Others we maybe not as fortunate.
I feel for the management, but as said, service was very slow from the get go.
Food was good and prices were fair.

Report
Helpful
t
Charleston
11 reviews
Dined on March 23, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

wonderful authentic Spanish dishes. We loved the Spanish guitar music at just the right level to enjoy it, yet you could have a conversation

Report
Helpful
MD
1 review
Dined on March 16, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great atmosphere, service and food!!!
💃💃💃💃💃💃💃💃💃💃💃💃

Report
Helpful
H
Western NC
2 reviews
Dined on March 16, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 4

With this place being newly open, I think we need to give it some time to find it's way.
Service:
The service was OK but not great. We had to ask for one dish we ordered several times before they brought it out towards the end of our meal. Also we had to ask to pay the bill 2x. Due to some table mix up, our credit card was returned to us (without actual receipt to sign or bill) after enquiring about it after 10-15 minutes. We had to ask to bring them our bill again so we could actually pay for our meal, which we were finally able to do. The did offer us complimentary cheesecake for the inconveniences.
Drinks:
We tried a few of their red wines to see which one my wife and I liked best so we could order a bottle of it. Our waiter was extremely accommodating to this request and promptly provided us with several samples. We didn't really liked any of them so we decided to go with a bottle of Cava, which was good. A few points of remark with Cava though: a. When ordering a bottle of wine, it should really be opened at the table and not brought to table opened. b. Cava or any sparkling wine should be poured in appropriate glasses, not the red wine glasses already on the table and c. Sparkling or white wine ordered by the bottle should be served with a cooler. It might sound picky but I think these are items that show that a restaurant knows what they are doing or not.
Food:
We ordered the following dishes from their menu and I added our comments by each:
Jamon Iberico & Queso: overall tasty but Jamon looked like store bought slices to me, although I could be wrong
Paella: the favorite dish we had. Rice had great flavor
Gambas in Garlic: was a solid dish
Mussels: we found it to be OK. The herby sauce was tasty but mussels were kind of small and dry
Patatas Bravas: we had to wait until end of our meal to get them. We thought they were OK but not great
Stuffed Mushrooms: would recommend this one. Good taste
Brussels Sprouts: tasty
Cheesecake: we thought it was so-so at best

Report
Helpful
t
Dallas
30 reviews
Dined on March 15, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 4

First time to be there. Great service. Took several recommendations from our waiter. Food was very good. Came out one plate at a time. So we could slowly work our way through the dishes we had. Will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
OT
Atlanta
1 review
Dined on March 12, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great, authentic tapas. Personal and friendly service. Most definitely will make it a point to return!

Report
Helpful
OT
Charleston
2 reviews
Dined on March 9, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 4

Great food and drinks,the service was excellent. Incredibly affordable and the menu was diverse. A must try. Will be back soon!!

Report
Helpful
PG
1 review
Dined on March 7, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Fabulous night with friend. Delicious tapas and fantastic Sangria! Juan was amazing😊

Report
Helpful
OT
Charleston
1 review
Dined on March 2, 2019
Overall 1food 4service 1ambience 4

The food was very good, service was unbelievably horrible. It was such a disappointment because I would have loved to come back to try more tapas. They had a good deal of 5 for 30$ or 3 for 20$ and most of the food came out in a reasonable amount of time. However, my husband and I waited over 30 minutes for our drinks... twice. They did comp two drinks but they really should have comped all of our drinks considering it took literally 3 hours for us to get out of there. They also forgot to bring us our dessert. By the time they came back to check on us it was probably 30 minutes after we ordered dessert and it turns out she never rang it in so we requested she cancel the order because we could not stand to be there any longer. Then it took another 30 minutes for her to bring the check, when they brought it there was an incorrect charge and it took another 20 minutes for them to fix that. They were apologetic but their service was so ridiculously bad I don’t think I can give them another chance.

Report
Helpful
FF
Western NC
7 reviews
Dined on March 2, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Loved every bite! Met the owner and chef who took the time to chat with us about the food and his inspiration for the dishes. The croquetas de pollo were awesome. Will definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
OT
1 review
Dined on February 22, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Thee staff were incredibly helpful and understanding when we needed to add a seat to our reservation and also throughout the rest of the night! This was my third time there and each time I’m impressed with the improvements Abanico has made and the wonderful food. The food! It was so delicious and took me back to the month I spent in Spain! Very pleasant and enjoyable experience.

Report
Helpful
JF
Charleston
1 review
Dined on February 16, 2019
Overall 2food 4service 1ambience 2

Negatives: Arrived early (before reservation). Hostess told us that she would come back with a cocktail menu which we never received. Sat at bar while we waited and got no service until we finally called the bartender over. Ordered a beer that they were out of. Ordered another beer with a glass and had to ask again for the glass. We were sat at a table that I cannot believe they think was appropriate! Me and my date are relatively thin and there was no way that we were going to fit at this table comfortably . There was literally a foot of space between the table and the chairs max. We were moved to another table where we waited quite a while to order. We initially ordered more drinks to a different waiter. The original waiter came back and said we needed to re-order the drinks because our original drinks weren't in the computer?!? The drinks came quite a while later (separately) and one of them was wrong (missing an orange slice that we stressed during the order).

Positives: All of the food was good. The drinks were pretty good once we got them. The team seemed to know that the service was terrible and the drinks as well as one of our tapas were taken off of the bill.

Overall: Drinks and food were not good enough to go back based on the service we received. There seems to be no process or procedure here, and at times it seemed like total anarchy. I would rather go to Cazbah or Lazy Goat for tapas as I have had good experiences at both.

Report
Helpful
SW
Charleston
10 reviews
Dined on February 15, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Delicious food. Every tapas was excellent. My too favorites were oxtail and the tuna but everything was tasty and well prepared. Loved that it was quiet and easy to talk to my date! Perfect place to enjoy each other!

Report
Helpful
OT
Charlotte
3 reviews
Dined on February 14, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great place for a authentic Spanish food with excellent atmosphere and good dancing music.

Report
Helpful
MF
E. Tennessee
4 reviews
Dined on February 14, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 2ambience 5

It was Valentines Day. The food was great. The Flamenco dancers were excellent. Overall a great experience. Except our server took forever to do anything. Our drinks went empty, we wanted more tapas and couldn’t get his attention and the check took forever to get.

Report
Helpful
AD
1 review
Dined on February 13, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Very nice looking place with an awesome atmosphere. A warm welcome, and friendly servers and management. Will definitely return often.

Report
Helpful
s
Charleston
3 reviews
Dined on February 6, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

My husband and I had dinner here for the first time and were very pleased. The food was great! We had the 5 tapas for $30 - the potatoes, brussel sprouts, pork cheeks, ahi tuna, and oxtails. It was not busy that night so no issues with service. We definitely plan to return.

Report
Helpful
OT
Charleston
3 reviews
Dined on February 5, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The restaurant is beautiful and hip, one block away from the heart of Main Street. Easy parking, there is a garage right across the street. Restaurant has a bar, plenty of wine choices, sangria, beer, and many other cocktails. The manager was very attentive and came to our table a few times to make sure everything was great. The food is exquisite. We had 5 tapas, it was very hard to pick our favorite. Very filling. Presentation is 5-star. Definitely recommend for any event, birthday, date night, night out.

Abanico Tapas Bar and Restaurant
Responded on February 9, 2019

Thank you for your encouraging comments, Bienvenidos.

Report
Helpful
c
Charleston
66 reviews
Dined on February 1, 2019
Overall 4food 5service 4ambience 5

We've been at these restaurants several times and the food is always excellent. Highly recommended.

Abanico Tapas Bar and Restaurant
Responded on February 5, 2019

Carlos, Thank you. I am very happy you enjoyed yourself.

Report
Helpful
B
Las Vegas
12 reviews
Dined on February 1, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 1ambience 3

Second visit was not very good. Will not return. I did a review update from my visit Dec 22. Brought another couple with us and they did not like the service or the food. Service was terrible and the waiter was not very good. No water refill, order was wrong and slow. They need to get improve the service. The restaurant was not busy yet they were slow. The group next to us waited forever for one tapas. As we said in previous review the waiter argued with us that he was right in telling us no coffee when three of us all agreed he never said it. Customer is always right and his 15% tip reflected his attitude. I usually tip 20-22% To many other restaurants downtown that we enjoy and won't be returning.

Abanico Tapas Bar and Restaurant
Responded on February 5, 2019

I am very sorry you had a bad experience in our restaurant. I have responded in private as well so that we can correct matters.

Report
Helpful
JM
1 review
Dined on February 1, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 1ambience 4

The food was great and the service was horrible. Although our waiter was personable he was so far in the weeds that after taking our order he never came back to our table. I would certainly go here again but plan to sit at the bar.

Abanico Tapas Bar and Restaurant
Responded on February 5, 2019

I am very sorry you had a bad experience with service. I have responded in private as well so that we can correct matters. I am happy you enjoyed the food though.

Report
Helpful
BM
1 review
Dined on January 31, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Grilled octopus was fabulous, tender & flavorful. All portions were generous and every dish had such succulent flavors from Spain. Service was spot on and the wine list was fine Spanish selections. Cheesecake was an excellent end to the meal. Highly recommended!

Abanico Tapas Bar and Restaurant
Responded on February 5, 2019

Brian it was a pleasure serving you and your family. I know you traveled a little ways to try us and greatly appreciate that. Please let me know when you wish to return.

Report
Helpful
OT
Charleston
5 reviews
Dined on January 26, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

My wife and I love tapas - took a shot on this place and so glad we did! Great food - great wine - had an awesome time and a great meal.

Abanico Tapas Bar and Restaurant
Responded on February 9, 2019

I am so glad you took a chance and liked what you discovered, here's to many more Good Food nights.

Report
Helpful
TW
Charleston
4 reviews
Dined on January 26, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Large tapas portions. Great new place! Friendly owners.
Loved the suggestions from Theodore.
Good menu for sharing.
Great atmosphere too.

Abanico Tapas Bar and Restaurant
Responded on February 5, 2019

Thomas, Thank you for your visit and kind words. I hope you become regulars.

Report
Helpful
RS
Savannah
34 reviews
Dined on January 25, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 2ambience 3

Somewhat disappointing

Abanico Tapas Bar and Restaurant
Responded on February 5, 2019

I am very sorry you had a bad experience in our restaurant. I have responded in private as well so that we can correct matters.

Report
Helpful
OT
Charleston
39 reviews
Dined on January 25, 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

Great spot for tapas type meal. Service was outstanding.

Abanico Tapas Bar and Restaurant
Responded on February 5, 2019

I happy you enjoyed yourselves. Here's to a lasting relationship.

Report
Helpful
j
Charleston
12 reviews
Dined on January 19, 2019
Overall 4food 5service 3ambience 4

Great experience with Abanico. Food was excellent. Services was a little off. The restaurant was slammed because it was SC Restaurant week. Will definitely go back again. If you in the mood for traditional Spanish Tapas in Greenville, SC this is your spot.

Abanico Tapas Bar and Restaurant
Responded on February 5, 2019

Thank you Jeb for your visit and kind words. We were busier than expected for Restaurant week, but we should have prepared for the unexpected.

Report
Helpful
S
Milwaukee
3 reviews
Dined on January 19, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Pleasantly surprised by this find during restaurant week. Will definitely go back.

Abanico Tapas Bar and Restaurant
Responded on February 5, 2019

Sobys Fan, Thank you for discovering us. I hope you will be back soon.

Report
Helpful
OT
1 review
Dined on January 19, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great menu and all the food was outstanding. The service got a little backed up and slow at times but the staff was great about explaining everything and making sure we were satisfied. We will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
PF
1 review
Dined on January 18, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

My husband, sister and I came here for Restaurant Week. Each of us we very pleased with our selection, both food and drinks. Everything was great, and we will definitely be back. Service was great too!

Report
Helpful
OT
New Mexico
2 reviews
Dined on January 16, 2019
Overall 4food 5service 4ambience 5

Made an Open Table Reservation but it was not noted by restaurant, however they were able to sit us. Otherwise they worked graciously with us to get our order ready so we could continue our other plans.

Report
Helpful
OT
Charleston
3 reviews
Dined on January 12, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The portions were great, the food was amazing! My Girlfriend and I, went for her birthday. We will definitely make this a regular date night spot.

Report
Helpful
S
New York Area
6 reviews
Dined on January 12, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Came here for restaurant week. Great experience! And good value - so many more things we would come back and try! My parents travel a lot and can be picky when it comes to this type of food and they really loved it! Some favorites were the paella, the octopus, the Brussels sprouts and the pork cheeks.

Report
Helpful
f
San Francisco
5 reviews
Dined on January 12, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

All the dishes were delicious and the service was just perfect!

Report
Helpful
OT
Detroit
2 reviews
Dined on January 11, 2019
Overall 1food 1service 1ambience 1

We didn’t keep our reservation because they couldn’t seat us even when we arrived because the 7:30 reservations had not been sat yet. There were multiple dirty tables and no rush to clear them.

Abanico Tapas Bar and Restaurant
Responded on January 12, 2019

Thank you for reaching out. We greatly apologize for the disappointment & inconveniencing you & your party! We were understaffed for Restaurant Week resulting in not giving the higher level of service we expect to deliver. More staff is available now to accommodate the extra volume of guests visiting us for RW. Please contact Natalie & Allen Hendrick (864)360-5222 who invite you back with a personal guarantee your visit is made right for you & your party. Sincerely, Natalie & Allen Hendrick

Report
Helpful
c
Charleston
66 reviews
Dined on January 11, 2019
Overall 4food 5service 4ambience 4

Great food in small plates so you can try different things. Spanish wine available is very good too.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3