526 Main & Tequila Blue

4
177 Reviews
$30 and under
American
526 Main Dueling Piano Bar is the premier nightspot destination in downtown Royal Oak, featuring world touring professional piano players who sing and entertain with humor and audience participation guaranteeing a thrilling and enjoyable time for all. Our elevated stage, viewable from all of our seating, creates a lively atmosphere in which guests are encouraged to participate with our dueling pianist. Granite walls & deep red tapestries fill the room and contribute to our sense of elegance and warmth. Twelve large screen televisions accent the room, with a stage occupying the center. The menu copies the atmosphere taking sophistication and balance to heart. You are sure to leave satisfied.

Tequila Blue Nightclub
If you are looking for that south-of-the-border dance flair, look no further than Royal Oak's Tequila Blue Nightclub. With our Mexican-inspired motif complete with vintage Mexican artwork, decorative ceramic tiles, impressive stone work & thatched-roof cabanas!
What 177 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.0based on recent ratings
3.6
food
3.8
service
4.2
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
80% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
L
Lovedopentable
Detroit
2 reviews
Dined on November 14, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We made reservations here for me and sister birthday. We all really enjoyed ourselves. The band was nice, the food was hot and decent. Our waiter was very tentative and had amazing customer service. There’s a club upstairs which was really nice too. I’ll definitely be back for a date night out with the hubby next time around.

PP
PatriciaP
1 review
Dined on November 14, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience5

The food was good & so was the service. The bank that preformed was great

HN
HumbleNKind
1 review
Dined on November 14, 2020
Overall2food2service2ambience3

Waited atleast 10 mins before being greeted. Followed by another 15 mins before she came back to take drink order. Pasta was way over cooked and sauce seemed to be broken down. More oily then actual sauce. Not a complainer but I also used to be in the industry and didn’t want to affect the rest of her night so nothing was said and we tipped over 20%
Just disappointed in my first experience. Hopefully they can get it right.

ST
STACEYN
1 review
Dined on November 13, 2020
Overall1food1service1ambience1

This is not even a piano bar at all there's no pianos there the food is atrocious. Literally everything about this place was easily the worst experience ever

MT
MichaelT
1 review
Dined on November 7, 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience4

I really loved our server. I did forget her name. Staff was really professional and gracious. The one drawback was the wine selection. 526 serves some of the most awful wines I have ever tasted. Very bitter, horrible quality. Perhaps wine is not a big order in your spot. This is OK, but really there are some inexpensive choices far better than the stock in the bar. Try Barefoot Butter Chardonnay in the box. Excellent taste and value. And I am/was a wine snob. I've tasted all over the world. Ten years ago I would have chafed at the mention of box wine or screw top. You could charge $9.00 a glass 6 oz. pour and make a very tidy profit.

JL
JonathanL
1 review
Dined on November 7, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience5

Overpriced but great atmosphere. Wish they would post schedule online of when they have bands and when they have dueling pianists. Sat at table in front of band and was too loud for conversation.

AP
AlexanderP
1 review
Dined on October 30, 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience4

The staff was great, the service was great very attentive, my only complaint that was it was the day before Halloween and there was music.. but it was loud. There was four of us and it was just kind of hard to talk across the table.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Detroit
4 reviews
Dined on June 20, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great vibes and food. Excellent customer service.

L
Lesle
Chicago
1 review
Dined on March 14, 2020
Overall3food2service5ambience4

Door staff rude, food just ok, waitress fantastic, drinks just ok, entertainment also fantastic, rather expensive for mediocre drinks and food.

OF
vipOpusFlorida
Miami
183 reviews
Dined on March 13, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Clearly one of the best times you can have with the dueling pianos. I strongly suggest getting there early before the show starts. Great crowd.

JO
JulieO
1 review
Dined on March 7, 2020
Overall4food3service3ambience4

Had a great time at the piano bar - great entertainment. Drinks were expensive for what you got and got extremely crowded by midnight so much so we had a difficult time getting out - a nice gentleman seen me struggling and offered his hand to help hoist me thru the crowd. Food was ok, not bad - not great and service was slow though the food came out rather quick. Overall had a great time! Need larger ladies room also - always a line outside the ladies restroom.

P
Pamela
1 review
Dined on March 6, 2020
Overall1food1service1ambience4

Went to see a funny show of dueling pianos. Instead there was a mediocre piano player and a terrible singer. The service was terrible/ one beer and one wine took 35 minutes. The beer wasn’t filled to the top and the wine couldn’t have been more than 5oz. but it cost 12.00. It cost $5 each to get it. Sixty minutes and sixty dollars later we left. We definitely won’t be back.

MT
MeganT
1 review
Dined on March 6, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Celebrated my birthday here and I’m so glad I did ! It was an amazing night! Service, drinks, food, music, ALL THE STAFF...AMAZING! I will definitely be back!

SB
SethB
1 review
Dined on March 6, 2020
Overall3food2service4ambience5

The performances are fantastic. The food and drinks are a bit expensive. The bathroom attendant is enough to make me never return.

DD
DanaD
1 review
Dined on March 1, 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Great service and atmosphere! They have great food however I was hoping on Sunday they would have the kitchen open. The breakfast buffet was only offered. The servers and piano players were awesome!

SM
SarahM
1 review
Dined on February 29, 2020
Overall1food1service1ambience3

We made a reservation in anticipation of a busy Saturday night. I was happy to see that this was an option and was looking forward to spending my birthday with four friends at 526 Main. When we arrived, the host desk had no one manning it, so I asked the man checking IDs at the door who I should see regarding a reservation. He said the host “must be done at the moment” and to find a server somewhere to ask. It was clear to me when trying to find a server that there was absolutely no table being held for us. We found a server, who said he would look into it. We waited for easily 15-20 minutes for the server to return with an answer of any kind. Finally we approached another employee, who found a manager, who then kicked another group out of a table so that we could have it. This poor manager looked like he was having a terrible night, and as much as we appreciated his assistance, it made for a very uncomfortable situation as a group was removed from a table for us when a table should have been being held in preparation for us. After this group left, we sat and waited 5-10 minutes for a server to return and take our drink order. At the time we were finally sat, it was already 35 minutes past our reservation time. She told us someone would be by to remove the plates and glasses from the previous group and to clean the table. This never happened, and we ended up stacking these items on the table ourselves to make room for our own drinks. The server eventually removed them but never cleaned the table, and there were visible pieces of food on the table that didn’t belong to us. We were never offered the late night food menu as advertised on the website. 526 Main is a fine place to come for casual drinks and fun music, but don’t expect a late night food menu or even decent service, and definitely don’t bother making a reservation. This shouldn’t even be an option on the weekends if there is no host to manage it. I would absolutely not recommend 526 Main.

TD
ToddD
1 review
Dined on February 28, 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Great service. Good food. Great entertainment. All around great night out.

n
nightout
Detroit
2 reviews
Dined on February 28, 2020
Overall4food3service4ambience4

We had a Groupon worth $49 off food only for two of us. The Dueling Pianos show was a lot of fun. We did not like paying a $10 cover charge to get in after 7:00. Had we known we would have come 10 minutes earlier to escape this fee. It didn’t seem right when we had made a dinner reservation and came to eat as much as for the show.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on February 22, 2020
Overall4food4service1ambience4

Everything was nice except the service. Several times my wife had to get up to get silverware, clear the dishes, request drinks, etc. We didn’t know the gratuity was automatically added to the bill. We figured the waitress did that’s why she didn’t care about taking care of us. Her poor service would’ve been reflected in her tip but we weren’t allowed to do that. She didn’t deserve the 18% she received. Normally we tip 20% for good service. Her loss. Hopefully you’ll correct this.

m
michaelm
Las Vegas
1 review
Dined on February 15, 2020
Overall2food2service1ambience2

Got stuck in the corner by the front door couldn’t see anything and made reservations days in advance Service was horrible

R
Redkat2020
1 review
Dined on February 15, 2020
Overall4food5service4ambience4

Definitely will be back. Crowded, but that should be expected. Food took a while, but I didn’t mind because we were there for a few hours.

C
Chicklil
1 review
Dined on February 14, 2020
Overall4food3service5ambience5

Service was very good. The dueling pianos were good. Talented performers and a long show. Food was very greasy and nothing special. The dessert was huge for the price. Show is mostly music and a couple of comedic quips from the performers.

GM
GeraldM
Detroit
1 review
Dined on February 8, 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience4

I might return but I wouldn't donate any money to the entertainers.
Our party of 4 requested 6 songs and zero were played during the evening. Our requests were submitted within the first 5 minutes of the show. The crowd wasn't as big at the beginning as it was later, also.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Detroit
1 review
Dined on February 1, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent services, atmosphere, life music! Love everything about this place.

526 Main & Tequila Blue
Responded on February 7, 2020

Thank You so much for your kind review! Please visit us again soon!

Report
KB
KarenB
Detroit
1 review
Dined on February 1, 2020
Overall2food1service2ambience2

The main reason for going to this establishment is the entertainment. Two guys playing piano, singing, engaging the audience. Sounds like fun. My expectations were lowered after reading some other reviews, but I was gifted a groupon for dinner for two, so we went. There were people there who were having a good time. I guess their expectations were even lower than mine.

The entertainers each had an electric piano. The sound system set-up was awful. The high end was fried out, and was literally painful to my husbands ears, annoying to mine. The low end was muddled. It was bad when they were playing and grating when they were singing. These guys were average in singing ability - more showman than voice talent. As pianist, they were good enough. They were getting people to join in the singing and said they wanted tips to do on request songs. We wanted to leave after our dinner because the loud, poor sound system put us off.

The food was ok, nothing to get excited about. Appetizer was too greasy to eat. My entree, chicken picatta, was too salty to finish (and I love salt). Husband said his cheeseburger was OK.

The service was slow. I attribute that to slow kitchen and too many tables for one person. My waiter was pleasant and quite busy. I asked for our dessert 'to go' and to settled up the bill. How long does take to bring box with a couple brownies and cookies to the table? I don't know. About 20 minutes after first asking, we left without it. Came home, took Tylenol, watched Netflix and that was the highlight of the evening. Wasn't the worst evening I've ever had, but no reason to go back.

RR
RoRoD
1 review
Dined on February 1, 2020
Overall5food3service5ambience5

Had such a great evening! Service was terrific and the show was so much fun!

526 Main & Tequila Blue
Responded on February 7, 2020

Thank you for the kind words! We are so glad our staff was terrific!

Report
LC
LauraC
1 review
Dined on January 30, 2020
Overall5food3service2ambience5

Great music and fun. Very talented performers. Really enjoyed it.

526 Main & Tequila Blue
Responded on February 7, 2020

Thank you for your 5 stars Laura! Please visit us again soon!

Report
AS
AshleyS
1 review
Dined on January 25, 2020
Overall3food1service3ambience5

It was okay. I would only go there for drinks and the experience of a bar night out. The food was not that good and also the ceiling was leaking right on me at first just a few drops I didn’t really notice then it got far worse and my friends and I had to leave because it was a constant drip. I will be back because I love the entertainment but this last trip was subpar

C
vipChaney
Detroit
8 reviews
Dined on January 25, 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience3

We enjoyed the show, the service was good and the food was too. We were not happy with the wines; the red blend we picked was not barely drinkable, and the number of choices were few. I guess it’s not a place to drink wine😬

526 Main & Tequila Blue
Responded on February 7, 2020

Chaney, Thank you for your feedback! We will be ramping up our wine offerings come spring when wine season is in full stride for our guests!

Report
r
redbone
1 review
Dined on January 10, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The musicians were AWESOME!!!, the food was great, such an upbeat and just fun place to go spend a Friday or Saturday night out with friends or just you and your spouse.

526 Main & Tequila Blue
Responded on January 24, 2020

Thank you for your kind words! We love when guests acknowledge how great our dueling piano players are! Come see us again soon!

Report
TR
TomR
1 review
Dined on January 3, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Classy, fun place! The piano players/performers were funny and very good performers!

526 Main & Tequila Blue
Responded on January 24, 2020

Tom, Thank you for your kind review! We strive to offer the best dueling show around!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on December 29, 2019
Overall2food2service2ambience2

I would recommend at least a salad dish & soup on the brunch menu since brunch lasts until 3pm. The meals delivered weren’t what was ordered. I would also recommend more bread options.

LG
LuGee
1 review
Dined on December 27, 2019
Overall2food3service3ambience2

When I sew word Piano, idea came to have a nice & cozy dinner with friends…..NOT, it’s a life piano-karaoke, which was the opposite to our expectations. Our fault not finding more info on new place! Admittedly, pianists were great, just that we don’t stand for improv on anything but jazz. Also, premises are not suitable for 2 pianos & band in small& overcrowded area with tables and people. It’s not a pleasant place to eat, food just OK, drinks’re expensive, and try to order or talk to each other in 200 decibels surrounding. Seating back-to-back, holding purses/coats on the lap, you can’t dance either, so after 2 hours of struggle and before we lost our hearing, we left….with no return!
Expense for 2,5 hours for 6 people: 3 x($45) Groupons +$200 for drinks:((
Parking story!
First time invited to this restaurant, first time in Royal Oak.
As I am standing along in the cold and darkness of parking lot, maneuvering between putting reading glasses on with right hand, while finding/holding cellphone’s light in left hand - simultaneously holding wallet in my teeth and purse under pit…just to find no directions nor rules on how to use this meter. I didn’t have coins and Dollar bill wouldn’t fit into slot next to Coin slot, so after 15 minute-battle I went inside for help. By the time we came out I had a ticket on windshield.
Upsettingly, it was more convenient to pay the ticket, however inside the restaurant vs figuring out the meter!
Laughably, one hour later on my way home, second thicket was waiting for me again …after I spend more time taking care of parking problems, than having fun with my friends on “Girls’ night out”.
Never again I’m going to this non-friendly city!
I hope this thicket was an unfortunate coincidence and considered to be a mistake, unless Royal Oak law permits double-ticketing!?

526 Main & Tequila Blue
Responded on January 24, 2020

LuGee, We apologize you didn't find what you were looking for with us. Unfortunately we are not much of a jazz type feeling slow motion piano bar. We are a high energy dueling piano show that tries our best to entertain guests celebrating and having a great night out with premium entertainment! We do encourage guests to use the parking garage one block west of us for the easiest parking solution with less than a minute walk. If you're ever looking for a fun live music experience, try us again!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Detroit
1 review
Dined on December 5, 2019
Overall1food1service1ambience2

Very disappointed. Terrible service and cold food, 10 top shoved in corner under the stairs.

CA
ChristopherA
1 review
Dined on November 30, 2019
Overall1food2service1ambience1

The musicians were rough at best. Food wasn't great. Over priced. Worst piano club I've been to. Needs better musicians that don't charge $20 to play a song.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Detroit
1 review
Dined on November 30, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Had a small birthday get together and it was my 1st time there. It was awesome will be back for sure

OT
OpenTable Diner
Detroit
1 review
Dined on November 27, 2019
Overall1food1service3ambience2

Cover charge at the door, overpriced drinks, unknowledgeable staff,

DH
DeannaH
1 review
Dined on November 23, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

It was an awesome time!! Food was amazing- and huge portions. Would go back again in a minute

M
vipMatthew
Los Angeles
15 reviews
Dined on November 22, 2019
Overall1food1service1ambience1

Horrible place. We made a dinner reservation and when we arrived they said we needed to pay a cover for live music before we could eat. Not sure why the additional charge wasn’t disclosed up front. When I asked the manager about it, he said that’s the way it is. Just pay. Extremely unprofessional, extremely rude. We won’t be back.

G
Goodtymes
1 review
Dined on November 14, 2019
Overall5food3service1ambience4

The two pianists were fantastic. I would go back to just hear those two guys again. They were joking around and including the crowd in conversations. It was a great experience.

526 Main & Tequila Blue
Responded on November 21, 2019

Thank you for the 5★ review! We are very happy you loved our talented pianists! We hope to earn 5★ again!

Report

FAQs

526 Main & Tequila Blue is rated 4 stars by 177 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.