This restaurant added safety precaution details

This includes info about cleaning, sanitizing, social distancing, and usage of personal protective equipment. Learn more.

1221 at MFP

3.9
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
70 Reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Featuring a 1920’s Gold Coast art deco vibe with elements of an underground speakeasy, 1221 at MFP offers a rewarding dining experience in a modern space with a chic aesthetic you’re sure to remember long after your meal. Located in The Roslyn Hotel, 1221 at MFP’s kitchen provides a contemporary take on American cuisine, complimented by seasonal craft cocktails, a wide aperitif selection, rare spirits, and local award-winning beer.

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
  • Sealed or wrapped utensils used
Social Distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
Personal Protective Equipment
  • Waitstaff wear masks
  • Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking

Offers

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Tue - Sat 4:00PM - 10:00PM

What 70 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.9based on recent ratings
3.9
food
4.1
service
3.8
ambience
3.6
value
Noise · Quiet
75% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food was great, waiter was also. We will be back very soon!

OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
10 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Great good ! The service is Outstanding. We had the branzino , steak octopus as appetizer and it was delicious !
I will return to this place .

TT
vipTomT
New York Area
33 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall4food4service5ambience3

Did not know what to expect, but the food and service were really very good.

c
vipcorrbox
Hawaii
67 reviews
Dined on September 5, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We enjoyed our meal at 1221 at MFP very much. Everything was perfect. The food was really very good, and tasty. My meal of the Chicken Milanese was superb. My wife enjoyed her salad with feta cheese very, very much. Our dessert of chocolate ice cream was 1st class. All in all, plus the terrific service, we had a wonderful experience and evening. We highly recommend 1221 at MFP. Easy to park, no hassle.

f
vipfoodie01
New York Area
43 reviews
Dined on August 15, 2020
Overall3food2service3ambience4

Very pretty setting. food was fair, my omelette was underdone and the butter was served in packets that were partly melted, probably due to covid changes.Small brunch menu, i think hendricks down the street is a better choice

SB
vipStuartB
New York Area
15 reviews
Dined on July 31, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Farah, our server was excellent. She made every effort to serve us.

C
vipCyn512
New York Area
14 reviews
Dined on February 14, 2020
Overall2food3service4ambience1

It was Valentine’s Day. The food was nothing special, no special touches, ran out of coffee cups.

R
Ryan
1 review
Dined on February 14, 2020
Overall1food1service1ambience3

Took a half hour for a soup and cold apps to come out, then the shrimp and salmon were both beyond overcooked. The petite filet was barley 3oz and the béarnaise sauce was cold and solid. I turned my cup of it upside for minutes and nothing left the cup. Extremely disappointed

AF
AlexF
1 review
Dined on February 1, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Incredible service from Harsh. Delicious food. An absolute must go-to.

b
vipbdcd
New York Area
6 reviews
Dined on January 11, 2020
Overall1food1service1ambience1

Empty resturant

Report
1
1221review
New York Area
1 review
Dined on November 9, 2019
Overall3food4service3ambience5

The restaurant week menu online was different from the one given at the restaurant. My friend and I were hoping to get the steak but it wasn’t on the menu at the restaurant (although it was online). We informed the host about this and we were told that he would do something to rectify the situation however he never came back to our table. Other than that, it was a nice experience.

WJ
vipWendeJ
New York Area
14 reviews
Dined on November 7, 2019
Overall3food4service3ambience3

Very good food had to wait for it an extraordinarily long time -

L
vipLane
New York Area
95 reviews
Dined on October 19, 2019
Overall3food3service4ambience3

Food was very good and so was the service... limited Menu however... perhaps it was the night we went... as people started to come in , it got a bit noisy.... don't know how noisy it gets with a full house...

SA
vipSnappyAunt
New York Area
5 reviews
Dined on October 12, 2019
Overall3food3service4ambience2

The entire experience was meh. The room was empty except for us on a Saturday night. The menu was pricey for what was no better than a beach town crab shack. The bartender spent her time chatting with the servers and chewing gum. The only person that seemed to know what he was doing was the beverage supervisor. The lobster salad was okay. Nothing special.

F
Foodnut
New Orleans
15 reviews
Dined on September 14, 2019
Overall3food3service4ambience4

The internet rating for this restaurant was 4.8, but it is definitely not that good. I would give it a 4.0 tops. Service was slow and there was nobody there. My dish looked ugly and it was dry. Needed sauce. I had the short rib. Mashed potatoes were good though. My boyfriends burger was very good.

S
vipSimina
New England
61 reviews
Dined on August 22, 2019
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Our server Ray was great, personal and attentive! We shared a variety of appetizers… Shrimp, Burrata, sushi, calamari, oysters … All are really good, well done 1221! Then went across hall to my fathers place for some old school rock. We’ll certainly go back.

DV
DonaldV
New York Area
1 review
Dined on August 2, 2019
Overall3food4service3ambience3

Food was great but they didn't have the drinks we ordered. Service was ok but it was the bar tender running out to take our order and to see if everything was ok. Asked for salt and pepper and they brought out an empty salt shaker. If you're going to be high end and charge high end prices then prepare and execute like a high end restaurant.

M
vipMatt
New York Area
46 reviews
Dined on June 29, 2019
Overall4food4service3ambience4

A little bit of a hiccup with appetizers. They forgot my mothers salad when appetizers were being served. After it was mentioned to them, they then brought out the wrong salad and it had to be brought back. They redeemed themselves with dinner and desserts. The food was delicious throughout and the ambiance was beautiful.

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
New York Area
1 review
Dined on June 29, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great restaurant. Food was terrific as was service. We would definitely go back. Lots of good choices on menu and everyone enjoyed their food. Cocktail list and wines also top notch.

AR
vipAnaR
New York Area
16 reviews
Dined on June 15, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Amazing food and service!

CR
vipCRBLI
New York Area
84 reviews
Dined on June 15, 2019
Overall2food2service2ambience3

The restaurant was not crowded but our waiter was running like he was the only one working. He tried but all in all the service was poor. Our water glasses were empty most of the time and no one came to check how we were enjoying our food until we called over our waiter. I had ordered the lamb chops--which were recommended by the waiter. They were thin and overcooked--I had asked for them to be medium rare and they were not even pink. The waiter offered to bring a new plate and that it would only take 6 minutes--but it was like 26 minutes. My husband had the halibut which was also a bit over cooked. I don't know how the staff could have handled a full restaurant. The appetizers were good and they did take the lamb chops off of our bill --so at least they made it up to us. It was a new manager so maybe they will work out the kinks?????

LY
LYNNET
New York Area
1 review
Dined on June 8, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Second time here, the food is delicious, the staff is excellent. Never disappointed!

HC
HealthConscious
New York Area
8 reviews
Dined on June 2, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

This is the first time we have visited this restaurant since the hotel was renovated. The service was wonderful, and so was the food. We will definitely be going back.

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
New York Area
8 reviews
Dined on May 18, 2019
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Would go back again. Everything we ordered were delicous, Yellow fin tuna, short ribs, burrata etc.
Service was excelent.

s
vipsamanthac
New York Area
13 reviews
Dined on May 12, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food was great and the service was exceptional . They had a guy playing music for Mother’s Day and it was a great touch during dinner

1221 at MFP
Responded on May 13, 2019

We're so glad to hear you enjoyed dining with us on Mother's Day. It was really important to use that Sunday was exceptional for everyone and it's great to hear that we succeeded. We hope you'll join us again soon!

Report
K
Karen
1 review
Dined on May 12, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Sunday brunch very nice. Service and live jazz guitar music was great!

1221 at MFP
Responded on May 15, 2019

We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your brunch with us! We hope to see you again soon!

Report
f
vipfoodie1
Vancouver
58 reviews
Dined on May 5, 2019
Overall4food3service5ambience5

Four of us for prix-fixe dinner. Impressive ambience in a beautifully designed, quiet contemporary setting. I started with an octopus appetizer, and I think it was the best octopus I ever had--tiny portion, but delicious . Two others of our group had a lobster roll, which was large enough to qualify as a main dish, and also delicious. Unfortunately, the main dishes were not so successful. Three of us had fish dishes. My wife and I had halibut, which was small and overdone. One of our friends had salmon, most of which she left over, claiming it was also overdone. Desserts were served family style--cheesecake, tiny bit of chocolate cake. They were OK. Service was excellent. Wines were, as expected, priced on the high side, but there were two reds at 40$. After the great start we were a little disappointed with the overall outcome, but the owner gave us a 25$ discount for our next visit, and we will return to try the regular menu. The lobster roll and octopus are alone worth the trip.

1221 at MFP
Responded on May 13, 2019

Thanks so much for your kind words on our space and our service. We're sorry to hear your entrees did not live up to the appetizers but we're glad to hear the apps felt worthy of another trip. We hope to see you again soon and will be working hard until them to make sure our entrees are as good if not better than the first course!

Report
B
vipBeng
New York Area
24 reviews
Dined on May 5, 2019
Overall3food3service4ambience3

food was good nothing stood out as exceptional Based on regular prices this restaurant is over priced for food served

1221 at MFP
Responded on May 13, 2019

We're happy to hear you enjoyed the food but we're sorry to hear it didn't stand out as special for you. We would love to speak more about your experience so we can continue to learn and grow. If you'd be willing to speak further about your experience please give us a call at the restaurant.

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
New York Area
45 reviews
Dined on May 4, 2019
Overall3food3service5ambience3

This was our first time at 1221 at MFP. It was LI Restaurant Week and we ordered from the Restaurant Week menu. There were a good number of choices although many had additonal charges.

We had to wait about 15 minutes for our table, but the host was warm and kept us apprised. Our server was terrific and the service was great. Unfortunately, the food was mediocre. Our appetizers were OK - we shared a good salad and very good lobster roll with great homemade potato chips. My husband's linguine with pasta was good; I had the yellowfin tuna which was quite disappointing. Rare but tasteless and mushy - should have sent it back.

Overall it was a decent but disappointing experience.

1221 at MFP
Responded on May 13, 2019

Thank you for your kind words about our service and our host. We're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your food as much and we're especially sorry to hear the tuna was not to your liking. We've shared your notes with our chef so we can work to improve on this experience. We hope you'll give us a second chance so we can prove we can do better. Our goal is to make sure every guest leaves satisfied and we're sorry we didn't catch your dissatisfaction with the tuna to fix it before you left.

Report
J
Jenifer
New York Area
3 reviews
Dined on May 4, 2019
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Lovely ambience simple decor. Very noisy on a Sat evening. Had shrimp appetiser. Very good

Tuna entre. Great cut of tuna cooked well. But served over eggplant red sauce not a good compliment to tuna. An asian sauce ingredients would of been better

1221 at MFP
Responded on May 13, 2019

Thank you for your kind words about our ambience. We're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy the sauce that came with the tuna. In the future please let us know and we're happy to swap it out for something more to your liking! We hope to see you again soon!

Report
i
vipijs4
New York Area
60 reviews
Dined on May 4, 2019
Overall4food4service5ambience3

our first experience was quite positive. good food and drinks with fine service. our table was close to the bar which got a bit noisy mid-meal, so next time we will sit in the back area.

1221 at MFP
Responded on May 13, 2019

Thank you so much for your kind review! We're glad to hear your experience was a positive one and are always happy to relocate you if the bar or your neighbors get too loud. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report
DS
DebbieS
New York Area
5 reviews
Dined on May 3, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

It was restaurant week so we wanted to try this restaurant because a friend ate lunch there. It was very busy so we had to wait awhile to get our meal. But the manager stepped in and offered us an additional appt for our inconvenience. But when the meal came it made up for the wait! It was so amazing. I loved it so much that we visited again. I would definitely recommend this place!!!!

2
2fromlongisland
New York Area
22 reviews
Dined on May 3, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience4

We enjoyed restaurant week with friends. The menu was varied and delicious. Everyone had fish as a main course and no one was disappointed. The restaurant shares a lobby with My Fathers Place so it was quite noisy. Hard to have a conversation. We all agreed we would return, but not on a Friday or Saturday evening.

JA
JoannA
New York Area
10 reviews
Dined on May 2, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

From the moment we entered 1221, we were made to feel welcome. We stared the meal with a heaping bowl of hot, scrumptious tender fried calamari and Delicious charred octopus. Dinner was moist braised short ribs and fluffy mashed potatoes and roasted halibut on a bed of tomato infused couscous with peas. All this was followed by a dessert platter of ice cream, cheesecake and mini brownies. We were there for restaurant week. So delicious!

1221 at MFP
Responded on May 13, 2019

Thank you so much for your kind works about our food! We're so happy to hear our team made you feel welcome and you enjoyed your visit with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Report
a
anniversary33
New York Area
11 reviews
Dined on April 30, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Went there because it was Restaurant Week. We figured, that's a good time to try new restaurants. We thought portions may be small, they were not. They were regular portions and every thing we ordered was DELICIOUS!! I ordered Quinoa salad my husband, calamari...both delicious and large portions. I took half my appetizer home. Then I had salmon and my husband, halibut...again delicious. Dessert was amazing, too. Italian cheesecake, vanilla ice cream and warm delicious brownie. I ate my quinoa salad and half of my salmon again the next day for lunch. We really enjoyed it and will definitely go back.
Our server was delightful.

1221 at MFP
Responded on May 13, 2019

Thank you so much for your overwhelmingly kind review. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your experience with us and can't wait to have you back in again!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
1 review
Dined on April 27, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Loved! Great night

1221 at MFP
Responded on May 13, 2019

Thanks so much! Please come back soon!

Report
D
vipDanielle
New York Area
18 reviews
Dined on April 21, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience4

I like the quiet atmosphere as it is located in the basement of a hotel. If you have a private meeting, that location serves well. If you want view, I would not go there.
The food was good, waiter is friendly, I would go there more often.

1221 at MFP
Responded on May 13, 2019

We're so happy to hear you enjoyed the food and service. Thank you for your kind review and we hope to see you again soon!

Report
RG
RaviG
New England
8 reviews
Dined on April 19, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food and drinks, nice atmosphere, attentive service. I will definitely return!

1221 at MFP
Responded on May 13, 2019

Thank you so much for your kind review! We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Report
AM
vipAlisyaM
New York Area
13 reviews
Dined on April 6, 2019
Overall2food2service1ambience4

Very disappointed with this place. Our waiter had no idea how the dishes were prepared and the menu lacks simple description of what’s included. I ordered short ribs, the waiter said it doesn’t come with any sides. We ordered fingerling potatoes as a side and my meal arrived with mashed potatoes in it. Ordered the side of sautéed spinach, the waiter said it’s small it will feed 2 people. We ordered 2 of them, it arrived with mix of couscous or some other grain and it was much more than we anticipated. Drinks were mixed poorly also. I ordered a watermelon martini. It was gross. It wasn’t even served in a martini glass. Granted I am a bit of a glass snob but still. Very let down.

1221 at MFP
Responded on April 15, 2019

We're very sorry to hear that you had such a negative experience on your visit. We agree that your waiter should have been much more informative of the menu and apologize that we didn't correct these issues before you left. We've made a note that our staff should use cosmo style martini glasses for all martinis moving forward and will reserve the classic champagne coupe martini glasses for other cocktails. We will continue to train our staff and hope you'll visit again to see our progress.

Report
AH
AlyH
New York Area
8 reviews
Dined on March 20, 2019
Overall2food2service4ambience3

I gave it an extra star because I liked our waitress. The appetizer pizza was good but the chicken entree was so dry we had to smother it in sauce to eat it. I also couldnt even taste the cheese that it was supposed to be filled with. Then they didnt have the one dessert that we wanted. Very unimpressed and wont be going back.

1221 at MFP
Responded on April 15, 2019

We're very sorry to hear the food fell so short of your expectations on your visit. We strive to execute all our dishes perfectly but clearly we have room to continue to grow. We appreciate you sharing your feedback and hope that you'll reconsider joining us in the future. We take all of these notes very seriously and will be reviewing the menu and our execution immediately.

Report

FAQs

1221 at MFP does offer delivery in partnership with Uber Eats. 1221 at MFP also offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (516) 583-9803.

1221 at MFP is rated 3.9 stars by 70 OpenTable diners.

You can book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size.