Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa

4.6
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
762 Reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
At Ostra we proudly present the finest selection of fresh fish, locally sourced produce and organic product flown in from around the world. Uniquely imaginative cuisine delights diners as they stroll in from the River Walk to enjoy fine fare and one of our famous margaritas. Ostra features exclusive river front terrace dining, a dramatic stone and glass oyster bar and two private rooms to accommodate any guest request. Here, you can expect quality ingredients, an extensive wine selection, specialty vintage tequilas and the highest levels of service in a relaxed contemporary atmosphere.
avatar copy

Private Dining

Book your next event with us

View details

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Join us at Ostra for Christmas Eve dinner, under the Christmas Lights on the Paseo del Rio!

Tuesday, December 24, 2019

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Sun 4:00PM - 6:00PM
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM
Fri - Sat 4:00PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 11:00PM

What 762 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.7
service
4.7
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Quiet
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Filters
AW
San Diego
4 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Excellent service from Miguel. We had a riverside table with a beautiful view. Ahi tuna, crabcake and Brulee were SO amazing.

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded a day ago

AmberW, Thank you for the review! We appreciate the 5 stars, and the time you took to give us this feedback. I've passed along your kudos to Miguel for a job well done. We look forward to taking care of you again in the future. Best, Mike Nahat

Report
O
New Orleans
16 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Outdoor seating is THE BEST Riverwalk people-watching... a floor show with your meal! The food was lovely... migas and tequila perfection.

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded a day ago

Oohl, Thank you for the review! I'm a huge fan of our little spot on the river, and it's unparalleled 'people-watching.' If there is anyone in particular that I can recognize for a job well done, please let me know. Regards, Mike Nahat

Report
C
Houston
20 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall 4food 5service 4ambience 4

Great location on the river walk. The classiest restaurant on the river walk by far. He had a great meal by ordering all of the seafood appetizers. The raw oysters we good, the east coast oysters were the best.

MY
Dallas
15 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 3

Dinner menu is pretty varied. Brunch menu is quite large. Ambiance is nice but nothing special, much like any other hotel restaurant on the Riverwalk. Food was fresh and of good quality. Presentation and preparation was very good. Given the location of the hotel and price point and the fact that it is an Omni property I expected a little more. Staff were friendly and attentive.

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded a day ago

MarkY, Thank you for the feedback. I've passed along your feedback to the appropriate parties. Regards, Mike Nahat

Report
S
St. Louis
10 reviews
Dined on September 9, 2019
Overall 3food 4service 2ambience 4

They must use MSG or other preservatives as a few in our group had stomach problems soon after our dinner. However, the food tasted great and the location couldn't have been better.

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded 4 days ago

Summ, Thank you for your review. I appreciate the feedback. For peace of mind, we do not us any MSG in any of our products. I see that you also had some poor service; if you have an additional moment, I'd like to hear more. Thank you again for your feedback and I hope to hear from you soon. Regards, Mike Nahat

Report
a
Denver
24 reviews
Dined on September 9, 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

Service was great. Almost all of the food was fantastic. One of the oysters, oddly actually had two oysters in the Shell but one was Sandy and had Shell parts in it. Everything else was great and John the waiter was very knowledgeable. Some tree parts were blown into the Beverages outside because of the weather.

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded 4 days ago

adshijw, Thank you for the review. I appreciate the kind words. I'll pass along your feedback to John and let him know what kind of impact he's having on our guest's experiences. Thank you, Mike Nahat

Report
J
Dallas
4 reviews
Dined on September 8, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 5

We have eaten at this restaurant several times and have always enjoyed it. Wanting to share this experience with good friends, we found this trip was a little disappointing. Our party of four attempted to order Oysters as our appetizer but we were told "they were out of the Canadian and northeastern oysters with only the Louisiana ones available" . We did order the charred octopus which was incredible and loved by the entire table. My seafood pasta was lacking in substance as I did not have any scallops as noted on the menu and only 4 mussels were given. The shrimp that was present was tasty as well as the overall taste. We also had a difficult time with our cocktails that were ordered as it seemed that they were short on alcohol that evening. I will definitely try this restaurant again when in town and only hope that this experience was a "fluke".

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded 4 days ago

Joyful, Thank you for your review. I appreciate the feedback, and have passed it along to my culinary and bar teams to address. Regards, Mike Nahat

Report
WA
1 review
Dined on September 7, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

The special was delicious, and the host seated me outside but by a window, so I could enjoy the evening and the air conditioning at the same time, which was extremely considerate. The service was good, and it’s right on the river walk, so there’s excellent people-watching opportunity. The only disappointment was that they were out of oysters except from Louisiana, which is a problem for an oyster house.

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded 4 days ago

Thank you for the review! I appreciate the review. I apologize for running out of the East coast and Canadian oysters; in an effort to ensure consistent quality, we occasionally have to refuse a shipment to protect our guests. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience, and hope to see you again soon. Regards, Mike Nahat

Report
W
San Antonio
1 review
Dined on August 31, 2019
Overall 4food 3service 5ambience 5

Main dishes were amazing. The sides and sauces were under par. The desserts were 50/50. The bread pudding was phenomenal and the cobbler was not short of warm jelly in a bowl. Yuck! Then in cake down to the bill. We were charged $98.00 for Joseph Carr Cabernet Sauvignon it is usually $20.00+- I understand restaurant mark ups but a 500% mark up is a little much. I’ll find somewhere else next time on the Riverwalk.

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded on September 5, 2019

Thank you Will. I appreciate the feedback. We do our best to ensure that our pricing is in line with similarly caliber restaurants within San Antonio, but perhaps it's time to take another look. Regards, Mike Nahat

Report
S
San Antonio
3 reviews
Dined on August 29, 2019
Overall 2food 1service 3ambience 3

Worst oysters I ever had terrible desert and only passable main course only 5 customers in the large restaurant if not a part of.quality hotel it could not survive but they need a restaurant

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded on September 1, 2019

David, Thank you for the feedback. I feel terrible that you had such a poor experience on Thursday evening. I've passed along your review to our team regarding the cobbler. Regarding the oysters, we work with our purveyors to ensure that all of our seafood, especially our shellfish, is of the highest quality. If you have any additional feedback as to why the oysters were terrible, please let me know. I'd like to ensure we fix any issue as soon as possible. Regards, Mike Nahat

Report
n
Washington DC
4 reviews
Dined on August 24, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Everything was delightful - we say outside on the Riverwalk - we are local and have many choices but we love to do staycations and usually eat here - Think it is the best of the Riverwalk.....Oysters were exceptionally fresh and my husband and I also each had the same dish of the seafood pasta - excellent - they were accommodating as I don't eat meat and it had pancetta - so they made it without for me.

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded on August 28, 2019

nancyl, Thank you for the review! I'm glad you enjoyed our little spot on the river. If there is anyone in particular for a job well done, please let me know. Regards, Mike Nahat

Report
JC
Dallas
10 reviews
Dined on August 6, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Wonderful service, even for our kids. Awesome food!

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded on August 9, 2019

JerryC, Thank you for the great review! I'm glad you enjoyed yourself. Best, Mike Nahat

Report
OT
Hawaii
2 reviews
Dined on August 5, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great food on the river walk.!!!

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded on August 9, 2019

Thank you for the 5 stars! If there is anyone I can recognize publicly, please let me know. Thank you, Mike Nahat

Report
m
Phoenix
93 reviews
Dined on July 22, 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 4

Just one complaint: I ordered Fruit de Mer and the description sounded perfect. I am a fan of bouillabaisse, cioppino, etc., the wonderful seafood stew in many languages. When it arrived I was most surprised. There were tiny, tiny shrimp, tiny, tiny scallops and tiny, tiny mussels residing in normal sized shells. There's a first for everything. Normally this dish has large shrimp, large scallops and normal mussels. When I complained, they said this was the first night they were serving this dish. I said tell the chef to go out and get some large seafood. This is a top-notch, first rate seafood restaurant; not our first rodeo. They did compensate with a "free" dessert. Everything else was aokay.

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded on August 14, 2019

mab19, Thank you for the feedback. I passed along your comments to my culinary team. I'm glad that my team was able to impress enough that they still earned full marks. We look forward to taking care of you again in the future. Best, Mike Nahat michael.nahat@omnihotels

Report
VN
San Antonio
2 reviews
Dined on July 22, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Had a wonderful meal to celebrate my wife's birthday. Our salads were followed by a cold seafood sampler with Gulf and Canadian oysters, shrimp, Snow Crab claws, and the best ceviche we have ever tasted, washed down with a delightfully crisp Pinot Gris. A peach and plum cobbler, recommended by our superb server Cynthia, along with a great Port for me and a tasty cafe latte for my wife, rounded out a perfect dining experience.

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded on July 28, 2019

VernonN, Great review! It's hard to beat fresh oysters and a glass of pinot. I'll let Cynthia know that she received some great feedback as well. Regards, Mike Nahat

Report
OT
San Antonio
2 reviews
Dined on July 13, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 3

Do no go another day with experiencing their mussels! By far the best we’ve ever had! We so enjoyed our dinner.

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded on July 20, 2019

I agree! I appreciate the 5 stars! Regards, Mike Nahat

Report
r
Las Vegas
3 reviews
Dined on July 13, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 4ambience 4

I hate to write a bad review but the food was less than stellar. I don't mind spending money on quality food but don't like doing it on food that was just OK. We order mussels which were good. The ceviche had mustard on it and was served with chips. Guess they are going for the river walk flare, but it does not work. The ceviche was OK. Finally we split the gulf red snapper Veracruz. It had capers, olives, peppers and tomatoes. The fish was cooked well but all the other ingredients made it WAY too salty. The only flavor was sodium. Would not order it again. The fish tacos looked good, so if we go back, we would try them, if we go back.
The service and ambiance were good. Hard to have good ambiance on a crowded river walk.

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded on July 17, 2019

roberth, Thank you for the review. I've passed along your feedback to my culinary team, so we can adjust moving forward. Regards, Mike Nahat

Report
b
Austin
24 reviews
Dined on July 10, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We recently ate @6:15 on a Wednesday night. Both my wife and I enjoyed the food, service and ambience.

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded on July 17, 2019

bb8689, Thank you for the review! I appreciate the high marks. If there is anyone in particular I can recognize for providing you with a great experience, please let me know. Best, Mike Nahat

Report
F
1 review
Dined on July 2, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

My wife and I love Ostra. My wife has celiac and eats gluten free, Ostra is awesome at making us feel comfortable eating without fear of getting sick. Ostra also provided us with gluten free bread. Waiters are knowledgable about menu and overall staff is friendly and helpful. I love Ostra and will be going back.

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded on July 7, 2019

Francisco, Thank you for the review! We appreciate the 5 stars! If there is anyone in particular that took care of you that I can recognize, please let me know. Regards, Mike Nahat

Report
OT
New York Area
16 reviews
Dined on June 30, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 5ambience 5

We stayed at Mokara on our wedding night, followed by an incredible brunch buffet. While this was 4 years ago we were hoping to recreate brunch as the start of our babymoon, but no such luck. :( I should’ve called to see if they were still continuing this service, as we were really looking forward to it. Our food was good this time around (just a little cold) and the service was excellent.

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded on July 2, 2019

Hello Anonymous, Thank you for the review. If you have an additional moment, any feedback you can provide regarding your experience would be appreciated. We strive for excellence everyday and all feedback is important to improving our offerings to our guests. Thank you again for the review, and I look forward to your response. Regards, Mike Nahat

Report
PR
Denver
1 review
Dined on June 26, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 5

Delicious food, great river walk location. Avoid the chains and dine here.

M
1 review
Dined on June 22, 2019
Overall 4food 5service 3ambience 5

Great location and directly across from our hotel... food was Great although it seemed like we were constantly looking for our server. It was a Saturday eve although did not appear busy so I would expect better service. I would probably go back for food although doubt I would recommend as there are many other restaurants in area willing to earn your business:

OT
San Antonio
1 review
Dined on June 19, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

It was a fantastic experience from beginning to end! I would give 6 stars if I could

OT
Houston
1 review
Dined on June 18, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Service was outstanding!
The food was wonderful.

WC
New Orleans
3 reviews
Dined on June 14, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The atmosphere is very modern and the servers were very quick to anticipate our needs without smothering us. Be sure to try the salmon avocado toast and the barbacoa eggs Benedict if you go for brunch. The salmon is cold smoked in house and is out of this world. They also smoke trout in house for the trout hash—it was wonderfully light and the flavors in the hash blended incredibly well.

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded on June 20, 2019

WilliamC, Awesome! I'm glad you enjoyed our brand new brunch offerings. The trout has is my personal favorite, and it's hard to beat a trip (or two) to our bloody mary and mimosa bars. We look forward to seeing you again. Regards, Mike Nahat

Report
CL
Austin
2 reviews
Dined on June 12, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great food and good service.
I will go back again.
Wait statf was great

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded on June 15, 2019

CraigL, Thank you for the review! I appreciate you taking the time out of your day to supply us with this feedback. I'll pass along the great comments to the team as well. Regards, Mike Nahat

Report
MH
San Antonio
7 reviews
Dined on June 7, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Good service, great food.

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded on June 10, 2019

MarcelaH, Thank you for the review! I appreciate the review, and hope to see you again soon. Regards, Mike Nahat

Report
MH
San Antonio
3 reviews
Dined on June 5, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

It was excellent service, food was great and they did not rush us. I was cold but they give every person who complains about the cold air inside a very nice throw. Thank you

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded on June 10, 2019

MarianneH, Thank you for the review! We look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards, Mike Nahat

Report
R
Houston
7 reviews
Dined on June 3, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Over two days I had the octopus appetizer, bass entree and swordfish entree. Everything was perfectly prepared and was a great break from the craziness of the river walk. The restaurant seemed very amenable to casual attire despite being a higher end location. The hotel attached is also very nice and convenient if you do want to wear nicer attire and do not sweat through it on the way to dinner. The beer and wine selection was enormous, not too mention the signature this or that spirit. All and all a great place to eat while being close enough to the river walk atmosphere if you interested.

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded on June 10, 2019

Rcl83, Thank you for the review! I'm a huge fan of the Spanish Octopus personally; I'm glad you enjoyed it as well. Thank you for thinking of us twice as well, it means a lot! Thank you, Mike Nahat

Report
LC
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined on June 2, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Everything was wonderful. The food was great and the drinks were excellent. Service was great.

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded on June 5, 2019

LuisC, Thank you for the 5 stars! I appreciate the review, and hope to see you again soon. Regards, Mike Nahat

Report
MR
Toronto
2 reviews
Dined on May 26, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 4

Entrees were very tasty. Don’t order the field salad, nothing special about it.

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded on June 5, 2019

MarilynR, Thank you for the feedback. I'll pass along your thoughts on the field salad to my culinary team to address moving forward. Regards, Mike Nahat

Report
T
San Antonio
15 reviews
Dined on May 26, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Always great service, food and drinks. Definitely one of our favorite Riverwalk restaurants.

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded on June 5, 2019

Twistedtat2, Thank you for the kind words, and the 5 stars! I appreciate you taking the time to provide us with this feedback. We look forward to taking care of you again in the future. Regards, Mike Nahat

Report
R
Kansas City
5 reviews
Dined on May 20, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

I took my wife there for an anniversary lunch (25th). The decor, food, service, were wonderful. The complimentary champagne was a nice surprise. Everything we ate was delicious, & we will definitely go back.

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded on May 24, 2019

Russ, Thank you for the 5 stars! I appreciate you taking the time to give us this review. Thank you for allowing us to celebrate with you on such a special occasion. Regards, Mike Nahat

Report
OT
San Antonio
22 reviews
Dined on May 19, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Wedding Anniversary.

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded on May 24, 2019

Thank you for the review! If there was anything more we could've done to earn that 5 star, please let me know. Regards, Mike Nahat

Report
LM
San Antonio
5 reviews
Dined on May 14, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Fabulous food, service, and ambiance with consideration for our need to get to the theater on time. We were even treated to a free creme brûlée to share. We have had dinner here several times and always had a great experience.

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded on May 24, 2019

LydiaM, Thank you for the kind words! We look forward to taking care of you again soon. Regards, Mike Nahat

Report
AF
1 review
Dined on May 12, 2019
Overall 1food 2service 1ambience 1

The restaurant was not busy at all and we were constantly looking for our server. It took nearly 15 minutes to get water and then my daughters had to wait longer to get their drinks. The experience was awful over and a waste of money for Mother’s Day. I’m very disappointed and will never recommend this place.

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded on May 14, 2019

Hi Angela, I left a message on your voicemail. If you have a moment to discuss your experience, please send me an email at michael.nahat@omnihotels(dotcom) or feel free to call me at 561.248.2981. Thank you, Mike Nahat

Report
OT
San Antonio
13 reviews
Dined on May 12, 2019
Overall 2food 2service 3ambience 2

Visited on a Sunday afternoon given the positive reviews. Very disappointed. I had a party of four. We ordered appetizers and entrees. The appetizers, ceviche and calamari. The appetizers lacked flavor. Ceviche had a chunky creamy textured that was bland and only saved by a few scattered slices of jalapeños. Calamari, nice portion, but no seasoning. For the entrees, redfish tacos. The fish was well prepared, but the taco as a whole just didn’t have that authentic traditional blend of mild heat and freshness you expect with a fish taco in San Antonio. The side of pickled carrots was a pleasant surprise though. It helped make up for the blandness of the taco. However, the service was on point, the receptionist was very accommodating and the server was attentive. Both were very professional and friendly.

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded on May 24, 2019

Anonymous, Thank you for your feedback. I've passed this along to my culinary team to address. Regards, Mike Nahat

Report
J
Baltimore
47 reviews
Dined on May 11, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 5

Was there for lunch alone. Had the calamari and seafood tower. The calamari has a weird batter, like grainy, but the sauce was great. The seafood tower was delicious.

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded on May 14, 2019

Jayjia, Thank you for the review! We appreciate the 5 stars, and hope to see you again soon. Regards, Mike Nahat

Report
E
Cleveland
7 reviews
Dined on May 9, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great venue on the Riverwalk. Service and food were great! We had the Scallops and Salmon for entrees. Both were very well prepared and tasty. Staff was attentive and we ate outside, so the atmosphere was great!

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded on May 12, 2019

Elinstow, Thank you for the review! I appreciate you taking time to provide us with feedback. We look forward to seeing you next time. Regards, Mike Nahat

Report
OT
San Antonio
1 review
Dined on May 9, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We love Ostra and Nicolas was a wonderful servicer. We will request him on our next visit.

Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa
Responded on May 12, 2019

Thank you for the review! We appreciate the high rating! Best, Mike Nahat

Report
1
2
3
20

Tweets by Ostra at Mokara Hotel & Spa