Mon Ami Gabi - Bethesda
Just a few notes to help make your meal with us an enjoyable experience:
-Reservations are strongly encouraged for the tent as distanced dine-in seating is limited. Patio dining is on a first come first served basis.
-Guests are required to wear a mask at all times when inside the restaurant, of course except while dining at your table.
-Please take care to arrive on time and limit your dining experience to 90 min as we would like to welcome back as many guests possible.
We appreciate your understanding, and thank you for yo
Book your next event with us
- Surfaces sanitized between seatings
- Common areas deep cleaned daily
- Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
- Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
- Contactless payment available
- Sealed or wrapped utensils used
- Limited number of seated diners
- Distancing maintained in common areas
- Extra space between tables
- Waitstaff wear masks
- Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
Escargot de Bourgogne
oven roasted snails, garlic-herb butter
Steak & Frites
white wine & herbs
Our waiter had to be reminded about one of our beverage orders. Maybe he was stretched over too many tables. When one person has their cocktail and the other person doesn’t, you lose much of the flow that makes dining out special. We finally got it but it shouldn’t have been that much trouble.
BTW we come from the school that believes diners should increase their normal tip by 50-100% to help out servers who have been out of work. We have been doing that. But in return we expect reasonable service. We didn’t get reasonable service and left only a 20% tip.
Everything was great, the food, service, ambience. Only problem was parking, but not restaurant's fault. It' was my mother's 92nd birthday and she loved it. Thank you
Even during Covid, delicious food and very friendly service
fun to eat outside on a beautiful weekend - brunch is delicious and the staff is wonderful
The food wasn’t great, the server was fine but seemed so slammed everything was a rush when he was at our table. Not his fault but lack of support from management I assume.
My Favorite Restaurant! I had dinner with my grandchildren who also love the food at Mon Ami. I never get tired of eating there and will be back soon with friends.
All of the staff were great at maintaining covid safety standards, which may have slowed service down a bit, but everything was great. I got the quiche, which was bigger than expected and a great value!
So glad this lovely place is still with us. Food was as delicious as always- but enjoyed outside. Terrific for celebrating or just a fine meal that feels special.
Although the mgr allowed me to skip paying because of the poor service. I will simply never return. Why wait for 25 min to have a wine glass refilled? And then 10 min to get wine glass #2. The waiter loudly and aggressively would not take away my finished dishes while waiting for the next course.
Happily, I went to a fabulous French restaurant in Tenleytown to compensate for such awful service at Mon Ami Gabi and its mediocre food.
Never again - to all - Why not try a small local restaurant rather than a chain that doesn’t really care about you ????
Mon Ami Gabi has long been a favorite of mine so it was with much anticipation that I reserved a table for my first post-Covid birthday dinner. The escargots and steak frites were as expected. It was when we ordered a baguette ($1.95 for a demi baguette) to sop up the garlicky butter of the escargots that things took a turn. The baguette was so hard that we could barely chew it and when we told the waiter he simply said that they were bought from across the street. I got a similar response from the hosting staff although we were offered a ciabatta roll which we accepted as the garlic butter was still awaiting. We finished our meal and wine and after some time were able to call over the waiter for dessert. We ordered the profiterole, a favorite of mine. Sadly it seemed old--the pastry was hard and the chocolate was still cold. We ate what we could and asked for the bill and were somewhat surprised to see that we were charged for the baguette. I am hoping that this experience was the result of Covid related issues and that as things continue to open this restaurant will return to pre-Covid excellence. I will probably wait at least six months to return. A good French restaurant should have a good baguette and include bread with the meal.
Do not want to write a review. Why aren't stars enough.
Typical French bistro; simple menu; good food and service
Outdoor ambience excellent on a nice spring evening. Steak Fritte continues to outshine most items on the menu. The trout is another excellent dish. French onion soup another favorite.
I have been to this restaurant several times, and I always found the food and the service good. This time the service was just OK and our entrees were good. What was extremely disappointing was that as an appetizer I ordered escargot in garlic butter, which the waiter brought and put the dish in the middle of the table and left before I had a chance to ask for bread. We waited another 5 minutes to get the bread. I have never been served escargot without bread. If that is the standard way to serve it at Mon Ami Gabi, then the server should have warned us. There are many restaurants I go to that are not perfect and the location of this one is so great that I still recommend it.
I made a booking requesting outdoor seating. Upon arrival i was told we would have to wait 1 hour to be seated outside or we could be seated indoor which i declined. I let the host know there were two available tables outside. He claimed there was a wait list and it was first come first serve. I explained we had a reservation and specifically requested outdoor seating when i made the reservation. He then claimed their reservations don t apply to outdoor seating and are only for indoor seating. When i went back outside i found three open tables and no guests waiting to be seated. I then returned back inside and flagged this to the host. He then claimed guests on the wait list had left their phone number and they would text them to check if they would return to be seated. I flagged it would not take 1 hour to find out if such guests would be coming. I had two young children and they made no effort to be accommodating. Nonetheless i waited outside for 15 minutes with my kids and as they were hungry we then decided to go elsewhere. During that time no other guests showed up. Five minutes after our departure they called me to ask if we wanted to be seated. I declined indicating we had just left the area and the host hung up abruptly without the slightest thank you or apology. I have been eating at Mon Ami Gabi for many years (15). The food is very average and service usually disorganized and mediocre with a few exceptions where we had 2 very professional, exceptional and friendly waiters in past year. Never will i accept such rudeness from the host and his obese manager and never i will set foot there again with my kids. Medium Rare has better steak frites and welcoming hosts. And after today s bad experience Mon Ami Gabi had the audacity and dishonesty to report to Open Table that my reservation was a no show!!
Always a wonderful experience... staff works at there best to please. Greg goes above and beyond...his recommendations are always on the mark!
This was my first time at the Bethesda location, I’d only been to Vegas before, and it was a perfect experience. My steak frites and creme brûlée were delicious, the waiter came around exactly when he should have and the atmosphere was comfortable. I wish I lived closer, I would be a regular!
Amazing Easter Brunch with my Mom! Her first time eating at a restaurant since the pandemic, ya'll did a FANTASTIC job - she felt safe and we had THE BEST time. Thanks so much!!!! From taking our temperature, to being so friendly, and diligent with safety procedures, we are very pleased. Keep up the great work!
We celebrated Easter with friends and it was beautiful! Our server was very nice and the food was delicious as usual. My friends were there for their first time and truly enjoyed the experience.
Great Food, atmosphere and the service was superb. Beautiful day to eat outside
a minor note ...
wait staff should refrain from picking up a drinking glass from the table for refill since their hands have been everywhere. I'm not a huge germaphobe -- but I would have preferred the waitress not touch my glass.
Love Mon Ami!!!!
We had a very nice brunch. We sat outside, the service and the food was terrific. We will return!
We very much enjoyed celebrating Easter with brunch at Mon Ami Gabi. It was the first time we had been to a restaurant since March 2020 and we were happy with the precautions Mon Ami Gabi took to protect its customers. Since we had been fully vaccinated we sat indoors and felt quite safe. The food was fresh and superbly prepared. The service was friendly and quick. The atmosphere was as we remembered. We felt transported to France. We would support showing vaccination passports in the future so restaurants could open up safely to a greater number of patrons.
Arrived 10 minutes early and they had my table ready and let me sit down
Excellent lunch. Great price for the fixed price lunch.
Our waiter was kind of rude the whole night. But everything else was great.
I took my daughter for Lunch and we had a great time. The food was delicious.
Excellent food and service as always. Even went so far as to split an entrée for us. Excellent selection of wine too.
The server was very understanding of our pandemic anxiety and we had a great time
Always a winner, this is our go-to favorite. Has never failed to delight.
Service was terrible and the food was cold. I know things haven’t been easy but nothing about my dining experience with my son was enjoyable - rude waiter and horrible food.
Food came out cold.
Had such a wonderful time for brunch! The eggs Benedict or maid to perfection. Can’t say enough how much I love this place. We were able to get an outdoor table on a beautiful day!
Enjoyed our anniversary dinner in Bethesda - our meal was well presented but it was clear that the restaurant staff was taxed by a nice spring day and they were serving a large outdoor area that was full. We continue to support Mon Ami Gabi and our other favorite restaurants and are Looking forward to things getting back to normal.
Had a very nice lunch out with friends. Service was good, and so was the food.
Server was busy handling our table outside and tables inside; food delivery by others, hard to catch him for additional items. 20 minutes with the check ready to pay and he said he'd be back to take care of it...eventually went inside to pay, sun was setting below buildings so getting chilly; put a damper on the meal but was so nice to be outside enjoying the wonderful food after the last year!
Willing to be flexible in this COVID time but it got a bit ridiculous, uncomfortable... still left generous (22%) tip as I know they've had tough times.
Service wasn’t good and the waiters there usually have an attitude.
Friendly staff and great food
The tables are well spaced so noise and crowds that usually bother me at Mon Ami Gabi were not a problem. Service was a bit slow but no worse then it’s ever been here. The busboys are very inattentive but the waiter who was busy did his best to keep up with the tables. Food was superb. Wonderful evening out after so any months at home.
It is always a pleasure dining at Mon Ami.
You can order delivery directly from Mon Ami Gabi - Bethesda using the Order Online button. Mon Ami Gabi - Bethesda also offers delivery in partnership with Uber Eats. Mon Ami Gabi - Bethesda also offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (301) 654-1234.
Mon Ami Gabi - Bethesda is rated 4.5 stars by 6106 OpenTable diners.
Mon Ami Gabi - Bethesda does offer gift cards which you can purchase here https://www.leye.com/gift-cards/?utm_source=opentable&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=holiday%202020&utm_content=magbe%20confirmation%20email.
Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.