Matt the Miller's Tavern - Grandview

4.4
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
572 Reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Matt the Miller's offers an upscale tavern experience, featuring a chef-driven menu of tavern favorites, but with a unique twist. From our Original Flatbreads, to our new fresh seafood and steak selections, we offer our guests the finest and freshest ingredients available made to order by our Culinary team. And we are passionate about beer, offering 26 taps of draft beer, including a constantly rotating inventory of craft, and oftentimes local, beer. In addition, we have an extensive wine and cocktail list. Whether in our bar or dining room, Matt the Miller's is a high-energy restaurant where people can enjoy family, friends and good times.
What 572 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.4
service
4.4
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Filters
DJ
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall 4food 5service 4ambience 5

My only disappointment was that receptionist didn't convey the birthday notice for one at my table to our server. We let it go without complaint. I was seated first and receptionist confirmed birthday.

v
Columbus
14 reviews
Dined 2 days ago
Overall 4food 3service 4ambience 3

My drink was not good - my fish was half the size from when I had it last summer - food took a long time to come out

TC
Columbus
4 reviews
Dined on October 13, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great, should go there more often.

Matt the Miller's Tavern - Grandview
Responded 4 days ago

Thank you for dining with us! Kristin

Report
a
Columbus
1 review
Dined on October 13, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

We ordered flatbreads and intended them to be the happy hour special but our server gave us the normal off the menu flatbread. Should have been told to us that there was a difference and asked us which ones we wanted. we had been asking about happy hour specials and ordering drinks off that menu all night.

Matt the Miller's Tavern - Grandview
Responded 4 days ago

I'm sorry for the confusion. We appreciate the feedback and will be sure to share this with the General Manager. We hope that you will dine with us again. Kristin

Report
OT
1 review
Dined on October 12, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The ahi tuna nachos were amazing! Not an app we would would usually go for, and they were simply wonderful.

Matt the Miller's Tavern - Grandview
Responded 4 days ago

Great! We're so glad. Thank you for dining with us! Kristin

Report
DS
Savannah
1 review
Dined on October 12, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Burger week and best we had

Matt the Miller's Tavern - Grandview
Responded 4 days ago

Thank you for dining with us! Kristin

Report
F
Columbus
4 reviews
Dined on October 11, 2019
Overall 2food 2service 1ambience 5

Arrived at 10:30 pm for a late bite and sat at bar with a colleague. Service was slow and had to get up and get silverware and plates from a table myself. Burger was mediocre and pretzel bites tasted like fried biscuits and nothing like a pretzel.
So disappointed as I looked so forward to trying this place that heard good things about.

Matt the Miller's Tavern - Grandview
Responded 4 days ago

I'm sorry to hear about your visit. You're experience is not common at our restaurants and we will be sure to speak with the bartender on duty about their service. We would love to welcome you back with a gift certificate to use if or when you choose to dine with us again. If you could share your home mailing address with me I will gladly get that out to you. Kristin

Report
O
Columbus
39 reviews
Dined on October 11, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Matt the Miller's is one of our favorite local restaurants, and we have a number of favorites on their menu. But, for some reason, we'd never tried their steaks until our most recent visit. My wife had the 6 oz filet, and I chose the 12 oz Wagyu sirloin, both of which arrived perfectly cooked to medium rare, as ordered. The kitchen obviously knows what it's doing. Both choices were excellent, at least the equal of offerings at the city's best steakhouses, but at more reasonable prices! What's not to love? The service has always been excellent, but D'mond (not sure of the spelling) was outstanding. We'll be sure to ask to be seated at one of his tables in future.

Matt the Miller's Tavern - Grandview
Responded 4 days ago

Thank you for the great review! We're so glad that you enjoyed the food and service :) We look forward to seeing you back again soon. Kristin

Report
w
Columbus
7 reviews
Dined on October 11, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Great service and food was very good. Met friends for lunch and our server kept ice tea flowing between appetizers and lunch. Thanks for the great time!

Matt the Miller's Tavern - Grandview
Responded 4 days ago

We're so glad to hear it! Thank you for dining with us. Kristin

Report
P
Columbus
44 reviews
Dined on October 9, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 2ambience 3

We have gone to Matt's many times. Usually very good on all levels. Not so this trip. Simple drink order took nearly a half-hour to get to our table (It was comped at that point) and our server was mostly unattentive throughout the experience. Hopefully, this was an aberation. We will return to see.

Matt the Miller's Tavern - Grandview
Responded 4 days ago

I'm sorry to hear about your visit! We appreciate the feedback. I apologize for the delay in your beverage as well as the quality of service. This is not common at our restaurants and has been handled on our end. We hope you will dine with us again. Kristin

Report
OT
Washington DC
4 reviews
Dined on October 9, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 4

Food order took a very long time to come out. Server was not the friendliest. Try and smile more. Food was good.

Matt the Miller's Tavern - Grandview
Responded 4 days ago

We're sorry to hear about your visit. We appreciate your feedback and please rest assured that your visit is not common and we will speak with the General Manager about it. We hope you will dine with us again. Kristin

Report
OT
Kansas City
2 reviews
Dined on October 5, 2019
Overall 3food 4service 2ambience 4

We like the food but this is our second visit and they're always seems to be an issue. Made reservations for 9 (party of 8) arrived at 9:04 waited until 9:11 along with 2 other couples before anyone even attempted to help us, she was a server who appeared to be pulled in multiple directions. When it was our turn to be seated i was told they had already "broke" our table down because they didn't think we were coming, even though i confirmed online & we were all there within a reasonable time of the reservation. Once seated we were told our server was finishing up with another drink order and should be by shortly...15 mins later she arrived with water. Im not sure why the acting manager, whom seated us and informed me of the wait to reassemble our spot just didn't help our server out and get the ball rolling with a drink order? It certainly wasn't very busy and our presence seemed to be more of an annoyance than a welcome.

Matt the Miller's Tavern - Grandview
Responded on October 9, 2019

I'm sorry to hear about your visit! Please know that this does not meet our standard of service and will be addressed on our end. I appreciate the feedback and would love to welcome you back with a gift certificate to use if or when you choose to dine with us again. If you could share your home mailing address I would gladly get that sent out to you. Kristin

Report
RM
Columbus
1 review
Dined on October 5, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Good experience and we look forward to our next visit soon.

S
Naples
21 reviews
Dined on October 4, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

First time at this location. Food good. Seated right away. Took awhile for the waitress to come take our drink orders but Happy hour was just ending.
My friend had the sirloin and it was excellent. I had 3/4 lb burger. It was huge but a bit over cooked. I ordered medium rare but was more medium well.
A few issues I mentioned to waitress but would definitely try again.

Matt the Miller's Tavern - Grandview
Responded on October 9, 2019

Thank you for your honest feedback. We appreciate it and will help us to get better! We hope that you will dine with us again. Kristin

Report
s
Columbus
1 review
Dined on October 2, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Best Pan Seared Walleye! A definite must
for all to try.

Matt the Miller's Tavern - Grandview
Responded on October 9, 2019

Thank you for the great review! We're glad that you enjoyed the walleye. We hope to see you back again soon! Kristin

Report
FC
Columbus
81 reviews
Dined on October 2, 2019
Overall 4food 5service 4ambience 4

I am a regular. MtM provides a great casual dining experience at reasonable prices.

Matt the Miller's Tavern - Grandview
Responded on October 3, 2019

Thank you for your kind words and continued patronage! We're so glad to have great regulars. We hope to see you back again soon. Kristin

Report
OT
Columbus
1 review
Dined on September 30, 2019
Overall 2food 3service 4ambience 3

Felt like the quality of the food has slipped and the place, expcisly

Matt the Miller's Tavern - Grandview
Responded on October 3, 2019

Thank you for your review. I'd love to hear more about your visit, what you ordered, etc so that we can use your comments to help us to get better. Kristin

Report
W
Columbus
23 reviews
Dined on September 29, 2019
Overall 3food 5service 4ambience 4

Went for Sunday Brunch with some girlfriends. 3 of us ordered the buffet and 1 ordered only an omelet. Was not impressed that they charged $10 for only an omelet when the buffet was $20 for all you can eat. When we brought it up to my server and told her we wouldn’t have ordered it if we had known it was going to be $10, she sort of laughed and noted that it was high priced. We would have loved to talk to a manger about it as a small omelet should be $5 or less. We will not be joining for brunch again.

Matt the Miller's Tavern - Grandview
Responded on October 3, 2019

I'm sorry to hear about your visit. We offer our A la Carte menu for those who do not enjoy or want to dine in a buffet setting. We're sorry that you felt that it was overpriced. If you ever wish to speak to a manager please do ask as we want to take care of any issues on site. We would love to welcome you back with a gift certificate to use if or when you choose to dine with us again. If you could share your home mailing address with me I will gladly get that sent out to you. Kristin

Report
GS
Cleveland
5 reviews
Dined on September 27, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

This franchise lever lets me down. Always great food, always great service. I will come back. This location meets the standard of great food and great service. My mashed potatoes were only warm. They took it back and brought me a new portion qickly.

Matt the Miller's Tavern - Grandview
Responded on October 3, 2019

Wonderful! We're so glad to hear it! We hope to see you back again soon. Kristin

Report
KH
Columbus
18 reviews
Dined on September 27, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 3

Been here many times. Will be back many times. Happy Hour options are great, both drink and apps.

Matt the Miller's Tavern - Grandview
Responded on October 3, 2019

We're so glad to hear it! Thank you for the great review. We hope to see you back soon. Cheers! Kristin

Report
LW
Columbus
13 reviews
Dined on September 20, 2019
Overall 2food 1service 2ambience 3

Food must have sat for awhile. It came out cold and I sent it back and when it came back, not any better. Will not be back. Too many other good choices nearby.

Matt the Miller's Tavern - Grandview
Responded on September 24, 2019

I'm sorry to hear about your visit. Did you voice your issues to the management on staff? We are always happy to correct any issue that we come across immediately as we never want our guests to leave unhappy with their experience. I would love to hear more! If you could message me back I would greatly appreciate it. Kristin

Report
CC
Columbus
6 reviews
Dined on September 19, 2019
Overall 4food 5service 5ambience 5

Matt the Millers was great, as always!

Matt the Miller's Tavern - Grandview
Responded on September 24, 2019

We're so glad to hear it! Thank you for your continued patronage :) Kristin

Report
CS
Columbus
15 reviews
Dined on September 15, 2019
Overall 4food 5service 4ambience 5

Food was great was service was a little slow. Asked 3 times for hot sauce and finally got it so that was a little annoying but overall good!

Matt the Miller's Tavern - Grandview
Responded on September 17, 2019

Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry about the service! We will use this as a teaching moment for your server so that it does not happen again. We appreciate your honesty and hope that you will dine with us again. Kristin

Report
OT
1 review
Dined on September 9, 2019
Overall 4food 5service 4ambience 4

Had a large party which they were able to accommodate easily. Sever handled himself even though there were 17 of us. Food and drinks came out in a timely manner. Overall a pleasant experience.

Matt the Miller's Tavern - Grandview
Responded on September 17, 2019

Wonderful! Thank you for dining with us! Kristin

Report
RM
Columbus
1 review
Dined on September 8, 2019
Overall 1food 1service 1ambience 3

This was the worst dining experience I have had in a very long time. My husband and I are vegan and went with non-vegan family. We've been to plenty of restaurants over the last 3 years as vegans and are usually able to easily talk to the waiter or chef and find something to eat without much difficulty. Our server had no idea how to answer our questions about the menu, couldn't even make a recommendation after speaking with the chef. He was basically telling us to go eat somewhere else. We had to ask to see the manager who did help us, but it was the most awkward, disappointing experience. We understand that we are difficult, and try to be understanding but this was unacceptable. We will definitely never return to a Matt The Miller again.

Matt the Miller's Tavern - Grandview
Responded on September 10, 2019

I'm sorry to hear about your experience, Rachel. Our server should have been better prepared to answer your questions as to what we could offer you that would be vegan friendly. I can understand your frustrations as you were hoping for an easy, relaxed dining experience. I would love if you would give us another chance and accept a gift certificate to use when you choose to dine with us again. If so, please respond with your home mailing address and I will get that sent out to you! Kristin

Report
KH
Columbus
19 reviews
Dined on September 8, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

As always, the freshest selections and well prepared. Best breakfast buffer around.

Matt the Miller's Tavern - Grandview
Responded on September 24, 2019

Thank you for sharing your experience! We're so glad you have found consistency in your visits. We appreciate your kind words and hope to see you back again soon. Kristin

Report
CB
San Francisco
1 review
Dined on September 7, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great food, awesome drinks and a overall nice Tavern setting to go out with friends for a night in Grandview!

Matt the Miller's Tavern - Grandview
Responded on September 10, 2019

That's great to hear! We're glad that you and your friends were able to enjoy your evening. We look forward to seeing you back again soon! Kristin

Report
SS
1 review
Dined on September 7, 2019
Overall 4food 5service 3ambience 4

Waiter started out good then never came back. Waited 15 minutes when we were done just ri ask for boxes then at least another 10 minutes to get the check and another 10 to 15 minutes for it to be taken.

Matt the Miller's Tavern - Grandview
Responded on September 10, 2019

I'm so sorry to hear about your visit! Service is of high priority and it seems that we missed the mark. I'd love to welcome you back with free pretzel bites for your next visit. If you wouldn't mind sharing your home mailing address with me I will gladly get that sent out to you! Kristin

Report
RG
Chicago
8 reviews
Dined on September 6, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great atmosphere! Lots of choices on the menu. Fast service and good food! We will return.

Matt the Miller's Tavern - Grandview
Responded on September 10, 2019

We're so glad! We hope to see you back again soon. Kristin

Report
M
Columbus
8 reviews
Dined on August 31, 2019
Overall 3food 4service 1ambience 4

We had a large group meet for dinner on a Saturday night. The waitress was just not very friendly. She seemed a bit rude, hard almost. It was odd. We all got a bad vibe. Anyway, she came over to give us all waters then left so we had to call her back to give her drink orders. Took forever for her to come back with drinks then come back again to take orders. It was overall frustrating. We wanted a dessert menu and she didn't bring it. We had to call over someone else to get our check. So our waitress finally showed up and gave us our bill. She really missed out on a higher check total hence bigger tip as well better tip if service was good. The food was very tasty; good menu. Others working there seemed friendly. I would recommend MtM in Grandview, so long as you get a better server.

Matt the Miller's Tavern - Grandview
Responded on September 3, 2019

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear about your visit! Please know that this is not common fare at our restaurant and we will be speaking to your server to assure this does not happen again. I'd love to welcome you back with a gift certificate to use if or when you choose to dine with us again. If you could share with me your home mailing address I would greatly appreciate it. Kristin

Report
DW
Las Vegas
1 review
Dined on August 29, 2019
Overall 3food 4service 3ambience 2

Bar folks great. Decent happy hour. But dinner for 8 was just ok with regards to service and then there was this gnat that pestered everyone throughout the dinner. Was it one gnat or many? Just kept thinking of Bar Rescue where the worst bars/restaurants have gnats.
To be kind of picky, When I’m ordering a $38 bottle of wine and the waiter says it’s one of the cheap ones to me and my guests I find that a bit embarrassing and not professional. Unfortunately our waiter had a bit to be desired overall. I asked him for a dinner fork and knife and never received it so had to eat my entrée with a salad fork. OK I can live with that. But he never really return to check on everyone and make sure that there was anything else he could do for us. Kind of a arrogant dude. Regarding the food, some people love there’s some didn’t

Matt the Miller's Tavern - Grandview
Responded on September 3, 2019

Thank you for letting us know about your visit! I'm sorry that you felt the service was lacking. Your visit does not meet our standards and if you have ever visited previously it is not common at our restaurants. We're going to be speaking to the server about their table manner and use it as a teaching moment as we don't want this to happen again. I can assure you that we do clean our restaurant frequently and do our best to keep any gnats away. Please see remainder below

Report
OT
Columbus
1 review
Dined on August 28, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great food and ambiance for the occasion

Matt the Miller's Tavern - Grandview
Responded on September 3, 2019

We're so glad to hear it. We hope to see you back again soon. Kristin

Report
AC
Columbus
3 reviews
Dined on August 25, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

The brunch is always good at Matt the Miller's, but the last two times we've gone to Matt's there have been gnats flying around like CRAZY (worse than any other restaurant). One even landed in my drink and I had to get another. Other than that, it's good and I would go back and recommend to others.

Matt the Miller's Tavern - Grandview
Responded on August 28, 2019

Thank you for the feedback! I will share this with the General Manager so that this does not happen again. Kristin

Report
J
Cleveland
1 review
Dined on August 17, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Took 6 OSU seniors to dinner here and we all had an amazing meal, excellent service even from the moment we walked in the door. Extremely affordable with a decent variety. Atmosphere was great, not too noisy and we could our table without having to yell. I highly recommend visiting here when in Columbus. It’s about 2.5 miles from campus and in an unique part of town!

Matt the Miller's Tavern - Grandview
Responded on August 23, 2019

Thank you for the review, Janet! We're so glad that you all enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you back again soon. Kristin

Report
PM
New England
2 reviews
Dined on August 17, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Overall the service here was excellent, we were seated promptly and our server was very attentive. The only snafu was that we ordered a cocktail to which they were out of one of the ingredients but said if we wanted to wait for 10 minutes they could make it. But it didn't matter to us as my wife was on the fence to what she wanted so, plan B was invoked and they promptly make the requested drink. Food came out very quickly. I ordered the Balsamic Chicken special with asparagus and mashed potatoes. Other than the mashed being a little cold, the overall dish was excellent. My wife ordered the Truffled Mushroom Burger with fries. All was good. They also have a draft beer list of about 40 different brews. The only mark of was because of the noise level that was a little high for the small number of people that were there at the time, I can only imagine if the restaurant was full. Overall, a very nice place to dine that we would visit again.

Matt the Miller's Tavern - Grandview
Responded on August 23, 2019

Thank you for your feedback! We're glad you were able to enjoy the chef special that evening. We apologize for the noise and try to keep it to a minimum the best that we can. We hope that you will dine with us again soon! Kristin

Report
P
Cleveland
2 reviews
Dined on August 16, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 3

We were pleased to find that happy hour was in place on Friday and that there were lots of seating options in the bar area. Good choices in drinks and food.

Matt the Miller's Tavern - Grandview
Responded on August 23, 2019

We're so glad to hear it! We hope to see you back again soon. Kristin

Report
CC
1 review
Dined on August 11, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We have the best experience possible every time we go. Every single time we go the food and perfect the wait staff makes you feel like the only people in the room, never have an empty glass or a dirty plate on the table. We recommend this place to everyone we talk to.

Matt the Miller's Tavern - Grandview
Responded on August 15, 2019

Wonderful! We're so glad to hear it. We appreciate the word of mouth shares that you're giving us and we hope to see you back again soon. Cheers! Kristin

Report
PG
Columbus
1 review
Dined on August 4, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

You can't beat Matt's Sunday brunch. How they get their eggs Benedict to be fresh, warm, the yolk with just the right runny-ness instead of hard, is amazing when they are served en masse in a chafing dish. The bacon had slices that were nice and crisp as well as a selection of less crispy strips. The shrimp and grits were perfectly cooked and seasoned and the desserts are fabulous. Our server, though very busy, always had our drinks refilled and, though running, was smiling and pleasant. We sat there talking until 3:30 p.m.,and no one gave us the impression we were overstaying our welcome. I might only suggest you add sausage patties to the buffet.

Matt the Miller's Tavern - Grandview
Responded on August 15, 2019

Thank you for your great review, Patricia! We're so glad that you enjoyed your visit and will take into account your desire for sausage patties :) We hope to see you back again soon!! Kristin

Report
OT
1 review
Dined on August 4, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Enjoyed Brunch and Linda my waitress was the best !!! I want her again !!! Thank her for my absolute wonderful Sunday Brunch experience!!!

OT
Columbus
1 review
Dined on July 31, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Reconnected with a friend. Very nice atmosphere.

Matt the Miller's Tavern - Grandview
Responded on August 6, 2019

We're glad you and your friend could enjoy some time together! Thank you for joining us, we hope to see you again soon. Kristin

Report
1
2
3
15

Tweets by Matt the Miller's Tavern - Grandview