L'Abattoir Restaurant

4.6
2682 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$31 to CAN$50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
French
Located in historic Gastown between Gaoler's Mews and Blood Alley, built in the 19th century on the site of Vancouver's first jail and originally buttressed to the city's main butchery and meat packing district, the name L'Abattoir pays homage to the neighbourhood's colourful past. Set in a refurbished brick and beam building combining classic French tile work with industrial fixtures and natural wood, the restaurant offers a bar and lounge, elevated dining room and a plush, light soaked atrium as well as private dining rooms. Chef/Owner Lee Cooper is dedicated to highlighting the finer points of eating & drinking in L'Abattoir's informed but informal setting. Service is expertly orchestrated to be unpretentious yet refined. The French-influenced West Coast fare is paired with the eclectic wine program and the bar team's innovative cocktail list to offer a truly unique dining experience.

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Come join us at L'Abattoir on Father's Day to show your dad some love with our trusty brunch or for a dinner celebration with our French-inspired Pacific Northwest menu. We'll have all of our beloved classics; from the Breakfast Burger to our Steak Diane.

Sunday, June 16, 2019

What 2682 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.6
service
4.5
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
91% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Filters
AB
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall 4food 5service 4ambience 4

We came in before a concert for dinner, they had one of my favourite wines- la vieux pin
The wagou beef tartare was great and we shared a 39 day aged dry rub sirloin and it was out of the park! We would definitely go back....

Report
Helpful
AM
Vancouver
2 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 4

Recommend it highly from arrival to departure and great atmosphere but just a little noisy

Report
Helpful
NC
Charleston
15 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We were visiting from Asheville, NC (another foodie city!) and stumbled upon L’Abattoir our last night in Vancouver:) the food was amazing, the service friendly & superb & the atmosphere was quaint & comfortable. Our server Melissa was delightful & entertaining....we were there for 3+ hours & enjoyed every minute! We both had the grilled gem lettuce to start, my husband had the tuna appetizer & I the baked oysters....I then second (repeated) that for my main course & my husband had the Halibut. Desert was phenomenal as well with me enjoying the brûlée & my husband the layered dessert.
We highly recommend this establishment for a dining experience. :)

Report
Helpful
DL
Seattle
3 reviews
Dined 7 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Superb food and service. Lived up to its high reputation. Portions were fine: 2 people, 2 starters, 2 mains.

Report
Helpful
OT
1 review
Dined on June 5, 2019
Overall 3food 5service 1ambience 3

When the waitress served the wrong wine can be nice if she apologized!

Report
Helpful
DP
Washington DC
3 reviews
Dined on June 4, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Excellent! First visit, great experience!

L'Abattoir Restaurant
Responded 6 days ago

Denis, Thank you for joining us and for taking the time to share your comments. We're so happy to hear you had such a great first experience at L'Abattoir. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you for many more visits!

Report
Helpful
GS
Vancouver
1 review
Dined on June 3, 2019
Overall 1food 1service 3ambience 3

Loved the restaurant until last few visits. Heavy staff turnover shows in the overall operation

L'Abattoir Restaurant
Responded 6 days ago

Thank you for dining with us. We wish that your most recent visit had been as enjoyable as past visits. We have some longstanding, core team members; as well, are happy to have welcomed new faces that share our passion and are eager to learn. We expect an elevated level of standards from our entire team. We wish that you had felt the same level of hospitality with our current team. Please feel free to reach out to us directly so we can have our management team address your specific concerns.

Report
Helpful
OT
1 review
Dined on June 2, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Always great for brunch date

L'Abattoir Restaurant
Responded 6 days ago

Thank you for coming in and for sharing. We're happy that L'Abattoir is one of your go-to brunch spots!

Report
Helpful
B
Vancouver
30 reviews
Dined on June 1, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 5ambience 3

Haven't been here in a while. It's expensive here. Food was mediocre for all three parties. I had the lingcod - it was SO salty, and I love salt / seasoning. The whole dish. Another person got the vegetarian pasta and was bored by it. Quite flat. Another girl got the halibut and was disappointed. Didn't hate it, but was disappointed. Dessert was delicious. Service was excellent. Room is beautiful. Unfortunately, based on this experience, the three of us decided we wouldn't go back.

L'Abattoir Restaurant
Responded 6 days ago

Thank you for choosing to dine with us recently. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your dessert and the service we provided; however, are sorry to hear of your concerns with the food. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We truly value your insight and always take our guests' comments into consideration as we progress forward. Should you decide to join us again, please reach out to our team directly to reserve, as we would like to ensure your next visit is more enjoyable.

Report
Helpful
J
1 review
Dined on May 31, 2019
Overall 4food 5service 5ambience 4

Great food, lovely staff. A little noisy for later in the evening. Overall, we loved it

L'Abattoir Restaurant
Responded 6 days ago

Jute, We're so happy to hear you enjoyed our food and hospitality. We really appreciate you choosing to dine with us and for taking the time to share your feedback. Our dining room can certainly get quite lively, but hope it didn't take away to much from your experience with us. Thank you again. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report
Helpful
OT
1 review
Dined on May 31, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

My girlfriend and I were very impressed with the level of service we received, and the food was exceptional flavour and freshness! We will definitely be coming back
thank you

L'Abattoir Restaurant
Responded 6 days ago

It's our pleasure! We're so happy to hear you and your girlfriend had such a wonderful experience dining at L'Abattoir. Thank you for taking the time to share your glowing review. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report
Helpful
OT
San Francisco
1 review
Dined on May 29, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 4ambience 3

Everything here was okay, nothing more for me, just okay.

L'Abattoir Restaurant
Responded 6 days ago

Thank you for dining with us and for sharing your comments. We strive to consistently provide a high level of food and hospitality that translates to a positive, and uniquely memorable experience for our guests. We wish that was the case for your visit to our restaurant. Please feel free to reach out directly should you have any specific comments to share on how we can aim to better your experience for future visits.

Report
Helpful
SF
San Diego
1 review
Dined on May 27, 2019
Overall 2food 3service 4ambience 1

Unfortunately, our anticipation for L'Abattoir was unrealistic. This is not the kind of restaurant for a date or a nice evening out with a loved one. The noise level was completely unacceptable for a formal dining experience. Additionally, the table space is overly crowded and there is little air circulation inside, leading to an uncomfortable atmosphere. The bar service was very poor, with a wait of nearly 20 minutes for two cocktails that were poorly made.

We did have good service from the waitress who helped us, and I would like to acknowledge that this review in no way reflects upon her.

The food was underwhelming. We ordered the duck foie gras which, while not bad, was overall somewhat bland in flavor. For mains we had the halibut and duck confit. The duck was tough but flavorful, while the halibut was not cooked in a way to impart much flavor. Additionally with the halibut, the fish was paired with peas cooked to an al dente level and provided overwhelming in flavor.

It is unfortunate that such a restaurant disappointed so much. I cannot recommend and I will not be returning.

*PS: This area of Vancouver is -NOT- safe. We were followed on our way back to our car by a man, who only turned away when the parking garage security guard showed himself.

L'Abattoir Restaurant
Responded on June 4, 2019

Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We strive to consistently provide our guests with high-quality food & hospitality. We always want our guests to feel safe when visiting us, and although we have never heard of a security issue such as the one described, we're always happy to have one of our team members escort our guests to their vehicle. We are very sorry you had to experience that. Our manager would be eager to address your concerns if you would like to contact us directly.

Report
Helpful
CF
1 review
Dined on May 27, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Very good Restaurant in the Center of Gastown.
Good atmosphere and friendly Service.
Modern style cooking.

L'Abattoir Restaurant
Responded on June 4, 2019

Chris, We're glad you enjoyed your experience at L'Abattoir. Thank you for joining us and for taking the time to share.

Report
Helpful
TP
Montreal
10 reviews
Dined on May 27, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Took my extreme carnivore client and he said that was best steak of his life. Impressive. The oyster with the Sabayon sauce was incredibly memorable

L'Abattoir Restaurant
Responded on June 4, 2019

The oysters are definitely a L'Abattoir classic. We're so happy you enjoyed and that the steak was a standout for your client. Thank you for coming in!

Report
Helpful
OT
1 review
Dined on May 26, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Excellent! Always a great brunch with attentive, super friendly service!

L'Abattoir Restaurant
Responded on June 3, 2019

We're so happy you enjoyed your brunch! Thanks so much for joining us.

Report
Helpful
TZ
1 review
Dined on May 25, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Great food and outstanding service with a European flare.

L'Abattoir Restaurant
Responded on May 28, 2019

Tracey, Thank you! We're so happy you enjoyed.

Report
Helpful
y
Calgary
34 reviews
Dined on May 25, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

I next go to Vancouver without stopping for brunch at L’Abattoir!The pastries are to die for (don’t deprive yourself, have at least one), the rest of the dishes are totally top notch, they have an amazing selection of well priced bubbles for brunch and the service is always on point! I HIGHLY recommend!

L'Abattoir Restaurant
Responded on May 27, 2019

Thank you for the rave review! SO happy you enjoyed your brunch at L'Abattoir. We look forward to having you in again.

Report
Helpful
PB
San Francisco
102 reviews
Dined on May 24, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 5

Great restaurant but service was a little slow, food wasn't quite hot but was very tasty.

L'Abattoir Restaurant
Responded on May 27, 2019

Paul, Thank you for dining with us. We're happy to hear that the food was tasty and appreciate you providing your feedback on the timeliness and temperature so we can share with our team. We hope to see you again soon.

Report
Helpful
LE
1 review
Dined on May 22, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Awesome service, amazing food and really great atmosphere.

We really enjoyed my experience here and would definitely recommend this to anyone.

Our server was one of the best I have had in the city and could tell she truly cared about her job and what she was doing- Something that is hard to find these day!

L'Abattoir Restaurant
Responded on May 27, 2019

What a wonderful compliment. Thank you for joining us and for the high praise. It is greatly appreciated! We hope to welcome you again soon.

Report
Helpful
C
1 review
Dined on May 22, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 5

Nick, the server was more than excellent; he was awesome.
Food was great but took a while.

L'Abattoir Restaurant
Responded on May 28, 2019

Chuck, Thank you for joining us at L'Abattoir and for taking the time to share. We're happy you enjoyed and appreciate your feedback from your visit.

Report
Helpful
M
1 review
Dined on May 21, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Our dinner for five was nothing short of an impeccable experience. We were greeted immediately and warmly upon arrival. We spent some time in the lounge before moving up to our table and Riley and Philip played the perfect introductory hosts. They were prompt and knowledgeable and made us feel like the most important people in the room. After our entire party arrived and we moved upstairs, we got the perfect recommendation on which bottle of wine to start with from Maya, our sommelier for the evening. We started with almost every starter on the menu, including two orders of the oysters, which were enjoyed even by our friends who were not fond of shellfish. Our server Heather made us feel special and attended to our individual needs throughout the entire evening. The food and wine recommendations were easily the best we have experienced in the last year. We couldn’t find anything wrong with this restaurant through a microscope. Thank you L’abattoir and your entire staff.

L'Abattoir Restaurant
Responded on May 27, 2019

We are so glad you had such a special evening! It is truly our pleasure. Thank you for coming in and for taking the time to share your experience with others. We really appreciate it!

Report
Helpful
OT
1 review
Dined on May 18, 2019
Overall 3food 1service 3ambience 3

The washroom has a huge fly
steak is too salty
duck is okay
service is good
prepare time is long

L'Abattoir Restaurant
Responded on May 27, 2019

Thank you for choosing to join us for dinner. We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback. If you care to discuss your visit in more detail, please feel free to reach out to the restaurant directly so our manager can address your concerns. We are always striving to improve our guests' experience when dining at our restaurant.

Report
Helpful
M
Vancouver
4 reviews
Dined on May 18, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

I recently took my partner to dinner at L'Abattoir as a surprise. We have visited before and loved our experience and this time was no different.

The food was excellent (options, flavours, portion size) and the service was stellar (knowledgeable and friendly, attentive but not over-bearing).

L'Abattoir Restaurant
Responded on May 23, 2019

Mike, Thank you for joining us again! We appreciate you providing with the positive feedback from your dinner and so glad that it was such an enjoyable experience for you and your partner! We hope to see you again soon.

Report
Helpful
OT
1 review
Dined on May 17, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The baked oysters and duck are super delicious, totally gonna come back for that.

Service is five stars. Our waiter is very nice and helpful.

L'Abattoir Restaurant
Responded on May 19, 2019

Thank you for joining us for dinner. It's great to hear you had such a nice experience! We're looking forward to having you again.

Report
Helpful
RL
1 review
Dined on May 14, 2019
Overall 1food 1service 1ambience 1

The food arrived cold. When we mentioned it to the waiter she asked what would you want me to do...?

L'Abattoir Restaurant
Responded on May 19, 2019

Providing top quality food and hospitality is of the utmost importance to us. We're sorry that this was not your experience while dining with us. We would love the opportunity to discuss your visit in more detail. If you are inclined please feel free to reach out directly, as we would like to ensure we take the necessary measures to rectify the issue.

Report
Helpful
M
Tampa
3 reviews
Dined on May 14, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 5

Great food. Service was amazing. Wine list was nice. Expensive for what you get at 40 per main. I’d go back again though.

L'Abattoir Restaurant
Responded on May 19, 2019

We're happy to hear that you enjoyed and that you'll be back again to enjoy- we look forward to it. Thank you for sharing your kind words!

Report
Helpful
SS
Vancouver
1 review
Dined on May 13, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 3ambience 5

Love the food always good. Happy with the ambiance!

L'Abattoir Restaurant
Responded on May 16, 2019

Thank you for coming and for sharing your kind words. We're so happy you enjoyed your experience while dining with us!

Report
Helpful
P
Vancouver
7 reviews
Dined on May 13, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

This has become one of my favourites. I believe it’s the only restaurant that serves quail. It is delicious. Tried steak which was flavourful and halibut it melted on your tongue so delicious. Hands down one of the best restaurants in Vancouver.

L'Abattoir Restaurant
Responded on May 16, 2019

Preet, Thank you for your rave review! We're so glad to be among your favourites in Vancouver. We really appreciate you joining us for dinner and for taking the time to share your experience. Until next time!

Report
Helpful
K
Vancouver
21 reviews
Dined on May 12, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 5

Despite being in the area bordering the homeless with limited street parking, for Mother's day, we decided to revisit this restaurant. We ordered our usual quail appetizers, plus duck, lamb and steak. At 5:30pm, the restaurant was 70% full. It took 20 minutes to collect our orders, 20 minutes for the drinks and bread, and 20 minutes for appetizers to arrive, yet the quail was more undercooked than usual. After the appetizer plates were cleared, it took another 20 minutes for the mains to arrive. The pre-made crepe cakes arrived without too much of a wait. A lot of servers eager to pour more wine and water, but the kitchen seemed shorthanded.

We finished our dinner at 8pm, for just 3 courses. This is twice as long as our last meal there and we ordered the same food. Food quality continues to be high. But at over $120 per person, we need to take some time to muster the desire to revisit this restaurant.

L'Abattoir Restaurant
Responded on May 20, 2019

Kenny, Thank you for choosing to dine with us. We appreciate you taking the time to provide your detailed feedback. We strive to provide our guests with exceptional food and service, in a consistent and timely manner. We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you again. Please feel free reach out to the restaurant directly to discuss your experience with our manager, as we would love to ensure your next experience is truly special.

Report
Helpful
g
Hawaii
87 reviews
Dined on May 12, 2019
Overall 4food 5service 5ambience 4

This was my second visit to this hot spot in Gastown; I wasn't very hungry so I ended up with two appetizers ... sweetbreads and quail, a gin and tonic and a glass of wine. The food and service were excellent... I really enjoyed my time here and will return on future visits to Vancouver.

L'Abattoir Restaurant
Responded on May 13, 2019

Thanks for stopping in while you were in Gastown. We're so happy to hear your enjoyed!

Report
Helpful
CW
Singapore
1 review
Dined on May 12, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Mother’s Day Brunch.

L'Abattoir Restaurant
Responded on May 13, 2019

Ceasar, Thank you for joining us and for your 5-star review. We're happy you enjoyed your Mother's Day celebration at L'Abattoir!

Report
Helpful
s
Vancouver
3 reviews
Dined on May 11, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Date night

Report
Helpful
A
Toronto
9 reviews
Dined on May 10, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 4

It's our 3rd or 4th time there. Food was really good but not outstanding this time. Ordered the steak Diane and got 3 very small pieces, whereas those around me had 2 nice size pieces. I suspect is was the same weight... Just less appealing.
Also we were upstairs and it was crazy noisy at the tables around us... Otherwise this is a great restaurant deserving of its high praise.

L'Abattoir Restaurant
Responded on May 12, 2019

Serge, Thank you for choosing to join us for dinner and for taking the time to share your comments. We aim to provide our guests with excellent quality and consistency. We appreciate you providing insight into your visit so we can continue to improve our guests' experiences. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Report
Helpful
AB
1 review
Dined on May 10, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Friendly service and modern food with excellent ingredients.

L'Abattoir Restaurant
Responded on May 12, 2019

Andrey, Thank you for dining with us. Good ingredients are key to creating great dishes. We're so glad you enjoyed!

Report
Helpful
FP
1 review
Dined on May 7, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Amazing food!!! Small menu, wonderful experience. The sommelier recommended a very good wine for our dinner, perfectly understood what we wanted. I want to go back, loved it

L'Abattoir Restaurant
Responded on May 12, 2019

Fernanda, Thank you for joining us for dinner. We're happy you enjoyed your experience. We look forward to the next time we see you!

Report
Helpful
S
Montreal
1 review
Dined on May 7, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

This place is absolutely romantic and quaintv
Service is impeccable
Kudos to my South African waiter☃️🤗👍
Stephen from Whistler

L'Abattoir Restaurant
Responded on May 12, 2019

Stephen, Thank you for stopping in on your visit from Whistler and for sharing your kind words. We're so happy you enjoyed!

Report
Helpful
GW
1 review
Dined on May 5, 2019
Overall 4food 2service 3ambience 4

I found the food only fair as I had the quiche and it was very small with about 3 tablespoons of salad on the side. I was still hungry after the meal. My brunch mate had the breakfast burger and it was huge. I think meals size should have more continuity. I was disappointed with my meal.

L'Abattoir Restaurant
Responded on May 12, 2019

Glenda, Thank you for joining us for brunch and for sharing your experience. We want all of our guests to leave our restaurant feeling that they have received outstanding value and hospitality. We are sorry that this was not the case on your visit. Your feedback is very important to us. If you are interested in discussing your meal in more detail, we would love the opportunity to discuss it directly with you so we can do our best to improve future visits.

Report
Helpful
MR
1 review
Dined on May 5, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

This is a beautiful gem that was shared with us from another restauranteur in Vancouver and we are forever grateful! Fresh and lovely breakfast foods served uncomplicated or overdone! You MUST get the scone with fresh cream and the ricotta pancakes. You MUST!

L'Abattoir Restaurant
Responded on May 23, 2019

Maggie, Thank you for coming in for brunch and for taking the time to share your experience! We are so happy you enjoyed.

Report
Helpful
HB
Washington DC
3 reviews
Dined on May 4, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 2ambience 5

Second time we visit B.C we ate here loved everything!

Thank you

We were disappointed when the Metredi ask us to go to sister Restaurant because we arrived 15 min early . You simply don’t do that our Reservation is Here ! If we walk in yes offer option

L'Abattoir Restaurant
Responded on May 12, 2019

Helina-Thank you for joining us on your visit to BC. We're happy you loved everything! We always do our very best to have the table ready when our guests arrive; however with early arrivals, we aren't always able to accommodate. With our sister restaurant so close, we like to suggest it as a comfortable place to wait with a drink until the time of the reservation. We appreciate you providing your feedback so that we can share it with our team to understand ways we can better serve our guests.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
68

Tweets by L'Abattoir Restaurant