Permanently Closed - Kora restaurant - bar - lounge

3.4
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
655 Reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian

Restaurants you may also like

View all

About

This restaurant is permanently closed. Kora restaurant | bar | lounge is proud to present you with New Italian cuisine in a modern and contemporary setting. The bar and lounge showcases over 20 unique Italian wines by the glass as well as an innovative international cocktail menu. Crystal City and Pentagon City Residents receive 15% off their entire bill.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian, Mediterranean
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm;
Dinner:Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm
CLOSED SUNDAYS - Open for Sunday, Feb 14 from 4pm-9:30pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(571) 431-7090
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Morou Ouattara
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Our private dining room seats up to 55 persons. Private space can seat up to 120. The cocktail lounge is also available for semi private receptions for up to 20 persons. For more information about private dining look at our website www.korarestaurant.com.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Heather Alston-Ouattara: (571) 431-7090
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Kora 2 Go - will deliver to business within a four block radius for breakfast and dinner. 18 hours advanced notice required. You may contact us by phone or by email at korarest1@comcast.net. Catering by Morou can cater and staff off premise functions for group as large as 250 people,
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
23rd Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Parking is free Monday-Friday after 4pm and all day Saturday and Sunday
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
We are located above the Crystal City Metro Station (Blue and Yellow Lines)
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
large flat screen televisions , Live Jazz on Fridays from 7pm-9pm, World Tavern Poker on Saturdays at 4pm and 6pm.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 655 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
3.4based on recent ratings
3.6
food
3.1
service
3.3
ambience
3.3
value
Noise · Quiet
33% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Filters
PF
1 review
Dined on May 16, 2019
Overall 1food 1service 1ambience 1

You need to update your records. We arrived at Kora (party of 9) to find it completely closed down. Trying to find another restaurant to accommodate us was not an easy task

JS
Washington DC
56 reviews
Dined on April 24, 2019
Overall 4food 5service 4ambience 5

Our server, Kevon, was excellent.

I
Washington DC
110 reviews
Dined on April 22, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Went here on a Monday evening and decided to sit at the bar. The restaurant did not have a lot of patrons in it as the location tends to be more of a lunch destination. Great thing is that happy hour goes until 8 so that gives you a great deal of dining options. We started with mussels with wine sauce. The sauce was pretty good and more of a wine cream sauce. Followed up with the half portion of the seafood risotto and the salmon penne. While the seafood risotto was good the salmon penne was absolutely outstanding. Great vodka sauce and very tender salmon. The wine selection was ok. The server was absolutely attentive and checked on us frequently. Great experience.

AC
Washington DC
5 reviews
Dined on April 11, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 4

Waited 40 minutes for lunch items to be served. Wait staff was very nice.

DP
Washington DC
3 reviews
Dined on April 5, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 2ambience 3

There was a bus load of kids that were really noisy. All of our food didn’t arrive at the same time. Asked for more bread, never got it. Ordered another beer, never got it. Wasn’t asked if we wanted dessert. Went to Cold Stone instead. There were empty tables so it wasn’t too busy.

OT
Washington DC
5 reviews
Dined on March 27, 2019
Overall 1food 2service 1ambience 3

Waiter brought our salad AFTER the main courses had been delivered. Manager did comp our salads which we took home. Most disturbing was the mouse that ran through the dining area as we were sitting talking after our meal!!! Waiter came back asking us if we needed anything else about 7-8 times before we got our check and left. We are here on our first date ever....not sure we will ever go back after tonight’s meal with Mickey! Couldn’t find a manager to let them know about the mouse. And you know what they say....for every one you see, there’s at least 10 more you don’t see.

RA
Washington DC
27 reviews
Dined on March 21, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Always great food. Service was pleasant and helpful. Nice place to meet after work.

MW
Washington DC
2 reviews
Dined on March 20, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 3

Went for a colleague's birthday. Everything was fine, but not one of my favorite restaurants along Crystal Dr.

YE
Baltimore
1 review
Dined on March 16, 2019
Overall 2food 3service 3ambience 2

First time patron of this location. Restaurant opened late. Waiter was friendly. Restaurant was out of calamari which was one of the main reasons why we decided to visit this particular restaurant. There was a pile of dirt adjacent to our table. Tables were sticky. The booth where we were initially seated was coming apart from the Velcro that was holding it against the wood. The server was the best part of the restaurant aside from being there with my partner. High expectations set by the pictures online. Very disappointed with overall visit.

D
1 review
Dined on February 25, 2019
Overall 2food 3service 1ambience 3

The waitress forgot to put in my order and brought my food after half the table was completely finished. Considering that I had soup and salad, this was completely unacceptable. She did not offer to provide any food while I waited, did not offer to remove it from the bill, and did not offer any free food for her mistake. She also had an error on the receipt that we had reminded her of multiple times. I won't be back.

Kora restaurant - bar - lounge - Permanently Closed
Responded on February 26, 2019

Thank-you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We are so sorry the service was disappointing. We will share your comments with our staff so that they may learn and grow. We'd love to learn more about you're experience. Please see private response.

Report
G
1 review
Dined on February 6, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Kora is a great restaurant. It is great for taking clients. You get that privacy that you sometimes can't get anywhere else.

JS
1 review
Dined on February 5, 2019
Overall 1food 3service 1ambience 1

Party of 8 was seated next to a party of 2 despite there being no one else in the dining room. Service was incredibly slow. Ordered wine, server came back to verify which wine, only to find out ten minutes later that they were out of the wine.

M
Washington DC
45 reviews
Dined on January 31, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 2

The food was good but not unbelievable. It was a VERY QUIET night-one other table which made me suspicious. But there were three of us and we all enjoyed our food. Portions big and prices fair.

AJ
Washington DC
20 reviews
Dined on January 25, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great food and service

OT
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on December 14, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great food as always...

PM
Washington DC
32 reviews
Dined on December 12, 2018
Overall 1food 1service 4ambience 3

I went to Kora on a Weds night with a friend visiting from out of town because she was staying nearby. On the plus side: It is convenient, it has a pretty nice ambiance, it is comfortable, and the staff and servers were very nice although the waiter rushed us a bit. The portions are generous and the prices are not bad especially the $26 prix fixe dinner. But the quality of the food was not great. The salad was alright but not special. The lasagna was mediocre although my friend said the chicken marsala was delicious. The citrus cake was alright (supermarket quality) but the sorbet was not good. The wine was average. Overall, I had a good time because of the company but I did not really like Kora and I would not return or recommend it. That said, it was pretty crowded.

JM
Washington DC
2 reviews
Dined on December 7, 2018
Overall 1food 1service 1ambience 1

We walked out. When we showed up, after making a reservation, we were told that there was only seating at the bar because there was a party that had reserved the rest of the restaurant. We sat at the bar, but were never greeted by the bartender. I found a menu and discovered their scant and unimpressive selection. There did not seem to be any Italians working at this "Italian" restaurant. Don't do it.

AJ
Washington DC
18 reviews
Dined on December 1, 2018
Overall 2food 1service 5ambience 2

The service was terrific - the reception desk and our wait person were fantastic. The food was a disappointment, however. The tomato/mozzarella appetizer looked and tasted like it had been assembled and garnished days earlier, the house salad was drowning in far too much dressing, and the pasta dishes were uninspired - the penne dish, in fact, lacked flavor and seemed like a mish-mash of overcooked or processed vegetables mixed inartfully in to a plate of undercooked pasta. I usually take a doggie bag home with leftovers, but I was so underwhelmed by my entree that I didn't. This feels like a place that wants to do well - but needs some serious attention to the quality of the food served. Also, they might do well to put some thought into the too-loud music playlist blaring in the dining area. Very 'unaligned' with the look and feel the rest of the restaurant seems to be going for - and quite jarring. Still, very good PEOPLE there - appreciated the smiles at the door and the attentiveness of the wait staff.

LP
Washington DC
3 reviews
Dined on November 30, 2018
Overall 2food 2service 4ambience 3

Unfortunately was very underwhelmed by the food given the location.

JS
Washington DC
5 reviews
Dined on October 19, 2018
Overall 3food 2service 3ambience 2

Ceasar salad was drowned in a non-Ceasar dressing. Calamari were over-breaded and overcooked.

OT
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on October 17, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The food was excellent!

AR
Atlanta
4 reviews
Dined on October 6, 2018
Overall 1food 1service 1ambience 1

the restaurant didn’t honor our reservation after confirming.

OT
Mississippi
3 reviews
Dined on October 6, 2018
Overall 1food 1service 1ambience 1

I’m reminded of the Seinfeld “Reservations” episode. What’s the point of using Opentable for reservations- if you don’t acknowledge or notify customers in advance you don’t accept reservations from the app? Anybody can take reservations -it’s the holding that’s the key and where Kora miserably fails.

Terrible host response. Below average restaurant. The Thai place next door was much friendlier alternative. If you’re looking for Italian in the area choose Federico’s or Portofino’s instead of spending your money here. Both know how to “take and hold” reservations and even on the weekend! Unlike Kora.


Jerry: I don't understand, I made a reservation, do you have my reservation?

Agent: Yes, we do, unfortunately we ran out of cars.

Jerry: But the reservation keeps the car here. That's why you have the
reservation.

Agent: I know why we have reservations.

Jerry: I don't think you do. If you did, I'd have a car. See, you know how to
take the reservation, you just don't know how to *hold* the reservation and
that's really the most important part of the reservation, the holding. Anybody
can just take them.

MA
Washington DC
10 reviews
Dined on September 27, 2018
Overall 1food 3service 1ambience 1

I chose Kora mainly for its location and menu to celebrate a birthday. What should have been an easy going dinner turned into a service nightmare. My husband arrived first and was told they didn't have a reservation for us. Once seated, he was given a drinks menu. There was a happy hour special with draught beer, so he decided to have one while we waited on the rest of us. They didn't have ANY draught beer. Then, I showed up with our toddler and father. There were no high chairs or booster seats, which we have dealt with but when a restaurant serves kids pizza, you'd think they would have them. Trying to get a festive night kicked off, we ordered a bottle of wine. The server disappeared and then we waited about 10 minutes. She brought 2 waters, when three of us needed water. My toddler was given a full glass of water in a glass without a lid, which again, we can deal with but you serve a kids pizza. Finally, the server says they don't have the wine. No apology or other suggestions. Just we don't have it. We insisted on ordering another bottle of wine and was told the manager will have to see if we have it. The manager did manage to find this bottle. Twenty minutes or so to get a bottle of wine. In the meantime, my husband's entree came out with the wine before his salad and the rest of the food. The server never checked on whether our food was correct and honestly, given the way she was dressed and either inexperience or ineptitude, you would think she normally washed dishes. I think they have a major service problem at Kora with the manager serving food, the hostess bussing tables, etc. The food itself was okay but really I think at this point we were all about done. We ate our meals, didn't order dessert and won't be returning. I would have rather gone to the fast casual burrito place across the street to celebrate my birthday.

OT
Washington DC
4 reviews
Dined on September 27, 2018
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

This was the first time to eat at Kora’s. Lunch was an occasion to see a former colleague whom I hadn’t seen in 12 years so we spent a lot of time talking, catching up. Our service was great - was not too intrusive and re-fill on drinks were well anticipated and provided. I thought the menus had a nice selection of options and the prices were reasonable. I wasn’t too impressed with the crab cake sandwich but I wouldn’t expect that an Italian restaurant would perfect the crab cake - my bad for not trying something Italian! But the focaccia bread that is brought to the table prior to your meal was delicious! The coleslaw that came with my sandwich was very tasty and the mussels (appetizer - in wine sauce) was very good )the sauce was awesome to dip the bread in!)

All in all - I would eat here again, but definitely I would try a pasta dish next time!

OT
Washington DC
58 reviews
Dined on January 28, 2017
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 3

Our server was great! We had a large party, about 27 people and she did an outstanding job! Very attentive, patient and got our food out quickly! I think her name was Donessa S.

VG
Phoenix
36 reviews
Dined on January 21, 2017
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

We arrived early for our reservation and the host allowed us to sit at one of the high-top bar tables to wait. It was quite a while before someone brought us drink menus and take our drink order, but once we were seated service was fast. Food was great and prices reasonable. The salume plate was excellent! We've eaten here several times, and food is always very good.

OT
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on December 21, 2016
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 4

Food was very good, server was very helpful and provided suggestions on the lunch menu. We'll hold meetings there again.

PM
Washington DC
17 reviews
Dined on December 15, 2016
Overall 3food 3service 2ambience 3

Service was mostly an afterthought. Food was good, not great. Reasonable work lunch spot.

N
Washington DC
4 reviews
Dined on December 5, 2016
Overall 3food 3service 4ambience 3

Good place to grab dinner. Risotto was overly salty. Tiramisu was really good however and made up for the overly salty Risotto. Entrance/hostess stand reminds of a hotel check in desk. Overall an okay experience.

OT
Chicago
2 reviews
Dined on November 7, 2016
Overall 3food 5service 2ambience 3

The food was very good but the service was disappointing! We waited for almost 10 mins for our waiter to even arrive at our table. When he approached us, he commented, "I'm here. I'm here!" He seemed frustrated with helping us the entire time. The food was brought out in three groups. As a table of 10, we realize the food would take longer but we did expect to eat together. What we had was delicious, but the service made for a frustrating night!

OT
New York Area
1 review
Dined on October 29, 2016
Overall 1food 2service 1ambience 1

Restaurant staff seemed completely unable to deal with a crowd. Long waits to place an order, get table settings, get plates for bread, get water.

Food was completely ordinary. One party member was told that her choice was no longer available 15 minutes after our order went in. She selected a different item from the menu (after she requested a menu. Initially she was told to order something else off the top of her hear), and was given a third item that was never requested. When it arrived 10 minutes after the rest of the entrees and she informed the wait staff it wasn't what she ordered, the response was insistence that she had.

Kora sucks. Given the size of the space I'm very surprised it hasn't closed.

OZ
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on October 29, 2016
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

We were seated promptly and courteously. The waiter was polite and attentive. Pasta dishes seemed very small, but food was good

OT
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on October 29, 2016
Overall 2food 2service 2ambience 3

The food was adequate and our waitress was busy... probably too busy. The host was nice and seated us promptly. I'm glad I made advanced reservations because it did get busier.

d
Washington DC
7 reviews
Dined on October 11, 2016
Overall 3food 1service 4ambience 4

This was my first time at Kora and sadly may have to be my last. The food was terrible. I got the pappardelle and it was watered down and pretty much inedible. I didn't complain because I was there with a business client, however, I won't be back. I should never have lunch at a restaurant and leave hungry.

J
Washington DC
17 reviews
Dined on September 30, 2016
Overall 2food 2service 3ambience 2

I have been to Kora several times because it is convenient for business, but I continue to be underwhelmed. The décor is unremarkable, the staff is lackadaisical, the food is average at best, and the service is inconsistent. For example, this time, I got the Caesar salad, and the dressing was basically just mayonnaise. I had the sautéed chicken with came in a bland marsala like sauce over a bed of sphagetti noodles. It was a dish that wasn't sure what it wanted to be. The service this time was ok, but on previous occasions it has been poor. To me, Kora is mediocre across the board.

OT
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on August 13, 2016
Overall 4food 5service 4ambience 4

Had a very enjoyable dinner. The stuffed eggplant was well done. My wife ordered the Pappardelle and quite enjoyed that dish. This is my third time stopping at this restaurant when I am in the Crystal City area on trips. Normally the bread is quite good, this time it was a little crusty but still tasty. Ordered the Tiramisu for desert and it was quite tasty.

D
Washington DC
13 reviews
Dined on August 13, 2016
Overall 3food 2service 2ambience 3

Something has happened. Stale bread served. Food quality way down and service marginal.

Really liked this place but not sure I will be back.

G
Richmond
9 reviews
Dined on August 6, 2016
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Food was exceptional. My wife said the arugula salad was the best she every had. I had spaghetti and meatballs. Would have licked the plate if my wife did not stop me. The waiter had multiple tables but still was very attentive.

OT
Washington DC
10 reviews
Dined on July 20, 2016
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

Always a great time at Kora...Crystal City's hidden gem!

1
2
3
17