Kona Grill - Troy

4.2
2524 Reviews
$30 and under
Contemporary American
Welcome to Kona Grill Troy, a top restaurant and sushi bar in Detroit where you can enjoy a local paradise. Fresh, wild caught fish is used to craft award-winning sushi, while contemporary American entrees are prepared from scratch in-house. Happy hour on the beautiful, shaded patio overlooking the plaza fountain is a must. And don’t leave until you’ve tried one of the handcrafted cocktails, ice cold draft beer, or a glass of wine selected from the extensive drink menu. The restaurant’s diverse menu and contemporary ambience provide the perfect venue for special occasions like bridal showers, baby showers, birthday celebrations, business meetings, date night, or just any occasion really.

Support Kona Grill - Troy during COVID-19

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Contactless payment available
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace

Offers

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Sun 10:00AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 2:45PM 7:00PM - 10:00PM
Mon - Thu 6:00PM - 8:45PM
Fri 12:00AM - 12:00AM 8:00PM - 11:45PM
Sat 12:00AM - 12:00AM 10:00AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 2:45PM 8:00PM - 11:45PM

What 2524 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.2based on recent ratings
4.2
food
4.2
service
4.1
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
RH
RoshaundaH
Detroit
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall2food3service2ambience2

Our server was new but I'm not going to blame him. but it's probably not a good idea to give a new waiter such a large group. My food was forgotten and I waited an additional hour for my food to be brung out.

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded 10 hours ago

We are so sorry we failed you. Although we try to make every experience exceptional sometimes we fall short. Please contact us at so we can try and make this right 248.519.4993. Every customer is valuable to us and this includes you. Looking forward to hearing from you.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Detroit
9 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent service and delicious food!!

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded 10 hours ago

Thank you for the 5 stars! We appreciate your positive review and look forward to seeing you again!

Report
G
Grantster
Detroit
28 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great place for business lunch. Food was delicious and service was great. Sat on the patio on a sunny day.

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded 10 hours ago

Thank you for the 5 stars! We appreciate your positive review and look forward to seeing you again!

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Detroit
5 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall1food1service1ambience1

I would not recommend for Sunday brunch. We had a 11am reservation and after placing our drink and appetizer order I received my drink but my boyfriend didn’t. The waitress didn’t come back for a while and told us they were brewing his tea. I looked at my watch and 30 mins had passed without his drink or appetizers. It was quiet with no music when we got there. All we could hear was the kitchen staff joking in the back. When they finally turned on the music it was extremely loud. The place was fairly empty. We ended up paying for my drink and leaving.

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded 10 hours ago

Dear guest, We sincerely apologize that there was a delay in offering you your table in a timely manner. Such mishaps can certainly put a damper on the true Kona experience and, although we make all guests a priority and more than value your patience, a wait should have not reached such an extreme time. Please contact our management team at 248.519.4993 and we hope that you would give us another opportunity to make it right. Best, Kona Grill Management

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Minneapolis
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The waitress was really nice and the food was amazinggggg

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded 10 hours ago

Thank you for the 5 stars! We appreciate your positive review and look forward to seeing you again!

Report
PB
PortiaB
Detroit
5 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Alex, our server, was great. Sushi was delicious and drinks were great. Had a great couples night for sweetest day!

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded 10 hours ago

Thank you for the 5 stars! We appreciate your positive review and look forward to seeing you again!

Report
s
sams
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall4food5service3ambience4

I would recommend, however our server didn’t check on us once. the tables around us were talking very loud and i could hear their whole conversation. however, the food was great.

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded 10 hours ago

We understand your disappointment with us and we appreciate you bringing these issues to our attention, which has been shared with the team. We agree that your unusual experience did not match our exceptional standards and it is important to us that our guests receive the true Kona experience that we are known for. Please contact us at 248.519.4993. Best, Kona Grill Management

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Detroit
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food and service was great !

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded 10 hours ago

Thank you for the 5 stars! We appreciate your positive review and look forward to seeing you again!

Report
IB
IsaiahB
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Alex our server was amazing. The food was delicious. The food presentation was marvelous. The drink menu was diverse. The sushi didn’t take forever even while the restaurant was packed. The hosting staff was friendly and management was active on the floor, not hidden away in an office. We will definitely be back.

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded 10 hours ago

The entire team at Kona Grill would like to thank you for your 5 Star Review! We take pride in providing the best possible experience. Your positive review means a great deal to us. Thanks again!

Report
S
Sandy
Detroit
19 reviews
Dined 7 days ago
Overall4food5service4ambience4

Food was excellent but we waited almost 40 min for food.

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded 10 hours ago

We appreciate your positive review and look forward to seeing you again!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Detroit
1 review
Dined on October 15, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great atmosphere, delicious food and professional service

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded 7 days ago

Thank you for the 5 stars! We appreciate your positive review and look forward to seeing you again!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Chicago
4 reviews
Dined on October 14, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Everything was perfect :)

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded 7 days ago

Thank you for the positive review! We are so glad you had a great experience! Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Report
P
Peggy
Detroit
3 reviews
Dined on October 13, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Our server was very, very good! She paid attention to details and explained questions about the menu very throughly. She offered suggestions as well.

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded 7 days ago

Thank you for the positive review! We are so glad you had a great experience! Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Report
AM
AngM
Detroit
3 reviews
Dined on October 12, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Wonderful dinner as always!!

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded 7 days ago

Thank you for the 5 stars! We appreciate your positive review and look forward to seeing you again!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Detroit
1 review
Dined on October 9, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Loved it will be back again

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded on October 12, 2021

Thank you for the 5 stars! We appreciate your positive review and look forward to seeing you again!

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Detroit
7 reviews
Dined on October 9, 2021
Overall1food1service3ambience1

Once again our food wasn’t hot and not cooked like we asked. We were tired and went home and ate. Filet was over cooked and not warm. Las Vegas sushi was hard. Calamari undercooked. Thai pad noodles were nasty. It wasn’t an enjoyable experience. I spent 140$ and my kids were still hungry. This is my 3rd time having this issue when I come here to eat, late. I guess it’s my fault for coming back.

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded on October 12, 2021

Dear Guest, We take pride in our excellent culinary standards and we clearly missed the mark on our attention to detail that we are usually acclaimed for. We appreciate you for bringing your concerns to our attention and we would like the opportunity to make it up to you so that you can get the true Kona Grill experience you should have received in the first place. Please contact us at 248.519.4993 so that we can follow up on your experience. Best, Kona Grill Management

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on October 9, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Server was excellent

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded 10 hours ago

Thank you for the 5 stars! We appreciate your positive review and look forward to seeing you again!

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Detroit
6 reviews
Dined on October 9, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food and service!

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded on October 12, 2021

Thank you for the positive review! We are so glad you had a great experience! Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Report
K
vipKathy
Detroit
26 reviews
Dined on October 8, 2021
Overall4food5service4ambience3

We love this restaurant. However we almost walked out when it took 10 minutes to order a drink while standing at the bar after being given waters five minutes in and told someone will be with us in a bit

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded on October 12, 2021

Dear Kathy, We sincerely apologize that there was a delay in offering you your cocktail in a timely manner. Such mishaps can certainly put a damper on the evening and, although we make all guests a priority and more than value your patience, a wait should have not reached such an extreme time. Please give us a call & speak to one of our managers and we hope that you would give us another opportunity to make it right. Best, Kona Grill Management

Report
JB
JulianneB
Grand Rapids
12 reviews
Dined on October 7, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I arrived five minutes before happy hour ended so at my request, the hostess sat me in the bar for faster service. I was able to order 2 drinks & 2 apps from the happy hour menu just in time, receive everything within 7 minutes and be out the door within the half hour! Perfect!

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded on October 9, 2021

Dear Julianne, Thank you for the 5 star review! We are thrilled to hear you received great service and look forward to seeing you again. Best, Kona Grill Management.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Chicago
1 review
Dined on October 7, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Great food. My Grey Goose Martini was an icy perfection. Great food. The carrot cake we planned split between two of us had enough leftovers for two more people.

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded on October 9, 2021

Thank you for the positive review. We are happy to hear you had a great experience and look forward to seeing you again.

Report
C
Corinne
Detroit
16 reviews
Dined on October 7, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We went for Happy Hour and tried 4 of the items. Everything was delicious. Our server was Heidi who did an outstanding job of making sure that we had everything that we needed. We look forward to going again.

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded on October 9, 2021

Dear Corinne, Thank you for the 5 star review! We are happy to hear Heidi took great care of you and that you had a wonderful experience. We look forward to having you dine with us again.

Report
B
vipBarb
Detroit
34 reviews
Dined on October 7, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Very good meal with wonderful
Service. We will definitely be back!

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded on October 12, 2021

The entire team at Kona Grill Troy would like to thank you for your Review! We take pride in providing the best possible experience. Your positive review means a great deal to us. We hope to see you again soon!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Detroit
5 reviews
Dined on October 2, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

There was a wait for the food but the overall experience was good and the food was delicious

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded on October 5, 2021

Thank you for the review! We look forward to seeing you again!

Report
M
vipMelanie
Detroit
20 reviews
Dined on October 2, 2021
Overall4food4service3ambience4

Food is always good here. Atmosphere is energetic and cool. The only problem I’ve realized my last couple of visits, is that your reservation is worth nothing. It’s still packed in the waiting area and you’re gonna still wait a good 30 mins along with the other 100 people waiting with Reservations.

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded on October 5, 2021

Thank you for the review! We look forward to seeing you again!

Report
JF
JohnF
1 review
Dined on October 1, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience4

Our server Jacob was fantastic!!! Food was really good. The selection of sushi was great. Had enough food options for the entire family.

MC
MarilynC
1 review
Dined on September 29, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The best Anniversary dinner we have had in forever. The Date Night special should be a keeper!

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded on October 4, 2021

Thank you for the 5 stars! We look forward to seeing you again

Report
JB
vipJessicaB
Detroit
5 reviews
Dined on September 28, 2021
Overall4food1service5ambience3

Steak over cooked, chicken no favor, asked for no sauce on slides well I got sauce on slides the sauce is so gross. Ordered the meatball and I ask if they were sweet she said now and they were 100% sweet. But I will say the sushi was amazing so was the mashed potatoes and Brussels sprouts.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on September 26, 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience5

First time with my fiancé here and we both enjoyed the food and the ambience

GE
GregE
Detroit
1 review
Dined on September 26, 2021
Overall2food3service2ambience4

So over priced for the quality and quantity.

SE
vipSEAguy
Seattle
158 reviews
Dined on September 26, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

The fritters are an excellent shareable to start off brunch! Some of the brunch entrees were good, but the macadamia French toast was pretty basic and left us disappointed. We can’t wait to return and check out the happy hour menu.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Detroit
3 reviews
Dined on September 25, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food and great service! I would go back

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded on September 28, 2021

Thank you for the 5 stars! We appreciate the positive review and look forward to seeing you again.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on September 25, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Homecoming

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded on September 29, 2021

Thank you for the review. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report
MS
MarkS
Detroit
7 reviews
Dined on September 24, 2021
Overall3food3service4ambience1

Why must dining establishments turn the music up so loud? Conversation while dining is impossible and trying to hear and understand the service staff is a challenge. Food was OK. Food was much better last time we visited. The restaurant is starting to look old, dated and tired.

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded on September 26, 2021

We want to extend our sincerest apologies for the negative experience that you had with us. Although we try to make every experience exceptional sometimes we fall short. Music levels can always be adjusted we hope you can give us another chance in the future and make sure you have the true Kona Experience.

Report
AG
AmandaG
Detroit
5 reviews
Dined on September 23, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Delicious and great atmosphere

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded on September 24, 2021

Thank you for the 5 stars! We appreciate your positive review and look forward to seeing you again!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on September 23, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We celebrated our daughter’s sixteenth birthday, so it was a family dinner. We had all ages at the table, and we all left very satisfied. Devon was our waiter, and he didn’t miss a beat. The food was delicious and the wait wasn’t long at all. Devon even made it a point to bring out a complimentary dessert and he sang Happy Birthday with us. Kona has been a favorite of mine for about ten years now, and it literally never disappoints!

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded on September 24, 2021

It is always amazing for us to hear that our team is doing an exceptional job with our guests here at Kona. It's no secret around here that Devlin is an all-star thanks to those like yourself who are kind enough to reach out to us and let us know that our team members are crushing it. Thank you for your kind words, and please come on back soon!

Report
C
Chrissy
Detroit
7 reviews
Dined on September 23, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Devlan was an excellent server! Our food was tasty and we went during happy hour so many of their appetizers were half off. Their drinks are super pricey even a coke is 4.50 and it's mostly ice. Nice atmosphere and very clean.

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded on September 24, 2021

It is always amazing for us to hear that our team is doing an exceptional job with our guests here at Kona. It's no secret around here that Devlin is an all-star thanks to those like yourself who are kind enough to reach out to us and let us know that our team members are crushing it. Thank you for your kind words, and please come on back soon!

Report
W
vipWendy
Detroit
14 reviews
Dined on September 23, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Service and food were fantastic! Heidi was an excellent server! There were seven ladies, and Heidi took care of us. We enjoyed the evening at Kona! Thank you so much.

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded on September 24, 2021

It is always amazing for us to hear that our team is doing an exceptional job with our guests here at Kona. It's no secret around here that Heidi is an all-star thanks to those like yourself who are kind enough to reach out to us and let us know that our team members are crushing it. Thank you for your kind words, and please come on back soon!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Detroit
3 reviews
Dined on September 19, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Such a great time and great food. Daniel was extremely nice! Very knowledgeable of the menu and welcoming. I can’t wait to go back!

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded on September 23, 2021

Thank you for the 5 stars!! That's awesome, we are glad you had a great time at Kona Grill be sure to dine in again with us soon! Be sure to request Daniel as your server for your next visit.

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Detroit
1 review
Dined on September 18, 2021
Overall2food3service1ambience3

Seated 15 mins late, got entrees 1 hour 20 mins after we sat down even though salads and entrees ordered when drinks were brought. Steak had no salt on it. Sea bass sliders had not even one ounce of fish. Wait staff and manager made a lot of excuses. This was always our favorite restaurant, very disappointed.

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded on September 24, 2021

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention and we sincerely apologize to hear that your dining experience was not up to our usual acclaim. We take pride on our attention to detail and it was unusual to hear that your experience did not match our expectations. Please give us a call at the store so that we can invite you back out 248.519.4993 Sincerely, Kona Grill Management

Report

FAQs

Kona Grill - Troy is rated 4.2 stars by 2524 OpenTable diners.

Kona Grill - Troy does offer gift cards which you can purchase here https://konagrill.cashstar.com/store/recipient?locale=en-us.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.