Kona Grill - Troy

4.2
2556 Reviews
$30 and under
Contemporary American
Welcome to Kona Grill Troy, a top restaurant and sushi bar in Detroit where you can enjoy a local paradise. Fresh, wild caught fish is used to craft award-winning sushi, while contemporary American entrees are prepared from scratch in-house. Happy hour on the beautiful, shaded patio overlooking the plaza fountain is a must. And don’t leave until you’ve tried one of the handcrafted cocktails, ice cold draft beer, or a glass of wine selected from the extensive drink menu. The restaurant’s diverse menu and contemporary ambience provide the perfect venue for special occasions like bridal showers, baby showers, birthday celebrations, business meetings, date night, or just any occasion really.

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Contactless payment available
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace

Offers

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Sun 12:00AM - 12:00AM 10:00AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 2:45PM 7:00PM - 10:00PM
Mon - Thu 6:00PM - 10:00PM
Fri 8:00PM - 11:45PM
Sat 12:00AM - 12:00AM 10:00AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 2:45PM 8:00PM - 11:45PM

What 2556 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.2based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.3
service
4.2
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
J
Julie
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall3food3service5ambience3

Kona’s food is good - but nothing that special. However, their prices have gone up ridiculously. 19 for a hamburger and fries. All appetizers approaching 20. Not worth the price at all. And this was lunch! I wont be back anytime soon. With tip, a very small portion size lunch for me and my son came back at over 70. For a chain restaurant, that is insane.

R
vipRoedoc
Detroit
7 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food4service5ambience4

Great service, food was enjoyable. We visited on a Saturday night, so a bit loud but fun vibe

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded 3 days ago

Thank you for the 5 stars! We appreciate your positive review and look forward to seeing you again!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Detroit
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Everything was lovely, music was a bit loud for dinner time (6:30) so we had to speak up. Other than that, it was great!

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded 3 days ago

Thank you for the 5 stars! We appreciate your positive review and look forward to seeing you again!

Report
CW
ChrisW
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall1food1service5ambience3

Food was overpriced and underwhelming, would not go back

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded 3 days ago

We take pride in our excellent culinary standards and we clearly missed the mark on our attention to detail that we are usually acclaimed for. We appreciate you for bringing your concerns to our attention and we would like the opportunity to make it up to you so that you can get the true Kona Grill experience you should have received in the first place. Please contact us at 248.519.4993 so that we can follow up on your experience.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Detroit
5 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall3food3service4ambience3

Kona used to be great, but my last two visits have been lacking. The past two times I've been there, I've having to shoo away flies and gnats.

This last visit we went for the Thanksgiving special. My wife had the standard turkey dinner, which was fine, but certainly nothing special to justify $29. I had the macadamia nut turkey, one piece was great, but the other was rubbery and overcooked and not edible, so barely any portion for $32.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall3food1service2ambience2

Never have Thanksgiving dinner at a sushi joint. Just don't.

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded 4 days ago

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us your rating. We would love to see you again to hopefully win two extra stars on your next visit!

Report
M
Mswiss
Detroit
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall4food5service5ambience4

Excellent food and service! The music was very loud that we could not even talk, need to lower the music.

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded 4 days ago

We want to extend our sincerest apologies for the experience that you had with us. Although we try to make every experience exceptional sometimes we fall short. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report
PV
PamV
Detroit
5 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Thanksgiving dinner was amazing. There were a few choices, even a pumpkin spice old fashioned which was fun and unique. My macadamia encrusted turkey was absolutely amazing. Great service from Amanda and just a really great way to spend the Holiday.

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded 4 days ago

Thanks for coming in and going the extra mile to let us know that we did a fantastic job! Come on back soon for another round of those custom Kona vibes we try so hard to bestow on guests like yourself! Sincerely, The Kona Grill Troy Team

Report
PF
PatriceF
Detroit
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall2food2service3ambience3

Food was not good, service was fair. Manager didn’t come over to apologize, won’t be returning. We had to send just about everything back

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded 6 days ago

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us your feedback and we sincerely apologize that your dining experience did not match our exceptional standards. It’s very important our guests feel that a Kona Grill experience is well worth the value and we clearly missed the mark. Please give us a call at 248.519.4993 & speak with our management team and we hope that you would give us another opportunity to make it right.

Report
KG
KirkG
Las Vegas
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall2food3service3ambience4

We enjoyed the Miso soup and loved the Lettuce wraps, my main course had way to much garlic and was served cold. We are very patient due to the lack of workers but our server wasn’t a very good listener. My wife was working late so came after we were seated, we had a 7:15p reservation, showed up 10 minutes early and we were seated right away. Took about 10 minutes for server to come to table and another 10 minutes to get a glass of $8/beer. Meal arrived around 7:50 and wasn’t served together, I got my main course first which was odd. I ordered my wife’s Lettuce Wraps at 7:55 P and asked that they waited until 8:15 to bring to table so my wife could eat it warm, it was delivered in 5 minutes so we took it home so she could eat it warm. We will go back again, this is a difficult time with so few willing to work so I suspect these issues were due to servers having so many tables. Suggestion, put more lettuce on the lettuce wraps, a huge bowl of the accompanying food that you put in wraps but two large leafs of lettuce and several that were so small you couldn’t put anything inside them. For $16 appetizer it should have enough lettuce that you dont have to eat the stuffing with a spoon.

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded 6 days ago

We take pride in our excellent culinary standards and we clearly missed the mark on our attention to detail that we are usually acclaimed for. We appreciate you for bringing your concerns to our attention and we would like the opportunity to make it up to you so that you can get the true Kona Grill experience you should have received in the first place. Please contact us at 248.519.4993 so that we can follow up on your experience.

Report
K
Kels
Detroit
1 review
Dined on November 23, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Lovely experience. The staff were friendly and the timing of the food and drinks was perfect. The food is next level amazing quality, taste, and portion sizes are good. Only complaint is that the bathroom was not kept up with. There was. I toilet paper, low soap and not very tidy. BUT the food and drinks were so good it makes up for it.

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded 6 days ago

Thanks for coming in and going the extra mile to let us know that we did a fantastic job! Come on back soon for another round of those custom Kona vibes we try so hard to bestow on guests like yourself!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
San Diego
3 reviews
Dined on November 21, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food and service

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded on November 23, 2021

Thank you for the 5 stars! We appreciate your positive review and look forward to seeing you again!

Report
ML
vipMaciLaurel
Chicago
5 reviews
Dined on November 20, 2021
Overall3food5service3ambience1

Overall Kona Grill's food never disappoints. This disappointing thing about this meal was everything else. We made a last minute reservation for dinner at 8:45 PM on a Saturday. We got seated right away but then no one came up to us for 10 minutes. Turns out the server in our section had called in -- either way everyone around us was being served. Someone should have picked up we didn't even have water at the table. My boyfriend got up to use the bathroom and came back and no one still had come over to welcome us. The server that ended up picking up our table was delightful but if he would have come over a minute later I would have been out the door. In addition to this the noise level was unpleasant. I felt I was unable to have a conversation with the one person sitting with me so I cannot imagine what larger tables felt like. For a restaurant of that size, I should not feel like I am in a club on Saturday at 9pm. Maybe in the bar area but it felt a little ridiculous in the entire place.

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded 6 days ago

We apologize for the inconvenience. Although we try to make every experience exceptional sometimes we fall short. Please contact us at 248.519.4993 so we can try and make this right. Every customer is valuable to us and this includes you. Looking forward to hearing from you.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Miami
2 reviews
Dined on November 19, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience4

food was good

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded on November 23, 2021

Thank you for the review! Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on November 19, 2021
Overall2food3service4ambience2

The music was SO LOUD! Waitress was awesome…drinks were good! Food was average! Probably won’t go back!

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded on November 23, 2021

We take pride in our excellent culinary standards and we clearly missed the mark on our attention to detail that we are usually acclaimed for. We appreciate you for bringing your concerns to our attention and we would like the opportunity to make it up to you so that you can get the true Kona Grill experience you should have received in the first place. Please contact us at 248.519.4993 so that we can follow up on your experience.

Report
SP
SPPB
1 review
Dined on November 19, 2021
Overall3food3service2ambience2

High prices for average food, poor service, and extremely loud music. Third meal showed up when two people were almost done eating. Beer showed up after we were done with dinner. No refills on water. No soy sauce with sushi. Would not recommend.

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded on November 23, 2021

We take pride in our excellent culinary standards and we clearly missed the mark on our attention to detail that we are usually acclaimed for. We appreciate you for bringing your concerns to our attention and we would like the opportunity to make it up to you so that you can get the true Kona Grill experience you should have received in the first place. Please contact us at 248.519.4993 so that we can follow up on your experience.

Report
TS
TammyS
Detroit
2 reviews
Dined on November 17, 2021
Overall1food1service5ambience2

Hostess was rude. Music was so loud we had to yell to hear one another. My entree was cold, chicken was like shoe leather, vegetables were hard as a rock. All in all an unimpressive meal

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded on November 19, 2021

We want to extend our sincerest apologies for the negative experience that you had with us. Although we try to make every experience exceptional sometimes we fall short. Please contact us at your convenience so we can try to make this right. We look forward to hearing from you.

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Detroit
2 reviews
Dined on November 16, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great time, thanks!

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded on November 19, 2021

Thank you for the 5 stars! We appreciate your positive review and look forward to seeing you again!

Report
BF
BrianF
1 review
Dined on November 13, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food and service, good value. Nice ambiance, cool dining experience!

l
laurac
1 review
Dined on November 13, 2021
Overall5food4service4ambience4

Good choice for Asian fusion.... they run about 10 minutes or so past reso time....food is good and staff works well together...management is also very attentive

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on November 13, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Abby was our waitress & she made our dining experience excellent!!

P
Peggy
Detroit
4 reviews
Dined on November 13, 2021
Overall3food4service4ambience3

The noise level was pretty loud making it difficult to talk to people at the table

x
vipxocut78
Chicago
12 reviews
Dined on November 13, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience5

The server makes the meal, and we had the best!

MB
vipMsBrigRN
Detroit
10 reviews
Dined on November 12, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Wonderful experience for date night!!

MJ
MJBirg
Detroit
4 reviews
Dined on November 12, 2021
Overall3food4service5ambience3

Loud, food was mediocre but our waiter, Jacob, was great!!

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Detroit
2 reviews
Dined on November 12, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food, excellent service, our server Kathy is awesome!

MH
MyHollyHome
Grand Rapids
1 review
Dined on November 10, 2021
Overall3food5service5ambience3

Music was too loud and bathrooms needed attention.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Detroit
1 review
Dined on November 7, 2021
Overall2food2service2ambience1

Hostess was rude from the greeting. Was confused somehow about the number we had in party told her 6 and high chair and she was puzzled. She sat us in dark corner and then I told her needed another chair. Then asked again the number of people I repeated 6 with high hair and she was like well that changes everything and walked away from the table .. I work in the industry so I understand the frustration sometimes of lack of staffing that could be a reason of the slowness but it was a little under par the service Jerry was fine but they brought us bread while under 45 minutes we been there we asked for another because we had six people and we never even got that. My brother-in-law ordered a side of mac & cheese for the kids we never got that .Was just not a good experience for my first time at Kona Grill outside with my family

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded on November 9, 2021

It’s important to us that you are more than satisfied with your dining experience and we are sorry to hear that it wasn’t the case. We are enthusiastic about honoring special requests and pride ourselves on our attention to detail that we’re usually acclaimed for. We hope that you would give us another opportunity to make it right and, if you do, please reach out at 248.519.4993 so that we can detail your future reservations for the true Kona experience you deserve!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Detroit
4 reviews
Dined on November 6, 2021
Overall4food5service4ambience4

Had a great girls night!!!

OT
OpenTable Diner
Detroit
2 reviews
Dined on November 6, 2021
Overall4food5service1ambience4

Great food, but really bad service.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Detroit
8 reviews
Dined on November 5, 2021
Overall2food3service2ambience1

We usually have great experiences here, but after this last one we probably will not be returning. Our food took over an hour and a half to get to the table. I was at the point I was going to tell the server to cancel everything. I understand being back up, however being up front about it would have been appreciated.

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded on November 7, 2021

We sincerely apologize that there was a delay in offering you your table in a timely manner. Such mishaps can certainly put a damper on the evening and, although we make all guests a priority and more than value your patience, a wait should have not reached such an extreme time. Please give us a call 248.519.4993 to speak with our management team and we hope that you would give us another opportunity to make it right.

Report
C
Ceecee
Detroit
9 reviews
Dined on November 3, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Food and service was excellent!! Friendly atmosphere.

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded on November 7, 2021

Thank you for the 5 stars! We appreciate your positive review and look forward to seeing you again

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Detroit
2 reviews
Dined on November 3, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Waitress was great . Food drinks and price for happy hour were great

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded on November 7, 2021

Thank you for the 5 stars! We appreciate your positive review and look forward to seeing you again

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Detroit
2 reviews
Dined on November 2, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Food was outstanding. Can’t wait to eat my leftovers!

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded on November 7, 2021

Thank you for the 5 stars! We appreciate your positive review and look forward to seeing you again

Report
GB
vipGordonB
Detroit
18 reviews
Dined on November 1, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We had a great sushi meal tonight.
Danielle did a great job.

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded on November 2, 2021

Thank you for your review and taking time out of your day to leave us a review, we hope to have you dine in with us again soon.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on October 31, 2021
Overall3food1service2ambience2

Pasta noodles was not done

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded on November 7, 2021

We take pride in our excellent culinary standards and we clearly missed the mark on our attention to detail that we are usually acclaimed for. We appreciate you for bringing your concerns to our attention & we hope you will give us another chance. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Report
c
vipclarencem
Detroit
7 reviews
Dined on October 30, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great experience.

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded on November 7, 2021

Thank you for the 5 stars! We appreciate your positive review and look forward to seeing you again

Report
S
vipSuthabrutha
Detroit
10 reviews
Dined on October 30, 2021
Overall1food3service1ambience1

This was our last trip to Kona Grill. What once was a family favorite is now nothing like we hoped it would be. Maybe the worst service we’ve ever had anywhere combined with dance club music blasting way too loud combined for a lousy experience...our third consecutive lousy experience. Food that was great is now just okay. We are bummed, we use to live this spot.

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded on November 2, 2021

We understand your disappointment with us and we appreciate you bringing these issues to our attention, which has been shared with the team. We agree that your unusual experience did not match our exceptional standards and it is important to us that our guests receive the true Kona experience that we are known for, we hope to have you dine in with us again soon to give us a second chance.

Report
ES
ErikS
Detroit
2 reviews
Dined on October 29, 2021
Overall2food3service2ambience1

I'm disappointed on how this restaurant has unfortunately dropped significantly in all around dining experience....is it under new management? Or is it just the new face of Kona Grill?

At one point this place was literally my favorite restaurant...very unfortunate.
Thank god the kitchen can still cook decently, because the service and staff interaction was similar to a typical coney island.....(at best). Very hard to want to spend $100-$150 on this experience again in the future.
Hope I hear or see a change in them down the road.

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded on November 2, 2021

We understand your disappointment with us and we appreciate you bringing these issues to our attention, which has been shared with the team. We agree that your unusual experience did not match our exceptional standards and it is important to us that our guests receive the true Kona experience that we are known for. We hope to see you dine in with us again soon.

Report
CH
ChuckH
Caribbean
1 review
Dined on October 29, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience3

It was good. Fast and friendly.

Kona Grill - Troy
Responded on October 29, 2021

Thank you for the positive review! We appreciate your positive review and look forward to seeing you again!

Report

FAQs

Kona Grill - Troy is rated 4.2 stars by 2556 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.