Kona Grill - Scottsdale

4
584 Reviews
$30 and under
Contemporary American
Welcome to Kona Grill Scottsdale, located at Scottsdale Fashion Square in the heart of Old Town, steps away from the vibrant entertainment district and waterfront shopping. Visitors and locals can enjoy our scratch kitchen and award-winning sushi after reveling in the art and culinary festivals, and Southwestern culture. Come try our delicious, handcrafted cocktails and start your night with the best reverse happy hour in town. Enjoy a diverse menu featuring a wide variety of contemporary American dishes, as well as a variety of entrées and appetizers with a global flair. Specialties include Miso-saké Sea Bass in a delectable marinade, filets, almond-crusted Pork-Tenderloin, and our signature Macadamia Nut Chicken. The restaurant’s contemporary ambience, with its beautiful aquarium and outdoor patio, provides the perfect venue for special occasions like bridal showers, baby showers, birthday celebrations, business meetings, date night, or just any occasion really.

Support Kona Grill - Scottsdale during COVID-19

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Contactless payment available
Protective Equipment
  • Waitstaff wear masks
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
  • Staff temperature check required

Offers

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Sun 10:00AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 2:45PM 7:00PM - 10:00PM
Mon - Thu 6:00PM - 8:45PM
Fri 12:00AM - 12:00AM 8:00PM - 11:45PM
Sat 12:00AM - 12:00AM 10:00AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 2:45PM 8:00PM - 11:45PM

What 584 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.0based on recent ratings
4.1
food
4.0
service
3.8
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
TA
TammyAnn
Phoenix
7 reviews
Dined 15 hours ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Liz was an excellent server. Attentive.

OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
1 review
Dined 17 hours ago
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Restaurant week menu had a great value and tasted very good.

WH
WaHa
Phoenix
8 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall3food4service1ambience2

Unprepared or under staffed? Three highlights and a whole lot of waiting for service. We went to Kona Grill for AZ restaurant week. They never mentioned the special to us nor provided a menu. When we asked, they spent a good 15 minutes searching for the special menu offering. We also never saw or heard the staff mentioned it to any other diners who arrived after we did (we were sitting within earshot of the hostess). While the food was good quality, visually pleasing, well prepared and tasted good (highlight #1), the service was HORRIBLE! We waited 15 minutes after being seated for our server to appear. Then we waited another 15 minutes for the previously mentioned AZ restaurant menu and a first service of water. Waited again to place our order for drinks and food, which we did together because we didn't know when the server would be back again. After getting and finishing our appetizers, someone from the kitchen (never identified themselves) came to let us know that although they had the prime rib that I ordered, it wasn't available to serve??? The AZ restaurant special only had three entrees available to choose from; they asked that I choose another option - fish (yuck) or chicken, which I can get any where. They had to check what else they could offer me (waiting again), still not fully explaining why, if the prime rib was available, they couldn't serve it. They had a $10 upcharge filet available that I accepted as an alternate. Instead of just substituting the meat, they gave me a whole new meal, with a vegetable I hate, which I was not aware I would be served. Continuing to wait, and having to ask any staff who happened to wander by to refill our water glasses as our server was AWOL. Highlight #2 - the desserts were the BEST part of the entire evening! Both were very good. They only time we didn't have to wait was when we paid the bill! Then the server stuck around. Highlight #3, we didn't get charged the $10 upcharge for the meal substitution

JO
JohnO
Phoenix
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall4food5service2ambience3

Timing of service needs a lot of improvement - from the time it took to get drinks served, to our entrees being served when we were half way through our appetizers, and deserts brought to the table when we were half way through our entrees.

Still had a great experience and most grateful -

d
vipdiningout
Phoenix
17 reviews
Dined 7 days ago
Overall1food1service1ambience1

All I can say is WOW how is this place still in business. The service was painfully slow to the point that the table next to us got up and left. The “lobster” rolls were so fishy tasting and smelly that I had to spit out my first (and last )bite. The steak filet was ok and the coconut cake was good. For the ambiance and quality of food it was way over priced. I recommend skipping this place, I’m still trying to figure out how the name fits the restaurant.

LC
vipLC2004
Hawaii
1 review
Dined on September 17, 2021
Overall1food3service1ambience1

From the time we were seated it took 18 minutes for the waitress to acknowledge us. She left drink napkins and took another 8 minutes to ask our drink order.

Salads came out the same time as entree.

Noise level loud, food was decent, will not return.

t
tinlikethemetal
New England
6 reviews
Dined on September 13, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Atmosphere great and food met expectations

CB
vipCBuc
Phoenix
15 reviews
Dined on September 11, 2021
Overall4food5service4ambience4

Great food!

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Phoenix
73 reviews
Dined on September 11, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great table - service, food and ambiance didn’t disappoint! A great lunchtime venue … will certainly be back 👍🏻

DA
vipDAVIDC
Phoenix
26 reviews
Dined on September 10, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Started with the FRIED CALAMARI which was nicely done. My wife had the POKE BOWL which we both found some what bland. I ordered the MISO CHILEAN SEA BASS. This was the star of the meal. Cooked perfectly with delightful flavors. The rice and bok choy were also tasty. We paired our meal with KUNG FU GIRL, a dry Riesling from Washington state.

Music was loud, but not intrusive.

KG
KathleenG
Phoenix
4 reviews
Dined on September 10, 2021
Overall2food3service1ambience3

The service, including the Sushi chef and bartender, was terrible. Half our group waited 10 minutes more for their bar drinks, the Sushi dishes were not well made and were not made and served at the appropriate time. One of our party, who ordered GF, was the last to be served, several minutes(up to 10 minutes) after the rest of the party. The ladies restroom was dirty.

C
vipColdfish
Chicago
25 reviews
Dined on September 9, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience3

Nice happy hour selection and tasty food. Better than expected.

CC
CarolC
1 review
Dined on September 5, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We love this place, great food and service , and some shopping to go to just makes for nice day

Kona Grill - Scottsdale
Responded on September 9, 2021

Thank you so much for the 5 star review!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Charlotte
1 review
Dined on September 5, 2021
Overall2food2service2ambience2

Both food and service were average and nothing special for the price point they’re asking for. Not something we would recommend to our friends and family as there are much better options.

OT
OpenTable Diner
San Diego
2 reviews
Dined on September 4, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Our server, Alex, did an amazing job! I highly recommend the Jalapeño Yellowtail Sashimi, Miso-Sake Chilean Sea Bass, Surf & Turf, and Picasso Specialty Roll. The delicious food — coupled with the warm hospitality — made for a lovely dining experience with extended family!

Kona Grill - Scottsdale
Responded on September 9, 2021

Thank you so much for the 5 star review!

Report
DR
vipDRdines
Phoenix
1 review
Dined on August 29, 2021
Overall3food2service2ambience2

It isn't what it used to be :-(. The Scottsdale mall location is sort of dark and a boring atmosphere.

MB
MichaelB
Phoenix
11 reviews
Dined on August 28, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Just a phenomenal experience with late night dining! Great food, great service, great music, exceptional staff!!! Never disappointed when we dine here! Thank you!!!!!

Kona Grill - Scottsdale
Responded on August 30, 2021

Thank you so much for the review Michael!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on August 28, 2021
Overall3food2service1ambience2

Overall loud environment with slow service. Food is ok but overpriced for what it is.

KS
KellyS
1 review
Dined on August 28, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Server was excellent and the good was really good. Drink was a little weak.

Kona Grill - Scottsdale
Responded on August 30, 2021

Thank you for the 5 star review Kelly.

Report
SH
SladeH
Las Vegas
2 reviews
Dined on August 27, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Our waiter Katy was amazing!!!!

Kona Grill - Scottsdale
Responded on August 30, 2021

Thank you so much for the review!

Report
D
vipDonkee
Phoenix
9 reviews
Dined on August 22, 2021
Overall3food3service5ambience4

Everyone was very friendly and accommodating. And we have been customers of Kona Grill for 20+ years living here in the valley. This was very disappointing. It’s understood that times have changed but the value and quality per dollar was not really there. I had the pad Thai with chicken and there was maybe 1/4 of a breast of chicken in the entire meal. My wife had the tuna poke bowl. It looked like the size of a side salad. The total bill with tax, and no drinks was $45. I never skimp on tipping servers as I’ve been in customer service roles all my life, and our server was great, but for $55 for 2 meals at lunch, we weren’t exactly pleased.

MO
vipMichaelO
Phoenix
21 reviews
Dined on August 21, 2021
Overall3food2service4ambience4

A disappointment visit: the sushi was terrible, and the poke was just boring. Service was good.

W
vipWheels808
Salt Lake City
3 reviews
Dined on August 20, 2021
Overall3food4service5ambience3

Bartenders were great as I was there for an hour waiting for my wife and kids. Food was really good. So no complaints about what regularly is most important. However, since our first time there in many years the ambiance just is t there anymore and the place felt dirty from the table tops to the glass on doors to the floor. We were there on a Friday night and Kona used to be a vibrant, upscale fun place to go on a Friday night but it has lost all that. They were also just cranking loud bad music. Sadly, This was our last time going here.

WM
WilliamM
Seattle
7 reviews
Dined on August 20, 2021
Overall2food2service4ambience2

Disappointing,
The service was great, the food - not so much.
The sushi was bland, sauces lacked flavor.
The lighting in the restaurant gives the food a strange yellowish togrey look, not appealing.

Hint to the manager, when you walk by one the sushi chefs with his mask firmly protecting his throat and chin, you might remind him how to wear it. Does he remember to wash his hands?
Over all a food solid 1.5 out of 5

S
Susan
1 review
Dined on August 18, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food was great, the service was fabulous, thank you!

Kona Grill - Scottsdale
Responded on August 21, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we did! We look forward to your next visit!

Report
G
Greatfind
Washington DC
14 reviews
Dined on August 13, 2021
Overall2food2service3ambience3

The restaurant was centrally located which is why we chose it. It was very noisy. Cleanliness was an issue for us as the floor and table were very sticky. The food was okay if you prefer your food to be overcooked.

Kona Grill - Scottsdale
Responded on August 21, 2021

We are working hard on getting the cleanliness to an exceptional level. We hope to see you again soon, and assure your experience will be a better one!

Report
T
Tanya
Phoenix
1 review
Dined on August 11, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great drinks & service! We were pleased with the food too and quick service and great coctails from the bar!

Kona Grill - Scottsdale
Responded on August 16, 2021

Thank you so much for the 5 star review!

Report
JC
JimC
Phoenix
4 reviews
Dined on August 9, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Pete was a great server. Very attentive. Good food suggestions.

Kona Grill - Scottsdale
Responded on August 16, 2021

Thank you so much for the review. Happy to hear Pete did a great job.

Report
TD
TDean
1 review
Dined on August 7, 2021
Overall3food5service2ambience1

The food was excellent. The ambience was no where near the food quality. Employees clothing was what you would find in a local bar. They attempted to set an evening atmosphere by by setting little battery powered candles on the tables. Unfortunately didn't bother to dim the house lighting so it lost any effect. Why bother. I think the server was new and failed to provide utensils or napkins. When asked for napkins for our appetizer we received little papper drink coasters and had to ask again for dinner napkins and place settings when our meal was served. And no buss service to remove the appetizer plates when finished.

Kona Grill - Scottsdale
Responded on August 9, 2021

Thank you for the review and the feedback on where we excelled and where improvements were needed. It truly is appreciated.

Report
KS
KellyS
Phoenix
12 reviews
Dined on August 7, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience3

We had Kona Grill on a Saturday night before seeing a play inside the Scottsdale Mall. We were pleasantly surprised at the crowd level inside the restaurant, it didn't feel too noisy or too full of people. There was plenty of space between all of the tables.
My husband ordered a coffee, which was served luke warm. However, the waiter took care of that as soon as we told him about it. He brought a nice piping hot cup of coffee back to us. The dinner we ordered was very good. We had the French Dip sandwich and some Lobster Mac. Both were very tasty. We also ordered the Butter Cake for dessert. We were a little disappointed in that. The middle of it was cold, you could tell it was just pulled from the refrigerator. It was also very crumbly. We didn't even finish it.
The restaurant itself was looking a little run down. The floors looked as though they hadn't been swept in several hours. The fabric on the booths was looking ratty and torn. Our table felt sticky-but that may have been the result of a sanitizer used to clean it.
Our dinner there was still enjoyable and we will give it another try some day. I would even still recommend it to people- the menu choices are plentiful and the service was good and friendly.

Kona Grill - Scottsdale
Responded on August 16, 2021

Thank you for taking the time for the review!

Report
MA
MARTHAM
1 review
Dined on August 6, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

If there were a way to give our server, Jules, more than 5 stars, I most certainly would. She is the best!

DW
vipDonaldW
San Diego
21 reviews
Dined on August 2, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing sushi.

Kona Grill - Scottsdale
Responded on August 8, 2021

Thank you for the 5 star review Donald.

Report
PH
PerlaH
Phoenix
6 reviews
Dined on July 31, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food was delicious and came out fast. Our waitress was fantastic. Can’t wait to come back.

Kona Grill - Scottsdale
Responded on August 21, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we did! We look forward to your next visit!

Report
MO
vipMichaelO
Phoenix
21 reviews
Dined on July 30, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Fantastic service from Brody

Kona Grill - Scottsdale
Responded on August 1, 2021

Thank you so much for the 5 star review Michael.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on July 30, 2021
Overall3food3service5ambience3

Jessee our server made the experience great

Kona Grill - Scottsdale
Responded on August 2, 2021

Happy to here Jesse took good care of you.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
San Diego
1 review
Dined on July 29, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing food and service. Sabrina was so nice and helpful!

Kona Grill - Scottsdale
Responded on July 31, 2021

Thank you so much for the 5 star review!

Report
K
vipKennedya
Raleigh
15 reviews
Dined on July 26, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Late night happy hour was the best !!!! Great service and great food fast service

Kona Grill - Scottsdale
Responded on July 31, 2021

Thank you so much for the 5 star review!

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Las Vegas
3 reviews
Dined on July 25, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Family Vacatiom it was amazing

Kona Grill - Scottsdale
Responded on July 27, 2021

Thank you so much for the 5 star review!

Report
TM
TylerM
1 review
Dined on July 23, 2021
Overall1food2service1ambience2

Worst service I've ever had outbto dinner. Terrible evening.

Kona Grill - Scottsdale
Responded on July 26, 2021

We are very sorry you had such a bad experience Tyler. We would like to hear more about what happen. If you have the time, please call a manager at 480-429-5431. Thank you.

Report
S
Skyler
Phoenix
2 reviews
Dined on July 21, 2021
Overall3food3service2ambience3

I normally enjoy Kona, but recently it has not lived up to it's standards. Service was slow and the food did not live up to the value that it normally has.

Kona Grill - Scottsdale
Responded on July 27, 2021

Thank you for taking the time for the review Skyler. We would like to hear more about your experience. If you have the time please call 480-429-5431 and ask for a manager. Thanks again.

Report

FAQs

Kona Grill - Scottsdale offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (480) 429-1100.

Kona Grill - Scottsdale is rated 4 stars by 584 OpenTable diners.

Kona Grill - Scottsdale does offer gift cards which you can purchase here https://konagrill.cashstar.com/store/recipient?locale=en-us.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.