Kona Grill - Scottsdale

3.9
558 Reviews
$30 and under
Contemporary American
Welcome to Kona Grill Scottsdale, located at Scottsdale Fashion Square in the heart of Old Town, steps away from the vibrant entertainment district and waterfront shopping. Visitors and locals can enjoy our scratch kitchen and award-winning sushi after reveling in the art and culinary festivals, and Southwestern culture. Come try our delicious, handcrafted cocktails and start your night with the best reverse happy hour in town. Enjoy a diverse menu featuring a wide variety of contemporary American dishes, as well as a variety of entrées and appetizers with a global flair. Specialties include Miso-saké Sea Bass in a delectable marinade, filets, almond-crusted Pork-Tenderloin, and our signature Macadamia Nut Chicken. The restaurant’s contemporary ambience, with its beautiful aquarium and outdoor patio, provides the perfect venue for special occasions like bridal showers, baby showers, birthday celebrations, business meetings, date night, or just any occasion really.

Support Kona Grill - Scottsdale during COVID-19

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Contactless payment available
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
What 558 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.9based on recent ratings
4.0
food
3.9
service
3.8
ambience
3.7
value
Noise · Moderate
63% of people would recommend it to a friend
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
MO
vipMichaelO
Phoenix
14 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Fantastic service from Brody

Kona Grill - Scottsdale
Responded 3 days ago

Thank you so much for the 5 star review Michael.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall3food3service5ambience3

Jessee our server made the experience great

Kona Grill - Scottsdale
Responded 3 days ago

Happy to here Jesse took good care of you.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
San Diego
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing food and service. Sabrina was so nice and helpful!

Kona Grill - Scottsdale
Responded 4 days ago

Thank you so much for the 5 star review!

Report
K
vipKennedya
Raleigh
13 reviews
Dined on July 26, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Late night happy hour was the best !!!! Great service and great food fast service

Kona Grill - Scottsdale
Responded 4 days ago

Thank you so much for the 5 star review!

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Las Vegas
1 review
Dined on July 25, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Family Vacatiom it was amazing

Kona Grill - Scottsdale
Responded on July 27, 2021

Thank you so much for the 5 star review!

Report
TM
TylerM
1 review
Dined on July 23, 2021
Overall1food2service1ambience2

Worst service I've ever had outbto dinner. Terrible evening.

Kona Grill - Scottsdale
Responded on July 26, 2021

We are very sorry you had such a bad experience Tyler. We would like to hear more about what happen. If you have the time, please call a manager at 480-429-5431. Thank you.

Report
S
Skyler
Phoenix
2 reviews
Dined on July 21, 2021
Overall3food3service2ambience3

I normally enjoy Kona, but recently it has not lived up to it's standards. Service was slow and the food did not live up to the value that it normally has.

Kona Grill - Scottsdale
Responded on July 27, 2021

Thank you for taking the time for the review Skyler. We would like to hear more about your experience. If you have the time please call 480-429-5431 and ask for a manager. Thanks again.

Report
MA
MissAM
1 review
Dined on July 19, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We sat inside and the staff was just amazing. Best Kona Grill in the valley

Kona Grill - Scottsdale
Responded on July 21, 2021

Thank you so much for the 5 star review!

Report
AP
AlexandraP
1 review
Dined on July 17, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Our server was Zander. He was awesome and had great knowledge of the menu. I showed him a picture of what I wanted and he knew exactly what I wanted. He was AWESOME!!!

Kona Grill - Scottsdale
Responded on July 19, 2021

Thank you so much for the 5 star review! So glad to hear that Zander did such a good job.

Report
CL
CarrieL
Los Angeles
4 reviews
Dined on July 4, 2021
Overall3food2service4ambience5

Macadamian chicken dish wasn’t so good. Only ate a bite. Fried rice was ok.

Kona Grill - Scottsdale
Responded on July 6, 2021

We are sorry for you experience. Please give us a call at 480-429-5431 so we can try and fix our mistakes.

Report
LM
LaMont
Phoenix
1 review
Dined on July 4, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience5

Food was very good but not great. Nothing picture quality but very tasty and very filling. Fair price. Music and lighting was a plus but would not go back just for the food.

Kona Grill - Scottsdale
Responded on July 8, 2021

We appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention and we sincerely apologize to hear that your dining experience was not up to our usual acclaim. Please give us a call at 480-429-5431 so we can follow up on your experience and we hope you would give us the opportunity to make it right.

Report
NK
NancyK
1 review
Dined on July 3, 2021
Overall2food3service3ambience1

I have not been to this location in some time. I was fairly certain the ambiance would still be warm and inviting for engaging conversations at dinner even if the look had been updated. I don't know when the remodel happened but in my opinion it was horrible. If I wanted to go to an old town Club I would have gone to one. I wouldn't want to have a special occasion dinner in one! The music was way too loud for a dinner setting, the club type blue lights were annoying and affected every photo I took. We had good service and we all enjoyed our food orders but the "ambiance" if you dare call it that, was a HUGE disappointment.

Kona Grill - Scottsdale
Responded on July 6, 2021

We are sorry we fell short this time, please call us at 480-429-5431 so we can try and make your experience better. We look forward to hearing from you.

Report
s
vipsherw
Chicago
30 reviews
Dined on June 28, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Our server was great, as was the food. Wish you were closer to Peoria.

VP
VickiP
Phoenix
1 review
Dined on June 27, 2021
Overall3food4service2ambience4

WE WERE CELEBRATING A BIRTHDAY AND ASKED THE SERVER TO SPLIT MARTHA'S CHECK BETWEEN OUR TWO CHECKS. WE HAVE DONE THIS BEFORE AT MANY RESTAURANTS, INCLUDING KONA GRILL. OUR SERVER INSISTED THIS COULD NOT BE DONE EVEN THOUGH WE HAD 3 CHECKS. ONE EACH FOR MARY AND I AND MARTHA'S WHICH WE WANTED TO SPLIT. CATHERINE (SERVER?) WENT INTO THI LONG EXPLANATION OF WHY SHE COULD NOT ACCOMMODATE OUR REQUEST AND HER EXPLANATION WAS VERY CONFUSING. WE THOUGHT WE WERE FINALLY ON THE SAME PAGE WHEN SHE CAME BACK WITH OUR 3 BILLS SPLIT IN IXACTLY IN HALF. SO MARY WAS NOW PAYING FOR HALF OF MY WINE AND HALF OF MY MUCH MORE EXPENSIVE ENTREE. IT TOOK AT LEAST 10 MINUTES, HAND WRITTEN NOTES AND COMPUTATIONS TO FINALLY RESOLVE WHO OWED WHAT AND IT DEFINATELY PUT A DAMPNER ON A BIRTHDAY CELEBRATION. MARY WAS SO FRUSTRATED SHE NEVER WANTS TO RETURN. EVENING ENDED ON A DOWNER.M

Kona Grill - Scottsdale
Responded on June 30, 2021

We are so sorry we failed you. Although we try to make every experience exceptional sometimes we fall short. Please contact us at so we can try and make this right. Every customer is valuable to us and this includes you. Looking forward to hearing from you. 480-459-5431

Report
CB
CarolB
New York Area
1 review
Dined on June 27, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Wonderful food, wonderful service. Wonderful ambiance
We will be back soon
The portions are huge, well worth the money

Kona Grill - Scottsdale
Responded on June 30, 2021

Thank you so much for the five star review! Looking forward to seeing you back soon.

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Chicago
1 review
Dined on June 25, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience1

The food was cold and my husbands steak was over cooked. It was as if the food had been sitting in the kitchen for a long period of time before they brought it to us.

Kona Grill - Scottsdale
Responded on July 8, 2021

We appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention and we sincerely apologize to hear that your dining experience was not up to our usual acclaim. We take pride on our attention to detail and it was unusual to hear that your steaks did not match our expectations.Please give us a call at 480-429-5431 so we can follow up on your experience and we hope you would give us the opportunity to make it right.

Report
CA
CAP001
Denver
37 reviews
Dined on June 25, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience4

There was no wait time with reservation and the wait staff was awesome. Have been to the Kona in CO, and sort of like the ambiance there a bit more; but overall great food, service, and location. Thank you!!

Kona Grill - Scottsdale
Responded on June 28, 2021

Thank you so much for the 5 star review!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Philadelphia
1 review
Dined on June 24, 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Great server and meal

Kona Grill - Scottsdale
Responded on June 28, 2021

Thank you so much for your 5 star review! Looking forward to seeing you back again.

Report
D
Davib
Chicago
14 reviews
Dined on June 21, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Visited with out of town friends. Restaurant wasn’t too busy and I appreciated our server letting just relax and talk.

Kona Grill - Scottsdale
Responded on June 22, 2021

Thank you so much for your 5 star review!

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Phoenix
1 review
Dined on June 20, 2021
Overall1food2service2ambience3

Food brought out a different times. Orders not as ordered such as a French dip with only meat and bread showed up with everything on it. Kids bento box showed up before appetizers. Appetizers showed up 10 minutes apart. French fries added to dinner order when appetizer was delivered showed up after everyone was done even after asking about it. Kids bento box showed up with wrong sides. What could go wrong did go wrong sadly for this restaurant.

Kona Grill - Scottsdale
Responded on June 21, 2021

I'm so sorry about this. We would love to correct these issues and show you the Kona Way of service! Please call us at 480-429-5431 so we can make it right.

Report
MS
MSheps
Phoenix
2 reviews
Dined on June 20, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience4

The prices have skyrocketed here. We ordered 2 poki bowls, a flatbread pizza, and an appetizer 3 piece sliders with soggy fries. One iced tea & 3 waters. It was $100.00!

Kona Grill - Scottsdale
Responded on June 21, 2021

Thank you for the 4 star review. We do still offer Happy hour during the week and most of these items are offered! Hopefully we will see you again soon!

Report
MH
MHAN
1 review
Dined on June 20, 2021
Overall1food1service2ambience1

They couldn’t seat us at our reservation because they said they needed 2 hours notice. Restaurant was empty too. Drinks took forever and food was not made to our request. Restroom was dirty and had no soap. Always nice to see staff walking out of a bathroom knowing they couldn’t wash their hands. Just not well managed.

Kona Grill - Scottsdale
Responded on June 21, 2021

I'm so sorry about this. We would love to correct these issues and show you the Kona Way of service! Please call us at 480-429-5431 so we can make it right.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on June 20, 2021
Overall2food3service1ambience2

Server messed up several orders at our table. Service slow, drinks slow. Would not go back

Kona Grill - Scottsdale
Responded on June 21, 2021

I'm so sorry about your experience. We would love to hear more about your service so that we can correct the issues in the future. Please call 480-429-5431 and ask for a manager. Thank you

Report
w
vipwendyc
Phoenix
37 reviews
Dined on June 20, 2021
Overall3food3service3ambience2

Our server in training was wonderful and customer service oriented. While we had a reservation the table wasn't ready for 10 minutes and it took 30 more to put the order in....don't want to fault the server if they are short on staff. Checkerboard and Rainbow roll was tasty.

Kona Grill - Scottsdale
Responded on June 25, 2021

Thank you for taking the time for the review Wendy. We do strive to do our best and appreciate the input on how we can improve going forward.

Report
EK
EricK
Phoenix
1 review
Dined on June 20, 2021
Overall2food1service2ambience1

We went for Fathers Day Brunch and it was not good. The service was slow and almost non existent even though the restaurant was not busy. The food was not anything to be desired. The best part of my meal was the kids bento boxes and the picasso roll, but those are old classics. Everything was just blah. The lighting was weird, made it feel like a warehouse. The fish tank was super cloudy and gross looking. The server was barely attentive. A manager walked around and was asking something, I assume if everything was alright, but I couldn't hear what he was saying and he didn't stick around long enough for me to find out. The avocado lobster toast had no flavor and was just okay. Nothing special about this visit at all. Oh, and the restrooms were disgusting! We got there at 11 am and the restrooms looked as if they had not been cleaned from the night before. They had tp all over the floor, one of the stalls was clogged and the smell was just awful. My wife told me only today that she was super disappointed, because she didn't want to ruin Father's Day for me and that was after I expressed my disappointment. We have been to this particular restaurant a million times and have had an occasional miserable experience and this particular meal was one of them. They can do better and usually do, but their brunch menu needs major work. I would say, stick to their regular menu and eat on the upstairs patio.

Kona Grill - Scottsdale
Responded on June 22, 2021

Eric, I am very sorry to hear about your experience. We love like to make things right! Please give us a call at 480-429-5431 and ask to speak to Meaghan or Crystal.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on June 19, 2021
Overall2food3service1ambience2

Service sucked

Kona Grill - Scottsdale
Responded on June 20, 2021

I'm so sorry to hear this. If you could give us a call at 480-429-5431 we would love to see if we can fix this experience.

Report
BM
BMSemple
New York Area
8 reviews
Dined on June 19, 2021
Overall1food3service1ambience1

This was the worst dining experience I've ever had.
We were a party of eleven and were seated at on long table that was six deuces pushed together. It was nice of them to accommodate us. But the food and trash on the floor was a turn off.
Half of our drinks were served. Appetizer course arrived - incorrectly. The order was wrong. "can we please get the lemonade for the kids?" "You didn't get them?" "My mom ordered a gin & tonic thirty minutes ago, and she's still waiting for her drink." "You never got it?"
It took 45 minutes to get entrees. Some were wrong completely, and some were just made with the ingredients that we'd requested be left out.
My entrée - which I asked to be made with no cucumber - came WITH cucumber. The food runner apologized and took it back to be remade.
When my guests had finished their dinners I asked the waiter (who we seldom saw) where my entrée was. "Well I have to go upstairs to get it" - he snapped.
The manager brought the entrée, set it down and said "Sorry for the wait". And he left.
The bill was paid and was substantially higher than it ought to have been. So we asked for an itemized receipt.
Then another APPETIZER was brought to the table. What?
There were items on the bill that we didn't order.
The whole experience was unfortunate. And we won't be going back.
It ought to be noted that at NO point during the evening did anyone come to the table and ask us how things were.

Kona Grill - Scottsdale
Responded on June 21, 2021

I'm am so sorry for your experience. This is most definitely not the Kona way of service. We would like the chance to make this up to you. Please give us a call at 480-429-5431!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Phoenix
1 review
Dined on June 17, 2021
Overall1food3service2ambience1

Really slow service but seemed to be under staffed.

Kona Grill - Scottsdale
Responded on June 19, 2021

I'm am so sorry to hear about your experience. Please give us a call at 480-429-5431 so we can make it right.

Report
PG
vipPamG
Phoenix
68 reviews
Dined on June 15, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience4

Hadn't been to Kona in quite a while. I really enjoyed the food and our server Victor was outstanding.

Kona Grill - Scottsdale
Responded on June 16, 2021

Thank you for the wonderful review! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report
v
vipvalleyrests
Phoenix
19 reviews
Dined on June 13, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience3

Staffing issues and less cleanliness standards than last visit. Orders not right. Exec chef was pleasant and tried to make it right which was much appreciated! Lack of management here, need to walk around and manage and not sit in office or leave when busy and things not running well?

Kona Grill - Scottsdale
Responded on June 15, 2021

We are glad to hear that the Chef was able to make your experience better. We appreciate your review and are working on the issues. Thank you for your understanding and for your business. We hope to do better on your next visit.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Tucson
3 reviews
Dined on June 12, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience4

The food and service was great! Loved being able to eat high quality French fries and sushi in the same restaurant! We will be back!

Kona Grill - Scottsdale
Responded on June 14, 2021

Thank you for your 5 star review! we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report
CG
CharlesG
New York Area
4 reviews
Dined on June 12, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food was outstanding and service was good. The restaurant wasn’t overcrowded for a Saturday night and the noise level wasn’t too high. Always a solid choice for dinner.

Kona Grill - Scottsdale
Responded on June 14, 2021

Thank you so much for the great review! We're so glad you enjoyed the food and service so much! We look forward to seeing you again!

Report
g
goodfood
Minneapolis
3 reviews
Dined on June 8, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Drake our waiter was very flexible and accommodated our need to add people to the reservation. Friendly.

Food was properly served and very tasty. Would reorder what we ordered.

J
vipJohn
Phoenix
1 review
Dined on June 6, 2021
Overall1food2service2ambience3

So the sushi wasn’t terrible. Had there not been so many mistakes and delays, the meal could’ve been fair to average. It was relatively expensive and I just don’t see how they can compete in the Scottsdale restaurant market.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Phoenix
2 reviews
Dined on June 5, 2021
Overall2food2service1ambience3

Arrived on time as we made a reservation. They said it would be 15-20 min because they are in the middle of a shift change. Within 5 minutes other people arrived and were seated before us. When asking why we haven’t been seated when we had a reservation and the other people didn’t, the lady was rude and said... “I told you to wait!” The our waiter barely checked on us. Had to ask 3 times for our water to be filled and for ketchup. To top it off there was a hair in my salad!!! This place has gone down hill... terrible service, rude hostesses and hair in food! Will not be back!

Kona Grill - Scottsdale
Responded on June 7, 2021

This is upsetting to hear and this is not the standard we operate at. I would like to know more about your experience so we can identify the server and hostess who helped you so we can coach and develop accordingly. Please reach out to a manager at 480.429.5431

Report
NF
NairdaFoodie
New Mexico
1 review
Dined on June 4, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food was great! The order did take quite a while to come out.
The kitchen team brought the food out and apologized for the delay. He had mentioned that a manager would be by to talk about the delay and offer a comp on the meal. That did not happen, but the food was tremendous.
Definitely will give this place another go.

Kona Grill - Scottsdale
Responded on June 7, 2021

Thank you for your kind comments! I will find out why a manager didn't swing by. Can't wait for your next visit!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
San Francisco
1 review
Dined on June 4, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Fun time for a date night!

Kona Grill - Scottsdale
Responded on June 7, 2021

We have date night specials Sun-Wed! Come back and see us!

Report
FM
FoodMan
Phoenix
2 reviews
Dined on June 4, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Our server was fantastic as he took over our table as it was not his area. Great experience and lovely food

Kona Grill - Scottsdale
Responded on June 7, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we did! It is great to hear our server was able to provide a great experience for you. We look forward to your next visit!

Report
BB
BillB
Phoenix
6 reviews
Dined on May 31, 2021
Overall1food2service2ambience2

Server was inexperienced. Couldn't open a wine bottle Food highly salty. Reservation had special occasion - my wife's 70th Birthday - not even mentioned! Won't return

Kona Grill - Scottsdale
Responded on June 3, 2021

Bill, I will get with my staff and coach them accordingly ensuring they follow proper steps of service and adhere to all recipe specs. I would like the chance to make things for you. Please reach out to Crystal, the GM, at 480.429.5431

Report
PH
PortiaH
1 review
Dined on May 29, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great place! Food, service, ambience, can't beat it. I can actually say, I deserved this wonderful experience.

Kona Grill - Scottsdale
Responded on May 31, 2021

Portia, You definitely deserve to treat your self AND have a great time! We are so glad we were able to provide such a great experience for you. See you soon!

Report

FAQs

Kona Grill - Scottsdale offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (480) 429-1100.

Kona Grill - Scottsdale is rated 3.9 stars by 558 OpenTable diners.

Kona Grill - Scottsdale does offer gift cards which you can purchase here https://konagrill.cashstar.com/store/recipient?locale=en-us.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.