Kona Grill - Oakbrook

4.6
2205 Reviews
$30 and under
Contemporary American
Welcome to Kona Grill in Oak Brook Promenade, conveniently located between the Oak Brook and Yorktown Center malls. We invite you to enjoy your local paradise after work or a day of shopping. Fresh, wild caught fish is flown in daily to craft award-winning sushi, while contemporary American entrees are prepared from scratch in-house. Be sure to try out our unrivaled happy hour. And don’t leave until you’ve tried one of the handcrafted cocktails, ice cold draft beer, or a glass of wine selected from the extensive drink menu. The restaurant’s diverse menu and contemporary ambience provide the perfect venue for special occasions like bridal showers, baby showers, birthday celebrations, business meetings, date night, or just any occasion really.

Support Kona Grill - Oakbrook during COVID-19

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
  • Sealed or wrapped utensils used
Physical Distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Protective Equipment
  • Waitstaff wear masks
  • Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace

Offers

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Daily 6:00PM - 8:45PM

What 2205 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.7
service
4.5
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Moderate
97% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
OT
OpenTable Diner
Chicago
17 reviews
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Always love it! Just wish we would’ve remembered happy hour ended at 6!

Kona Grill - Oakbrook
Responded a day ago

Thank you the 5 star review!

Report
P
Patrick
Chicago
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall4food5service5ambience5

Food and service were excellent. One negative: I called the phone line and the service stated that there was a tent. Yes, there is a tent, but it is NOT open for service. The phone service should have the correct information. Outside was the enclosed patio (has been in service for the life of this Koan).

KD
vipKristiD
Chicago
29 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Felt very safe, food spacing of patrons and they took our temp before we were seated. Management even. Heck on our order and all was well. Definitely will go again.

Kona Grill - Oakbrook
Responded a day ago

We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit with us KristiD! Thank you for the detailed review and 5 star rating. See you soon!

Report
K
Kona
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Very.....................................................................enjoyable.

CT
CTscan14
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food was to die for!! so good! I would definitely come back here!

Kona Grill - Oakbrook
Responded 3 days ago

We appreciate your rave review and 5 star rating CTscan14! We're looking forward to serving you again soon.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Chicago
3 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Went for my birthday as our first visit, and it was great!!! We did have to wait a bit for our drinks, but our server mentioned there was only 2 bartenders on, and it was really crowded. All of our food was amazing, and they even gave me cake for my birthday!!! We will 100% be back!!!

Kona Grill - Oakbrook
Responded 3 days ago

Yeah! We're so happy you chose to celebrate your birthday with us and we earned 5 stars! Cheers to the first of many future visits...until next time!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Chicago
4 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall2food2service3ambience3

Steaks were requested to be medium rare but were medium well and well done. It was nice to try this place since we’ve never been but we won’t go back again.

Kona Grill - Oakbrook
Responded 4 days ago

We are so sorry we failed you. Although we try to make every experience exceptional sometimes we fall short. Please contact us at 630.515.8395, so we can try and make this right. Every customer is valuable to us and this includes you. Looking forward to hearing from you. Eric Marquardt, GM - Kona Grill Oak Brook.

Report
J
Johanna
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food and service was great. I highly recommend it.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Chicago
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Wedding anniversary

Kona Grill - Oakbrook
Responded 2 days ago

We're happy you chose to celebrate your wedding anniversary with us! And thank you for the 5 star rating! Cheers to many more years.

Report
DS
DanielS
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Good time, good food, love that they have the Kona beers available - somewhere I will definitely visit again

Kona Grill - Oakbrook
Responded 3 days ago

Thank you for the great review and 5 star rating DanielS! We're looking forward to your next visit.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Chicago
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall2food3service4ambience3

There were two of us and they only gave us one menu. I’ll never go back if I don’t get it on my own menu next time. I don’t want to have to look on my phone at the menu - it’s too small.
Also I had to ask for sugar for my coffee more than once. Initially they would only spare three packets & that wasn’t enough for strong coffee and by the time I got more it was no longer hot. It was very dark in there. I realize there are new rules due to Covid for safety purposes but I ordered sushi and they would not leave the soy sauce dispensers so I had to repeatedly ask for more soy sauce so I could eat my sushi. They need to wash the dispenser after each use because to have to ask for more soy sauce was ridiculous. I thought it would be nice to go out for the first time but it was not a good experience.

Kona Grill - Oakbrook
Responded 4 days ago

We are sorry you did not enjoy your experience at Kona Grill. If willing, please reach out to us at 630.515.8395, so we can have a conversation and come to a resolution. We value all of our guests and would like the opportunity to serve you again.

Report
PP
vipPolishPrincess
Chicago
12 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food and service!

Kona Grill - Oakbrook
Responded 5 days ago

Thank you for the kind words and 5 star rating PolishPrincess!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Chicago
2 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food and great service. I’ll be back soon.

Kona Grill - Oakbrook
Responded 5 days ago

We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit with Kona Grill - Oak Brook! Thank you for the 5 stars and we're looking forward to your next visit.

Report
k
kimj118
Chicago
4 reviews
Dined on February 18, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Love Kona! Food is great! One of my go to places!

Kona Grill - Oakbrook
Responded 5 days ago

We love that we're in your regular rotation kimj118! We appreciate your business and the 5 star rating!

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Philadelphia
4 reviews
Dined on February 16, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I love the food have been going to Kona Grill for the past 7 years always a good experience.

Kona Grill - Oakbrook
Responded 5 days ago

Thank you for the kind words and 5 star rating!

Report
K
vipKathryn
Chicago
103 reviews
Dined on February 15, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food was delicious and the server was excellent!

Kona Grill - Oakbrook
Responded on February 18, 2021

Hello Kathryn, Thank you for the Five Star Review! We hope to see you back soon!

Report
KM
vipKMurphy
Chicago
13 reviews
Dined on February 15, 2021
Overall5food3service5ambience4

Day after Valentines Day and they were out of a lot of items.
We love Lona though and gave it a oass. We will be back again and again!

Kona Grill - Oakbrook
Responded on February 18, 2021

Hello KMurphy, We are truly sorry that we were out of a few items and are extremely happy that you will be coming back!

Report
Y
Yajaira
1 review
Dined on February 14, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience4

Amazing food and service! I would definitely recommend!

Kona Grill - Oakbrook
Responded on February 18, 2021

Yajaira, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at Kona Grill - Oak Brook! We hope to see you soon!

Report
m
maria
Chicago
5 reviews
Dined on February 14, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food & drinks were amazing!!! I would come here again and recommend this for everyone! The customer service was wonderful! Thank you so much for making our valentine day beautiful!❤

Kona Grill - Oakbrook
Responded on February 18, 2021

Maria, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at Kona Grill - Oak Brook! We hope to be of service to you again in the future. Best wishes, Kona Grill - Oak Brook

Report
AM
AngelaM
1 review
Dined on February 14, 2021
Overall1food1service5ambience3

I had a 7pm February 14 2021 the waiter was Great. The food was bad I ask for medium steak and it was well done I came there especially for the Surf and Turf they ran out of lobster also ran out of potatoes so we order Long island drink they had no alcohol in them proceed to order the fried rice waiting another 30 minutes to be told they must have taken it to the wrong Table what a joke I thought it was April Fool's instead of Valentines Day .I think me and my husband deserve a free meal because we went to be hungry because everything was close when we left

Kona Grill - Oakbrook
Responded on February 18, 2021

Angelam, it's upsetting to hear that you did not receive the top-notch service we strive to provide. We would like to work towards a resolution, so if you are willing, please reach out to us at (630) 515-8395 to discuss this further.

Report
K
Kenny
1 review
Dined on February 14, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Music was awesome. Food amazing. Service outstanding. Definitely will be returning.

Kona Grill - Oakbrook
Responded on February 18, 2021

Hi Kenny, we are very happy to have provided you with such a positive experience! We hope to see you soon!

Report
KP
KPossible
1 review
Dined on February 14, 2021
Overall3food3service5ambience5

My husband and I ate here for the first time on Valentines Day. The service was great and they had a DJ playing that was a lot of fun. Our only complaint is that they had a limited menu for Valentine’s Day, and a fair portion of the items had lobster (surf n turf, lobster potstickers, filet with lobster butter, etc). Our reservation was at 6:00 pm and they had already run out of lobster, which was kind of a bummer since that’s what we were looking forward to. Overall, the food was pretty disappointing for what it cost to dine there. I wouldn’t recommend for a special occasion.

Kona Grill - Oakbrook
Responded on February 18, 2021

Kpossible, we're disappointed to hear of the negative experience you had at our location. Please don't hesitate to reach out to us if there's anything more we can do!

Report
MM
MiMi
Chicago
16 reviews
Dined on February 14, 2021
Overall2food3service3ambience1

Because it was Valentines Day and I suspected tables would be at a premium, I booked far in advance. Upon arrival they informed me they could not accommodate my reservation request not to be seated in the middle of the room. They walked us to our table for 2 surrounded by a full restaurant of people. I don't know what their building capacity might be, but it appeared to me they had to be at fully allowed numbers pre-pandemic. Tables were close to each other (management said that was not an issue, as booths had glass partitions between them....but....we were not seated in a booth!!) As we dined wait staff and the general public kept walking by our table on their way through the room. Kitchen staff had masks worn carelessly around their necks rather than over their nose and mouth. We dine out about once per week. We have found restaurants in general to be very considerate to make customers feel safe and welcome. This was the very first time I felt uncomfortable dining out. Most restaurants sanitize between patrons. I watched as servers cleared tables, then served other tables immediately after without regard to washing hands. I was super excited about booking this reservation, as we have visited other Kona Grill locations that were clean and well managed. This location, however will not see my business in the future. Very disappointing. Food was "ok" but not at all up to our expectations.

Kona Grill - Oakbrook
Responded on February 18, 2021

Mimi, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We regret that you had a negative experience, and will use this as an opportunity to improve. We appreciate you bringing this experience to our attention. If you are willing, please contact us at (630) 515-8395 so we can work towards a resolution. We look forward to hearing from you.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Chicago
1 review
Dined on February 14, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Jovana the server was excellent, the manager was very informative on gluten-free and vegan choice, the food was outstanding too. Will be back!!

Kona Grill - Oakbrook
Responded on February 18, 2021

Thank you for sharing the details of your visit and the 5 star review. Jovana will be pleased with the compliment!

Report
CB
vipChicagoBest
Chicago
75 reviews
Dined on February 14, 2021
Overall4food3service5ambience4

1st time and for sure be returning! Service was very good and much appreciated!! Adian gave us the best time n experience! The potstickers were great and edamame with angry sauce was perfect! Our sake sangrias were awesome ! The sushi rolls were okay but pad Thai and salmon dish was out of this world! Good flavors, fresh ingredients!! Gotta come back and try things but maybe not sushi rolls.

Kona Grill - Oakbrook
Responded on February 15, 2021

We're so pleased you chose to celebrate Valentine's Day and enjoyed your first experience with us. Aidan will definitely appreciate the shout out. We look forward to your next visit!

Report
d
dcmomf
Chicago
3 reviews
Dined on February 14, 2021
Overall2food4service4ambience4

It was very disappointing to book a reservation for brunch on valentine's day and learn that the Oak Brook location did not serve brunch and also had a very limited menu for the weekend. We had the lobster pot stickers and a drink and then went to a different restaurant.

Kona Grill - Oakbrook
Responded on February 17, 2021

Hi Dcmomf, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We are disappointed to hear that you are not satisfied with your visit. Brunch is a menu that is run by a few stores not in our market (yet). Keep a look out in the future, though!

Report
D
Drew
Chicago
1 review
Dined on February 13, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience3

Everything was good, however, your music was a little too loud and was somewhat distracting. It was an unusual string of dance mix songs...something more appropriate for a club or disco than a restaurant.

Kona Grill - Oakbrook
Responded on February 17, 2021

Hello Drew, we appreciate you taking the time to leave us this feedback. We try to bring a bit of energy into our weekend shifts, and apologize if the music wasn't to your liking.

Report
AF
vipAaronF
Chicago
25 reviews
Dined on February 13, 2021
Overall3food3service5ambience4

I had dined at other locations in the past and I know it was valentines weekend, but wow it was sort of disappointing. I had hyped it up to my wife and for the most part it was good. The appetizer was really good, but when the food came the sides were both cold and it was served on this like wooden type of late with no grooves and stuff is leaking onto the table. The music was playing so loud people started to talk louder so really made it loud that evening. Might have just been cause things were busy but it was sort of a disappointment

Kona Grill - Oakbrook
Responded on February 17, 2021

Hi Aaronf, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We are disappointed to hear that you are not 100% satisfied with your visit. On high-volume nights, we should still be executing to your expectations. If you ever need anything else from us, please feel free to give us a call or stop by. Have an awesome day!

Report
LE
LisaE
Chicago
4 reviews
Dined on February 13, 2021
Overall4food5service5ambience5

The food, service and ambiance were excellent. My only issue was with our bar order. Drinks were ok but not great.

Kona Grill - Oakbrook
Responded on February 17, 2021

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We look forward to your next visit! Take care!

Report
E
Ebstand
Chicago
5 reviews
Dined on February 12, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Went with girlfriends for my birthday. We really enjoyed the atmosphere. There was a DJ which helped liven the experience. The drinks were good, service excellent .We shared apps, salad, and sushi which was all pretty good. Would go back for sure.

Kona Grill - Oakbrook
Responded on February 15, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your visit. We appreciate the 5 star review and hope you'll join us again soon Ebstand!

Report
T
vipThanks
Chicago
83 reviews
Dined on February 7, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

So fun! Megan was great as always, even shared some of her own secret favourites! It was super bowl night & during half time they gave complimentary margaritas - which was a great touch. Thanks team!

Kona Grill - Oakbrook
Responded on February 8, 2021

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day! We hope to be of service to you again in the future. Best wishes, Kona Grill - Oak Brook

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Des Moines
1 review
Dined on February 6, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food and great atmosphere.

Kona Grill - Oakbrook
Responded on February 9, 2021

Thank you for the kind words and 5 star rating! We look forward to your next visit.

Report
AI
AmInLove
Chicago
10 reviews
Dined on February 5, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I thoroughly enjoyed this dining experience and can’t wait to return.

Kona Grill - Oakbrook
Responded on February 8, 2021

Thank you for the 5 star rating! We're so pleased you enjoyed your experience with us, and we look forward to seeing you soon!

Report
t
tnorton
Chicago
1 review
Dined on February 3, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience3

Our server Juan was AMAZING! Food was delicious. We had to dine in the tent due to our party size and COVID which is only reason low score on atmosphere. Others would also have been higher, but service was the best part of the night this time and needed to stand out!!

Kona Grill - Oakbrook
Responded on February 7, 2021

Thank you for the 5 star rating and sharing the details of your experience. Juan will be grinning ear to ear when he reads this! Our dining room is open again for groups of 10 or less, so we hope you'll join us again soon...INSIDE!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Chicago
4 reviews
Dined on February 1, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Becky our waitress was attentive and very aware of our needs! Management was also very involved and helpful I thoroughly enjoyed my experience!

Kona Grill - Oakbrook
Responded on February 4, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to include remarks along with your 5 star rating. We're all one team when it comes to guest service, and I'm happy that showed and elevated your experience with us. Please visit us again, soon!

Report
K
vipKathryn
Chicago
103 reviews
Dined on February 1, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

It was an excellent meal at happy hour with great service! In other words, a typical perfect Kona evening!

Kona Grill - Oakbrook
Responded on February 4, 2021

We're blushing!!! Thank you so much for your continued support, kind words, and 5 star rating Kathryn!

Report
TA
TAG1
Chicago
12 reviews
Dined on February 1, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Did great with following Covid precautions
Service was excellent and food was great

Kona Grill - Oakbrook
Responded on February 4, 2021

We really are trying our best to keep our guests and team safe, and it's amazing to hear you appreciate our efforts TAG1! Thank you for sharing your thoughts and for the 5 star rating.

Report
MP
vipMichaelP
Chicago
226 reviews
Dined on January 31, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great specials - sushi poke sliders- thanks for great service

Kona Grill - Oakbrook
Responded on February 3, 2021

Thank you for the kind words and 5 star rating MichaelP!

Report
E
Edith
Chicago
1 review
Dined on January 31, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

good food, good service, environment not too noisy able to hear each other without shouting.

Kona Grill - Oakbrook
Responded on February 3, 2021

Thank you for sharing the details of your visit and for the 5 star rating Edith!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Chicago
5 reviews
Dined on January 30, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

My husband and I had a great evening out. The food was excellent as always. Our server was wonderful. We both felt very safe being able to eat indoors and happy to do so. We will definitely be back!!

Kona Grill - Oakbrook
Responded on February 1, 2021

Thank you for the 5 star rating and your continued support. It's good to be back inside, serving our guests safely in a limited capacity.

Report

FAQs

Kona Grill - Oakbrook is rated 4.6 stars by 2205 OpenTable diners.

Kona Grill - Oakbrook does offer gift cards which you can purchase here https://konagrill.cashstar.com/store/recipient?locale=en-us.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.