Kona Grill - Gilbert

4.3
855 Reviews
$30 and under
Contemporary American
Welcome to Kona Grill Gilbert in SanTan Village. Enjoy your local paradise after a day of shopping or before catching your next movie. Fresh, wild caught fish is flown in daily to craft award-winning sushi, while contemporary American entrees are prepared from scratch in-house. Happy hour on the shaded patio is a must. And don’t leave until you’ve tried one of the handcrafted cocktails, ice cold draft beer, or a glass of wine selected from the extensive drink menu. The restaurant’s diverse menu and contemporary ambience provide the perfect venue for special occasions like bridal showers, baby showers, birthday celebrations, business meetings, date night, or just any occasion really.

Support Kona Grill - Gilbert during COVID-19

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Contactless payment available
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace

Offers

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Sun 10:00AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 2:45PM 7:00PM - 10:00PM
Mon - Thu 6:00PM - 8:45PM
Fri 12:00AM - 12:00AM 8:00PM - 11:45PM
Sat 12:00AM - 12:00AM 10:00AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 2:45PM 8:00PM - 11:45PM

What 855 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.2
service
4.1
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
OT
OpenTable Diner
Phoenix
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Good as always

Kona Grill - Gilbert
Responded 8 hours ago

Thank you for your 5 star review! See you soon!

Report
AC
AcencionC
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food1service1ambience5

Went from buckeye Arizona to eat at Kona grill because of high star ratings we waited 50 minutes for our food and my wife’s dish my fries and daughters were cold we also asked for noodles with shrimp hardly any shrimp in my daughters noodles food was not worth $120.00 dollar price tag don’t have any plans of returning food was terrible. I should have made better food choice for my anniversary.

Kona Grill - Gilbert
Responded 8 hours ago

Good Evening AcencionC. We are so sorry we failed you. Although we try to make every experience exceptional sometimes we fall short. Please contact us at so we can try and make this right. Every customer is valuable to us and this includes you. Looking forward to hearing from you. Thanks for your time. Kona Grill #120 Gilbert (480) 289-4500

Report
SG
SoniaG
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food, & service the sushi was fresh, glazed chili salmon was so yummy. Great wine, keep the Sonoma Couture in stock!

Kona Grill - Gilbert
Responded 8 hours ago

We take pride in the food and drinks we serve, and we are glad to hear that you got to experience what we are acclaimed for. Your experience is what makes it all count and we are thankful to hear that we are living up to our expectations! We look forward to enjoying your company, again, soon!

Report
a
amanda
Philadelphia
7 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Overall food and drinks were good. We did happy hour which was decently priced except for some drinks. We would do happy hour again but not eat off the actual menu since it's a little pricey.

Kona Grill - Gilbert
Responded 8 hours ago

The entire team here at Kona would like to thank you for your Review! We take pride in providing the best possible experience. Your positive review means a great deal to us. We hope to see you again soon!

Report
G
Grandma29
Phoenix
18 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Our server was outstanding. The food, as always was excellent. Was a great experience for our get together.

Kona Grill - Gilbert
Responded 8 hours ago

Thank you for the positive review! We are so glad you had a great experience! Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Phoenix
1 review
Dined on September 14, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food, service and quiet environment.

Kona Grill - Gilbert
Responded 5 days ago

Thank you for your 5 star review! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Anchorage
11 reviews
Dined on September 11, 2021
Overall1food5service1ambience3

We had a reservation and checked in, but they kept seating people from a waitlist first. Why make a reservation?? We

Kona Grill - Gilbert
Responded on September 12, 2021

We are sorry for the mishap with your reservation and not getting you seated sooner. We appreciate your feedback and will continue to work with our hosts so this doesn't happen again. It would be great if we could hear more about your experience in detail. Please reach out to us at 480-613-7362 and ask for me. I hope we get the opportunity to hear from you and make your next visit with us stellar. Cheers, Sarah, General Manager

Report
PS
PaulS
Phoenix
1 review
Dined on September 11, 2021
Overall5food2service5ambience4

The meals are always good here but they actually forgot to put the broccoli on my citrus chicken plate but the waitress brought it out to me about 10 minutes later

Kona Grill - Gilbert
Responded 5 days ago

Thank you for your review PaulS. We apologize for the mishap with your meal and hope we can make it up to you in the near future. We take our guests' feedback seriously and appreciate your commentary, so we can continue to provide better food and service to our guests.

Report
QC
QCSeniors
1 review
Dined on September 11, 2021
Overall3food4service2ambience4

Table was ready when we arrived. Waitress was very pleasant and accommodating, but didn’t come through with requests (e.g., an extra bowl, broccoli a instead of green beans, mild instead of spicy sauce) and inattentive between food drops (e.g. drink refills, napkin/silverware setups). Food was tasty but the brussel sprouts were too tough to chew. We were there for more than two hours because the service was so slow (it would have been longer had we not given the waitress our credit card when we ordered dessert). Bring a pashmina or jacket (it was cold) and be prepared to yell across the table if you want to carry on a conversation (it was loud). The staff we very pleasant while at the table ~ maybe they just needed more help on the floor or in the kitchen that night. Other than the brussel sprouts, the food (sushi, salads, fish, rib eye steaks, Thai noodles, shrimp, lettuce wraps, drinks, and especially carrot cake) was yummy.

Kona Grill - Gilbert
Responded 5 days ago

Dear QCSeniors, We appreciate your feedback and will definitely take it into consideration in order to improve on our food and service standards. We apologize that we fell short on your visit and we hope that there is another opportunity in the near future to offer you a better experience. Please feel free to contact us at 480-613-7362 so we can hear more in detail. Thank you for your feedback. Best, Sarah, General Manager

Report
KL
KarenL
San Diego
8 reviews
Dined on September 11, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

The wait time was really short so that was a nice surprise on a Saturday afternoon.
The food was good for some in our group, but not so for others. My lemon chicken penne has some chunks of chicken that were either very fatty or undercooked; another individual in our group also had some of their cilantro chicken pieces not fully cooked. Perhaps the cook was in a bit of a hurry. The server was very nice and friendly, but a bit forgetful about refilling our waters during the meal. Prices seemed a bit high for the dishes we ordered. May or may not recommend Kona to friends.

Kona Grill - Gilbert
Responded 5 days ago

Hi Karen, Thank you for your review and your feedback. We always strive to provide the best in food and service for our guests and we will aim to do better for your next visit. We hope to see you on your next visit and improve on our standards. Cheers, Sarah, General Manager

Report
JL
JeanneL
Phoenix
7 reviews
Dined on September 10, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food, menu selection and service. Nicole was our server and she was awesome!

Kona Grill - Gilbert
Responded on September 12, 2021

Thank you for your 5 star review Jeanne! We are happy to hear you enjoyed our Sunday brunch. Nicole is one of our top servers and we appreciate you giving her a shout out for her efforts. We look forward to seeing you next time.

Report
VG
vipVinceG
Phoenix
1 review
Dined on September 10, 2021
Overall2food1service2ambience3

We were seated 40 minutes after our reservation time. Our server was very kind and gave us great service but our food also took 45 minutes to arrive and my ribeye was terrible. I would not come back.

Kona Grill - Gilbert
Responded on September 12, 2021

Dear Vince, We apologize for the wait on your reservation and that we fell short on meeting your expectations. We strive to provide our guests with excellent food and service, but we clearly missed the mark this time. I would like to hear more in detail, in order to improve on our standards. Please feel free to contact me at 480-613-7362. I look forward to hearing from you and hope you return for a better experience in the near future. Cheers, Sarah, General Manager

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Phoenix
1 review
Dined on September 10, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Happy hour was great

Kona Grill - Gilbert
Responded 5 days ago

Thank you for your 5 star review! Our happy hours are definitely one of the best offerings in town. We hope to see you on your next visit.

Report
F
Foodie1966
Phoenix
10 reviews
Dined on September 5, 2021
Overall4food2service5ambience5

I like kona grill but Nit for breakfast. Food was nothing special and was very expensive.

Kona Grill - Gilbert
Responded on September 8, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review us! We hope you will visit again for Happy Hour or are wonderful dinner selections!

Report
KW
KathrynW
1 review
Dined on September 4, 2021
Overall1food2service1ambience1

Made reservations we were seated promptly, but specified it was our anniversary. No one acknowledged it. We were rushed through our meal. From entering to leaving less then one hour. We ordered a appetizer, when it arrived our main course came 2 minutes later. We had a gift card and our waitress took the card and didn’t deduct the cards amount. Very loud place. Food disappointing for the price.

Kona Grill - Gilbert
Responded on September 8, 2021

We are so sorry to hear about your experience. We would love to speak with you and hopefully have you back in to experience the true Kona way. Please reach out to a Manager at 480-289-4500

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Phoenix
1 review
Dined on September 4, 2021
Overall3food4service4ambience4

Nice place, way overpriced. Will not be coming back. The sushi/tuna was chewy. Had better at a carousel style place,

Kona Grill - Gilbert
Responded on September 6, 2021

We would like to take this time to let you know that Kona Grill prepares fresh ingredients from scratch, with fish flown in daily from the Pacific Ocean. Our scratch kitchen menu consists of global cuisine with unique choices of contemporary American items, fresh sushi, larger than life deserts and handcrafted cocktails. While I cannot change the past, we do hope that you will come back and give us another try knowing now the quality and care that we put into our product. Thank you again.

Report
LY
vipLisaY
Portland
26 reviews
Dined on September 1, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Field salad was great and loved the dressing. Chicken & Shrimp lettuce wraps were excellent also and would order them again on a future visit. Highly recommend this place. Service was outstanding also.

Kona Grill - Gilbert
Responded on September 3, 2021

Hi Lisa Y, Thank you very much for your review! We strive to provide our guests with top tier food and service and are happy we met those expectations. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit. Cheers, Sarah, General Manager

Report
JP
JohnP
Phoenix
8 reviews
Dined on August 31, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience4

Service was really good I really like the menus there is something for everyone. I fill like there is many healthy choices. It’s obvious that the management team is doing a great job. Thanks Kona Grill

Kona Grill - Gilbert
Responded on September 1, 2021

Dear JohnP, Thank you for your review! We are very appreciative that you took the time to write such kind words and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit. Cheers, Sarah, General Manager

Report
N
Nate
Denver
33 reviews
Dined on August 29, 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience4

We enjoyed our meal at Kona. Talk about variety. Are you a sushi lover but your friends or your spouse is not? Well, that was our family and our friend’s family. Where can you go and have some good sushi while your friend gets a salad and a really tasty French Dip? Look no further than Kona. The sushi was good and we were able to enjoy that while our friends had French fries, salad and a really good French Dip. Then, all of us equally partook of some delicious brownies that we all agreed were quite good. Sushi lovers rejoice! You now have an answer for to sushi or not to sushi. Just god to Kona and figure it out at the table. 😁

Kona Grill - Gilbert
Responded on September 1, 2021

Thank you so much for the glowing review! We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us and can't wait to serve you again soon!

Report
ER
EthanR
1 review
Dined on August 29, 2021
Overall1food2service1ambience2

Had a reservation, got seated, sat for 15 minutes without seeing a single busser or waited, so we left to eat somewhere else.

Kona Grill - Gilbert
Responded on September 1, 2021

We apologize for your experience and would like to hear more in detail so we can continue to improve on our food and service standards. Please reach out to us at 480-613-7362. We appreciate your feedback and hope we can make it up to you in the near future. Cheers, Sarah , General Manager

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on August 28, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Awesome atmosphere nice for chatting and getting together. Food amazing as always.

Kona Grill - Gilbert
Responded on September 1, 2021

Thank you for your 5 star review! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Report
A
Aaron
San Diego
1 review
Dined on August 28, 2021
Overall1food5service1ambience3

Forgot water, forgot to put appetizers in for 30 min then brought with food and my sushi didn’t come till dessert came and our 2 separate orders put on one plate with Mayo on side instead of on the roll and drinks refills took server manager to fill

Kona Grill - Gilbert
Responded on August 30, 2021

Dear Aaron, We apologize for your experience and would like to hear more in detail so we can continue to improve on our food and service standards. Please reach out to us at 480-613-7362. We appreciate your feedback and hope we can make it up to you in the near future. Cheers, Sarah , General Manager

Report
AP
AndreaP
1 review
Dined on August 27, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience1

We made reservations for a table inside and then put us outside in 106 degree heat with flies all over. The food was undercooked and the order was wrong.

Kona Grill - Gilbert
Responded on August 30, 2021

Dear Andrea P, We apologize your experience didn't meet your expectations and would like to hear more in detail, so we can continue to improve on our food and service standards. Please reach out to me at 480-401-1646. We appreciate your feedback and hope to be able to make it up to you in the near future. Thank you. Cheers, Sarah, General Manager

Report
JZ
vipJohnZ
New York Area
14 reviews
Dined on August 22, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food was great Eric our server was awesome

Kona Grill - Gilbert
Responded on August 23, 2021

I just wanted to thank you for your business here at Kona Grill Gilbert. We absolutely love it when our servers are given a shout out for their impeccable service. It really goes a long way, and no doubt I'm sure you understand how much we value a team member like Eric as well! We look forward to making your next visit just as incredible as this one!

Report
BC
BummedCustomer
San Diego
6 reviews
Dined on August 22, 2021
Overall1food2service3ambience1

I walked in and it really smelled horrible. We were seated at a booth and the seat had some kind of sauce all over it. The carpet at our table also smelled really bad and we kept getting wafts of it during dinner. I got up to use the restroom and you have to walk by the bar to get to it - oh, wow...the smell!!

The food was okay-ish. This location isn't nearly as well run as the Fashion Square location even though the prices are the same.

Won't be going back to the chain again as it seems they've lost the recipe.

Kona Grill - Gilbert
Responded on August 23, 2021

Kona Grill is committed to providing the best value in each of our markets, with a continued focus on elevating the guest experience. . Your feedback is very important to us, and all of your points are well taken, that is the only way to improve. We would like to hear more in detail about what happened so we can continue to improve in our food and service. Please feel free to give us a call at 480-417-4006.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Phoenix
2 reviews
Dined on August 21, 2021
Overall4food3service4ambience4

11th year wedding anniversary!

Kona Grill - Gilbert
Responded on August 22, 2021

Thank you for the positive review! We are so glad you had a great experience! Looking forward to seeing you soon! And Thank you for choosing us for your celebration! Congratulations on 11 years!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
San Diego
1 review
Dined on August 21, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food was excellent. Service was excellent. Music was way too loud.

Kona Grill - Gilbert
Responded on August 22, 2021

Thank you so much for the review! We are working on the music situation and finding a comfortable balance, we apologize in the mean time.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Phoenix
1 review
Dined on August 14, 2021
Overall1food2service1ambience3

We had a 630 reservation and we did not leave there until 930. It took almost an hour for food to come out. No fault of our waitress. She was nice and courteous and was very apologetic. However, whatever was going on in the kitchen should have been managed better. On top of the extensive wait time, when I received my dish it was not made correctly. I specifically asked for no chili flakes & there they were in my dish. If I could eat them no problem, but due to medical issues, I can’t & that’s why I asked they be omitted.

Unfortunately, this experience has left me with a bad taste in my mouth (literally and figuratively) and I will not be returning! And to add insult to injury, the bill for 4 individuals including a couple of to go dishes was almost $300. Not worth the money for that type of service!

Kona Grill - Gilbert
Responded on August 18, 2021

Thank you for your review. We apologize that your experience was not exceptional and we would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you directly. Kindly contact us at 480--289-4500 with your contact information. We look forward to hearing from you soon.

Report
MG
MichelleG
Phoenix
2 reviews
Dined on August 14, 2021
Overall3food3service5ambience4

The food was good but a little pricey.

Kona Grill - Gilbert
Responded on August 18, 2021

Kona Grill is committed to providing the best value in each of our markets, with a continued focus on elevating the guest experience. . Your feedback is very important to us, and all of your points are well taken, that is the only way to improve. We have changed our Happy Hour menu to align more with our competitors, while also making sure that we have sustainability. We apologize that this has impacted you in a not so favorable way. We hope to serve you again soon!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Chicago
1 review
Dined on August 13, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Birthday party

Kona Grill - Gilbert
Responded on August 27, 2021

I just wanted to thank you for your business here at Kona Grill Gilbert, and for choosing us for your birthday celebration! Thank you for the outstanding review! We look forward to serving you again soon!

Report
MW
MattW
Phoenix
1 review
Dined on August 12, 2021
Overall3food3service3ambience5

Service was not good, food was not great, wait was long and they weren't that busy... not a place I would take a client and employees for a business meal again.

Kona Grill - Gilbert
Responded on August 15, 2021

We appreicate your feedback MattW. We apologize that we fell short of your expectations and would like to hear more about your experience. We always strive for to ensure our guests the best food and service but sometimes we fall short. Please contact us at 480-289-4500 to let us know more and we hope we can make it up to you in the future. Best, Sarah, General Manager

Report
WP
vipWaterPurveyor
Phoenix
34 reviews
Dined on August 12, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Got there just in time to get drinks and most of dinner on order during their HR specials. Nice to know they still do HR and have a nice selection of drinks and food items to choose from! Service was very good and the food came out quick!

Kona Grill - Gilbert
Responded on August 15, 2021

Thank you WaterPurveyor for your review. We are glad you enjoyed our happy hour selection and look forward to seeing you next time!

Report
JA
JessicaA
Phoenix
2 reviews
Dined on August 11, 2021
Overall4food4service3ambience4

Our meal was great but it was a little odd when our server stopped by when we were about 3/4 of the way through and asked if we wanted her to put in our dessert order at that time. We were still EATING. It just was a bit jarring and felt like she was trying to push us along.
Not sure I would recommend Kona at the price point they are asking if this is what service is like. We participated in the "Date night" meal and two of the three appetizers weren't available and see above for our dessert timing. Our total bill was $109 pre-tip and the service value just wasn't that high.

Kona Grill - Gilbert
Responded on August 18, 2021

We appreciate your feedback. We apologize that we fell short of your expectations and would like to hear more about your experience. We always strive for to ensure our guests the best food and service but sometimes we fall short. Please contact us at 480-289-4500 to let us know more and we hope we can make it up to you in the future.

Report
MP
MikeP
Phoenix
2 reviews
Dined on August 9, 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience4

Great food and mindful of seating due to covid issues.
Always a good place to go.

Kona Grill - Gilbert
Responded on August 15, 2021

Thank you MikeP for your 5 star review! We look forward to seeing you next time you're in.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on August 7, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience1

Over priced for not great food. Salad took 40 minutes to come out and when it finally did there was no dressing on it. Steak was super fatty. The music was so loud it felt like we were in a sports bar. With the prices we paid for the slowest service we plan to never come back.

Kona Grill - Gilbert
Responded on August 9, 2021

We want to extend our sincerest apologies for the negative experience that you had with us. Although we try to make every experience exceptional sometimes we fall short. Please contact us at your convenience so we can try to make this right. We look forward to hearing from you 480-289-4500. Meaghan Meehan Assistant Manager

Report
RC
RCool
Phoenix
11 reviews
Dined on August 7, 2021
Overall2food2service1ambience2

Wow, what a disappointment. Very Very slow service. Appetizers came after the main courses. Chicken was cold on oriental salad. No one asked how we were doing. Four people and bill was over $250. Dining experience was very poor.

Kona Grill - Gilbert
Responded on August 9, 2021

We want to extend our sincerest apologies for the negative experience that you had with us. Although we try to make every experience exceptional sometimes we fall short. Please contact us at your convenience so we can try to make this right. We look forward to hearing from you 480-289-4500. Meaghan Meehan Assistant Manager

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Salt Lake City
1 review
Dined on August 7, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Kona never disappoints!!

Kona Grill - Gilbert
Responded on August 9, 2021

Thank you for your Five Star Review! We look forward to serving you again next time!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Phoenix
1 review
Dined on August 6, 2021
Overall2food2service2ambience1

We had a long wait despite having a reservation and it table was wiped down but left smelling bad and service was very slow.

Kona Grill - Gilbert
Responded on August 9, 2021

We want to extend our sincerest apologies for the negative experience that you had with us. Although we try to make every experience exceptional sometimes we fall short. Please contact us at your convenience so we can try to make this right. We look forward to hearing from you 480-289-4500. Meaghan Meehan Assistant Manager

Report
US
vipUnSatisfiedCustomer
Phoenix
121 reviews
Dined on August 4, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

This was our first visit to this Kona Grill. We have been to others. Dan was an outstanding server. Lemon Penne with Chicken for me was great. Husband had the cheeseburger and he mentioned how great it was. Great thing was they gave us a 20% Veteran discount. Prices were a little high but overall was a great meal. Don't hesitate to stop by.

Kona Grill - Gilbert
Responded on August 7, 2021

Thank you very much for your five star review! We always strive to provide our guests with the best in food and service, and we are happy to hear we delivered. Looking forward to your next visit!

Report
DB
DougB
Phoenix
2 reviews
Dined on August 1, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience3

Our waitress, Amber, did a wonderful job accommodating us!! We know in thieve times things are trying and she was excellent!

Kona Grill - Gilbert
Responded on August 3, 2021

Thank you so much for the five star review! We are glad you had a great time. We look forward to serving you again soon!

Report

FAQs

Kona Grill - Gilbert offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (480) 289-4500.

Kona Grill - Gilbert is rated 4.3 stars by 855 OpenTable diners.

Kona Grill - Gilbert does offer gift cards which you can purchase here https://konagrill.cashstar.com/store/recipient?locale=en-us.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.