This restaurant added safety precaution details

This includes info about cleaning, sanitizing, social distancing, and usage of personal protective equipment. Learn more.

Kona Grill - Cincinnati

4.1
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
1075 Reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Welcome to Kona Grill Cincinnati at Liberty Center, in between The Square and rooftop garden. Enjoy your local paradise after work, a day of shopping, or before an event. Fresh, wild caught fish is flown in daily to craft award-winning sushi, while contemporary American entrees are prepared from scratch in-house. Happy hour on the beautiful rooftop patio overlooking The Square is a must. This is the best spot to catch a summer concert. And don’t leave until you’ve tried one of the handcrafted cocktails, ice cold draft beer, or a glass of wine selected from the extensive drink menu. The restaurant’s diverse menu and contemporary ambience provide the perfect venue for special occasions like bridal showers, baby showers, birthday celebrations, business meetings, date night, or just any occasion really.

Support Kona Grill - Cincinnati during COVID-19

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
  • Sealed or wrapped utensils used
Social Distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
Personal Protective Equipment
  • Waitstaff wear masks
  • Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking

Offers

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Sun 8:30PM - 10:00PM
Mon - Thu 8:30PM - 11:00PM
Fri - Sat 12:00AM - 12:00AM 9:15PM - 11:45PM

What 1075 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.1based on recent ratings
4.2
food
4.0
service
4.2
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
84% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
CZ
CrisZ
Cincinnati
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall2food4service1ambience5

The mashed potato’s were hard. Service was well below expectations.

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded 8 hours ago

I personally apologize about your experience at our establishment. When I read your review my heart sank to the bottom of my stomach. I am also troubled that manager did not stop by your table that evening. When you have a moment can you please contact me at 513-322-5860. I would personally like to speak with you about our experience and have the opportunity to win you back as a guest. Always delighted to serve, Ryan Cracchiolo General Manager

Report
AR
vipAriR
Chicago
7 reviews
Dined 2 days ago
Overall2food2service2ambience4

Service was slow, sushi did not taste fresh

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded a day ago

We apologize about your experience at our establishment. We are a made from scratch kitchen along with cutting our fish fresh in house daily. When you have a moment can you please contact me at 513-322-5860. I would personally like to speak with you about our experience and have the opportunity to win you back as a guest. Always delighted to serve, Ryan Cracchiolo General Manager

Report
RK
RitaK
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall4food4service4ambience4

It took a little while to get our food, but it was delish.

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded 8 hours ago

Thanks for the great review and feedback. We are trying to improve to make our establishment the best restaurant in Liberty Town Center. Please ask for me on your next visit to Kona Grill. I'd love to meet you and buy you dessert. Cheers! Alex Wood

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Adelaide / SA
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Anniversary

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded 8 hours ago

Thank you for the great feedback. We are glad you had a great time dining at our establishment, especially on your anniversary. Please ask for me on your next visit to Kona Grill. I would love to meet you and buy you dessert. Cheers! Ryan Cracchiolo General Manager

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall3food2service4ambience3

Awful outdoor area near the rooftop park Rollerblading dude in light up gear would not go away !

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded a day ago

We apologize about your experience at our establishment. Unfortunately, we do not have control of the guest outside of our building in Liberty Square's public common areas. When you have a moment can you please contact me at 513-322-5860. I would personally like to speak with you about our experience and have the opportunity to win you back as a guest. Always delighted to serve, Ryan Cracchiolo General Manager

Report
RM
RMyers
Cincinnati
12 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall4food5service5ambience3

Good food and outstanding service. Pricey for entree items. They are interesting and fresh enough to moderately justify their inflated prices. As I said the service was fantastic and provided for a very enjoyable experience.

M
Mare
Cincinnati
22 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I chose Kona for lunch with my sister in law from out of town. She has been unable to dine out in her state because of strict dining restrictions from Covid ( a shame indeed) I chose Kona because of the patio setting and the mitigation efforts in place to keep everyone safe. We were seated in a nice location on the patio as our reservation requested. The hostess and server were very professional and attentive. We weren’t in a hurry which was respected by our server. The manager checked in with us several times. The wine and the food were excellent. We had a great time. Kona is one of my go to places at Liberty Center.

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded 8 hours ago

Thank you for the great feedback Mare. We are glad you had a great time dining with us. Our number one goal is to keep our staff and guest safe during this pandemic. Please ask for me on your next visit to Kona Grill. I would personally like to meet you and buy you dessert. Cheers, Christian Kilgard

Report
KS
KaylaS
Cincinnati
1 review
Dined on September 20, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great service and food. Loved the avocado egg rolls.

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded 2 days ago

Thanks for the feedback KaylaS. Our eggrolls are made in house everyday by hand. You are right. They are super delicious. Please ask for me on your next visit to Kona Grill. I'd love to meet you and buy you an appetizer. Cheers! Alex Ward Manager

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Cincinnati
1 review
Dined on September 19, 2020
Overall3food3service3ambience5

My dinner arrived 5 minutes before the appetizer and 12 minutes before my husbands meal. Utensils arrived after having to ask for them well after the appetizer. I asked them to take my good back until my husbands was served.
So needless to say my food was cold when my husbands arrived
Very disappointed

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded 8 hours ago

I personally apologize about your experience at our establishment. Your review make me extremely disheartened. That is not the level of service you should ever receive at our establishment. When you have a moment can you please contact me at 513-322-5860. I would personally like to speak with you about our experience and have the opportunity to win you back as a guest. Always delighted to serve, Ryan Cracchiolo General Manager

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Cincinnati
2 reviews
Dined on September 19, 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience4

The service and our meal was great. However, I ordered a drink that was too strong. I didn’t ask for a different drink but when I commented that it was too strong to the waitress, I thought she’d offer to remake it. She did not. It wasn’t terrible that she didn’t and she was very nice, I just thought it would be offered. Other than that, everything was great!

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Cincinnati
8 reviews
Dined on September 19, 2020
Overall3food3service3ambience3

They dont have fresh salmon available. They are making even the sashimis with smoked salmon. Not the same

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded 2 days ago

We apologize about your experience at our establishment. I do have some questions about your visit. When you have time please contact me at 513-322-5860. I would like to talk to you personally about your experience and have the opportunity to win you back as a guest. Thanks, Ryan Cracchiolo General Manager

Report
J
vipJoe43
Cleveland
2 reviews
Dined on September 19, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Big Al the manager did a great job in making our experience great!

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded a day ago

Big Al is the best! I can't wait to share your comments with him. Please ask for me on your next visit to Kona Grill. I would love to meet you and buy you dessert. Cheers, Ryan Cracchiolo General Manager

Report
JV
JessicaV
1 review
Dined on September 18, 2020
Overall1food1service1ambience3

Ribeye was grey in color. Poorly cooked. Miso soup extremely salty. Waitress not friendly. We will not be returning.

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded 2 days ago

JessicaV, we apologize about your experience at our establishment. Our goal is not to meet, but exceed our guest's expectations. We apologize that this did not occur. When you have a moment can you please contact me at 513-322-5860. I would personally like to speak with you about our experience and have the opportunity to win you back as a guest. Always delighted to serve, Ryan Cracchiolo General Manager

Report
TG
vipTravelGoddess
Cincinnati
34 reviews
Dined on September 17, 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience3

Everything was very good except we would never order the calamari again. It is way over breaded.

MG
MicaG
Cincinnati
3 reviews
Dined on September 12, 2020
Overall4food5service3ambience4

My hubby and I had an impromptu date night and have never been to Lona so we decided to give it a try. We had reservations for 8:45 and when we arrived at 8:40 the hostess said they hadn’t even sat the 8pm reservations so it may be a while. We got drinks from the bar and was actually sat on the top patio. Server was very bubbly and helpful with the menu and made some great suggestions. We ordered sushi and two entrees. Everything came out at once and we asked for soy and little bowls for the sushi and the server didn’t come back for 20 minutes. We were all done with our mains and were eating on the soy so we could enjoy our sushi. She finally came back and we asked for a box and the check. The food was delicious and we enjoyed the patio. Service could have been a little better but we will come back and hive them another try.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Cincinnati
1 review
Dined on September 12, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great place to eat

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on September 12, 2020
Overall2food1service3ambience5

The meal was over priced. We got a chicken dish, French dip sandwich, 2 drinks and an appetizer. $100. The French dip had barely any meat and was full of fat. Disappointed.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on September 12, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We didn’t eat but our server was exemplary!

R
Robyn
1 review
Dined on September 12, 2020
Overall3food2service4ambience4

We have gone to Kona numerous times and kept coming back for a nice night out. We had talked it up to friends, but this time, none of us were impressed with the quality of our food especially in comparison to pricing. It also took a long time to get our food.
On positive side, seating outside was really nice and our waiter did a great job, but we
will not be in a hurry to come back.

MW
MichaelW
Cincinnati
1 review
Dined on September 12, 2020
Overall2food4service1ambience2

Our initial table was uneven and we needed to be re-seated. It took a long time for our initial drinks. The appetizer came with our meal. They forgot the chopsticks and soy sauce for my meal (sushi). My second drink took forever to arrive. Our appetizer was edamame so we were confused on the delay in preparation.
The server and the manager were very apologetic, and they removed the appetizer from the bill. It seems the kitchen and the bar were the challenge. I am not sure if I will go back for a while.

n
nlsh
1 review
Dined on September 11, 2020
Overall4food5service5ambience4

Overall really good experience, and the food (at least the penne and the stir fry) was very good. Noise level on a friday night was very loud, and it was probably 50min before we got our food, but it was at least mostly worth the wait. Would recommend, just maybe not on a crowded night as much.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on September 9, 2020
Overall3food3service2ambience2

Waitress was super friendly and hospitable. However, it was very hot in there and the service was slow, drinks were never filled. Food was okay but was expecting much better for the price. I did enjoy the environment (minus it being extremely hot and stuffy inside).

Would we recommend? no. Would we come back? probably not. Did we come on an off day? most likely.

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Cincinnati
1 review
Dined on September 7, 2020
Overall1food2service1ambience3

Horrible experience. Been going there for years and it was great. Last 2 times were bad. Poor service, average food and expensive. Manager told us, he was surprised they were still open.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Cincinnati
1 review
Dined on September 6, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Always a good time at Kona Grill. Big Al quickly accommodated our family with a table and our server was also great, super friendly with awesome menu recommendations.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Cincinnati
1 review
Dined on September 5, 2020
Overall1food1service1ambience1

Checked in for reservation and then sat there and waited for 20 min while others were seated before us that arrived after us. I finally went to the hostess and she acted like she had never seen me before. No apologies either. They tried shoving us in a back corner with screaming kids. It took over 10 min for a server to get to our table. He was a greater server from then on. However, the food was sub par and we had to send some back. The manager handled the situation appropriately and was very accommodating. He reduced our bill and brought out extra food to help make up for the poor experience thus far. Worst experience at Kona and we have been going for years.

L
vipLaura
Cincinnati
4 reviews
Dined on September 5, 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience4

Great staff. This business is taking the pandemic precautions seriously. Thank you!

PK
PamK
1 review
Dined on September 4, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Waiter was awesome, service was slow getting initial order for drinks.

D
Diner
Cincinnati
1 review
Dined on September 4, 2020
Overall2food3service1ambience5

Nice atmosphere, but the service is just plane rough.

LL
vipLynnL
Cincinnati
42 reviews
Dined on September 2, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Our waitress did a great job! Food was great too!

O
vipOuttolunch
Cincinnati
17 reviews
Dined on August 29, 2020
Overall4food5service4ambience4

I was disappointed that we still had to wait 20 minutes when we had a reservation. The server was friendly but may have had too many tables because we didn’t see a whole lot of him. The food was good and there was a wide variety of menu options.

Z
Zachary
Indiana
1 review
Dined on August 29, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We love Kona. It was great food and service. Our waiter was really kind and attentive. We got sat and served promptly. We will keep coming back!

M
kathleenM
Cincinnati
1 review
Dined on August 29, 2020
Overall4food5service4ambience4

We had a group of 7. I'd specifically requested outdoor seating because one of our guests has an increased vulnerability to becoming seriously ill from COVID. (This was his first outing in many months and he did so on the condition we'd be dining outside.) After waiting for almost 30 minutes past our reservation time while five front desk employees stared at the iPad (there seemed to be a good deal of confusion), we were informed we'd be dining inside. I questioned that and one of the five perfunctorily advised me there was no way they could accommodate 7 outside. Hmmmm... You allowed me to book it. And you confirmed it. Now we had no choice and the one gentleman was VERY uncomfortable. That aside... Our server was great and the food was outstanding. Please just get your front desk game together, guys. It could have been a perfect evening.

GJ
vipGarryJ
London
2 reviews
Dined on August 29, 2020
Overall4food4service1ambience3

Food was great and timely. The food runners were great! Server was not consistent with drink orders and pacing of the meal. We finished our appetizers before all drinks arrived.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on August 28, 2020
Overall4food5service5ambience4

Great place. Table was set up really oddly. Felt like we were at the bad kids table.

HK
HeatherK
1 review
Dined on August 27, 2020
Overall3food2service1ambience4

My food was over cooked and the server never came back to check on us.

BN
vipBetsyN
Cincinnati
11 reviews
Dined on August 26, 2020
Overall3food2service5ambience5

I was pretty disappointed in our meal. We ordered the calamari and I am not totally sure, there was much calamari in the calamari. It mostly was fried tempura batter. Our entrees were good. The brownie dessert was sad. The brownie was super dry and more like an overcooked cookie. I think I will be waiting until Covid is over before I return. In pre-covid times the food was much better food.

RS
RichS
Cincinnati
2 reviews
Dined on August 24, 2020
Overall5food5service4ambience4

Only my 2nd time there, but it was as good as the first. Wish we could afford to go here more often, although not too high priced, we stuck with the economy choices versus the higher end.

AD
AndrewD
Chicago
2 reviews
Dined on August 23, 2020
Overall1food1service1ambience2

There were four other tables in the whole restaurant that were being served. Our food took an hour and half to come out. We could see the kids meals sitting under the warmer for 45 minutes. We ordered an appetizer that was given to another table. Not the service I expected for the amount we paid for our bill. Managers sat at table filling out paperwork, and were not made available.

f
fmof2
Cincinnati
12 reviews
Dined on August 22, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Kona in Liberty is using its upper deck for dinner seating right now. We asked for outdoor seating thinking we would get the patio on the main level but instead were seated upstairs. It ended up being very nice with a nice view and good service. Food was delicious as usual.

BE
BethE
1 review
Dined on August 22, 2020
Overall3food3service2ambience3

Everything was very spicy. The turmeric almond rice had a very distinct taste and we were not fans. Asked for a specific cocktail which they said they could make but was unfortunately difficult to drink.

Asked for coffee at the end. The manager was rude, spilled the coffee and it was cold.

FAQs

Kona Grill - Cincinnati is rated 4.1 stars by 1075 OpenTable diners.

Kona Grill - Cincinnati does offer gift cards which you can purchase here https://konagrill.cashstar.com/store/recipient?locale=en-us.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.

Tweets by Kona Grill - Cincinnati