Kona Grill - Cincinnati

4.2
1117 Reviews
$30 and under
American
Welcome to Kona Grill Cincinnati at Liberty Center, in between The Square and rooftop garden. Enjoy your local paradise after work, a day of shopping, or before an event. Fresh, wild caught fish is flown in daily to craft award-winning sushi, while contemporary American entrees are prepared from scratch in-house. Happy hour on the beautiful rooftop patio overlooking The Square is a must. This is the best spot to catch a summer concert. And don’t leave until you’ve tried one of the handcrafted cocktails, ice cold draft beer, or a glass of wine selected from the extensive drink menu. The restaurant’s diverse menu and contemporary ambience provide the perfect venue for special occasions like bridal showers, baby showers, birthday celebrations, business meetings, date night, or just any occasion really.

Support Kona Grill - Cincinnati during COVID-19

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
  • Sealed or wrapped utensils used
Physical Distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Protective Equipment
  • Waitstaff wear masks
  • Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
What 1117 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.2based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.1
service
4.2
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
85% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
CF
CalcF
Cincinnati
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We went during their happy hour. We had a variety of appetizers and each one was delicious.

BS
vipBillS
Washington DC
3 reviews
Dined on November 18, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

What a great place to enjoy a meal and drinks. The staff were safe, polite and expedient.

RS
RobS
Cincinnati
1 review
Dined on November 17, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Good was great and service was excellent!!

CS
CortneeS
1 review
Dined on November 14, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

This was my second time dining at Kona grill and just like before the food and service was exceptional.

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded on November 17, 2020

Cortnee- Thanks for the great review. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Ryan Cracchiolo General Manager

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Cincinnati
1 review
Dined on November 13, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Very delicious surf and turf

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded on November 15, 2020

So happy you loved our wonderful surf and turf! We love it too!! We appreciate the positive feedback and look forward to serving you again soon!! -Caroline (Manager)

Report
D
vipDeborah
Cincinnati
25 reviews
Dined on November 13, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

It was our first time there , it won’t be our last . The food and the service was outstanding. Thank you !

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded on November 17, 2020

Thanks for the five star review! Ryan Cracchiolo General Manager

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Cincinnati
2 reviews
Dined on November 13, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

delicious as always!!

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded on November 17, 2020

Thanks for the five stars! We appreciate the feedback. Ryan Cracchiolo General Manager

Report
SW
SharonW
Cincinnati
3 reviews
Dined on November 9, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

One of the few nice restaurants that has an abundance of outdoor seating so I took advantage of one of the last warm days. They do have heaters available on the upper level also for fall nights. My friend and I both had the yummy salmon with chili sauce which was served with the most fantastic roasted broccoli and a delicious shrimp stir fry rice. A welcome break from most restaurants serving mashed potatoes and a blah green vegetable! Our server allowed us to enjoy a long, welcome chat.

AP
vipAliciaP
Cincinnati
11 reviews
Dined on November 8, 2020
Overall4food5service5ambience4

We chose to eat outside and my lunch partner and I were sat next to a table of 8 loud chatty patrons, which made it difficult to converse. We were not at the appropriate 6 ft, but it was beautiful day and everyone wanted to take advantage of the weather.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on November 7, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food was great! Atmosphere was lovely and enjoyed the music!

OT
OpenTable Diner
Cincinnati
1 review
Dined on November 7, 2020
Overall2food2service4ambience1

Food was subpar and disappointing. Pork chops and macadamia chicken were dry and tough. Sushi was good though.

Service was good and attentive.

Covid seating was very disappointing. Been to three other restaurants during Covid and this was by far the least responsive. Tables were not spaced at all, chairs from table to table were almost touching.

MR
MarcieR
Cincinnati
3 reviews
Dined on November 7, 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience5

The burgers are tasty but sure we’re small. Music outside (upstairs) was too loud and our table was wobbly. But the service was great a d the food was tasty!

DW
DavidW
1 review
Dined on November 4, 2020
Overall1food3service2ambience1

Noise level in dining room due to loud music was too high for dinner conversation. Our food sat for 15 minutes waiting for the server to deliver it to our table.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Cincinnati
1 review
Dined on November 2, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Had an amazing experience for my mother in laws birthday, they moved a mobile fireplace right next to our table and the service was outstanding!

RH
RobertH
1 review
Dined on October 27, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

The other day while doing errands my wife and decided to stop for lunch and wanted to try some place we hadn’t eaten at before and stopped at your restaurant. We were so impressed with the food, service and the unique menu that a few days later we had plans to have dinner wit another couple who are close friends of ours. We recommended your restaurant. They were just as impressed. We all will be back.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Cincinnati
1 review
Dined on October 27, 2020
Overall3food4service4ambience2

We requested outdoor seating because of covid. We were put at a table on the patio with all of the plastic shades pulled down all the way. Absolutely no ventilation. This is NOT outdoor seating! Then a group of 10 men were placed at the table directly behind us. I would say less then 2 feet away. Meanwhile, the rest of the restaurant was empty. I was extremely disappointed in the shear stupidity of whomever was the manager on Tuesday night. Now I know why Butler county is in the Red. I was at Kona a week earlier and outside seating was upstairs actually OUTSIDE! There were fireplaces....I’m not sure why you would not keep that open during a pandemic. And please don’t use your ENCLOSED patio as outdoor seating.

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded on October 30, 2020

Thank you for providing us feedback regarding your visit. We do our best to honor guests seating preference for outdoor seating. On Tuesday, we did not have outdoor seating available since the weather was below 50 and scattered showers. We attempted to accommodate requests to open the shades and had the tables complain they were cold. We kept the shades cracked as guests that were cold left. Please reach out if you would like to discuss further. Stay Safe 513-322-5860. Ryan Cracchiolo G.M.

Report
RG
vipRobinG
Cincinnati
13 reviews
Dined on October 20, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Service was terrific! Lady serving on the patio.

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded on October 21, 2020

Thank you for the great feedback. We are glad you had a great time dining with us. Please ask for me on your next visit to Kona Grill. I would love to meet you and buy you dessert. Stay safe and take care! Cheers! Ryan Cracchiolo General Manager

Report
SH
SheriH
1 review
Dined on October 20, 2020
Overall5food5service3ambience4

Great food and atmosphere. Would go again if in town.

SA
vipSandraA
Charleston
11 reviews
Dined on October 18, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience2

Service was good music was lound as not appropriate also on leaving saw family with babies and young children sitting at the bar not appropriate seating since when do you allow under 2s at the bar !!!!!!

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded on October 22, 2020

Thank you for the great feedback. We are glad you had a great time dining with us. According to Ohio Law there are no age restrictions when it comes to sitting at the bar. We also have a DJ on the weekend, which can sometimes make restaurant a little loud. We did honor your request and did turn down the music. We hope to see you again soon. Take care and stay safe. Ryan Cracchiolo General Manager

Report
JA
JohnA
1 review
Dined on October 18, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Since the covid 19 situation we have limited our dining to outdoor. The Kona restaurant has an outdoor area that is very inviting and adaptable to weather. The current manager Al always makes us welcome by personally checking in with us to ensure things are great with our visit.

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded on October 21, 2020

Thank you for the great feedback. We are glad you had a great time dining with us. I will pass along your comments to Al. He is definitely an amazing manager. Please ask for me on your next visit to Kona Grill. I would love to meet you and buy you dessert. See you soon. Cheers! Ryan Cracchiolo General Manager

Report
NI
NotImpressive
1 review
Dined on October 17, 2020
Overall3food3service2ambience1

This was our third time to Kona and I had booked a table inside on Open Table as it was cold out. They seated us right beside the door on the second floor which was very cold at 8 pm. When I asked the server about it and if we could move he assured us the door wouldn't be opened very much - it was opened/windy/freezing for 90% of meal which made it a less than optimal experience. The server also was not that knowledgeable about the menu/food - leading to a less than great choice for one of our kids (thick sauce served all over the chicken - we asked about how it was prepared and he never mentioned that). The steak was very good. Over all moderate to lower end of dining experiences with an higher price tag. Not sure we will back.

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded on October 20, 2020

We apologize about the experience you received at our establishment. Our goal is not to meet, but to exceed our guest expectations. I am very disheartened from reading this review. Our staff should have informed a manager regarding the issues you experienced during your visit. When you have time can you please contact me at 513-322-5860. I want to talk to you personally about your experience and have the opportunity to win you back as a guest. Thanks, Ryan Cracchiolo General Manager

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on October 17, 2020
Overall2food4service2ambience1

The music was VERY loud and we could not hear the people at our table. The service was slow and several parts of our orders were not correct.

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded on October 20, 2020

We apologize about the experience you received at our establishment. We do have a DJ in our rooftop bar Friday and Saturday nights. It can become a little loud from time to time. We did turn the music down to accommodate your request. When you have time can you please contact me at 513-322-5860. I would like to talk to you personally about your experience and have the opportunity to win you back as a guest. Thanks, Alex Ward Manager

Report
GR
GingerR
Cincinnati
4 reviews
Dined on October 16, 2020
Overall3food3service2ambience4

We liked the atmosphere, outdoor seating was excellent, with a patio heater close enough that we were comfortable even though it was cold outside. The server was friendly and helpful, but didn't bring soy sauce even though all 3 of us ordered dishes that people generally will use soy sauce on. The dishes of my 2 guests were dry, they said; I had the poke bowl, which also needed it. So he brought some out and poured some in a tiny dish, we had to ask twice more for refills. We were all a little disappointed in the food itself. It was not at all cooked like the original Kona Grill in Honolulu, which is where we ate and loved everything. In our midwestern city, it was probably OK to people who don't travel, but we expected better.

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded on October 20, 2020

We apologize about the experience you received at our establishment. We apologize about your table not receiving enough soy sauce. Our staff would normally leave the soy sauce bottle on the table, but we are not permitted by law due to the pandemic. I am troubled that the poke was dry. It actually comes with its own sauce. When you have time can you please contact me at 513-322-5860. I want to talk to you personally about your visit and make the situation right. Thanks, Ryan Cracchiolo

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Cincinnati
2 reviews
Dined on October 13, 2020
Overall3food4service4ambience2

We are trying to support our restaurants! The food was great, but the music was WAY TOO LOUD! We were on the patio, and couldn’t hear each other....very frustrating!

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded on October 16, 2020

We apologize about the music being too loud. We changed the volume of the music multiple times to accommodate your party and another party that were unsatisfied with the volume of the music. One party wanted the music volume lower, while the other party wanted the music volume louder. We did our best to try to make everyone happy. We are sorry that this did not occur. When you have time can you please contact us at 513-322-5860. We want to make the situation right. Thanks, Alex Ward

Report
SA
vipSandraA
Charleston
11 reviews
Dined on October 11, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Sunday afternoon outside eating area .Clean nice service a little slow we ordered from Happy hour menu it all came out the same time .

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded on October 16, 2020

Thank you for the great feedback. We are glad you had a great time dining with us. Please ask for me on your next visit to Kona Grill. I would love to meet you and buy you dessert. See you soon. Cheers! Ryan Cracchiolo General Manager

Report
F
vipFoodie76
Jacksonville
22 reviews
Dined on October 10, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing food and large diverse menu selection. There were five of us, each ordered something different and it was all incredibly delicious. Wish there was one closer to Jax FL.

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded on October 13, 2020

Thank you for the great feedback. We are glad you had a great time dining with us. We apologize that our closest location to Jacksonville is a few hours away in Tampa, FL. If you stop back in before you head home to Florida please ask for me. I would love to meet you and buy you dessert. Cheers! Ryan Cracchiolo General Manager

Report
C
Carol
Cincinnati
9 reviews
Dined on October 9, 2020
Overall5food4service4ambience4

Food was good, I’m not a fish lover but my party loved it.

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded on October 13, 2020

Thank you for the great feedback Carol. We are glad you had a great time dining with us. Next time you stop in you should try the Macadamia Nut Chicken. It's a boneless, skinless chicken breast that we encrust with Macadamia Nuts and is served with Shoyu Cream Sauce. It's amazing and is our best selling entrée. Pleas ask for me on your next visit to Kona Grill. I'd love to meet you and buy you dessert. Thanks, Ryan Cracchiolo General Manager

Report
DW
DelorisW
Cincinnati
3 reviews
Dined on October 9, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Our outdoor dinner was great. Our server Anna was very attentive and ensured we had what we needed. Management also made the rounds asking if we were happy with our experience. Only problem was it soon got crowded and loud since everyone wanted to enjoy the beautiful patio too.
We love coming here and they strive to make sure that you do!

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded on October 11, 2020

Deloris, We are elated to hear about your great experience! We also love anna and think she is amazing at her job! Feel free to ask for a manager next time you come in and mention this review. Would love to talk more about it! -Alex Ward, Manager

Report
MP
MaddieP
1 review
Dined on October 8, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Service was great! Drinks were tasty. Food came out quickly. The flatbread was absolutely amazing. Highly recommend! We will be coming back.

TL
TLace
Cincinnati
1 review
Dined on October 5, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food great service. Could get more value for your money but the food was so delicious could barely complain.

DS
vipDouglasS
Washington DC
5 reviews
Dined on October 4, 2020
Overall3food3service3ambience2

The appetizers and desserts were good; the main courses, fair. The "patio" seating was noisy and distracting. We were alittle disappointed, as this was 'restrauant week'. Enjoyed our waitress and her service. Hopefully we'll give it a try next year.

RC
vipRebeccaC
Cincinnati
2 reviews
Dined on October 4, 2020
Overall3food4service3ambience3

Enjoyed the sushi and patio. Wait staff was a little slow, but pleasant.

MM
MarkMon
Cincinnati
1 review
Dined on October 3, 2020
Overall2food2service2ambience2

If you like loud mumble rap, chain restraunt style food, and super high prices, this place is for you

OT
OpenTable Diner
Cincinnati
3 reviews
Dined on October 3, 2020
Overall3food5service5ambience1

Food was awesome. Service was awesome. But unfortunately it was very loud and a little overpack for the COVID-19. They had a party of over 30 people in the main dining area.

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded on October 6, 2020

Thank you for providing us feedback on your recent visit. We are only seating a max of 10 people a table per Ohio Mandates. Please feel free to reach out if you would like to discuss your visit further. We value your feedback. Best, Ryan Cracchiolo 513-322-5860

Report
JB
JoniB
Cincinnati
8 reviews
Dined on October 2, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Had a really nice Friday evening dinner with a few girl friends on the Kona screened in patio. Food and service were great!

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded on October 6, 2020

JoniB, Thank you! We are glad you love our patio area and appreciate the review! We are excitied for you to return in the future!

Report
AB
AmyB
Cincinnati
2 reviews
Dined on October 2, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The menu had a variety of items and several I was interested in.

l
viplswenski
Cincinnati
51 reviews
Dined on October 2, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

The food was unique and enjoyable. The portions are huge! The herb salad and rum cake were both exceptional.

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded on October 6, 2020

Iswenski, We are glad you enjoyed dining with us. Please say Hi next time you dine with us. I would love to get you a Rum Cake on us. Best, Ryan Cracchiolo General Manager

Report
A
vipAlesu
Cincinnati
82 reviews
Dined on October 2, 2020
Overall2food4service4ambience1

My most terrible experience in all the years of dinning out around the world. First, on entering the restaurant thru the revolving door, a man entered behind the next section. He pushed the revolving door so hard, the door hit me hard on my back sending me tumbling onto the reception check in area. Luckily, there were a number of people waiting for their tables, so they help me to stable myself w/o falling on my face to the floor. The idiotic man did not even apologized. SECONDLY, they have really loud awful music. Since the music was so loud, people’s talking were also very loud. Also, the dinning room where we were sat was by the street, so the noise of motorcycles and other traffic contributed to the loud noises. The whole dinning experience was just horrendous! We will NEVER GO BACK.

FI
FamilyIsEverything2Me
Cincinnati
6 reviews
Dined on October 1, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent Customer Service. Would like more vegetarian and pescatarian menu options. Overall it was a great dining experience.

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded on October 4, 2020

Thank you for the great feedback. We are glad you had a great time dining at our establishment, especially on your anniversary. Please ask for me on your next visit to Kona Grill. I would love to meet you and buy you dessert. Cheers! Ryan Cracchiolo General Manager

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Cincinnati
5 reviews
Dined on September 29, 2020
Overall3food3service2ambience4

Service has been HORRIBLY slow lately. After being seated, it took 14 minutes for anyone to come to our table. Tonight, we sat in the restaurant side on the main level. There were approx 12 servers we counted in and out of the kitchen. With social distancing, and limited capacity, I cannot understand the subpar service. We watched our server grab our appetizer from the kitchen, then pause, and he set it back down. We waited another 7 minutes until he came back to deliver said appetizer!

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded on October 1, 2020

From the bottom of my heart I apologize about your experience at our establishment. This is not the level of service you should receive at Kona Grill. I would like to talk to you personally about your experience and have the opportunity to win you back as a guest. Can you please contact me at 513-322-5860. Thanks, Ryan Cracchiolo General Manager

Report

FAQs

Kona Grill - Cincinnati is rated 4.2 stars by 1117 OpenTable diners.

Kona Grill - Cincinnati does offer gift cards which you can purchase here https://konagrill.cashstar.com/store/recipient?locale=en-us.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.

Tweets by Kona Grill - Cincinnati