Kona Grill - Cincinnati

4
1480 Reviews
$30 and under
American
Welcome to Kona Grill Cincinnati at Liberty Center, in between The Square and rooftop garden. Enjoy your local paradise after work, a day of shopping, or before an event. Fresh, wild caught fish is flown in daily to craft award-winning sushi, while contemporary American entrees are prepared from scratch in-house. Happy hour on the beautiful rooftop patio overlooking The Square is a must. This is the best spot to catch a summer concert. And don’t leave until you’ve tried one of the handcrafted cocktails, ice cold draft beer, or a glass of wine selected from the extensive drink menu. The restaurant’s diverse menu and contemporary ambience provide the perfect venue for special occasions like bridal showers, baby showers, birthday celebrations, business meetings, date night, or just any occasion really.

Support Kona Grill - Cincinnati during COVID-19

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace

Offers

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Sun 10:00AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 2:45PM 7:00PM - 10:00PM
Mon - Thu 6:00PM - 8:45PM
Fri 12:00AM - 12:00AM 8:00PM - 11:45PM
Sat 12:00AM - 12:00AM 10:00AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 2:45PM 8:00PM - 11:45PM

What 1480 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.0based on recent ratings
4.1
food
4.0
service
4.1
ambience
3.7
value
Noise · Moderate
72% of people would recommend it to a friend
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
C
Chill513
1 review
Dined 21 hours ago
Overall1food1service1ambience1

Server told us they were short staffed so expect a wait. Beer served with no glasses, etc. Food came pretty quickly considering, except for sea bass sliders...which took extra 15 minutes. All of our dishes lacked flavor and portions seemed small considering the $17-$20+ per dish. Service was mediocre. Did ask if more beer was needed but no refills on water. No apology for delay on sliders. Don't need to go back.

OT
OpenTable Diner
St. Louis
1 review
Dined 21 hours ago
Overall3food4service1ambience3

I’m attributing the not great experience to staffing levels, hopefully that’s it. No clean wine glasses, took 40 minutes to get appetizers, salads arrived at the same time as the meal, and our waitress only came over when we asked for her. A 2.5 hour marginal experience at best. But the food was good, as always!!!

KB
vipKatB
Cincinnati
16 reviews
Dined a day ago
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Nice location with great service and menu. Not all food prepped as desired this trip but it was all so good as is, nothing returned. Wait staff awesome, especially with how busy restaurant was. Try the carrot cake, won’t say anything more to ruin the surprise.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Western NC
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Sea bass was outstanding!! Service was great as well! Carrie was super attentive to our needs and helpful making food choices! She made our evening special!

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded 17 hours ago

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear Carrie did such a great job of delivering a true Kona experience! Feel free to ask for her at your next visit.

Report
KR
KevinR
Cincinnati
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall1food1service3ambience4

Calamari was hard as a rock and tasted like cardboard. Wife and I ordered a new old fashioned, the drinks we got did not taste right. Server told us later they were out of vanilla Jim Beam. Bartender intentionally sold us the wrong drink at $11.00 apiece rather than tell us they were out of vanilla bourbon. Served my daughter a drink in a cracked glass. Friend's chicken was dry, daughter ordered prime rib medium rare, was served medium well and seared on both sides (who does that?). Bill was over $160.00, not close to worth that.

B
lesleyB
Cincinnati
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great happy hour, big portions fir starters

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded 17 hours ago

Thank you for the great review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit as well as our amazing happy hour! We look forward to seeing you soon.

Report
HH
vipHHIvacationer
Cincinnati
34 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Went for a birthday. The miso sea bass was great but husband steak was overcooked. Dessert brownie also very good. Just seemed quite noisy in the restaurant.

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded 17 hours ago

Thank you for choosing Kona for your husband's birthday celebration. Happy Birthday to him!

Report
k
katrinao
Cincinnati
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great location. Right on the greene - concert going on. The patio is a great place to people watch. Food and service were excellent. 3-6 weekdays is happy hour and includes half off specific drinks and food items. Menu uses QR code like so many others - they are annoying and don't work half the time. I say bring back real menus! Minor thing. Definitely a winner!

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded 17 hours ago

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed you Kona experience! Thank you for the great review & your feedback. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Phoenix
2 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Aaron, our waiter, was phenomenal! He knew our names and took phenomenal care of us! This was a business event and he made it comfortable for us!

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded 4 days ago

Amazing! Thank you! We appreciate your business with us and look forward to your next visit with us.

Report
LP
LaurenP
Cincinnati
3 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food4service5ambience5

We sat outside and the waiter was really nice. Gave excellent service. Food was okay. Would have liked my sushi a little crunchier ( I got tempura). Overall great experience.

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded 4 days ago

Thank you for your visit with us! We always appreciate your business. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to assist you in the future.

Report
CS
vipCincySkiMom
Cincinnati
10 reviews
Dined 7 days ago
Overall3food3service4ambience3

We had asked for outdoor seating but none was offered to us when we arrived. 2 of our party had excellent food. Mine was entered into the system incorrectly and came out much later than the others with the veggies half cooked and the rice over seasoned. Very disappointing given that I have ordered this meal before and it was excellent. No gluten free desserts and no offer of the option to order just ice cream while the birthday person had their free dessert with ice cream. Disappointing.

I will try again since I had a much better experience 6 months ago.

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded 5 days ago

Dear CincySkiMom, My deepest apologies for not being able to meet your, nor our standards. I can understand how disappointed you were in our desert selection. Here at Kona Grill Liberty Center, we strive to make every visit a 5-star experience. I am pleased that to hear that you are willing to come back to visit us once more. We look forward to serving you again.

Report
H
vipHgillispie
Cincinnati
3 reviews
Dined 7 days ago
Overall3food3service1ambience3

Hostesses were not helpful for our family. Their attitude overall projected annoyance versus helpfulness.

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded 5 days ago

Dear Hgillispie, I would love to take a moment to apologize for the experience you described above and will be addressed accordingly. We are currently transitioning into new management and appreciate the feedback as we are developing our team.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Cincinnati
3 reviews
Dined 7 days ago
Overall1food2service1ambience1

Won’t be back ever

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded 5 days ago

Dear Anonymous Guest, I want to start off by stating I apologize for falling short of not only your, but our expectations as well. We would love to hear more from you regarding your most recent experience with us as we are under new management and are always looking for ways we can improve our guest experience. Please contact us at cincinnati@konagrill as we would love another opportunity to make this right.

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Cincinnati
8 reviews
Dined 7 days ago
Overall1food1service1ambience1

Worst experience here yet. We had a reservation, they didn’t have a table for us that wasn’t in the sun. Then sat us upstairs at a table that had outside patio chairs at it with no cushion. The server was rude, and it was so loud we had to scream to talk. We won’t be coming back. Sad because this place used to be so good.

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded 5 days ago

Thank you for your honest review, I like to apologize for the experience that you had during your visit with us over the weekend. I can understand how frustrating this must have been for you. We are currently developing our team and will take the above notes as a coaching moment to ensure our guests are getting the 5-Star service we are striving for. I would love to invite you back to dine with us and give us a second chance to make this right. Please contact management at cincinnati@konagrill

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Cincinnati
1 review
Dined on July 17, 2021
Overall2food2service2ambience2

The restaurant was too loud and the food wasn’t that great asked for high top seating when I went to the restroom they seated my date at a table right next to the entrance,just wasn’t for us

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded 5 days ago

Dear Anonymous Guest, I would like to start off by thanking you for the feedback mentioned above. We have taken your above comments and used them as a coaching method for our team. Here at Kona Grill Liberty Center, we strive for 5-Star Service. We have had many positive changes under new management and would like to invite you back. Please contact cincinnati@konagrill to speak with a manager in hopes to make this right.

Report
VM
VineetM
1 review
Dined on July 17, 2021
Overall3food3service5ambience5

Amazing ambience for outdoor seating, good servers and drink selections. Missed some of our favorite menu items (Cuban Sandwich, the most). Food and sushi was mediocre and disappointing compared to 2017-2019 when we used to frequent the restaurant. Overall, this place gets points only for the ambience.

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded 5 days ago

Dear VineetM, I am pleased to hear you have found our service and ambience enjoyable, I can understand how disappointed you were to find out that our Cuban Sandwich is not available during dinner service. I recommend joining us for lunch as this yummy sandwich is available on our lunch menu.

Report
KB
KeeshaB
Indiana
2 reviews
Dined on July 17, 2021
Overall2food2service4ambience4

Too noisy and everything was overdone or burnt!!

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded 5 days ago

Dear KeeshaB, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience with us. Although I am pleased to see you enjoyed the service and ambience of our restaurant, I would like to apologize for not being able to provide you with the 5-Star experience we strive for. We would love to hear more about your visit and try to make this right. Please contact cincinnati@konagrill to speak with a manager.

Report
M
Metro
San Francisco
5 reviews
Dined on July 16, 2021
Overall3food3service3ambience3

Noisy, poor service..waitress was absent when needed…martini was not chilled as expected, it was redone than charged on bill again. Food was just ok….salmon overcooked and dry. This is the second mediocre trip to Kona. We tried!

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded 5 days ago

We are upset to learn that your experience was anything less than great. If you could email us with a little bit more detail in regard to your visit at 'cincinnati@konagrill' so that we may find the best way to rectify this.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Chicago
1 review
Dined on July 16, 2021
Overall2food3service2ambience2

The food came out at all different times. Waters were rarely refilled. Steak was overcooked. The drinks we ordered came out after we finished eating. The rolls were pretty good.

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded 5 days ago

Dear Anonymous Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your most recent visit with us. I would first like to apologize on behalf of the team for the experience you described above. We are always looking for ways to improve and the comments provided will be helpful in coaching our team members. I would love to hear more about your dining experience and hope to make this right. Please contact cincinnati@konagrill to speak with a manager. Once again, thank you for dining at Kona Grill

Report
a
ambricado
Cincinnati
1 review
Dined on July 12, 2021
Overall2food2service4ambience2

Server was great. Ordered drinks and appetizer. Drinks were fine. 10-15 minutes later ordered sushi and salad. We asked for the salad to come out with Sushi. Sushi came and it was fine. Salad came soon after. I inquired about the appetizer. Server was apologetic. She told us that she checked and told us it was taking time to prepare and that the restaurant was busy. In my opinion it was busy for a weekday. While enjoying the sushi and salad our appetizer came out. The calamari (appetizer) was cold, hard and basically a plate of crumbs. I politely told the server the problem and she said she would have the manager come and speak with us. Manager didn't come but server said she was instructed to take it off our bill. Just my experience. Not a huge fan of Kona and I do think they lack consistency with menu items.

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded on July 13, 2021

I am sincerely sorry to hear your visit was not up to not only your standard but ours as well. Even though we may have been busy, guest satisfaction is always a priority for us. Please reach out to us directly at cincinnati@konagrill so that we may have the opportunity to ensure an amazing Kona experience for you! Thank you, Sarah Wilson Kona Grill Manager

Report
PD
PatrickD
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined on July 11, 2021
Overall3food2service2ambience4

Overall it was a good experience and would consider eating here again if I was in the area.

One suggestion : if you ask a guest how they want their steak cooked you should try to at least get close to it. I ordered medium rare steak and got very well done. Considering the meat was presliced the kitchen could def see it was not cooked to the correct temperature.

Lots of unexpected spice in the food which for me is a good thing but for someone who doesn’t like spicy food might be a problem.

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded on July 13, 2021

Patrick thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We always look forward to our guest's feedback as it is the only way we can improve! I will pass this information onto our Executive Chef so that we may ensure an exceptional Kona experience at your next visit. Thank you, Sarah Wilson Kona Grill Manager

Report
AS
AmyS
Indiana
3 reviews
Dined on July 10, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience1

Finally seated and waited 15 minutes for a server. The server was kind enough to let us know the kitchen was an hour behind on food and it would be over an hour after we ordered. I am grateful the server told us. We decided not to stay. I will say I enjoy good music but if I’m eating dinner and the music is so loud I can’t have a conversation, then it’s too loud. If I wanted to just drink and listen to music I would go to a club.

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded on July 12, 2021

I apologize that your visit was not up to standards. Please feel free to reach out to us at cincinnati@konagrill so that we may have to opportunity to correct our errors and bring you in for an exceptional experience! Thank you, Sarah Wilson

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Cincinnati
1 review
Dined on July 10, 2021
Overall1food1service5ambience5

Horrible food. They rewarded an already prepared dish. You could tell from the potatoes and tofu.

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded on July 11, 2021

I apologize that you did not enjoy your visit with us on Saturday. If you wouldn't mind we would like the opportunity to speak with you so that we may obtain more information about your recent experience. Please reach out to us at cincinnati@konagrill. We look forward to hearing from you so that we may ensure your next Kona Grill experience is one to remember! Thank you, Sarah Wilson

Report
DT
DavidT
1 review
Dined on July 10, 2021
Overall1food2service2ambience2

The kitchen messed up an order three times, for a salad for my wife who’s allergic to dairy. They kept putting cheese on the salad. It took at least 30 mins to a get a drink each time. There needs to be more servers. It seems the kitchen is overwhelmed. Food was delicious though. Our server was delightful and she was doing everything she could to fulfill our needs. Seems like there is bad management or not enough workers or they’re new. We used to work at this specific Kona Grille and it seemed like everyone was waiting super long on drinks.

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded on July 11, 2021

David, Thank you for reaching out and letting me know of your experience. I would love to connect with you to learn more about your experience with us. I am positive given the opportunity, we will be able to turn your experience around into a positive one! Please reply to this comment below so I might connect with you directly. Michael Seale General Manager

Report
T
vipTony
Cincinnati
6 reviews
Dined on July 10, 2021
Overall3food4service1ambience4

One entree came out before appetizers 15 minutes later second entree showed up along with appetizers. Very disappointed in the timing and sent appetizers back. Dropped check off while we were still eating and never asked if we wanted dessert or anything else!

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded on July 11, 2021

Tony, Thank you for reaching out and letting me know of your experience. I would love to connect with you to learn more about your experience with us. I am positive given the opportunity, we will be able to turn your experience around into a positive one! Please reply to this comment below so I might connect with you directly. Michael Seale General Manager

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Cincinnati
6 reviews
Dined on July 10, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Catching up with friends

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded on July 11, 2021

Amazing! Thank you!

Report
SP
SpikeP
1 review
Dined on July 9, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Sam helped us in so many ways. Her kindness along with her personality made our experience one to remember. We come frequently on our Friday date nights and will continue to.

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded on July 11, 2021

Amazing! Thank you Spike for reaching out and for giving Sam a shout out. We love hearing about great service along with a great experience.

Report
TT
ThomasT
Cincinnati
3 reviews
Dined on July 9, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Food was good but the drink prices are ridiculous. $8 for domestic beer and $11 for a glass of normal wine is very high. $90.00 for dinner for two before tip and we picked lower priced entrees.

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded on July 11, 2021

Thank you Thomas for reaching out and letting us know about your experience with us. We will share with the rest of our team.

Report
D
Daniel
Cincinnati
1 review
Dined on July 9, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience3

It was a great meal with friends. My only complaint was sitting right by the exit door.
Somebody has to, so it was our turn, I guess.

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded on July 11, 2021

Thank you Daniel for your feedback! We will share with the rest of our team.

Report
KL
KerriL
Cincinnati
3 reviews
Dined on July 7, 2021
Overall2food2service2ambience1

We went there for our anniversary which I noted on reservation and requested a rooftop table for some privacy. That did not happen. They never mentioned our anniversary and seated us right by the front revolving door, and so close to adjacent table that the toddler sitting in high chair could turn and bang on our table, which happened repeatedly throughout our dinner. Noise level was incredibly loud, so we had to sit side by side to hear each other talk. Food was greasy. We opted to enjoy dessert at another local restaurant with a much better ambiance.

As we left, we noticed there were several small tables available in a much quieter section which we were never offered. Overall, a very disappointing experience.

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded on July 11, 2021

I would like to extend our sincerest apologies for the negative experience that you had with us. Although we try to make every experience exceptional sometimes we fall short. Please contact us at cincinnatii@konagrill at your convenience so we can try to make this right. We look forward to hearing from you. Thank you, Sarah Wilson

Report
RW
RonnieW
Cincinnati
1 review
Dined on July 5, 2021
Overall2food2service3ambience3

I am not into giving negative reviews of restaurants during this time as I know the industry is struggling. Although KONA has traditionally been good we had a subpar experience in regards to the food. Seemed like it has gone down a few notches while prices increased. Service was good. Not faulting them but the filet was lacking etc. We will go again as they have a positive track record.

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded on July 8, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I would love to connect with you and learn more about your dining experience with us, so that I may use it as a teaching tool for the rest of my team.

Report
LS
LindaS
1 review
Dined on July 2, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Calamari was overcooked, otherwise excellent. Charming server. Spicy tuna roll lives up to it's name.

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded on July 6, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback! It is always appreciated.

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Detroit
3 reviews
Dined on June 30, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We had a great time celebrating my wife’s birthday. Food was delicious and service was good.

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded on July 5, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback! It is always appreciated.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Cincinnati
7 reviews
Dined on June 27, 2021
Overall4food4service3ambience4

Food was good, as usual. Sushi, potstickers. No menus available except for on the phone. Problematic if you have a phone that's paid off, and not brand new. We asked the manager, and he blamed cOviD, instead of just saying that they were out. I had just been there a week ago, and they had paper menus! Maybe it's time to go back to REAL ones. So, know what you want to order if or when you go.

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded on June 30, 2021

Thank you again for reaching out. We are currently in the process of making the necessary changes!

Report
SM
SteveM
Cincinnati
3 reviews
Dined on June 26, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience1

We have enjoyed Kona historically; however our last two experiences over the last two weeks have been horrible. Last weekend we tried to be seated for a late dinner around 8:30 and were told they were only accepting reservations and we could not be seated even though there were plenty of open tables.

Tonight we had a reservation for 8:00. We showed up at 8 and were told we could be seated, but we could not even order food until 8:45 because the kitchen was behind. This is unacceptable. I had a reservation. I can’t have my children sit for 45 minutes at 8:00 before we can even order.

The recent service we have received from this previously beloved restaurant is unbelievable and unacceptable. At this point I’m not sure if we will return.

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded on June 30, 2021

Thank you for taking the time for your feedback. We always appreciate feedback from our guests. I was hoping if we could connect so I might learn more insight into your visit with us. If you could please reply to this review, I would love personally connect so that we might turn this experience around into a positive one! Michael Seale General Manager

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on June 26, 2021
Overall2food5service1ambience4

Service was poor for the first time we have ever been there. Hope it was a one time thing.

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded on June 30, 2021

Thank you for taking the time for your feedback. We always appreciate feedback from our guests. I was hoping if we could connect so I might learn more insight into your visit with us. If you could please reply to this review, I would love personally connect so that we might turn this experience around into a positive one! Michael Seale General Manager

Report
A
Alexis
1 review
Dined on June 26, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

We loved our dinner and had the most fun! Thanks for a great experience!

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded on June 30, 2021

Amazing! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review! I will share with the rest of the team and we look forward to your next visit with us.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Cincinnati
15 reviews
Dined on June 25, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

It was so loud we couldn’t even talk to each other. Waiter was great. Food was awesome .

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded on June 30, 2021

Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your next visit with us! If you have your number for your Konivore points please reply to this thread and we will get it added for you!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
3 reviews
Dined on June 25, 2021
Overall3food4service3ambience2

Enclosed patio seating area was sweltering-not sure why they didn’t open the plastic windows, it wasn’t raining. Fans barely working, music so loud out there it was impossible to have a conversation without yelling. Had to walk into main restaurant area to cool off-(was cooler outside 77 degrees) than in the enclosed patio area. Food was good and server friendly but would not sit on that area again.

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded on June 30, 2021

Thank you for taking the time for your feedback. We always appreciate feedback from our guests. I was hoping if we could connect so I might learn more insight into your visit with us. If you could please reply to this review, I would love personally connect so that we might turn this experience around into a positive one! Michael Seale General Manager

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Cincinnati
1 review
Dined on June 25, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Katie Ann was amazing!!!

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded on June 30, 2021

Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your next visit with us!

Report

FAQs

Kona Grill - Cincinnati offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (513) 322-5860.

Kona Grill - Cincinnati is rated 4 stars by 1480 OpenTable diners.

Kona Grill - Cincinnati does offer gift cards which you can purchase here https://konagrill.cashstar.com/store/recipient?locale=en-us.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.

Tweets by Kona Grill - Cincinnati