This restaurant added safety precaution details

This includes info about cleaning, sanitizing, social distancing, and usage of personal protective equipment. Learn more.

Kona Grill - Cincinnati

4.1
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
1100 Reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Welcome to Kona Grill Cincinnati at Liberty Center, in between The Square and rooftop garden. Enjoy your local paradise after work, a day of shopping, or before an event. Fresh, wild caught fish is flown in daily to craft award-winning sushi, while contemporary American entrees are prepared from scratch in-house. Happy hour on the beautiful rooftop patio overlooking The Square is a must. This is the best spot to catch a summer concert. And don’t leave until you’ve tried one of the handcrafted cocktails, ice cold draft beer, or a glass of wine selected from the extensive drink menu. The restaurant’s diverse menu and contemporary ambience provide the perfect venue for special occasions like bridal showers, baby showers, birthday celebrations, business meetings, date night, or just any occasion really.

Support Kona Grill - Cincinnati during COVID-19

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
  • Sealed or wrapped utensils used
Social Distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
Personal Protective Equipment
  • Waitstaff wear masks
  • Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
What 1100 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.1based on recent ratings
4.2
food
4.0
service
4.1
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
84% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
RG
vipRobinG
Cincinnati
13 reviews
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Service was terrific! Lady serving on the patio.

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded a day ago

Thank you for the great feedback. We are glad you had a great time dining with us. Please ask for me on your next visit to Kona Grill. I would love to meet you and buy you dessert. Stay safe and take care! Cheers! Ryan Cracchiolo General Manager

Report
SA
SandraA
Charleston
7 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall4food4service4ambience2

Service was good music was lound as not appropriate also on leaving saw family with babies and young children sitting at the bar not appropriate seating since when do you allow under 2s at the bar !!!!!!

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded 2 hours ago

Thank you for the great feedback. We are glad you had a great time dining with us. According to Ohio Law there are no age restrictions when it comes to sitting at the bar. We also have a DJ on the weekend, which can sometimes make restaurant a little loud. We did honor your request and did turn down the music. We hope to see you again soon. Take care and stay safe. Ryan Cracchiolo General Manager

Report
JA
JohnA
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Since the covid 19 situation we have limited our dining to outdoor. The Kona restaurant has an outdoor area that is very inviting and adaptable to weather. The current manager Al always makes us welcome by personally checking in with us to ensure things are great with our visit.

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded a day ago

Thank you for the great feedback. We are glad you had a great time dining with us. I will pass along your comments to Al. He is definitely an amazing manager. Please ask for me on your next visit to Kona Grill. I would love to meet you and buy you dessert. See you soon. Cheers! Ryan Cracchiolo General Manager

Report
NI
NotImpressive
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall3food3service2ambience1

This was our third time to Kona and I had booked a table inside on Open Table as it was cold out. They seated us right beside the door on the second floor which was very cold at 8 pm. When I asked the server about it and if we could move he assured us the door wouldn't be opened very much - it was opened/windy/freezing for 90% of meal which made it a less than optimal experience. The server also was not that knowledgeable about the menu/food - leading to a less than great choice for one of our kids (thick sauce served all over the chicken - we asked about how it was prepared and he never mentioned that). The steak was very good. Over all moderate to lower end of dining experiences with an higher price tag. Not sure we will back.

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded 2 days ago

We apologize about the experience you received at our establishment. Our goal is not to meet, but to exceed our guest expectations. I am very disheartened from reading this review. Our staff should have informed a manager regarding the issues you experienced during your visit. When you have time can you please contact me at 513-322-5860. I want to talk to you personally about your experience and have the opportunity to win you back as a guest. Thanks, Ryan Cracchiolo General Manager

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall2food4service2ambience1

The music was VERY loud and we could not hear the people at our table. The service was slow and several parts of our orders were not correct.

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded 2 days ago

We apologize about the experience you received at our establishment. We do have a DJ in our rooftop bar Friday and Saturday nights. It can become a little loud from time to time. We did turn the music down to accommodate your request. When you have time can you please contact me at 513-322-5860. I would like to talk to you personally about your experience and have the opportunity to win you back as a guest. Thanks, Alex Ward Manager

Report
GR
GingerR
Cincinnati
4 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall3food3service2ambience4

We liked the atmosphere, outdoor seating was excellent, with a patio heater close enough that we were comfortable even though it was cold outside. The server was friendly and helpful, but didn't bring soy sauce even though all 3 of us ordered dishes that people generally will use soy sauce on. The dishes of my 2 guests were dry, they said; I had the poke bowl, which also needed it. So he brought some out and poured some in a tiny dish, we had to ask twice more for refills. We were all a little disappointed in the food itself. It was not at all cooked like the original Kona Grill in Honolulu, which is where we ate and loved everything. In our midwestern city, it was probably OK to people who don't travel, but we expected better.

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded 2 days ago

We apologize about the experience you received at our establishment. We apologize about your table not receiving enough soy sauce. Our staff would normally leave the soy sauce bottle on the table, but we are not permitted by law due to the pandemic. I am troubled that the poke was dry. It actually comes with its own sauce. When you have time can you please contact me at 513-322-5860. I want to talk to you personally about your visit and make the situation right. Thanks, Ryan Cracchiolo

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Cincinnati
2 reviews
Dined on October 13, 2020
Overall3food4service4ambience2

We are trying to support our restaurants! The food was great, but the music was WAY TOO LOUD! We were on the patio, and couldn’t hear each other....very frustrating!

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded 6 days ago

We apologize about the music being too loud. We changed the volume of the music multiple times to accommodate your party and another party that were unsatisfied with the volume of the music. One party wanted the music volume lower, while the other party wanted the music volume louder. We did our best to try to make everyone happy. We are sorry that this did not occur. When you have time can you please contact us at 513-322-5860. We want to make the situation right. Thanks, Alex Ward

Report
SA
SandraA
Charleston
8 reviews
Dined on October 11, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Sunday afternoon outside eating area .Clean nice service a little slow we ordered from Happy hour menu it all came out the same time .

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded 6 days ago

Thank you for the great feedback. We are glad you had a great time dining with us. Please ask for me on your next visit to Kona Grill. I would love to meet you and buy you dessert. See you soon. Cheers! Ryan Cracchiolo General Manager

Report
F
vipFoodie76
Jacksonville
22 reviews
Dined on October 10, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing food and large diverse menu selection. There were five of us, each ordered something different and it was all incredibly delicious. Wish there was one closer to Jax FL.

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded on October 13, 2020

Thank you for the great feedback. We are glad you had a great time dining with us. We apologize that our closest location to Jacksonville is a few hours away in Tampa, FL. If you stop back in before you head home to Florida please ask for me. I would love to meet you and buy you dessert. Cheers! Ryan Cracchiolo General Manager

Report
C
Carol
Cincinnati
9 reviews
Dined on October 9, 2020
Overall5food4service4ambience4

Food was good, I’m not a fish lover but my party loved it.

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded on October 13, 2020

Thank you for the great feedback Carol. We are glad you had a great time dining with us. Next time you stop in you should try the Macadamia Nut Chicken. It's a boneless, skinless chicken breast that we encrust with Macadamia Nuts and is served with Shoyu Cream Sauce. It's amazing and is our best selling entrée. Pleas ask for me on your next visit to Kona Grill. I'd love to meet you and buy you dessert. Thanks, Ryan Cracchiolo General Manager

Report
DW
DelorisW
Cincinnati
3 reviews
Dined on October 9, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Our outdoor dinner was great. Our server Anna was very attentive and ensured we had what we needed. Management also made the rounds asking if we were happy with our experience. Only problem was it soon got crowded and loud since everyone wanted to enjoy the beautiful patio too.
We love coming here and they strive to make sure that you do!

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded on October 11, 2020

Deloris, We are elated to hear about your great experience! We also love anna and think she is amazing at her job! Feel free to ask for a manager next time you come in and mention this review. Would love to talk more about it! -Alex Ward, Manager

Report
MP
MaddieP
1 review
Dined on October 8, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Service was great! Drinks were tasty. Food came out quickly. The flatbread was absolutely amazing. Highly recommend! We will be coming back.

TL
TLace
Cincinnati
1 review
Dined on October 5, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food great service. Could get more value for your money but the food was so delicious could barely complain.

DS
vipDouglasS
Washington DC
5 reviews
Dined on October 4, 2020
Overall3food3service3ambience2

The appetizers and desserts were good; the main courses, fair. The "patio" seating was noisy and distracting. We were alittle disappointed, as this was 'restrauant week'. Enjoyed our waitress and her service. Hopefully we'll give it a try next year.

RC
vipRebeccaC
Cincinnati
2 reviews
Dined on October 4, 2020
Overall3food4service3ambience3

Enjoyed the sushi and patio. Wait staff was a little slow, but pleasant.

MM
MarkMon
Cincinnati
1 review
Dined on October 3, 2020
Overall2food2service2ambience2

If you like loud mumble rap, chain restraunt style food, and super high prices, this place is for you

OT
OpenTable Diner
Cincinnati
3 reviews
Dined on October 3, 2020
Overall3food5service5ambience1

Food was awesome. Service was awesome. But unfortunately it was very loud and a little overpack for the COVID-19. They had a party of over 30 people in the main dining area.

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded on October 6, 2020

Thank you for providing us feedback on your recent visit. We are only seating a max of 10 people a table per Ohio Mandates. Please feel free to reach out if you would like to discuss your visit further. We value your feedback. Best, Ryan Cracchiolo 513-322-5860

Report
JB
JoniB
Cincinnati
6 reviews
Dined on October 2, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Had a really nice Friday evening dinner with a few girl friends on the Kona screened in patio. Food and service were great!

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded on October 6, 2020

JoniB, Thank you! We are glad you love our patio area and appreciate the review! We are excitied for you to return in the future!

Report
AB
AmyB
Cincinnati
1 review
Dined on October 2, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The menu had a variety of items and several I was interested in.

l
viplswenski
Cincinnati
50 reviews
Dined on October 2, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

The food was unique and enjoyable. The portions are huge! The herb salad and rum cake were both exceptional.

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded on October 6, 2020

Iswenski, We are glad you enjoyed dining with us. Please say Hi next time you dine with us. I would love to get you a Rum Cake on us. Best, Ryan Cracchiolo General Manager

Report
A
vipAlesu
Cincinnati
77 reviews
Dined on October 2, 2020
Overall2food4service4ambience1

My most terrible experience in all the years of dinning out around the world. First, on entering the restaurant thru the revolving door, a man entered behind the next section. He pushed the revolving door so hard, the door hit me hard on my back sending me tumbling onto the reception check in area. Luckily, there were a number of people waiting for their tables, so they help me to stable myself w/o falling on my face to the floor. The idiotic man did not even apologized. SECONDLY, they have really loud awful music. Since the music was so loud, people’s talking were also very loud. Also, the dinning room where we were sat was by the street, so the noise of motorcycles and other traffic contributed to the loud noises. The whole dinning experience was just horrendous! We will NEVER GO BACK.

FI
FamilyIsEverything2Me
Cincinnati
6 reviews
Dined on October 1, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent Customer Service. Would like more vegetarian and pescatarian menu options. Overall it was a great dining experience.

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded on October 4, 2020

Thank you for the great feedback. We are glad you had a great time dining at our establishment, especially on your anniversary. Please ask for me on your next visit to Kona Grill. I would love to meet you and buy you dessert. Cheers! Ryan Cracchiolo General Manager

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Cincinnati
4 reviews
Dined on September 29, 2020
Overall3food3service2ambience4

Service has been HORRIBLY slow lately. After being seated, it took 14 minutes for anyone to come to our table. Tonight, we sat in the restaurant side on the main level. There were approx 12 servers we counted in and out of the kitchen. With social distancing, and limited capacity, I cannot understand the subpar service. We watched our server grab our appetizer from the kitchen, then pause, and he set it back down. We waited another 7 minutes until he came back to deliver said appetizer!

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded on October 1, 2020

From the bottom of my heart I apologize about your experience at our establishment. This is not the level of service you should receive at Kona Grill. I would like to talk to you personally about your experience and have the opportunity to win you back as a guest. Can you please contact me at 513-322-5860. Thanks, Ryan Cracchiolo General Manager

Report
f
foodie
Cincinnati
4 reviews
Dined on September 28, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Herb salad was fantastic. Main entree was a little dry since it sat for while before it was delivered to the table.

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded on October 1, 2020

Thank you for the great feedback. We are glad you had a great time dining at our establishment, especially on your anniversary. We do apologize about your main entrée. If you ever have an issue please inform our staff. We will make the situation right. Please ask for me on your next visit to Kona Grill. I would love to meet you and buy you dessert. Cheers! Ryan Cracchiolo General Manager

Report
CZ
CrisZ
Cincinnati
1 review
Dined on September 26, 2020
Overall2food4service1ambience5

The mashed potato’s were hard. Service was well below expectations.

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded on September 28, 2020

I personally apologize about your experience at our establishment. When I read your review my heart sank to the bottom of my stomach. I am also troubled that manager did not stop by your table that evening. When you have a moment can you please contact me at 513-322-5860. I would personally like to speak with you about our experience and have the opportunity to win you back as a guest. Always delighted to serve, Ryan Cracchiolo General Manager

Report
AR
vipAriR
Chicago
7 reviews
Dined on September 26, 2020
Overall2food2service2ambience4

Service was slow, sushi did not taste fresh

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded on September 27, 2020

We apologize about your experience at our establishment. We are a made from scratch kitchen along with cutting our fish fresh in house daily. When you have a moment can you please contact me at 513-322-5860. I would personally like to speak with you about our experience and have the opportunity to win you back as a guest. Always delighted to serve, Ryan Cracchiolo General Manager

Report
RK
RitaK
1 review
Dined on September 26, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

It took a little while to get our food, but it was delish.

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded on September 28, 2020

Thanks for the great review and feedback. We are trying to improve to make our establishment the best restaurant in Liberty Town Center. Please ask for me on your next visit to Kona Grill. I'd love to meet you and buy you dessert. Cheers! Alex Wood

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Adelaide / SA
1 review
Dined on September 25, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Anniversary

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded on September 28, 2020

Thank you for the great feedback. We are glad you had a great time dining at our establishment, especially on your anniversary. Please ask for me on your next visit to Kona Grill. I would love to meet you and buy you dessert. Cheers! Ryan Cracchiolo General Manager

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on September 25, 2020
Overall3food2service4ambience3

Awful outdoor area near the rooftop park Rollerblading dude in light up gear would not go away !

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded on September 27, 2020

We apologize about your experience at our establishment. Unfortunately, we do not have control of the guest outside of our building in Liberty Square's public common areas. When you have a moment can you please contact me at 513-322-5860. I would personally like to speak with you about our experience and have the opportunity to win you back as a guest. Always delighted to serve, Ryan Cracchiolo General Manager

Report
RM
RMyers
Cincinnati
12 reviews
Dined on September 25, 2020
Overall4food5service5ambience3

Good food and outstanding service. Pricey for entree items. They are interesting and fresh enough to moderately justify their inflated prices. As I said the service was fantastic and provided for a very enjoyable experience.

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded on October 1, 2020

Thanks for the great feedback. We are glad you had a great time dining with us. We do apologize about our price increases. We had to increase our menu prices $1-$2 due to our supplier's price increase because of the pandemic. Please ask for me on your next visit to our establishment. I would love to meet you and buy you dessert. Cheers! Ryan Cracchiolo General Manager

Report
M
Mare
Cincinnati
22 reviews
Dined on September 23, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I chose Kona for lunch with my sister in law from out of town. She has been unable to dine out in her state because of strict dining restrictions from Covid ( a shame indeed) I chose Kona because of the patio setting and the mitigation efforts in place to keep everyone safe. We were seated in a nice location on the patio as our reservation requested. The hostess and server were very professional and attentive. We weren’t in a hurry which was respected by our server. The manager checked in with us several times. The wine and the food were excellent. We had a great time. Kona is one of my go to places at Liberty Center.

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded on September 28, 2020

Thank you for the great feedback Mare. We are glad you had a great time dining with us. Our number one goal is to keep our staff and guest safe during this pandemic. Please ask for me on your next visit to Kona Grill. I would personally like to meet you and buy you dessert. Cheers, Christian Kilgard

Report
KS
KaylaS
Cincinnati
1 review
Dined on September 20, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great service and food. Loved the avocado egg rolls.

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded on September 26, 2020

Thanks for the feedback KaylaS. Our eggrolls are made in house everyday by hand. You are right. They are super delicious. Please ask for me on your next visit to Kona Grill. I'd love to meet you and buy you an appetizer. Cheers! Alex Ward Manager

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Cincinnati
1 review
Dined on September 19, 2020
Overall3food3service3ambience5

My dinner arrived 5 minutes before the appetizer and 12 minutes before my husbands meal. Utensils arrived after having to ask for them well after the appetizer. I asked them to take my good back until my husbands was served.
So needless to say my food was cold when my husbands arrived
Very disappointed

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded on September 28, 2020

I personally apologize about your experience at our establishment. Your review make me extremely disheartened. That is not the level of service you should ever receive at our establishment. When you have a moment can you please contact me at 513-322-5860. I would personally like to speak with you about our experience and have the opportunity to win you back as a guest. Always delighted to serve, Ryan Cracchiolo General Manager

Report
TC
TonyC
Cincinnati
3 reviews
Dined on September 19, 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience4

The service and our meal was great. However, I ordered a drink that was too strong. I didn’t ask for a different drink but when I commented that it was too strong to the waitress, I thought she’d offer to remake it. She did not. It wasn’t terrible that she didn’t and she was very nice, I just thought it would be offered. Other than that, everything was great!

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Cincinnati
8 reviews
Dined on September 19, 2020
Overall3food3service3ambience3

They dont have fresh salmon available. They are making even the sashimis with smoked salmon. Not the same

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded on September 26, 2020

We apologize about your experience at our establishment. I do have some questions about your visit. When you have time please contact me at 513-322-5860. I would like to talk to you personally about your experience and have the opportunity to win you back as a guest. Thanks, Ryan Cracchiolo General Manager

Report
J
vipJoe43
Cleveland
2 reviews
Dined on September 19, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Big Al the manager did a great job in making our experience great!

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded on September 27, 2020

Big Al is the best! I can't wait to share your comments with him. Please ask for me on your next visit to Kona Grill. I would love to meet you and buy you dessert. Cheers, Ryan Cracchiolo General Manager

Report
JV
JessicaV
1 review
Dined on September 18, 2020
Overall1food1service1ambience3

Ribeye was grey in color. Poorly cooked. Miso soup extremely salty. Waitress not friendly. We will not be returning.

Kona Grill - Cincinnati
Responded on September 26, 2020

JessicaV, we apologize about your experience at our establishment. Our goal is not to meet, but exceed our guest's expectations. We apologize that this did not occur. When you have a moment can you please contact me at 513-322-5860. I would personally like to speak with you about our experience and have the opportunity to win you back as a guest. Always delighted to serve, Ryan Cracchiolo General Manager

Report
TG
vipTravelGoddess
Cincinnati
34 reviews
Dined on September 17, 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience3

Everything was very good except we would never order the calamari again. It is way over breaded.

MG
MicaG
Cincinnati
3 reviews
Dined on September 12, 2020
Overall4food5service3ambience4

My hubby and I had an impromptu date night and have never been to Lona so we decided to give it a try. We had reservations for 8:45 and when we arrived at 8:40 the hostess said they hadn’t even sat the 8pm reservations so it may be a while. We got drinks from the bar and was actually sat on the top patio. Server was very bubbly and helpful with the menu and made some great suggestions. We ordered sushi and two entrees. Everything came out at once and we asked for soy and little bowls for the sushi and the server didn’t come back for 20 minutes. We were all done with our mains and were eating on the soy so we could enjoy our sushi. She finally came back and we asked for a box and the check. The food was delicious and we enjoyed the patio. Service could have been a little better but we will come back and hive them another try.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Cincinnati
1 review
Dined on September 12, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great place to eat

FAQs

Kona Grill - Cincinnati is rated 4.1 stars by 1100 OpenTable diners.

Kona Grill - Cincinnati does offer gift cards which you can purchase here https://konagrill.cashstar.com/store/recipient?locale=en-us.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.

Tweets by Kona Grill - Cincinnati