Kona Grill - Carmel

4.5
1517 Reviews
$30 and under
Contemporary American
Welcome to Kona Grill Carmel at Clay Terrace, steps away from The Lawn. Enjoy your local paradise after work, a day of shopping, or before an event. Fresh, wild caught fish is flown in daily to craft award-winning sushi, while contemporary American entrees are prepared from scratch in-house. Happy hour on the beautiful, shaded patio is a must. And don’t leave until you’ve tried one of the handcrafted cocktails, ice cold draft beer, or a glass of wine selected from the extensive drink menu. The restaurant’s diverse menu and contemporary ambiance provide the perfect venue for special occasions like bridal showers, baby showers, birthday celebrations, business meetings, date night, or just any occasion really.

Support Kona Grill - Carmel during COVID-19

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
  • Sealed or wrapped utensils used
Physical Distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Protective Equipment
  • Waitstaff wear masks
  • Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace

Offers

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Daily 6:00PM - 8:45PM

What 1517 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.5
service
4.4
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
91% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
IG
IanG
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall4food3service4ambience4

Coo coo cool and ribeye was little for fat then meat.

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded 2 days ago

Thanks for the feedback and review IanG. We are glad you had a great time dining with us. We do apologize about your Ribeye. If you ever have an issue please inform our staff. We would have gladly remade or replaced your Ribeye if we would have known. Please ask for me on your next visit. I would love to meet you and buy you dessert. Cheers! Christian Kilgard Manager

Report
CM
CaptnMikesalot
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing food and service. Other customers were rude to staff for no reason. We got a chuckle out of watching a women make a Karen of herself.

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded 3 days ago

Thank you for the great review CaptnMikesalot. We appreciated the feedback and are glad you had a great time dining with us. Please ask for me on your next visit to Kona Grill. I would love to meet you and buy you an appetizer and dessert. Cheers! Christian Kilgard Manager

Report
A
vipAnnie
Indiana
46 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We celebrated a birthday with a wonderful dinner. We sat in the bar. Excellent service and they had music that night. It was a great night!

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded 3 days ago

Annie- Thank you for the amazing review. We are glad you had a great time celebrating your birthday with us. Please ask for me on your next visit to our location. I would love to meet you and buy you dessert. Happy Birthday! Christian Kilgard Manager

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Indiana
1 review
Dined on January 8, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

It was great! We always love having a parents only night out!

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded 6 days ago

Thanks for the great feedback and review! We are glad you had a great parents night out. Please ask for me on your next visit to Kona Grill. I would love to meet you and buy you dessert. Cheers! Christian Kilgard Manager

Report
AF
AngelicaF
1 review
Dined on January 7, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food was great! Service was even better! Plenary of reasons to go back!

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded 6 days ago

Thanks for the awesome review AneglicaF. We appreciate the feedback. Please ask for me on your next visit to our location. I would love to meet you and buy you dessert. Thanks, Christian Kilgard Manager

Report
MH
MandyH
Indiana
2 reviews
Dined on January 5, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Kona Grill never disappoints! We decided to sit in the dining room versus the bar this time and it was great. They are now offering their happy hour deals in their main dining room which is a bonus. We enjoyed all their yummy appetizers and sushi and topped it off with the amazing chopped salad. Our service was excellent and we had a great time. My friends and I will definitely be back soon.

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded 6 days ago

We are glad you had a great time dining with us Mandy. We are a made from scratch kitchen that cuts all our meats and seafood in house everyday. Please ask for me on your next visit to Kona Grill. I would love to meet you and buy you an appetizer. Cheers! Christian Kilgard Manager

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on January 3, 2021
Overall2food1service2ambience3

Went out to dinner Sunday late afternoon for my birthday. I was so disappointed. The food quality was poor. The food wasn’t fresh. You could tell the food sat in the window and cooled. My steak was overcooked.

Kona was always a birthday favorite. I’m not sure we’ll be back. Very disappointing.

Kona was not overly busy. The wait staff was inattentive.

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded 6 days ago

We apologize about the experience you received at our establishment. Reading your review made me very disheartened. I would like to talk to you personally about your experience and have the opportunity to win you back as a guest. Can you please contact me at 317-566-1400. Thanks, Christian Kilgard Manager

Report
HG
HeatherG
1 review
Dined on January 2, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Everything was fantastic! The food was fresh and delicious!

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded on January 4, 2021

Thank you for the great review! We are glad you had a great time dining with us. Please ask for me on your next visit to our location. I would love to meet you and buy you dessert. Always delighted to serve, Christian Kilgard Manager

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Chicago
1 review
Dined on January 1, 2021
Overall2food4service3ambience3

I wish I had a picture of the bug that joined us for dinner and refused to leave. We sat snd fanned it away from our food all night; how our waitress didn’t seem to notice us beyond me. Ugh. $200 dinner, don’t really want bugs.

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded on January 4, 2021

We apologize about your most recent experience at our establishment. I am very troubled that your issues were not brought to our staff and management. When you have time can you please contact me at 317-566-1400. I would like to talk to you personally about your experience and have the opportunity to win you back as a guest. Thanks, Christian Kilgard Manager

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Indiana
2 reviews
Dined on December 31, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Good as always.

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded on January 3, 2021

Thank you for the amazing review. We are glad you had a great time dining at our establishment. Please ask for me on our next visit to Kona Grill. I would love to say Hi! and buy you an appetizer. Cheers! Christian Kilgard Manager

Report
R
vipRich
Indiana
8 reviews
Dined on December 31, 2020
Overall1food1service2ambience2

The food was horrible and very overpriced. Service was horrible. I will never be back to this restaurant.

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded on January 3, 2021

Rich, My name is Christian Kilgard. I'm a manger at Kona Grill in Carmel, IN. I personally apologize about the experience you received at our establishment. I was extremely disheartened after I read your review. I would like to talk to you about your experience and have the opportunity to win you back as a guest. Can you please contact me at 317-566-1400. Thanks, Christian Kilgard Manager

Report
PN
PattyNOTHAPPY
1 review
Dined on December 31, 2020
Overall3food4service2ambience3

We had reservations at 630 on New Year's Eve and the service was horrible. During a pandemic, I did not expect to leave at 9pm. Waiter was nice but the kitchen was super slow. Waited about 30-45 minutes for an appetizer and 1.5 for our food.

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded on January 3, 2021

We apologize about the experience you had at our establishment on New Years Eve. I would like to talk to you personally about your experience and have the opportunity to win you back as a guest. Can you please contact me at 317-566-1400. Thank you, Christian Kilgard Manager

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Indiana
9 reviews
Dined on December 31, 2020
Overall4food5service5ambience4

Always great service! Good is always delicious! Lots of options and fun cocktails. Had a great birthday dinner with my family! The bento boxes for the kids are adorable!

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded on January 4, 2021

We are glad you had a great time dining with us, especially on your special occasion. Please ask for me on your next visit to our location. I would love to meet you and buy you dessert. Always delighted to serve, Christian Kilgard Manager

Report
MA
vipM40A
Indiana
15 reviews
Dined on December 31, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Showed up a little early so it took a bit to get our initial beverages but after we did, the service was flawless. Food was terrific. Very enjoyable experience overall.

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded on January 3, 2021

Thank you for the amazing review. We are glad you had a great time dining at our establishment. We pride on keeping our staff and guest safe during the pandemic. Please ask for me on our next visit to Kona Grill. I would love to say Hi! and buy you an appetizer. Cheers! Christian Kilgard Manager

Report
US
USAIndy
Indiana
5 reviews
Dined on December 30, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food and drinks. COVID-19 guidelines followed by staff. Definitely going back.

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded on January 1, 2021

Thank you for the amazing review. We are glad you had a great time dining at our establishment. We pride on keeping our staff and guest safe during the pandemic. Please ask for me on our next visit to Kona Grill. I would love to say Hi! and buy you an appetizer. Cheers! Christian Kilgard Manager

Report
MC
MissCrimson
Indiana
2 reviews
Dined on December 30, 2020
Overall4food5service5ambience5

We were celebrating my boyfriend’s birthday! We had a great time and he enjoyed the dinner. My only wish is that since I’d mentioned it was a birthday early, that the waiter brought out the birthday dessert without me having to ask him in front of my boyfriend so that it would have been more of a surprise. Otherwise it was a good night and we ate well.

JR
JRP001
Indiana
3 reviews
Dined on December 30, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Server was polite and professional... I think her name was Mia?
Calamari was delicious and plenty to share amongst 3 guests.
Tomato soup was served hot and flavorful...
The sliders... we shared amongst group
The sushi rolls were outstanding!

Our server enlightened us to the sushi roll not on the menu.
OMG... it was super yummy!

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded on January 1, 2021

Thank you for the great feedback Jim. I will pass along your comments to our staff. Please ask for me on your next visit to Kona Grill. I would love to meet you and buy you an appetizer and dessert. Happy New Year! Cheers! Christian Kilgard Manager

Report
F
vipFranklyspeaking
Indiana
13 reviews
Dined on December 29, 2020
Overall3food5service2ambience2

Seating was spaced for health safety. No immediate service. Had to hale-down a service person. Service non-attentive from there on. Bill was incorrect and had to be adjusted.

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded on January 1, 2021

I apologize about your most recent experience Franklyspeaking. I would like to find out more information about your visit and have the opportunity to win you back as a guest. Can you please contact me at 317-566-1400. Thanks, Christian Kilgard Manager

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Indiana
1 review
Dined on December 25, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience5

Nice experience, enjoyable place. Me and my wife took our time and ate a few appetizers and a few sushi rolls. The fried tempure appetizer is one of the best fried shrimp i have ever had. The sushi is fairly good, not the best and not the worst, a few of the rolls are slightly overpriced for what you actually get but it’s the price for being one of the only available places in the area.

Overall i will be definitely back with my wife.

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded on December 30, 2020

Thank you for the great feedback. We are glad you had a great time dining with us. We do apologize about the sushi rolls you ordered. If you ever have an issue please inform our staff. We will make the situation right. When you have time can you please contact me at 317-566-1400. Thanks, Christian Kilgard Manager

Report
l
vipluvnitelife2
Indiana
17 reviews
Dined on December 24, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Paloma was a great server!

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded on January 1, 2021

Thank you for the great feedback. I'll pass along your comments to Paloma. Please ask for me on your next visit. I would love to meet you and buy you dessert. Cheers! Christian Kilgard Manager

Report
JM
JohnM
1 review
Dined on December 24, 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Nice place and great service. It’s pricey little bit.

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded on December 26, 2020

Thank you for your great comments and feedback. We are glad you had a great time dining with us. Please ask for me on your next visit to Kona Grill. I would love to meet you and buy you dessert. Cheers! Christian Kilgard Manager

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Charleston
3 reviews
Dined on December 24, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Everything was delicious!!

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded on December 30, 2020

Thank you for the amazing review. We are glad you had a great time dining at our establishment. Our food is magically delicious! Please ask for me on our next visit to Kona Grill. I would love to say Hi! and buy you an appetizer. Cheers! Christian Kilgard Manager

Report
BP
BillP
Savannah
1 review
Dined on December 22, 2020
Overall5food5service4ambience4

Kona Grill gas been a favorite for years and continues to excel

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded on December 26, 2020

Thank you for your great comments and feedback. We are glad you had a great time dining with us. Please ask for me on your next visit to Kona Grill. I would love to meet you and buy you dessert. Cheers! Christian Kilgard Manager

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Indiana
1 review
Dined on December 19, 2020
Overall2food1service3ambience2

We have gone to Kona for years. This was our worst trip. The food wasn’t good and it was overpriced. Very disappointed. We will not be going back

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded on December 22, 2020

We apologize about your experience Anonymous. Our goal is to not meet, but exceed out guest's expectations. We are sorry we did not deliver on our goal. I would like to talk to you personally about your experience and have the opportunity to win you back as a guest. Can you please contact me at 317-566-1400. Thanks, Christian Kilgard Manager

Report
T
Tara
Indiana
4 reviews
Dined on December 19, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Wonderful date night with my husband!! The sea bass was amazing!!

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded on December 22, 2020

Thank you for your great comments and feedback Tara. We are glad you had a great time dining with us. The seabass is my favorite entrée too! Please ask for me on your next visit to Kona Grill. I would love to meet you and buy you dessert. Cheers! Christian Kilgard Manager

Report
KH
KathyH
Indiana
1 review
Dined on December 18, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Fantastic. Food was amazing. Highly recommend.

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded on December 21, 2020

Thank you for the great feedback KathyH. We are glad you had a great time dining with us. Please ask for me on your next visit to our location. I would love to meet you and buy you dessert. Cheers! Christian Kilgard Manager

Report
CR
ChrisR
1 review
Dined on December 18, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Food was good but the filet should not come already sliced on the plate. Gets cold too quick.

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded on December 21, 2020

Thank you for the great review ChrisR. We are glad you had a great time dining with us. We apologize about slicing the filet. That is currently our corporate spec. I will pass on your comments to the head of our culinary team. Please ask for me on your next visit to Kona Grill. I would love to meet you and buy you dessert. Cheers! Christian Kilgard Manager

Report
AZ
vipAngieZ
Indiana
9 reviews
Dined on December 13, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

KONA has been my go to since they THANKFULLY! Came to Clay Terrace in 2004 ! I moved back to IN from AZ and was and Still AM delighted KONA is here! A little piece of the desert ! KONA will always be my go to Happy Hour. Praying this summer/fall we are back to weekly happy hours at KONA!

JR
JRP001
Indiana
4 reviews
Dined on December 11, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Well spaced tables
Professional service
Excellent presentation
Fresh salads
Crab roll was incredible

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded on December 14, 2020

Thank you for your great comments and feedback. We are glad you had a great time dining with us. Our number one goal is to keep our guest and staff safe during the pandemic. Please ask for me on your next visit to Kona Grill. I would love to meet you and buy you dessert. Cheers! Christian Kilgard Manager

Report
e
elhoblit
Indiana
10 reviews
Dined on November 26, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

An excellent restaurant, that's clean, nicely arranged, and has some great staff. Food is excellent, and served by excellent wait staff.

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded on November 27, 2020

Thank you for your great comments and feedback. We are glad you had a great time dining with us. Please ask for me on your next visit to Kona Grill. I would love to meet you and buy you dessert. Cheers! Christian Kilgard Manager

Report
B
Barb
London
6 reviews
Dined on November 26, 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience5

We had our Thanksgiving dinner at Kona Grill for the first time. The food was well seasoned and tasted great. I didn’t give 5 stars for the food because it wasn’t hot and the portions were rather small for a Thanksgiving meal.

However, the service was excellent. Tables were well spaced so we felt very safe.

Overall we were very pleased with a new tradition.

P.S. The manager told us that they’ll be open Christmas Eve and Christmas Day.

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded on November 30, 2020

Thank you for the great feedback Barb. We are glad you had a great time dining with us. We do apologize about your food. If you ever have an issue please inform our staff. Our management team will make the situation right. I would like to talk to you personally about your experience to find out what went wrong. Can you please contact me at 317-566-1400. Thanks, Christian Kilgard Manager

Report
l
vipluvnitelife2
Indiana
17 reviews
Dined on November 26, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We had a great Thanksgiving dinner and were very pleased with our server, Sean. He did a great job!

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded on November 30, 2020

Thank you for the amazing review! We are glad you had a great time dining with us on Thanksgiving. I will pass along your comments to Shawn. He is an amazing server. Please ask for me on your next visit to Kona Grill. I would love to meet you and buy you dessert. Happy Holidays, Christian Kilgard Manager

Report
DM
DonnaM
Indiana
2 reviews
Dined on November 20, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food & presentation, great service & atmosphere.

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded on November 23, 2020

Thank you for the awesome review DonnaM. We are really glad you had a great time dining with us and appreciate the feedback. Please ask for me on your next visit to our establishment. I would love to meet you and buy you an appetizer. Cheers, Christian Kilgard Manager

Report
JD
JordanD
Indiana
2 reviews
Dined on November 14, 2020
Overall3food5service2ambience3

There is a fine line between a server that is at your table every five minutes and one that disappears for huge chunks of time. This was the latter. I would have appreciated a server that was a little more attentive especially considering the price point of the restaurant.

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded on November 17, 2020

We apologize about the experience you received at our establishment. I would like to talk to you personally about your experience and have the opportunity to win you back as a guest. When you have time can you please contact me at 317-566-1400. Thanks, Christian Kilgard Manager

Report
MF
MistiF
Indiana
11 reviews
Dined on November 14, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Always a great date choice. Good food and good service.

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded on November 22, 2020

Thank you for the great feedback MistiF. We are glad you had a great time dining with us. Please ask for me on your next visit to Kona Grill. I would love to meet you and buy you dessert. Stay Safe, Christian Kilgard Manager

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Chicago
2 reviews
Dined on November 14, 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Delicious sushi with lots of options!

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded on November 17, 2020

Thank you for the awesome review. We are really glad you had a great time dining with us. Please ask for me on your next visit to our establishment. I would love to meet you and buy you an appetizer. Cheers, Christian Kilgard Manager

Report
MS
vipMissyS
Indiana
15 reviews
Dined on November 10, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Never disappoints!

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded on November 11, 2020

Thank you for the awesome review Missy. We are really glad you had a great time dining with us. Please ask for me on your next visit to our establishment. I would love to meet you and buy you an appetizer. Cheers, Christian Kilgard Manager

Report
RK
RK12
Indiana
14 reviews
Dined on November 7, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We sat at the bar to have dinner since there were two seats open. There appeared to only be one bartender and was very busy. The martini was good but not worth $20. The Seabass was very salty....unlike we’ve had in the past.

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded on November 10, 2020

Thank you for the review. We appreciate the feedback. I am curious about the $20 martini in your review. That seems extremely high. We do apologize about the seabass. If you ever have an issue please inform our staff. We promise to make the situation right. When you have time can you please contact me at 317-566-1400. I would like to talk to you about your experience and have the opportunity to win you back as a guest. Thanks, Christian Kilgard

Report
k
vipk2hdine
New Orleans
21 reviews
Dined on November 7, 2020
Overall4food4service3ambience4

Service was quick and efficient. Our server made sure we had what we needed without being disruptive. Great meal.

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded on November 10, 2020

Thank you for the amazing feedback and review. Hopefully next time we can turn this into a 5 star review. Please ask for me on your next visit to Kona Grill. I would love to meet you and buy you dessert. Thanks, Christian Kilgard Manager

Report
SJ
ShayJ
Indiana
1 review
Dined on November 7, 2020
Overall3food3service3ambience3

It was a little overpriced for the ambiance and the food. Def not a bad experience but wasn't worth the price in our opinion. The avocado egg rolls were good & my pad thai was very delicious however my husband sea bass was not very good at all. Overall, 3 stars. Not terrible but def not a favorite.

Kona Grill - Carmel
Responded on November 10, 2020

We apologize about your experience ShayJ. If you ever have an issue please inform our staff. We would have gladly replaced the seabass with something more to your liking. When you have time can you please contact me at 317-566-1400. I would like to speak with you personally about your experience and have the opportunity to win you back as a guest. Thanks, Christian Kilgard

Report

FAQs

Kona Grill - Carmel is rated 4.5 stars by 1517 OpenTable diners.

Kona Grill - Carmel does offer gift cards which you can purchase here https://konagrill.cashstar.com/store/recipient?locale=en-us.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.