Kona Grill - Alpharetta
- Surfaces sanitized between seatings
- Common areas deep cleaned daily
- Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
- Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
- Contactless payment available
- Sealed or wrapped utensils used
- Limited number of seated diners
- Distancing maintained in common areas
- Extra space between tables
- Waitstaff wear masks
- Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
- Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
Sushi & Salad* **
choice of any traditional roll, oriental salad, one piece of sushi each: shrimp, tuna, salmon
spicy aioli dipping sauce
Instantly increase your points with dining rewards
See availability for bonus point tables
Sun 9:00AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 2:45PM 7:00PM - 10:00PM
Mon - Thu 6:00PM - 8:45PM
Fri 12:00AM - 12:00AM 8:00PM - 11:45PM
Sat 12:00AM - 12:00AM 9:00AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 2:45PM 8:00PM - 11:45PM
Birthday brunch outside and under cover.
We went in for dinner and were seated at a table that hadn’t even been cleaned yet. The person that seated us went to find someone to clean the table. Another server came over to pick up the tip and checks, but made no attempt to clean the table. Once the table did get cleaned, we ordered some sake and started with the Wave Roll. I expected it to come out tightly wrapped like most sushi I’ve had in the past. This was NOT what we got. This was so disappointing! I’ve had a good experience in the past, but we won’t be back based on what we got this visit
We love Kona Grill, but the music this time was SO LOUD it was very unpleasant. The service and food were good, but unfortunately the music made it for a horrible experience. And no, I’m not old!
Very poorly prepared salmon and the brussell sprouts were returned they were so dry and old tasting. When returned, not much better. First time we had such a bad meal. Will not be a first choice again to celebrate a birthday!
Table was sticky and it took longer than usual to get our food. Good restaurant; they may just need a refresh especially when cleaning the tables in between diners. Eating on a sticky table is unpleasant.
I apologize for the condition of the tables. There are a few that have a thicker texture due to the gloss on the surface. We will try to find a resolution and make sure to clean them over more than once in order to prevent them from feeling sticky. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your food and we hope that you dine with us again soon. Thank you so much for your patronage. Bridget West FOH Manager
Happy Hour / Dinner! Great service Trevor was awesome.
We are elated to see that you had a Trevor provided you with exceptional service. Thank you for dining with us and we hope you visit again soon. -Bridget West FOH Manager
The wait for service was unacceptable. More than 30 minutes to get drinks. However, the manager did comp our appetizers and dessert.
I sincerely apologize for the time you had to wait to get your drinks. We strive to be consistent in making sure that we provide the best service possible in order to give you a great experience. Thank you for your patronage and we hope to see you dine with us again so we can make it exceptional. -Bridget West FOH Manager
Delicious and creative food; cool atmosphere; and attentive but not intrusive service... I will definitely visit again. We really enjoyed our entire meal, and the brownie dessert was particularly memorable.
We checked in for a 7pm reservation and were told there was a wait. We were told we would be texted but no one ever texted us and the entire waiting area was cleared when we checked back in 30 minutes later. It was pretty clear we were forgotten because there were quite a few open tables. When we ordered, they were out of almost everything we initially tried to order.
I am sorry for the long wait, we do get a good amount of varying party sizes. We strive to accommodate to our guests the best we can. Please let us know if there is anything else we could improve on to make your dining experience better. Bridget West FOH Manager
Food was mediocre for the price. My fiance and I ordered 2 drinks and the sea bass sliders and Lobster and shrimp roll to start the evening off. It took 20 minutes to receive our drinks and about an hour for our appetizers. Only received the lobster and shrimp roll , sever never told us they were out of sea bass until after we put in the order for our entre.
Would not recommend this restaurant to a friend!
I am sorry to see you did not have a good experience. We work hard to provide exceptional service for our guests and keep our team informed of what we have available. Thank you for your patronage and we hope to see you dine with us again.
Great! I will be returning and will tell friends about my experience.
The kitchen was very backed up and took a very long tone to get the food. The waitress was really nice.
I apologize for the delay on receiving your food. We strive to provide the best service in order to give you an exceptional experience. On the weekends it does take longer to get food out due to the amount of people dining, but we are working on making the process more seamless. Thank you so much for your patronage and we hope to see you dine with again soon. Bridget West FOH Manager
Been to Kona about 5 times since it opened. Every time our service has not been good. Went there again this weekend, b/c the food is good. Arrived 5 minutes early for our 7pm reservation. They said it would be a 10 min wait & that was fine. We told them we were headed to the bar, but instead immediately ended up sitting on the bench in front of the hostess stand b/c we could see the bar was full. During that wait a few people coming in were being seated & we thought nothing of it. Finally someone walked in & said we are here for our 7 pm reservation & it was already 10 after. They were seated immediately. My wife told me that she was pretty sure the group before that said that said they had 7pm reservations & were seated immediately. We stood up & said to the 4 hostesses that we've been here over 10 min waiting on our reservation & you've seated people just walking in before us. (Thank goodness we didn't go to the bar or we would have never gotten our table.) So we were taken to a dirty table & the hostess walked away. We were like "ok", but we aren't sitting at this table until someone comes and cleans it so we just stood there. Finally the hostess came back & cleaned it... odd b/c when she walked away the 1st time she took the cleaner with her & didn't say anything. We didn't know she was coming back. Finally we sat & a waiter showed up and said "what can I get you?". We asked if we could start with a menu. He pointed to the QR reader and said "it's right there". I then asked for a real menu (which they had) because I forgot my glasses & it's hard to read the phone. A while later the waiter came back & asked what we wanted. (Not can I interest you in drinks and/or appetizers.) So I asked if we could start with a drinks & appetizers. So the rest of the evening went pretty much the same way. The calamari appetizer was just okay. The Sea Bass & and Pad Thai were good. 1 appetizer, drinks & 2 entries took 2 hours! It's not that good.
Business trip breakfast on the patio was great
The dining room was very hot, the waiter had too much work that took a long time to serve us, the table was not clean when they sat and even when they clean it in front of us the table remained sticky.
Had a reservation for 630pm went to the bar to grab a drink while waiting for our table. Got seated at 635 no one came to our table til 7pm! We had our drinks so didn't notice at first how long it had been then we got hungry. This was our second time here but probably our last. Both times have not been good. First time the food this time the service
We always enjoy happy hour at Kona! Our server was excellent, too!
They went over and beyond for my fiance birthday. I didn't even ask for anything special. The food was just as great as the service.
Sushi is delicious and service is great.
Kenneth was our server. He did a great job. He was polite and courteous He checked on us multiple times and made sure we had plenty of water. The food was great.
We waited an hour and half for our sushi starters, then a further hours for the mains. Avoid the seating by the kitchen there is no AC. Given the wrong dinners but by then were too hungry to say anything. The table and seats were not clean in fact the table we horribly sticky.
We tried to order the Dumplings as an appetizer and they were out of them. We then ordered (2) Sea Bass Entrees and after about 20 minutes they came back and told us they were out of Sea Bass, so we then had to change our orders over to Salmon. They brought us Calamari as an appetizer on the house stating it was for not having the Sea Bass which we thought was nice of them, but when we took a bite the calamari was cold. I think it might have been made for someone else or by mistake and they were looking for a table to give it to because it should not have arrived cold unless it was sitting in the back for a while with nowhere to go. Some of the food was spicy and we drank our waters and then had to ask an employee walking by to get us refills because our waitress was busy. He ended up just telling the waitress and we eventually got refills about 5-7 minutes after we asked. It was just a rough experience and not what we expect when we go to Kona.
Food was very good, but service was very slow!!!
The food took over 45 minutes to come out. The waiter provided no explanation, just that "it would be ready in 3-5 minutes," It was almost like a bad Seinfeld episode, every time I asked the waiter would have a joke for a response. I just booked 3 more lunches in the Avalon, none of them at Kona Grill. It's a shame too, as the food is good there.
Lunch outside was nice. Everything was great.
Thanks so much, Melanie for the 5-star review/positive feedback. Come see us again.
The food was good but expensive for the amount served, and took over an hour to come out after ordering. There was very little communication from our server with this so we just sat around waiting with no information. Apparently they were out of cloth napkins but we still had to explicitly ask (multiple times) for cutlery and paper napkins, and were brought what seemed like paper towels from the restroom. The women’s restroom was trashed - which is presumably due to poorly behaved clients but staff should be more attentive to this so it gets addressed in a timely manner.
Our team is sorry to hear about your experience with us. We will make sure our team is more attentive all around with cleanliness and communication. Thank you so much for your feedback and we hope you come again for a more positive experience!
Unfortunately, with the pandemic this restaurant has also taken a big hit to their service and food quality. Went last night for my son’s graduation. The margarita and sangria did not have a good flavor, so returned and went the safe route with wine. Two people ordered the $40 steak. Neither was cooked to the correct temp. The “whipped potatoes “ served with the steak were cold and bland. Needless to say I won’t be returning.
Hello Susan, I am so sorry to hear about your experience at Kona Grill. We strive for our servers to give it their all along with the chefs. I will be having a talk with everyone so we will never run into this problem again. Thank you for giving feedback!!
They were out of many of the items on the menu. 7 different items that we requested the server came back to advise us they were out of the items. At that point we asked the server to let us know what was available. Also one main course was given to another table and had to be reordered. 3 of us had our main course and had to wait for the 4th person’s order.
This is unfortunate to hear. We will be making sure we are more prepared on busy nights. My apologies that the server and food were not met to expectations. Our goal here at Kona Grill is to make sure everyone have a re memorable time in a positive way. Thank you for the feedback!!!
Service was Ok. Had to wait on silverware to eat my food
Thank you for your feedback, our team will work harder to give a better experience and be more prepared. Our goal at Kona is to make sure everyone leaves with a positive memory of our restaurant. We hope you come again for a more positive experience here.
The Tito’s Martini was very week.
I am very sorry about this. Thank you for letting us know
We really enjoyed our dinner last night. The sushi was excellent. Our waitress, Shelly was attentive and lovely. We will be back.
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us and our server Shelly. Our goal here is to make sure everyone has a memorable time here enjoying great food and service. We would love to have you back again soon!!!
I’d like to give credit to the manager on duty. We have eaten here quite a few times. I have always had a great meal and service. Saturday didn’t go well. We normally don’t complain but I couldn’t in good conscious walk away and not address it. That said, the manager was quick to rectify the situation. I will be back because everyone has a bad day it’s all in the way it’s handled. Thank you, Kona.
We are glad to hear our manager on duty was able to help with the situation and address it appropriately. Thank you for being understanding and we will be sure to ensure to make your next experience with us is more positive. Hope to see you here again and thank you for your feedback!
Kona please changed management! I was there with family and food took an hour! Plus we all order sushi one person got their food and 3 of us didn’t get nothing, so the other person was waiting for us to eat together. I had to talk to the manager but to be honest I don’t commended this place since for that reason a restaurant should serve the food for a table all together not person by person like we family we want to eat together.
We are sincerely sorry to hear about the experience you had with us. Our team completely agrees with you on family eating together and giving a memorable experience. Our team will ensure to fix this problem. We hope to see you again, so we can give you a more positive experience. Thank you for your feedback!
Although we made a reservation we were not seated until 20 minutes later. The music was too loud for any table conversation. Our meal came out sporadically. We are in shifts. We were at the table for 15 minutes before we got water and 30 minutes before I got my drink from the bar. Thankfully the food was good. The server seemed completely overwhelmed and took forever even bringing chopsticks after our food was delivered and we sat and stared at it for 10 minutes
We are sincerely sorry to hear about your experience at Kona Grill. We will be sure to ensure more positive and chill dining. I will be having a talk with everyone so we will never run into this problem again. Thank you for giving feedback!!
A disaster from beginning to end. Reservations were running 30 minutes behind because they were struggling to clear tables and after being seated we found out why. The list of what what they were out of was extensive- no edamame, no chicken/shrimp lettuce wraps…our server said they only had four of the appetizers from the menu. I ordered a Kirin beer, draft and after waiting almost 20 minutes our server returned to tell me they were out, but I could get it in a bottle. 15 more minutes later, it finally arrived. We ordered the calamari, but when it was delivered, it was nearly room temperature. My wife ordered the chopped salad only to be told - surprise- they were all out of salad due to a recall. Funny thing, though, our calamari arrived on a bed of lettuce! I ordered the sushi and salad and chose a classic California Roll (crab salad, cucumber, avocado and nori). When it arrived I noticed the avocado was missing. I asked the server who informed us- surprise again- they were out of avocado! My wife ordered the same oriental salad that came with my meal. I told her my salad tasted good, but she said hers was really bland. I gave her a taste of mine and we realized there was no dressing on her’s. The poor server tried desperately to hold it all together, but she eventually told us they had just returned to full capacity this week and the kitchen didn’t order nearly enough to handle the increase in business. Sadly, this was our first and last visit to Kona Grill.
This is unfortunate to hear. We will be making sure we are more prepared on busy nights. My apologies that the food did not meet expectations. We are working with our team to ensure this does not happen again. Our goal here at Kona Grill is to make sure everyone has a memorable time in a positive way. Thank you for the feedback!!!
Our experience at Kona last night was amazing. We made a reservation but we wanted patio seating because a band was playing outside at Avalon. The place was packed but we only had to wait a few more minutes to get the table we wanted. Everyone was super nice and the food was amazing. The kitchen was a little slow but the entire Avalon was packed due to the live entertainment so we didn’t mind. We might just make Kona our Friday night thing this summer since their patio over looks Avalon’s live entertainment stage.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and our team met the goal to make a memorable experience here. We would love to see you again and be your main dining space on Fridays!!!
Service was disjointed and confusing. It was a busy Friday night but they should be ready for that.
This is unfortunate to hear. We will be making sure we are more prepared on busy nights. My apologies that exceptions were not met. Our goal here at Kona Grill is to make sure everyone have a memorable time in a positive way. Thank you for the feedback!!!
Food is excellent, but it is extremely loud! Hard to hear your conversation. Service was very slow, but I would definitely eat there again
We are happy to hear you enjoyed the food here at Kona Grill. We will be sure to talk to our team about the service and making a better environment all around for a more memorable experience. Thank you for your feedback!!
Spend your money elsewhere
We are sincerely sorry to hear about the bad experience you had, we would love to have you reach out to us, so we can hear more about your experience here.
The server was rude the people inside kept on coughing not the experience I wanted for my family. Plus the server literally through the straws on the table and walked off.
I apologize for the behavior the server inflicted towards you and your family. We always emphasize the importance of reflecting positive body language and attitude towards our guests. We hope to see you dine with us again so we can turn this experience around. Thank you for your feedback. Bridget West FOH Manager
Kona Grill - Alpharetta does offer delivery in partnership with Postmates and Uber Eats. Kona Grill - Alpharetta also offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (470) 226-1540.
Kona Grill - Alpharetta is rated 3.9 stars by 1378 OpenTable diners.
Kona Grill - Alpharetta does offer gift cards which you can purchase here https://konagrill.cashstar.com/store/recipient?locale=en-us.
Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.