Jsix has a rich history as a leader in local and sustainable sourcing of our ingredients and the people who know and grow them. This is found on the ever-rotating menu of ingredients currently provisioning the kitchen and bar. Committed to quality ingredients, locally and sustainably sourced, Jsix offers Modern American cuisine. Located in the Gaslamp Quarter’s adjoining East Village neighborhood Jsix sits in the long ago epicenter of San Diego’s diverse community and further provides a connection to the cuisine.
Reservations are recommended but not required.
Book your next event with us
Weekly Happy Hour
$7 cocktails, $5 beers, $6 wines by the glass, and daily food specials
Terms and Conditions:
Valid For: 1 - 20 people
Starts: May 29, 2019
Ends: May 30, 2118
Availability: Tue-Fri 4:00PM-6:00PM
Jeremy, the server, was very nice and helpful. They told me they were no longer in the Passport program after I got there, they mixed up the Open Table reservation and said I didn't show, and the food was bland and tasteless, and not worth the money. I'd avoid it in the future for sure.
Our food was ice cold and the service was marginal at best. Not accommodating at all.
We waited an hour and a half for our food. Way too long. Our waitress was great, but we were very hungry, and waiting that long was not great.
3 course meal was great. Kinda noisy, but fine for casual evening. Also enjoyed the rooftop bar after dinner. Waitress was terrific!
Fantastic meal, great service, great location
No coffee refills, no one was there and we couldn’t place our order get a check....
Love this place
We were charged $50 up front for parking although the website says $10 for 3 hours. It took 1.5 hours to be served and the food was fair at best. A party member requested Chivas Regal scotch. Another scotch was served and the waitress relayed that the brand of scotch was substituted by the bartender without telling us. One salad was never provided without any explanation, only a credit to the bill. Leaving was a nightmare as the valets could not figure out how to get the cars out of the garage as the gates would not go up. We are frequent restaurant goers and it was one of the worst experiences in San Diego.
One person in our group had been here a couple of years ago and was not impressed, but we decided to keep our reservation and give it another try. Big mistake! The service was awful - it took 20 minutes before server came to the table with water and to take orders. Wine arrived another 20 minutes later, our food was served one hour after we had arrived. Manager seemed out of control and server couldn't care less. Never an apology; noticed other tables had the same "service". Food was fine, but overall experience just terrible. Never again.
Made reservations weeks in advance NOT REALIZING there would be a Paul McCartney concert that night making downtown pure chaos. Staff was challenged w serving guests in a timely fashion, our food came out cold. They, without hesitation, remade the order and served a complimentary glass a wine while we waited. Food was great.
I really enjoyed the food. The wine list was also nice. For the price I would think that the look would be nicer. The desert menu was sad.
Fantastic fantastic food! Service was great and the setting was nice and quaint and lovely for a family of four to enjoy some great food. With the small menu we opted to make it more tapas style and shared everything we got - definitely the way to go! Everything was so delicious and well prepared! Great wine list. Would definitely recommend to anyone in the area.
Dined here early on a Saturday evening. Service was poor, which was inexcusable due to the fact that we were one of only two occupied tables. Food prices are high for the quality of the product, and everything came out VERY (nearly inedibly) salty. Our two course dinner took over two hours; not by choice.
Thank you for the feedback Sean. My apologies on the service and issues you had with us. I have shared your feedback about the seasoning also with our Chef.
We live two blocks away from Jsix and only went here because it is on Opentable and our Passport card (2 for 1 entrees). It is ALWAYS absolutely empty/dead in here. The decor is great, but the ambiance sucks because it is a ghost town. The food was actually tasty (the salmon dish and the scallops), but definitely overpriced for what it is. If we did not have the passport card, we would never come here again. Not sure we will even with it. There are too many great options. They need to run some major specials, themed nights, extended happy hours, or whatever to get people in the door.
We have some exciting things we are working on for this year with a new menu and have a new exciting Chef.
Nick,the manager, and Michelle, our server, were both professional and friendly. The lobster roll was the best I have ever had, and my friend’s bacon burger was delicious,too. This was a serendipitous experience. It is definitely tops on my list of San Diego restaurants!
Thank you for the amazing feedback!!
Great service and great food. The chef had unique ingredients that were delicious!
Our chef is pretty special, we agree :)
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.
Worst experience. We had early reservations at 715 (I’m assuming since when we arrived, there was only one famiy eating) As soon as we arrived, the server immediately took us on a wild goose chase and directed us to take the elevator up. When we realized she misdirected us, we came back down, and she did not even apologize!! After we checked in, we stood there (keep in mind only ONE family there) for another FIVE MINUTES.
We finally sat down, and we had to wait another TEN MINUTES until she offered water, and whether or not we wanted a cocktail!
The other family (who were caucasian) were being waited on hand-and-foot!!!
When we left, she just smirked a good bye to us. No “thanks for coming”, NOTHING!!!
WE ARE NOT COMING BACK!!!
My sincere apologies on your dining experience with us. We have spoken to our team about better communication in guiding all our guests. Once again my sincerest apology.
I was disappointed by this restaurant. There wasn't a host when we arrived and there were several miscommunications between the bartender and two servers as to who would be seating us. Once we were finally seated, service was slow. What was most frustrating was the mediocre food and misleading menu. The descriptions are highly embellished or just plain false. For example, the churros on the menu note that they come with cajeta but in actuality it was served with Hershey's syrup. This trend was similar throughout most of our items (generic tortilla chips instead of what was described on the menu with the guacamole, etc). The severs were nice but seemed completely overwhelmed. After returning to our hotel, we had found that they had somehow marked our opentable reservation as a no-show which furthered the disappointment. The only pros were friendly service, nice atmosphere, and that the food was plated well. I do not recommend nor will return.
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I have shared your feedback with our culinary team and would like to apologize on behalf of our team. Our goal is too never mislead our guests, and it sounds like we did with your party.
We stopped by for a quick breakfast being that we were staying at Solamar and honestly I was so pleasantly surprised at how great the food was. It was nothing like what I expect hotel restaurants to offer , it was great food, good service, and everything had a unique twist.
Food was delicious. We will definitely be back!
Thank you for taking the time to share
Under staffed but the single waiter in the dining room did a good job. Kitchen was very slow. Food was good though. Perhaps chefs were reading the recipe directions and are slow readers.
Thank you for your feedback, and our apologies for the the wait for your meal.
Nice atmosphere and a great location for downtown. The meal was good, portions were somewhat small for the price.
Very good meal very good waitress. Nice Valentine meal and happy with the little breakfast sacks.
This place was very good, we were greeted with a friendly staff and expedient service. The food was very tasty, but it was very pricey for what you get. Other than that, stop by for a very nice experience.
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us Salvador. We look forward to having you join us again for dinner.
Food was great, but cocktails were disappointing and over priced.
We had great time everything was really perfect from the house special cocktail, appetizer and the main course.
Thank you for sharing Thomas, looking forward to you joining us again soon.
Evening was cold, and air conditioning was on. We were told that switch was broken.
A pasta dish was barely edible.
SO sorry for your challenges you had with us Ted. No excuses for our AC issues, and pasta dish. I have shared your feedback with our culinary team.
Caesar salad could have had more flavor however our entrees were very delicious and full of flavor our waiter provided excellent service and was very attentive
Thank you for sharing, we look forward to seeing you again soon!
We had a party of four and each of us were pleased with our entrees—steak (2), scallops, and chicken. Moreover, after enjoying starters, the two of us who had the larger (8 ounce) steak option also took home yummy leftovers......
The combination of expensive food, small portions, and long wait time led to my non-glowing review of this restaurant.
The food and drinks tasted good (7 out of 10). From ordering to actually receiving any food was about 45 minutes. The scallops were over $30, and there were 3 total on top of a little bit of corn and a sauce. I am a 120lb woman, and was hungry after finishing my meal. I would have definitely considered it an appetizer. The staff was friendly, and service was good, but it was just slow getting the meal without any explanation.
Fantastic cocktails. Food super good. Bartender very helpful.
Second visit and was really disappointed. Considering it wasn’t that busy, waited 40 minutes for our shared charcuterie starter. Had the smallest glass of wine I’ve ever had in a restaurant for $15 ( just a Californian Chardonnay). My burger entree was lukewarm at best and the waitress checked in to ask if all was good without even waiting for an answer! We won’t be going back.
Service was very poor, very slow and there didn't seem to be enough wait staff on the floor. Server neglected to bring small plates for the table to share appetizers. Oyster appetizer was very poor. Oysters were mushy like they might have been partially frozen and also had some sand grit in them. Server could not identify the oysters by nsme or region. Main entrees we're pretty good. Overall and for the cost, not a great dining experience.
Service was great, food was very poor. Bistro steak was chewy and red wine demi was runny. Everyone in our party got the same thing and no one finished it.
Although we did enjoy the meal and interacting with Michelle we were disappointed for several reasons:
1. We fully expected to be able to enjoy a few glasses of very fine champagne before our meal, I even took the time to change our reservation to allow an hour before being seated (5 till 6PM) to sip bubbly. As we found out when we arrived the $5 bubbly was only available on Wednesdays. Neither your website or Nathan noted that the special was only on Wednesdays. I specifically told Nathan the reason for changing the reservation was for the champagne special. He failed to inform me that we were dining on the wrong day for bubbly sipping.
2. My Sweeties steak was delicious but rather tough with unacceptable amounts of grizzle. She said the fries and the sauce were the best parts of the meal.
3. Scallops were wonderful but for $32 a few short of what I would consider a good value.
Again, Michelle was a highlight and the rest of the experience was somewhat lacking.
We do intend to drop in for bubbly and maybe a small bite someday, hopefully the rooftop service is a little better when we do.
Terry and Daniel
We really enjoyed Jsix! The food was creatively and exquisite prepared, my cocktail was excellent. Our server Michelle was attentive and helpful in making our selections.
Beautiful modern decor, we both loved.
The prices were well matched to the food quality. Will visit again
Food was just ok. Not up to the quality of other similar downtown restaurants. Service was great though.
This place is perfect for celebrations or date night. The ambience was romantic and the decor was beautiful. The staff was very friendly and the food amazing! This restaurant should be on everyone’s must try list.
Great service and a fabulous dinner. Paid parking at a discount rate at the hotel.