Jackalope Ranch

3.8
2203 Reviews
$30 and under
Southwest

About

The Coachella Valley’s newest dining sensation is getting rave reviews from the media and our guests. Over $36M was invested in this unique property! Perennially voted best Bbq in the desert! (Please be advised we do not take reservations for Happy Hour, the Saloon or Palapa (outside bar). No open table credit is earned by guests making reservations and then eating in the bar, saloon or palapa.We cannot guarantee outside seating.)

This finely-crafted lodge on a beautifully landscaped 6.5 acre property offers true Southwestern flavors and classic BBQ dining daily, as well as an indoor saloon, outdoor palapa bar, evening entertainment, and Sunday brunch during the season.
What 2203 people are sayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
3.8based on all time ratings
3.8
food
3.7
service
4.2
ambience
3.6
value
Noise · Moderate
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
OT
OpenTable Diner
Vancouver
2 reviews
Dined on March 8, 2020
Overall2food4service1ambience4

Sat down ordered drinks. Waiter delivered and promptly spilled wine on everyone. Didn’t deliver one drink. Said sorry left us to move to table across while ladies were getting cleaned up from red wine on their clothing one of us starting wiring off table waiter never clean up table nor moped the floor. He then forgot part of our dinner order. When we complained that our clothing was either ruined in one case or needed dry cleaning he offered to take off 20.00 off the bill and didn’t charge us for the first round of drinks but it wasn’t until we complained. He did even offer us dessert. Was very unsatisfied with the service

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Dallas
76 reviews
Dined on March 8, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Birthday get together for my dad’s 97th birthday with family, a total of 8 of us. Martin was excellent and the food and experience was awesome. We sat outside so our grandson got to run around and play with more kids. It literally could not have been nicer. My only problem... I completely forgot about the free appetizer! Totally my fault.

Jackalope Ranch
Responded on March 11, 2020

Thank you so very much for your kind comments and wonderful rating

Report
M
vipMiriam
Palm Springs
20 reviews
Dined on March 7, 2020
Overall2food2service1ambience4

Birthday. Service was bad. Ordered brisket sandwich with sauce on the side. Came on top. Would have been helpful if the waiter mentioned that the brisket dinner had the brisket in slices where the sandwich was pulled. Probably would have enjoyed that better

OT
OpenTable Diner
Edmonton
1 review
Dined on March 7, 2020
Overall2food2service2ambience3

Signature beef brisket was dry & hard. Crab cake was good. Service was sporadic.

l
viplindarobirds
Los Angeles
37 reviews
Dined on March 7, 2020
Overall3food4service2ambience5

service was not very good, but the food was delicious. A little on the pricey side, but a wonderful atmosphere.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Minneapolis
1 review
Dined on March 7, 2020
Overall3food3service2ambience5

Beautiful place and we were able to sit outside
Ordered appetizers - did not get plates until we asked for them and were almost done before they came.
Requested wine list but we were almost done with meal before the list came - server coughed and coughed and wasn’t very friendly. 3 different servers so seemed like the left hand didn’t know what the right hand was doing.

JM
vipJohnM
Palm Springs
7 reviews
Dined on March 6, 2020
Overall5food5service1ambience5

Waiter took our drink order and took 10 minutes to deliver. He took our food order and we never saw hi again. Food was delivered by someone else and we were left sitting until I finally flagged down a manager and asked him for our bill. Mgr tried to make it right and we will be back.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Palm Springs
2 reviews
Dined on March 6, 2020
Overall3food2service3ambience5

The hostess sat us at a dirty table, when we asked if she could wipe it off before putting our napkins and menus down she acted put out.

The food was ok, my husband ordered med rare prime rib, it was overcooked and dry.

No sure we would take out of town guest back even if it is one of the prettiest restaurants in the area!

HW
HelenW
San Antonio
2 reviews
Dined on March 6, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Wonderful dining experience with great ambiance. The food and service was top notch. We will definitely return again

LS
vipLynneS
Palm Springs
22 reviews
Dined on March 5, 2020
Overall3food3service2ambience1

It was recommended to us so we went.
Everything was mediocre.
Food was mediocre and service was less than mediocre.
We won’t be back.

BS
BobS
Sacramento
17 reviews
Dined on March 5, 2020
Overall3food2service3ambience5

Service was slow and one salad was forgotten. The fish dinners were overcooked. Not a great experience thus time!

MB
vipMichaelB
Columbus
7 reviews
Dined on March 4, 2020
Overall4food4service3ambience5

Overall, I’m glad I dined there and would return, but the food /presentation fell far short of my expectations and the service was atrocious. I attentive waiters, slow to respond to requests, flippant and uninformed responses. Maybe that’s their “thing” but I was t impressed. Two wrong sides served for a party of three diners, one after specially telling the waiter “I can’t eat that” when ordering. Sides were quickly replaced but this should not happen. When bills were brought, items were incorrectly sorted out although we’d noted how the checks were to be divided at the time of placing our orders. The setting was lovely; the ambiance was comfortable. I would return, but there were far too many disappointments in this visit.

D
Dawner
Palm Springs
4 reviews
Dined on March 2, 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Overall we enjoyed our evening. Bit pricey we thought and ribs a tad dry. Had not been for two years and we are aware of the huge cost of food increases but the bill seemed a bit dear for what we had. No appys or dessert and one very tiny glass of white wine each was almost $100.00 with the tip.. may have to save up to go again.

LJ
LeeJ
Denver
1 review
Dined on March 2, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Service and food was very good and just enjoy the ambiance of the restaurant

b
vipburbank
Los Angeles
83 reviews
Dined on March 1, 2020
Overall3food3service3ambience4

They serve Pepsi. Prefer Coke products. Nice happy hour and sunset menu. Beautiful decor

L
vipLovee
Orange County
23 reviews
Dined on February 29, 2020
Overall2food2service4ambience4

Will never go back. Food mediocre. Expensive. Small portions. No lg beef ribs. Feel bad as restaurant is really a great setting. No good choices no side of baked potatoes.

b
bettyboop
Palm Springs
21 reviews
Dined on February 29, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Always a fun place to go with friends. Great BBQ food and drinks and environment

DJ
vipDJPGATour
Palm Springs
53 reviews
Dined on February 29, 2020
Overall3food2service4ambience4

The atmosphere of the restaurant is very nice. and our server (Eric) was awesome. However, after that, not much else was great. The wine was horrid. The dip appetizer was fair at best, the ribs were fair at best, the baked potato seemed more like a boiled potato and the vegetable side dish was awful. In a competitive food environment, I could see why there were so many empty tables.

m
vipmald
New York Area
4 reviews
Dined on February 29, 2020
Overall1food1service1ambience3

From the beginning it was bad. It took at least 10 minutes before the waiter arrived. He forgot if I said Johnny “on the rocks” or not so he returned to confirm before he brought drinks. He (they) forgot to bring our salad. My wife’s ribs were too well done. The dessert ice cream was melted as it arrived late and was sitting out too long before delivery. We complained to the manager when we exited after we told the waiter it was bad. The waiter said it was not his fault as others were responsible. The manager apologized then offered future complimentary dinners but we waited for him to return with cards he promised to give us but he never returned. Worst Open Table Reservation ever. I will never return. Crossed off the list.

RB
vipRayandBarb
Palm Springs
49 reviews
Dined on February 29, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We had a group of 5 people, sat outside. It was very busy & it took our server, Jose, a while to get to our table. When we explained we had a play to go to, Jose did a great job & served us promptly. Great dinner & service!

Jackalope Ranch
Responded on March 3, 2020

Thank you very much for your kind comment and rating Heinz

Report
JM
JulieM
Chicago
8 reviews
Dined on February 29, 2020
Overall3food3service4ambience5

Food was mediocre. Nice atmosphere

BH
BobH
Seattle
3 reviews
Dined on February 28, 2020
Overall3food3service1ambience4

Server was terrible, always in a hurry and missed hearing two orders that he never placed. Steak was under cooked and tough. Manager was too embarrassed to come over and talk to us.

H
vipHarv
Washington DC
67 reviews
Dined on February 27, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience3

Excellent BBQ at moderate prices

D
Dega
Palm Springs
2 reviews
Dined on February 25, 2020
Overall3food3service3ambience2

Jackalope Ranch needs some TLC . The outside awnings are in desperate need of repair. The outside floors are filthy, they need to be washed and the food was mediocre at best. We were there mid afternoon, would not return.

TW
vipToniW
New York Area
11 reviews
Dined on February 24, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Happy hour is amazing here, great food, service and ambience! A must if you in the Valley!

B
vipBryan
Central Texas
3 reviews
Dined on February 22, 2020
Overall1food3service1ambience3

This is the worst service I have ever gotten at a restaurant in my life. We waited about 30 minutes after being seated to have the server come by to take a drink order and 50 minutes after being seated to get our food order in. It took over an hour for them to bring us the corn bread and biscuits they bring when you get seated. Food took a while too. The entire experience was way to long and despite asking multiple times to get some help, virtually nothing happened. Will never go back again.

FK
FrankK
Orange County
5 reviews
Dined on February 22, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience5

Very nice layout inside, large bar and the food was good along with the atmosphere

Jackalope Ranch
Responded on February 26, 2020

Many thanks for the kind comments and rating Heinz

Report
SM
StillwaterMinn
Palm Springs
30 reviews
Dined on February 22, 2020
Overall3food2service3ambience3

Good food, good service. The fine dining area (old Chop House) is worn and needs refreshing.
Good vibrant place. Amazing no.

Jackalope Ranch
Responded on February 26, 2020

Thank you for your constructive comments, we do take all reviews to heart as we strive to improve our operations. Heinz

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Portland
3 reviews
Dined on February 21, 2020
Overall4food5service5ambience5

It was great!

Jackalope Ranch
Responded on February 23, 2020

Thank you

Report
OB
vipOBSY
Palm Springs
8 reviews
Dined on February 21, 2020
Overall3food3service3ambience3

Waaayyy too expensive.

DC
DaveC
Seattle
1 review
Dined on February 19, 2020
Overall2food2service1ambience3

It’s about the third time that I’ve tried it the barbecue my wife had was good. service was poor. My boneless Ribeye was fairly tough and flavorless I asked for Med Rate and got medium. The best meal I’ve had here was take out BBQ. Overpriced!

CA
CARROLYNN
Tahoe
6 reviews
Dined on February 19, 2020
Overall1food2service3ambience4

My grilled chicken was mushy.

LS
vipLaniS
Detroit
5 reviews
Dined on February 18, 2020
Overall2food5service1ambience3

The food is wonderful but the service just keeps getting worse! If the ribs weren’t so good, we wouldn’t go back!

S
vipSyls61
San Diego
91 reviews
Dined on February 16, 2020
Overall4food3service4ambience4

All out of homemade potato chips when we were there so had to get French Fries that weren’t anything special. BBQ roast beef very good. Jidori chicken 0kay. A little dry. Corn muffins and biscuits were delicious and served with honey butter. Our friend got charged for coffee he didn’t order. He sent back the check with the waiter to correct and again when his check arrived, the coffee charge was still on there.

Jackalope Ranch
Responded on February 19, 2020

I am sorry to see that you were not given the usual excellent service we provide. Please accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience this must have caused. I hope this singled out incident does not deter you from visiting with us again. Sincerely yours Heinz

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on February 16, 2020
Overall3food2service2ambience3

We have been before for happy hour and enjoyed it. This time we had dinner reservations for 6. We were placed in room at front, which had no ambiance compared to the rest of the restaurant, and when I made trip to ladies room, there were plenty of seating in more desirable areas. . Service was horrible.

Jackalope Ranch
Responded on February 23, 2020

Thank you for your constructive criticism. Please accept my sincere apology for the less than pleasant experience during last weeks visit. Sincerely yours Heinz

Report
B
vipBarb
San Francisco
8 reviews
Dined on February 16, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great atmosphere

Jackalope Ranch
Responded on February 19, 2020

Thank you so very much for your kind comment and rating.

Report
J
Juzjim
Palm Springs
20 reviews
Dined on February 16, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We love love this place - the food is excellent - the service is good and the outdoor seating is inviting
Get there early if you want a table outside

Jackalope Ranch
Responded on February 19, 2020

Thank you very much for your comments and the wonderful rating

Report
KF
vipKungFuDiner
Central Coast
24 reviews
Dined on February 16, 2020
Overall1food1service1ambience3

Strike 3. We have tried to enjoy this restaurant, but we are sad to say that we won’t go back. We enjoy dining out and we don’t mind paying for a nice meal with good service. It took a half hour to get chips and guacamole that tasted like it came from a bag and we had to ask for that to be served. We ordered off the small menu due to the $38 buffet going on. Our waiter was inattentive and said the support staff was supposed to bring our food when we asked about when our meal might be served. We cancelled one of dishes as it did not get served with the rest of the meal that finally arrived. We ran out of water and our server said the other staff should have refilled us, so he said he would bring some water, however, he never did. We were planning to leave an 18% tip anyway, but the last straw was when the waiter did not listen as we tried to box some of our food to go, and took a large plate of salad away as we sort of lost our appetite. We took our cash tip off the table and the server actually followed our elderly Mom to the door asking where the tip went! My husband stepped over and explained the multiple issues that prompted the cash tip being removed. After the experience we had that he knew was atrocious, to have the nerve to approach our 80 year old diabetic mother that almost went into diabetic shock from the ridiculous wait, Again , Strike 3! This is a brief explanation of what was a terrible experience for a 3rd time.

RU
vipRodinUp
Orange County
16 reviews
Dined on February 15, 2020
Overall3food3service3ambience3

Took a long time to get our food. We had 11 guests. A few mix-ups with the plates.

Jackalope Ranch
Responded on February 19, 2020

We are sorry to see that not all went well with your dinner and I apologize for the inconvenience. Sincerely yours Heinz

Report
JS
JohnS
Palm Springs
1 review
Dined on February 15, 2020
Overall2food2service2ambience3

Originally put into a back room. Manager was accommodating and allowed us to relocate
Service was spotty, waiting a long time to receive drinks and to place main course
My Sea Bass was a very good portion however the filet was far too salty. It was as if the top of the salt dispenser fell off. They probably didn’t take into consideration the salt from the capers in the sauce

FAQs

Jackalope Ranch offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (760) 342-1999.

Jackalope Ranch is rated 3.8 stars by 2203 OpenTable diners.

Tweets by Jackalope Ranch