Il Porto

4.5
1695 Reviews
$30 and under
Italian
Every dish at Il Porto Ristorante in Alexandria, VA is made from scratch, on premise, including our pasta, all fresh, every day! Il Porto Ristorante was established in Old Town Alexandria in 1973. While its roots are traditional Italian, in recent years, there has been a transition to modern cooking techniques led by Chef Miguel, as well as focus on offering a wide range of wines, many by the glass, at a very good value.
Il Porto uses lots of fresh herbs and creative spices and we believe how you butcher the meat, how you grill a vegetable or protein in a particular way, makes all the difference to a dish.

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
Physical Distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Extra space between tables
Protective Equipment
  • Waitstaff wear masks
  • Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
What 1695 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.4
service
4.5
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
91% of people would recommend it to a friend
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
G
Golivemom
Washington DC
3 reviews
Dined a day ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Wonderful food, perfect table by the window, very nice and professional service, and a caring manager who truly wanted to make sure we were having a nice time. Great night!

NH
NH2017
San Francisco
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall3food3service3ambience5

I loved my chicken Marsala, however the service wasn’t great and my friend’s food was a big disappointment. My vegetarian friend ordered the gluten free pasta. The server insisted vodka sauce could be made, but with an up charge. After specifically saying no meat, the pasta came out smothered in chicken and for what was now a $26 dish there was zero flavor. We were never offered cheese or pepper with our meals which we were trying to get someone’s attention for. I would be willing to give the restaurant another chance, but I will not go with high expectations.

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Washington DC
12 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I’ve been going to Il
Porto for over 50 years , it’s consistently good

R
Rich
Washington DC
9 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Celebrated my birthday for the first time in two years as I was too ill the previous year. Emilio and the manager were very kind and made it a very special day for me! The food and service were extraordinary!
Thank you!

BS
BethS
Phoenix
1 review
Dined on July 18, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Great food and service. Seated us outdoors on a lovely night.

Limited vegetarian options though. Wish they had more of a selection for those looking for a meatless meal.

OT
OpenTable Diner
San Diego
2 reviews
Dined on July 17, 2021
Overall3food3service2ambience4

The atmosphere of the place was fantastic. Very homey, classic Italian restaurant. However the service was lack luster. It took an excessively long time for our food to be served and the place was not packed or busy. Over an hour from the time we ordered until our food arrived. I ordered fettuccine Alfredo, just pasta and sauce. No meat or seafood and my meal smelled and tasted as if shrimp had been cooked in it. The bread at the start was really fresh so that was pretty much all I ate.

Il Porto
Responded 6 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! With COVID-19 restriction being lifted, the national shortage of restaurant workers, and an influx of business, we have been experiencing longer wait times than usual. We are tremendously sorry this affected your visit and can ensure you that the longer wait time you experienced are not the norm. As we transition to a post COVID-19 world, we ask for your patience and thank you for your understanding.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Washington DC
2 reviews
Dined on July 17, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food was amazing, I haven't been in more than a year but the menu changes are excellent! Rocky provided amazing service!

j
jenniferc
Washington DC
2 reviews
Dined on July 16, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Everything was amazing. Our server, Mary, was the best — so kind, attentive, and thoughtful. She made our experience even better!

We went on a Friday night about 7:30pm and it was busy but not slammed. I got an espresso martini and my boyfriend got a mojito. Both were amazing but the martini was THE BEST espresso martini I’ve ever had.

We also split the buratta caprese which was amazing, and split the chicken parm with two sides of pasta.

Can’t say enough about this restaurant…10/10 loved and will be back !!

BD
vipBrianDespard
Washington DC
22 reviews
Dined on July 10, 2021
Overall3food3service3ambience3

You know that your meal is likely to be less than gourmet when the side salad arrives and is largely composed of iceberg lettuce. We ordered two pasta dishes - the vegetarian one was quite tasteless, the seafood was good, but not outstanding. We only had one course and a glass of wine and the bill was over $100..... The service was satisfactory, but poor at checking on whether the food/drink was OK of whether anything else was needed. It's only fair to say that this was a busy Saturday evening.

Il Porto
Responded on July 12, 2021

We apologize that you did not enjoy your vegetarian dish. We put extra emphasis on these dishes since we know good vegetarian food is hard to come by. We have spoken to the kitchen regarding your review to ensure this does not happen again. As for the service, you are correct, it was very busy but this it not an excuse. We are adjusting to the post quarantine surge in business, but this should not have affected your visit. We apologize and hope we have the chance to host you again soon.

Report
AS
AdrianS
1 review
Dined on July 10, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience5

my main course while delicious was overall brown the broccoli and risotto

OT
OpenTable Diner
Washington DC
2 reviews
Dined on July 10, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Overall a delightful experience. I think the lack of attention hindered a full fledged level of happiness but it wasn’t bad. Anyone that comes here based on our experience will have a good meal and attention. But it was just shy of being fully attentive and engaging.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on July 9, 2021
Overall1food2service2ambience5

The food was not great salad need more choices of dressing , drinks are not worth the price. The restaurant and location is good.
Definitely Im not coming back.

Il Porto
Responded on July 12, 2021

Thanks for leaving us a review! We apologize that you did not enjoy your visit. Please feel free to let management know how you felt about your entrees in the future. We would have been happy to take the necessary steps to ensure you enjoyed your visit. While drinks and food prices are standard for Alexandria, we apologize that we did not meet your expectations.

Report
J
vipJaneybelle
Washington DC
38 reviews
Dined on July 9, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

It really lived up to all the reviews. Food was diverse and very well done. We would definitely go back there. And loved the building and all it’s history.

T
Teflon
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined on July 8, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Freddie was helpful and attentive as always. Service was great and food outstanding as always.

s
sclucky
Charleston
25 reviews
Dined on July 7, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food was delicious and the service by Javier was excellent.

AD
ADDY
1 review
Dined on July 5, 2021
Overall3food2service2ambience3

Service was very slow and waitress was not very inviting, just “are you ready” each time, not worth the $ and food wasn’t very flavorful. Also, drinks are very tiny and not worth 15 dollars.

Il Porto
Responded on July 6, 2021

Hello! We apologize the service wasn't more hospitable. We have spoken to your waitress to ensure this does not repeat itself. As for the drinks and food, we apologize that they did not meet your exceptions but these are standard prices for the area. Regardless, we know that our customers expect the best and we always try to exceed expectations. We were unable to provide a top quality experience for you and for that we are deeply apologetic.

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined on July 3, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great location on King St and the food was fantastic. Service was impeccable.

SS
StephanieS
Washington DC
2 reviews
Dined on July 3, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience5

We went during brunch, but the server was happy to bring out the lunch menu when I asked. Delicious fresh pasta and outdoor seating on King Street. Perfect!

CR
ChristineR
Washington DC
2 reviews
Dined on July 2, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Exceptional service! Amazing food!

E
Eggs
Washington DC
3 reviews
Dined on July 2, 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience1

This place is a complete waste of your money
Steer clear

Il Porto
Responded on July 6, 2021

Hi Thomas! Thank you for leaving us a review. Could you please provide more details and content regarding your visit? We use these reviews to continually improve our performance and we would love to know how we could have improved your experience. Thanks!

Report
JG
JoanieG
1 review
Dined on June 30, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Absolutely phenomenal service. The atmosphere was perfect. Our serve, Lou steered us to perfect wine pairings that went with an exceptional dinner. We have been coming here for 23 years and will absolutely keep on returning. If I could give 10 stars I would.

TG
vipTonyG
Chicago
9 reviews
Dined on June 27, 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Great food - all entrees are fantastic. The noodles are all homemade and it shows.

IF
IrvingF
Richmond
20 reviews
Dined on June 26, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience4

We arrived with a reservation and our table was ready for us. We discovered after arriving that 2 in out party still have an issue with indoor dining due to COVID-19. Freedie was very kind and figured out how to get us seated outdoors, and even told my wife not to worry, he had it covered. So very kind of him! Food was typical for this type of restaurant. Only complaint from anyone was they had never been to an Italian restaurant that did not include a side of pasta with a "parmesean" entree. We would return.

MS
vipMichaelS
Washington DC
25 reviews
Dined on June 25, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We were seated on the second floor of Il Porto overlooking King Street. The service provided was excellent and the menu offered a variety of choice, Also, four specials were offered. The food, service, and atmosphere was impeccable and is a reason for us trying to visit often

1
12yearcouple
Richmond
2 reviews
Dined on June 24, 2021
Overall3food4service5ambience4

It was a bonus to have live music nearby. The main entrees were great-authentic and worth the cost. The salads were ice berg and not much else; they need to spice those up. Calamari excellent and all the seafood our table had was high quality. We chose to sit outside because I looked inside. It was extremely outdated and just a downer. We would return to this restaurant but only if outside seating is available.

R
vipRyguy
Washington DC
62 reviews
Dined on June 24, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Second time there in two weeks! Love the Pasta all’s Veneziana! Great service.

EH
ErikH
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on June 23, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent! Beat restaurant in Old Town

PT
PeterT
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on June 20, 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Wonderful time! Excellent food and service.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Washington DC
6 reviews
Dined on June 20, 2021
Overall2food2service2ambience1

The food is not worth the price, because it’s got no love behind it and the taste is mediocre. The waiter kept reaching across my plate to serve others while I was eating, which was strange. And at the end of the meal, he only asked one person if they wanted coffee. I had to ask for dessert. It was a birthday and I noted that on my reservation, asking they put a candle in whatever dessert we ordered…no candle.

Il Porto
Responded on June 25, 2021

Hello, thank you for taking the time and leaving us a review! We apologize your dining experience was not as you had expected it to be. We take your feedback very seriously and have spoken to your server. They understand their mistakes and will be receiving additional training to ensure this does not repeat itself. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention.

Report
RS
RondaS
Phoenix
3 reviews
Dined on June 20, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We enjoyed a wonderful delicious meal! Great service and atmosphere!

TW
TonyW
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on June 20, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We went for lunch on Father's Day. The food was delicious and service was quite good. I will definitely go back soon.

MA
MelissaA
London
1 review
Dined on June 19, 2021
Overall5food5service3ambience5

Wonderful food and ambience. We ate outside on a lively summer weekend night.

GD
vipGoneDownhill
Miami
21 reviews
Dined on June 19, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Among the best Italian food I have ever eaten. We will definitely return.

P
vipPooja
Washington DC
6 reviews
Dined on June 13, 2021
Overall3food2service2ambience3

Service was very slow. Only ordered two entrees and it took over an hour just for that. Waiter was very accommodating to make a pasta dish vegetarian for me.

Il Porto
Responded on June 18, 2021

Thank you for leaving us a review. We are very sorry for you long wait time. It is unacceptable and we are taking your feedback very seriously. We have spoken to your waiter and the kitchen staff to ensure this does not happen again. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention.

Report
RS
RosemaryS
New York Area
11 reviews
Dined on June 13, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent food! Don’t pass up this gem of a restaurant! The service was excellent, the ambiance was charming, and the food was outstanding!

EA
EmilyA
Richmond
1 review
Dined on June 12, 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Went for a special occasion; dinner was spectacular. The service was great and actual food was spectacular. Our waiter was very busy but checked on us often or if was unable the manager was also floating around.

AB
vipAnnB
Houston
15 reviews
Dined on June 12, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We sat outside, beautiful experience with good service and delicious food.

NF
vipNicoleF
Washington DC
14 reviews
Dined on June 11, 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Great meal, service was ok but the manager made up for any lack of service. Enjoyed the ambience and will certainly consider going again.

SC
vipSamanthaC
Las Vegas
3 reviews
Dined on June 10, 2021
Overall5food5service3ambience5

Great experience with amazing food!

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Washington DC
13 reviews
Dined on June 9, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We love this restaurant, I’ve been going for 50 years!!!

FAQs

You can order delivery directly from Il Porto using the Order Online button. Il Porto also offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (703) 836-8833.

Il Porto is rated 4.5 stars by 1695 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.