Hubbard & Bell
I use this venue a lot, but yesterday ordered my usual late and orange juice - latte arrived, orange juice about 10 mins later and it was offered to the guy behind me first! I ordered a bacon bap with fried egg. The Bap arrived with bacon - when I asked where the egg was - they said it would be with me in a few mins? Err I want it with my bacon bap please? Not very smart and it was fairly empty so they couldn't use the sorry we're busy excuse! Shame as usually these guys are so on the ball and I would still recommend it!
At the back of the Hoxton hotel entrance it feels a bit strange as you go in but to be fair, it does not once inside. Big tables. EXCELLENT coffee and good breakfast, sides on the expensive side but overall bill was very reasonable. We will repeat! (party of 7).
Yummy food...highly recommend
Hello Sonia, Thank you for your review! We're glad to know you enjoyed our food! We look forward to having you back The Hox team
Great place for business meetings.
Great location however the food was served cold.
Hi There Thanks for your review. We're glad you found us easy. We're at a great location in between The City and Central London. We are always happy to amend any dishes served cold. We'd love to have you back sometime soon, so we can fix any worry you have about us- Drop us a line anytime The Hox team
Friendly comfortable and relaxing venue with excellent service
Great service, good food! Loved it :)
Hello PeterL! Thank you for reviewing us, we appreciate it We look forward to having you back soon, drop us a line anytime so we can book you in again The Hox team
Really enjoyed the space and had a good time.
The menus is pretty uninspiring. Had a mushroom wellington with roast dinner veg. it come without any gravy. Very weird.
Healthy salad box came without any dressing. Asked for it. Waiter brought some oil and malt vinegar. Its not 1973.
All very friendly but a bit lacking in details.
Poor service marred good food. We went for brunch on Sunday morning, a little noisy, but reasonable options on the menu. Wil not rush back as there are better competitors.
We dined here as a family of four. It's quite a buzzy place and the teenagers approved! Good cocktail list, and although we did have to ask specifically for a Mocktail list, they do have a pretty sophisticated offer (with prices to match....).
Everyone enjoyed their food. My son commented that the flavour of the steak was great but that it was a bit chewy and not melt in the mouth. My veggie daughter enjoyed her macaroni cheese. Other mains were the baby chicken ( very tender) and the pumpkin tortelloni.
Our first waiter was nice enough but kept rushing off once we had asked for one thing so we had to keep getting him back to ask the other questions that we weren't given time to ask. Eventually we settled on a calmer waitress who was a bit less frenetic.
Would defnitely recommend as a nice place for larger groups or family groups. Perhaps not first choice for a romantic dinner for 2.
Cool dinning environment with poor serive. For the cost the food could be more substantial. We went for Brunch, ordered toast with eggs, and the toast was completely burned, thus half of what you order is editable.
The service was excellent, staff friendly and accommodating. Coffee was great. I ordered the pancakes (£10), which were not freshly made, but from a packet (the type you would buy from a supermarket) and weren’t very warm. The poached eggs my friend had looked good.
Hello Akimbo Thank you for reviewing us! It's nice to hear that you had a nice time with us from our lovely staff to our food. I can assure you that our pancakes are fresh made daily- We'd love for you to drop us a line anytime, so we can amend our not so warm pancake situation! The Hox team
Always a solid option for professional but informal brunches or lunches.
Hi JanG Thank you for your review! We love to know that we're a go-to place for these occasions. If you ever need a more secluded lunch meeting, we have our booth tables that can be requested when reserving a table :) Come back any time The Hox team
Great vibe, very good food, friendly and attentive service.
Hi Zozsiak, Thanks for reviewing us! It's great to read about your time here. Please drop by again, we look forward to having you The Hox team
Nothing to complain about. A trendy venue with good food and excellent service.
Hello DanielM, Thank you for your review. We love to read about your positive visit with us Come back any time soon The Hox team
Inattentive (but friendly) waiters. Drinks took over 20 minutes to arrive. There was water dripping from the ceiling onto the seats.
Yes but SO loud - couldn’t have a table conversation, just with the person next to you 😑
Nice food (except the coffee which was awful), but the service was off, with oddities like dumping a drink down in front of the wrong person even after being told it wasn't theirs, and it taking repeated attempts to get them to clarify what the drink actually was so we could get it to the right person. Additionally, the waiter suggested that we'd got the maths on splitting the bill wrong (we hadn't) in a way that came across as quite rude, for no apparent reason.
I felt quite bad for suggesting the venue to my friends to be honest, and I doubt I'll be going back.
Hi CatA Thank you for your review and we're sorry to read about this experience you had here at Hubbard&Bell. Please drop us a line, as we'd love to fix this experience you had with us to an improved and easier time with us The Hox team
Hubbard & Bell, is a great all rounder, service was brilliant, food was on point and the music the DJ was playing was perfect for a Friday night! The whole hotel in which the restaurant is situated has a great atmosphere. Will definitely be back when visiting London again!
Hi Kirst! Thank you for your review, it is so nice to see that you had a great time here at Hubbard&Bell! Please drop by anytime you're in London again, we look forward to having you The Hox team
Excellent atmosphere, staff, service and food. Though the price is much above average, but it was a reasonable trade when celebrating a special occasion.
Hello there, Thanks for reviewing us. We try our best when it comes to our staff service and we always make sure our food is up to standard! We look forward to having you back soon The Hox team
Great setting, lovely staff
Service was slow. They also forgot our coffee order at the end.
Had to pretty much down the coffee to be on time.
Hello Zubair, Thank you for your review and we're sorry to hear about this experience with us. We try to make sure that when our hot drinks go cold, we always amend them. Please drop us a line anytime, so we can find a way to get back your trust with us The Hox team
Servers were kind and eager to please. However, timings were off - one drink had to be requested twice and arrived long after the food. Food itself was fine though overpriced (particularly the charcuterie board). Service charge was included in the bill which was rather off putting, to be honest. I always leave a tip but for the middling experience we had, I felt it was quite cheeky to take a service charge as given. Bathrooms were very clean and kept to a high standard.
Food left a lot to be desired and was quite expensive
Hi SorchaG Thanks for your review We do apologise for your experience with us. Our food is fresh made daily with a lot of time put into every dish Please drop us a line anytime, as we'd love to have you back with us so we can regain your faith in us The Hox team
Unfortunately the tax was poor. The waitress paid no attention to us and did not relate. Pancakes came cold
Hello InbalA Thank you for your review We cannot apologise enough in regards to your experience here at Hubbard & Bell! We try our best to make sure standards are kept with staff and our hot food turned cold gets amended asap Please let us know if you'd like to come back, as we'd love to gain your trust again The Hox team
Waiter was poor, not very polite. Noise far too loud and couldn’t get a decent seat in the restaurant which was disappointing as was entertaining a client
Hello ChadG Thanks for reviewing us We are ever so sorry to read about your experience! For bookings in the restaurant, we try our best to accommodate seating requests within the booking notes and upon arrival We'd love for you to drop us a line, so we can build your trust in us again and have you back here The Hox team
Great atmosphere, friendly service, decent food (but pricy for what it is). Always busy.
Great cosy booths and fantastic wait staff. The food was underwhelming (ridic. hipster) especially for the price. Combination of music level and noise from adjoining bar made it difficult to hold a conversation though. Recommended if you want to sit around with mates looking at your phone or film yourself twerking in the loos for the Gram (yes, that was witnessed).
Great food and fantastic service
Hello, Thank you for letting us know how you felt about your experience here at Hubbard and Bell We look forward to having you again The Hox team
Set in a cool, vibey hotel, the restaurant is a perfect place for catching up with pals over Sunday roast!. Staff were friendly, polite and fun.
“Bottomless” roast potatoes, gravy and Yorkshire puddings were the reason we were attracted to H all brought to our table frequently.
Vegan and vegetarian roasts were available too. My pal had the nut roast which was very tasty.
Good choice of wine. Fab setting. Accommodating staff. Delicious food. Can’t wait to go back!
Hi alwayshungry Thank you for your review! We're glad to know you had a great experience with us at Hubbard & Bell We look forward to having you back soon for another Sunday roast The Hox team
The tables are extremely low. You don't get enough meat to warrant unlimited roast potatoes and yorkshire puddings
Hi Courtanna, Thanks for taking the time to review us. We are sorry about your experience here at Hubbard & Bell These reviews are important to us, it lets us know how we can improve for the future Our seating arrangements are designed to have a smart-casual feel, some seating may be lower than others, but we are always happy to amend seating plans if need be for any party We'd be happy to have you join us once more to bring back your confidence in us, please drop us a line anytime The Hox team
There was none of the option I wanted, so I then selected eggs benedict and there were no muffins so it was served on sour dough toast.
It was ok, just disappointing.
Hi MatthewK, Thanks for your review! We're sorry to read what happened. We try to do our best with any amendments to our dishes so they are still great for you Please drop us a line sometime, we'd love to have you back so we can put your faith back in us The Hox team
Exceptional service and the food was amazing. Will be returning.
Very relaxed dining experience and highly attentive staff.
Lovely unexpected meal with top service and friendly fun atmosphere. I will definitely be back
Hello, Thank you for your review about us! Unexpected plans turn out to always be great and we are happy to know that you had a nice time here at Hubbard & Bell We look forward to having you again The Hox team
Food was fine but nothing special - service a little slow but nothing too bad.
Never good when you leave hungry!
Had the pumpkin tortellini and my five year old would still have been hungry after eating it. Not good value at all!
Hi NessieK, Thank you for taking the time to give us your review, I’m ever so sorry to hear about your experience here at Hubbard and Bell. Comments like so are taken very seriously and all feedback helps us to progress forward. We would love to be in touch with you, so we could have you back and revive your trust in us. Please drop us a line at anytime The Hox team
It’s a trendy location but the seats were very low on the ground which was a bit awkward for conversation. The staff were very attentive and the location is central. My fish was a bit over cooked and the menu is a bit overpriced in my view
Hello there, Thank you for taking your time to review us! We are so sorry to read about your time here not being up to standard. Our seating arrangement flows to be a middle ground of smart-casual, giving us an urban feel to our surroundings. As with our pricing, we aim to be in line with other businesses in the area and try to keep it fair. We apologise for your meal being overcooked and would wish to amend this. We would love to be in touch with you to take away any doubts in us The Hox team
I booked a table at Hubbard and Bell for breakfast with a friend, and sadly I won't be returning. For the first time in my life I was asked to pay for my food upfront in a restaurant, something I found rather odd, more so when for some reason I was the only patron in the restaurant asked to do this (let me re-write that, the only BLACK patron). I am unsure as to why one particular waitress singled me out like this and upon politely enquiring why I needed to pay upfront or handover a card for a tab I was informed that it was because "people have been leaving without paying".
I would have accepted this approach had it been adopted for all restaurant guests but it wasn't - on this basis I know I was racially profiled by this waitress. Shame on you and The Hoxton would do well to reflect on this feedback and the extremely poor service (and personal biases) individual members of staff feel empowered to provide.
Hello TMiller, Thank you for your review and taking the time to inform us about your experience. Feedback as such, makes us look over ourselves to see how we can improve for the future. We are ever so sorry to read about this period and will go forth into investigating these actions. This is not the way we behave at Hubbard & Bell and would discourage any member of staff to practise this. We would love to be in touch with you and have us restore your trust. We are sorry once more The Hox team
Lovely food for business breakfast
Hello Shif, Thank you for your review, we appreciate it! Come back anytime for breakfast, business meeting or not! The Hox team
Hubbard & Bell is rated 4.2 stars by 683 OpenTable diners.
You can book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size.