Halfway Inn

4
513 Reviews
£25 and under
British
In line with government advice, we are operating a COVID-19 secure management system. All bookings must be for no more than 6 people and we will require a name and telephone number for each adult guest, or you can scan the QR code.We prefer cashless payments. Please wear a mask when not seated indoors.

The Halfway Inn is a beautiful 16th century pub, located on the heathland halfway between Wareham and Corfe Castle.

From 19th May you may also choose to dine in the cosy pub, our garden room, our large marquee, or our large beer garden with a children’s play area.
Table service will apply throughout and social distancing must be adhered to.
We cannot wait to welcome you back!
Dogs Welcome! Families Welcome!

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
  • Sealed or wrapped utensils used
Physical Distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Protective Equipment
  • Waitstaff wear masks
  • Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
  • Staff temperature check required
  • Contact tracing information collected
What 513 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.0based on recent ratings
4.0
food
4.2
service
3.8
ambience
3.7
value
Noise · Moderate
78% of people would recommend it to a friend
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
SR
SharonR
Dorset
1 review
Dined a day ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Lovely meals, all thoroughly enjoyed! Very friendly & helpful staff. Definitely hope to return again soon. Thank you:)

MT
MarieT
1 review
Dined a day ago
Overall3food2service5ambience3

Very disappointing main course but manager was very nice about it and gave us discount

AG
AndrewG
Dorset
1 review
Dined a day ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Lovely food, lovely staff, relaxing environment and all at a good price.

VM
VirginiaM
1 review
Dined a day ago
Overall5food5service5ambience3

The service is excellent from the moment we were greeted, to the table service and even as we left, we felt special. The food arrived quickly and was delicious and cooked perfectly. The only thing that stopped the whole experience being perfect was that we were seated next to the toilet and the very noisy hand dryer spoilt the ambience somewhat! Maybe paper towels would be a better option? And more hygienic too!

KP
KateP
Dorset
2 reviews
Dined 2 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

This place was amazing, they gave us a quiet table in a cool room (eventhough it was 24c outside) and the food was top notch, looked and tasted lovely. The service could not jave bren better, attentive yet not over powering, we will definitely go back!

J
Janetl
Dorset
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Outside seating in good weather so very pleasant but at front of pub so some road noise. Service very good and quick, food good, very good variety on menu especially for non-meat eaters. On pricey side maybe.

H
Holly
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience3

Got there early as traffic was light. It was no problem for the staff and taken straight to our table.
Once our order was taken the food arrived very quickly.
Thank you.

k
kevsars
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall2food3service3ambience2

We were offered a table either in a conservatory or next to the male toilet and when we said we would leave it were offers a table in the main pub. The menu was very limited which I suppose is a sign of the times

P
Pinklady123
London
9 reviews
Dined on June 6, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Great service. Nice food. Our children liked the park. We were camping just up the road so it was very convenient.

Halfway Inn
Responded 4 days ago

Thank you very much for your great review.

Report
GA
GrannieAnnie
Hampshire
3 reviews
Dined on June 6, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

We had a lovely Sunday roast, the service was great, fast & friendly 🤙

Halfway Inn
Responded 4 days ago

Thank you very much GrannieAnnie

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on June 5, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great service and amazing food, I’d say the best pub food I’ve eaten in long time. Worth the visit

Halfway Inn
Responded on June 7, 2021

Thank you so much for the great rating and lovely comments.

Report
P
Pedro
Dorset
1 review
Dined on June 5, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Great food and service with excellent reception and seating

Halfway Inn
Responded 4 days ago

Thank you Pedro. Take care

Report
ML
MattL
1 review
Dined on June 5, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience5

Solid food, good location & a good stop to then spend the afternoon in Corfe

Halfway Inn
Responded on June 7, 2021

Thank you for the 4* rating and positive feedback.

Report
JW
JonW
1 review
Dined on June 4, 2021
Overall2food3service3ambience3

This place has so much promise but under-delivered. Its in the busy road out of the Purbecks. The pre-booked table system worked well. Friendly staff greeting and we were able to swap to outside seating due to the weather. Prices were quite steep which would have been OK had the presentation and food quality matched. We were also left without cutlery until we asked. £17.50 for a burger and chips was frankly outrageous. Chicken only version was unseasoned and tasteless. Kids fish fingers were basic. Baked plaice, although looking tiny because it was served on too big a plate, was tasty and didn't need the giant disc of unmelted herb butter on it (which subsequently half melted and drowned the fish in an pastey oily/buttery soup). Underwhelming food at touristy prices so not good value for money. Its basically a roadside pub with pretensions of being a gastro pub and after spending just under £100 for main courses only for 2 adults and 3 kids (without any alcoholic drinks) I won't be revisiting or recommending.

Halfway Inn
Responded on June 7, 2021

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your visit. Were any of these issues raised with our team on the day? The plaice was 3/4 to 1lb in size, we remove the head and the black skin for presentation. It was clearly advertised as served with lemon and caper butter, roasted cherry vine tomatoes, baby new potatoes and local asparagus. All burgers and chicken are seasoned before chargrilling unless the customer requests other wise. We serve ‘free from ‘ fish fingers to cater for special diets.

Report
AH
AlanH
1 review
Dined on June 4, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

An excellent all round venue with high quality food, good service, very safe environment and plenty of things for the grandkids to do. Definitly will return when we venture to Corfe and Dorset again!

TI
TaraI
1 review
Dined on June 4, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food, very prompt and friendly service.

Halfway Inn
Responded on June 7, 2021

Thank you for the 5* rating and fab feedback.

Report
R
Richard
London
2 reviews
Dined on June 3, 2021
Overall4food5service4ambience5

Tasty food. Very enjoyable. A bit of a wait to be offered desert resulting in children getting bored - but a minor point and certainly not been an issue on visits in previous years so I’m sure a result of having to try new ways of working. Wouldn’t hesitate in returning, a good evening feed. Thank you.

Halfway Inn
Responded on June 5, 2021

Thank you so much for the 4* rating. Please accept our apologies for the delay in offering desserts. We have been extremely busy and many of our “summer” staff who usually help out are still studying.

Report
LH
LindaH
Derbyshire
1 review
Dined on June 3, 2021
Overall2food3service2ambience1

We were 2 parties all family and we were sat in the annex which was very cold. We sat in one corner near the door to the bar area and my sisters family if the left hand corner by the bi-folding doors. My nephew only received his food after the rest of the party had eaten and plates were not removed to the table.
On entry to the pub we were given strict COVID regulations as expected then another party came and were seated in the annex both extremely close to our tables - no social distancing at all. At this point we decided to leave and didn't have a dessert. We won't be going again.

VM
VeeMo
Dorset
1 review
Dined on June 3, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

We had an enjoyable time, food was good (if a bit pricey) and the staff were friendly. I realise that they are still getting back on their feet after lockdown which probably explains the increase in food prices and the fact that service wasn't quite as slick as usual. No complaints, though - it was good to be back inside!

Halfway Inn
Responded on June 5, 2021

Thank you for the 4* rating and very understanding comments.

Report
PR
PaulR
Dorset
1 review
Dined on June 2, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Always great food and service here. Menu is missing it’s usual classics at the moment due to Covid.

Halfway Inn
Responded on June 4, 2021

Dear PaulR, Thank you very much for your amazing review. Hope we see you soon again. Take care

Report
DN
DavidN
London
1 review
Dined on June 2, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Excellent food and service great value for money It always is. See you soon.

Halfway Inn
Responded on June 4, 2021

Dear DavidN, Thank you very much for your great review. Take care

Report
LN
LazyN
Warwickshire
1 review
Dined on June 1, 2021
Overall1food2service2ambience1

Clearly need to recoup “lockdown losses”.Overpriced for food straight out of Iceland BUT if everywhere else is fully booked .............

Halfway Inn
Responded on June 2, 2021

None of our food is from Iceland........most of it is made onsite and as the very many 5* reviews show..it is well received by our other guests.

Report
M
Mark
London
1 review
Dined on May 31, 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Service very good, food came out in good time and was excellent value for money. All round would visit again

Halfway Inn
Responded on June 2, 2021

Thank you so much for 4 stars and some lovely comments.

Report
TB
TraceyB
1 review
Dined on May 30, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Lovely meal, we both had a Sunday roast , delicious meat plenty of vegetables amazing potatoes and a huge Yorkshire pud!

Halfway Inn
Responded on June 2, 2021

Wonderful. We are delighted you enjoyed your Sunday roast.

Report
G
Goffypot
1 review
Dined on May 30, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience5

The Halfway Inn was very well organised with their covid procedures. We felt safe from start to finish.

The service and the Sunday Roast were both very good

Halfway Inn
Responded on June 2, 2021

Thank you so much for the great rating and positive feedback.

Report
IB
IanB
London
2 reviews
Dined on May 30, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Real good Roast Dinners for the 3 of us. Nice outside and staff were helpful (need to pre book ). Children’s play area was a bonus. Fine food, Badger beer, good service.

Halfway Inn
Responded on June 2, 2021

Thank you for the great review.

Report
RV
RichardV
1 review
Dined on May 28, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Fantastic place 👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍

Halfway Inn
Responded on May 30, 2021

It looks like you were happy with us. :-) Thank you RichardV. I hope we can welcome you again soon. Kind regards

Report
HW
HazelW
Dorset
1 review
Dined on May 28, 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience4

We have used the halfway house for a number of years and have always enjoyed the experience and found it good value. We used to love the outdoor area under the canopy but it had now been replaced with an indoor area. The food was good and tasty but we feel that the increase in price over the past year makes you think twice before dining there. Even a burger is not the appealing price it was before covid. The pub itself is very welcoming with a good range of seating areas and is welcoming for customers with dogs.

Halfway Inn
Responded on May 31, 2021

Thank you for your comments. Unfortunately there have been considerable increases in costs of food and drink, partly due to Brexit, and partly due to lockdowns and we have to pass these costs on to survive as a business. We converted out back courtyards to a garden room to give us additional indoor seating which was much needed. But we also added an additional back garden areas adjacent to the garden room so guests have the option of a quieter garden area to dine or drink.

Report
MD
MarkD
Dorset
1 review
Dined on May 28, 2021
Overall3food4service2ambience2

Not up to it’s usual standard. The food was good but I am afraid the service was very poor. It took a while to order once we had been seated, but after we had finished our main meal there was no one around to order a pudding. The only person we saw was when I paid the bill.

SU
SunseekerUk
Dorset
1 review
Dined on May 27, 2021
Overall3food5service5ambience3

Food and service were good, but £6 for shandy and £6 for a cider was rediculous.
Need to look at the pricing £60 for two drinks, two dinners and two desserts. Desserts £7 each
Staff friendly though.

Halfway Inn
Responded on June 7, 2021

Sorry, you should have been given a drinks menu to choose from which would have shown our prices. Please accept our apologies. We feel that £7 is a reasonable price for a a homemade dessert..

Report
K
Kazza
Dorset
1 review
Dined on May 27, 2021
Overall3food3service1ambience3

Lovely welcome! Waitress very unfriendly & looked bored!

Halfway Inn
Responded on May 30, 2021

Dear Kazza, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. I am disappointed to hear that you have mixed feelings with your visit. I hope you can give us another chance to let us show you our real face next time. Kind regards

Report
JW
JanetW
Dorset
1 review
Dined on May 26, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience4

Lovely food, friendly and efficient staff, reasonable prices. One of the staff even brought our dog a handful of treats!

JO
JohnO
London
1 review
Dined on May 25, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food reasonable choices and service was excellent.

Halfway Inn
Responded on May 29, 2021

Thank you very much for your kind review.

Report
N
Netty
London
5 reviews
Dined on May 23, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Very nice experience . Dog friendly pub . Nice staff .

Halfway Inn
Responded on May 25, 2021

Thank you for the 5* rating.

Report
D
Doosan
Kent
2 reviews
Dined on May 23, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Just a great place to meet up and eat.

Halfway Inn
Responded on May 25, 2021

Thank you for the great rating and comments

Report
LN
LucyN
London
1 review
Dined on May 23, 2021
Overall4food5service5ambience4

Lovely food.. great value.. excellent service
Very good COVID procedures in place

Halfway Inn
Responded on May 25, 2021

Thank you for the great feedback. We are delighted that you felt COVID safe.

Report
AT
AlisonT
Dorset
1 review
Dined on May 22, 2021
Overall3food2service4ambience3

Food was mostly OK, although not inspiring. Very standard menu. One of our group paid an additional £1.50 for onion rings with their £17.50 burger and got 3 onion rings -a bit poor. One of my children had sausage, chips and beans. The one sausage was burnt, we did get a refund when we told the waitress. Most children would eat 2 sausages, and given the cost of the meal (£7), 2 sausages would be better. Overall rather disappointed, although the service was good.

Halfway Inn
Responded on May 23, 2021

Dear AlisonT, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We are disappointed to hear that you are not satisfied with your visit. Falling short of meeting your expectations is not to the standards we strive to achieve. Thank you providing this information so we can improve upon our services. Kind regards

Report
RA
RobinA
Dorset
2 reviews
Dined on May 21, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Excellent service, good food and a pleasant atmosphere.

Halfway Inn
Responded on May 23, 2021

Thank you very much for your nice review.

Report
VW
VicW
Dorset
1 review
Dined on May 21, 2021
Overall1food2service3ambience1

First time out after lockdown, and really looking forward to a great meal. So disappointed, very expensive for average meal .

Halfway Inn
Responded on June 2, 2021

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your meal, perhaps if you had been more specific we could have addresses any particular issues and used the review to improve our business?

Report
FC
FreyaC
1 review
Dined on May 19, 2021
Overall4food5service5ambience5

Really great pub with fantastic food, just a little on the pricey side. Thoroughly enjoyed our meal there.

Halfway Inn
Responded on May 23, 2021

Thank you very much for your 4 starts.

Report

FAQs

Halfway Inn is rated 4 stars by 513 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.