Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_informationCreated with Sketch.
You must make reservations at least 5 minutes in advance of the time at Grand Cafe-Grand Geneva Resort.
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 2 times today

Grand Cafe-Grand Geneva Resort

3.7
194 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Enjoy seasonal American fare fused with ethnic flair in a casual atmosphere. Experience the flavors of the changing Midwestern seasons, with healthy dining options from low-carb to low-calorie, as well as sinfully delicious desserts. Don’t miss our weekend breakfast buffet featuring an omelet station. Grand Cafe is located on the 1300 acre Grand Geneva Resort, just a short drive from downtown Lake Geneva.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Grand Café Breakfast:

Monday-Sunday: 6:30-11:30am



Grand Café Lunch:

Monday-Sunday: 11:30-5:00pm



Grand Café Dinner:

Friday-Saturday: (Featuring our Prime Rib and Seafood Buffet) 5:00pm-10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(262) 249-4788
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jason Poole
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Private Dining Available. Birthdays, Anniversaries, Celebrations, Reunions, Wedding Dinners and more. Our chef will work with you to cater a custom menu for your function to meet your needs.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Andrea Raykovich: (262) 245-7552
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Private Dining Available.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Hwy 50 East &Hwy 12
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Self-parking is available. We also offer complimentary Valet Parking.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Enjoy live entertainment performing nightly located adjacent to the Grand Cafe. Relax and enjoy the music amid comfortable surroundings and a roaring fire. Appetizers, sandwiches, and desserts are also available. Non-smoking.
Additional
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 194 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.7based on recent ratings
3.7
food
3.6
service
3.8
ambience
3.3
value
Noise · Moderate
50% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
2.0Dined on April 8, 2018

We arrived to a restaurant that was only half full and still sat for over 10 minutes after being seated before anyone brought water or menues. Service was very slow to the point of being non exsistent. After almost an hour with still not receiving our food we complained to a manager who quickly apologized a comped our bill. I very much appreciate him making it right with us, and hope they make some changes to fix their service problems.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

The Food was great they served cold and hot snow crab everything was all you can eat.our waitress was great We ask her about the history of the area and restuarant, Her name was Donna just plain fantastic! Just ONE BIG problem was noticed when did anyone let the trash people in any eating establishment allowing men to wear baseball style caps while eating. Or anyone wearing hats men or boys.Thanks

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 25, 2018

We were celebrating a birthday. The service was extremely slow - the food took forever and was not good when it finally arrived. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone nor would I eat there again. Because there were seven of us (three children) the 20% gratuity was added to the bill as I highly doubt we would have tipped that much! Quite awful!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Buffet food was average. Service was extremely slow. Much of the buffet food was empty and refilling did not happen quickly. Disappointing experience overall.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 2, 2018

We went there for the Friday prime/fish buffet. The food was very good and the selection was nice. Though wish lobster had been an option on the buffet. Overall can not make any complaints, will be back again for sure.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 19, 2018

Friday night buffet had a large selection. Prime rib was good-just not great. Service was poor. Staff spread too thin. Asked for water refill 3 times and gave up. My wife asked for tea with honey and received a very good tea but never any honey. At $32.00 a head, I expect better service.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on January 13, 2018

Horrible experience. Made a reservation, when we show up, they seat my family in the main entry. I ask to get moved to any of the 15 open tables and was told no.

Then wanted to order food off menu rather than buffet. Half my family did the buffet, the other half waited 40 min to get a menu in a half empty restaurant while the 2-3 hostess chatted with each other.

Poorly managed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 30, 2017

This place never fails to impress with its consistency great service and great food quality

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 28, 2017

Was disappointed to find the restaurant menu was the same thing you could order for room service. So that shows you the quality of food that you get....

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 24, 2017

Buffet selection is limited and not worth what we paid for.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 24, 2017

This as for Christmas Eve Dinner with a special friend. Presentation on the buffet was poor and the prime rib was not very good. The carving person was on his phone quite a bit.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 23, 2017

Wonderful food and great service. Always a special holiday family tradition for us.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 22, 2017

Wonderful meal

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 1, 2017

Visited this place many times. Usually the Friday evening dinner. Good reliable, clean, good service and a good value for the dollar.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on November 19, 2017

The hostess was very friendly and accommodating with a time change request. My fiancée ordered a $24 steak and when it arrived it was no bigger than a chicken tender. His extra order of steak fries amounted to nothing extra and his salad on the side looked like a pile of wilted leaves. The server, though not appearing concerned about displeasure, did bring our comment back to the kitchen. The response was “that’s how it is”. The supervisor said we could fill out a survey when we check out. We’ve eaten at the cafe before and each year the menu seems to get smaller and lacking in choice. I was surprised by the lack of concern by the waitstaff especially because the rest of the hotel was filled with staff trying to make our holiday experience fun and memorable. Although I may go for the holiday lights, I will not be eating at the restaurants again! Very disappointed.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 17, 2017

We were there for a conference , a rather large one at that. They handled the crowd very well we never felt pressured, the server was awesome, so personable. It is always nice to have that, we truly enjoyed the experience there. We did have the buffet that night, the food on it was good, prime rib was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 21, 2017

We went to the Grand Café for our anniversary this past weekend and it was FABULOUS. They gave us a complimentary bottle of champagne because it was our anniversary and the waitress gave me a rose at the end of the meal. They really went above and beyond. I would highly recommend it!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on August 14, 2017

8.14.17 Not worth the price point and far below expectations for an upscale resort dining option. I get it, it's a cafe so we didn't expect a large menu. The small menu had items listed that weren't available. Service was mediocre as water glasses sat empty until we promoted. The "Banh Mi", forget its current popularity this is not of the Vietnamese variety of this French colonial classic. It was served on a wheat flour baguette that was tough and hard. Unlike the rice flour baguette that is light, airy, and crusty. It was more a fork and saw sandwich. Even the pickled veg was lackluster. The recommended, unfinished French onion soup lacked that certain wow and a half-eaten hamburger was (though asked for medium) still well very underwhelming for its price. Overall as guests of the resort we had intended to try the chop house on the property during our stay. We will take our lesson from this impression and make a reservation someplace else. I would say for those with experience with cuisine, i.e. "Foodies" set your sites elsewhere. Not worth the price or your time, IMHO. This place is serving up location not satisfaction.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 12, 2017

Great service and accommodated our food allergies without hesitation. Food, service, and ambiance were great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2017

Beautiful scenic views that instantly creates a "vacation" mind set enhancing the delicious all you can eat Prime rib, crab legs and shrimp, we enjoyed the past weekend! Very nice food presentation, salad bar, other entrees, always replenished to avoid any inconvenience of waiting. Wonderful service. We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience!! Look forward to returning!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 27, 2017

The breakfast here is really, really good. Food was also great, great coffee. It was nice that you can get coffee to go as well. Only complaint was that the service seemed to be short bussers. So plates were piling up and I had to ask our server to take them. Dinner was good. I would recommend this restaurant for dinner for families only. It's more casual than the other restaurants. If you are planning a romantic date, don't come here. There was couple next to us who appeared to be on a date and they had the unfortunate experience of listening to my son yell, "I want some Mac 'n cheese!" Anyway, great find for breakfast and dinner with families.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2017

Very good quality buffet food. Waitress extremely accommodating. The rolls need an upgrade. Too many screaming kids that parents were not controlling.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2017

When we were first seated, I don't think they were ready for dinner service. Under the table was a lot of food trash. But they moved us after 10 minutes and from then on the service and food were amazing. Celebrating my parents 41 years of f marriage here was beautiful. We might make it a yearly tradition. Thanks

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 5, 2017

Adult burgers off the menu we're really good. Kids pizza wasn't good...pita bread with too much sauce and cheese was barely melted. My 6 year old doesn't turn down pizza and he barely ate a slice.

Kids buffet isn't a buffet. It offered 2 main courses (uncrustables and chicken nuggets) and 2 desserts (jello and chocolate pudding).

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2017

We were out for a daddy/daughter dance and dinner. Our waitress treat my daughter, and the other young ladies that were at our table with their dads, like princesses. It was fantastic.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2017

We always enjoy our dining experience at the Grand Cafe. The food is always fresh and delicious and the service top class. Definitely one of our favorite getaways, so we frequent this restaurant often.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2017

My family and I were staying at the resort for vacation and decided to come here for a Saturday meal. Everything was delicious. The service was fantastic and they had a selection for the kids.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2017

I had the buffee diner on friday and Saturday they have prime rib carving station and I got a good size portion of prime rib nicely cooked. Also they had crab legs in short ribs over riceVery good I'm a big meet eater and I enjoyed it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2017

Service was slow. Table was dirty. I was served a strip steak even though i ordered a rib-eye. My kids had sad-looking bland buttered noodles. Thankfully, Ally, who works for the resort, read my complaints and responded very quickly. Our meal was comped which was a generous response from management. It seems there are a lot of bad reviews about this restaurant which is a shame since the resort itself is very nice.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 24, 2017

The broccoli casserole was the star of the menu, although the buffet had shrimp it was cold and of the peel and eat variety, and a $35 price point I think they can afford to put peeled deveined shrimp on the buffet. The prime rib was tasty, and perfectly cooked however it was 60 to 70% fat, so I wasted more than a aid which bother me why such a fatty piece of meat would be on the buffet in the first place.

They did have crab legs and drawn butter but the crab legs were ice cold again a pet peeve of mine. The salad bar was nice and the fresh fish selection was good as well. Being that it was a Friday during Lent, I would've liked to seen macaroni and cheese, and perhaps another fish item. I stayed on the property for four days and this was my only visit to a hotel restaurant, the value for the money is simply not there.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 10, 2017

The food temperature was cool at best. The salt was so strong in the mushrooms that when added on top of the prime rib, I couldn't eat it. The price is high for the poor service and sub par food. I will never go back to the buffet nor would I recommend it to anybody.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2017

Good Chicken avocado ciabatta, tasty sweet potato fries and good margarita.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2017

Always good service, great food, and a relaxing night. All you can eat buffet with crab legs, prime rib, and shrimp. Great for children too because they have their own buffet.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 20, 2017

Was looking forward to the "surf and turf" buffet. Prime rib and crab legs along with some other dishes. The prime rib was good. The crab legs were decent but the other dishes were disappointing. They had a tuna steak dish but the tuna was pretty dry. There was also supposed to be a pasta and shrimp dish but I saw no shrimp. For the $30 price I expected more.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 13, 2017

This was my sons choice for his birthday. They treated him like a king.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 16, 2016

Prime rib buffet was a let down. Grand Geneva is going downhill...

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 16, 2016

Always a place you can depend on for an enjoyable evening or lunch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 10, 2016

I found the circuses to be great. Best wait staff, very friendly and attentive. Bar tenders were great. Great selection food and drinks.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 9, 2016

Food was pricey for what you got. I would go back more or the ambiance.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 3, 2016

The food was very good. We got off to a bad start when the hostess took us to our table. When we got to the table and started to sit down, a waitress came over and ask her to move us to another table so she could have a party of 15. We moved down the row of tables. We sat for 20 minutes with no service. When the waitress finally came to our table after orders from 2 other tables that were seated after us. She apologized and said that she was late for work. I understand these things can happen, but feel someone else could have at least taken the drink orders. Some of us got the buffet and some ordered off the menu. The food was very good and the meat carver very nice. We had to ask for a bread basket twice. We also had to remind the waitress three times that we would like drink refills.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
5