Evoke - Charlotte

3.9
242 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Bistro
Voted Top 10 Restaurant 2016 by Charlotte Magazine, Best Steakhouse 2015, Best Waitstaff 2015, Best Place to Splurge 2015 and Best New Restaurant 2015 by Creative Loafing Charlotte.

Located in Le Meridien Charlotte, Evoke is a craft cocktail bar & small plates bistro, utilizing the highest quality local products & featuring internationally inspired cuisine.

Looking for something with a more intimate gathering? Evoke’s private dining room, accentuated with an eclectic design and glass globe fixtures suspended above, can accommodate up to 24 persons, representing a sophisticated and welcoming atmosphere.

Parking validated for patrons of the restaurant.
avatar copy

Private Dining

Book your next event with us

View details

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Mon - Sat 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:30PM - 10:30PM

What 242 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.9based on recent ratings
3.9
food
4.1
service
4.0
ambience
3.7
value
Noise · Moderate
43% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Filters
M
New York Area
10 reviews
Dined on August 2, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 5

The burrata app and filet entree were excellent. The scallop entree was very good, though the rice and lardons were dry. The cocktails were excellent. The desserts could use more variety and less reliance on crunchy toppings.

JC
Charlotte
20 reviews
Dined on July 24, 2019
Overall 5food 4service 4ambience 4

To be honest, even for Restaurant Week it wasnt anything to write home about.
The brownie stack dessert was the best part by far. Everything else was just meh.
The server (Chris..I think) was fantastic! The 5 minute wait for the host to come greet and seat us was a little annoying, but understandable because he was hosting solo.

CE
Philadelphia
12 reviews
Dined on July 20, 2019
Overall 2food 2service 4ambience 2

One of my pet peeves is when a chef gives a dish a name that leads to set expectations about what a dish will taste like, then switches an ingredient, or does "his version". A chef should know that shortcake is like a biscuit, not a cake or muffin. It makes me think the chef is uninformed, or ill-taught. The appetizers for restaurant week were served in pastry shells. That is all there was to the taste. Mains were good. Desserts had been kept in the refrigerator and were not heated, including the brownie. Disappointing. Service was good.

Evoke - Charlotte
Responded on July 25, 2019

Thank you so much for your thoughtful review. We will be addressing your concerns with the chef. I do hope you will try us again in the near future.

Report
JD
1 review
Dined on July 20, 2019
Overall 2food 3service 4ambience 2

This experience was pretty strange. We went in for restaurant week.

The air conditioning was broken so it was a little warm, and they had fans that were pretty loud to try and cool off, but then would raise up the volume of the music to drown it out, but then the music was super loud, and so they would lower it down.

The food was different. I didn't love it, but it was pretty unique. I had stroganoff. It was pretty good. Ice cream was melted on the desert. Cake was a bit hard.

Service was fine. We did wait for a bit, and made eye contact with more than one person before anyone actually greeted us. The server was good though.

OT
Houston
1 review
Dined on July 2, 2019
Overall 4food 3service 3ambience 3

Beautiful presentation of rib appetizer

JJ
1 review
Dined on June 25, 2019
Overall 3food 2service 4ambience 3

My wife's filet was incinerated on the outside. My scallops were barely cooked. Small portions; expensive. They did have a good musical duo. Waiter was fine.

T
Charlotte
2 reviews
Dined on June 21, 2019
Overall 1food 1service 2ambience 4

Read about evoke and thought we’d try it. Made a reservation, but the restaurant was basically empty when we arrived. Chris at the bar was friendly and so was the 2nd bartender. Donte was a kind and welcoming host. Things went downhill quickly after that. We ordered appetizers but did not eat them. We left afterwards and went to another steakhouse. The service wasn’t good. The food wasn’t good. The Seafood Stack was supposed to have lobster in it but they substituted shrimp without telling us. Luckily, none of us had a shellfish allergy. I have celiac and did not feel comfortable eating there after that. They were supposed to take the appetizer off our bill however, they did not. I called the day after to request a refund but did not get a call back. I hate being negative about a restaurant, but our experience was not good.

N
New York Area
10 reviews
Dined on June 15, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

amazing small plates section on menu. try the octopus or Pork belly and Cornbread

PH
1 review
Dined on June 4, 2019
Overall 1food 1service 1ambience 1

Evoke was very, very loud; almost to the point of causing indigestion. The service was very, very slow. The server was quite nice but she seemed to have full charge of all the tables being served. Still she seemed to bring out one plate at a time. This may have been the kitchen's fault. One appetizer was served before the drinks arrived. The second appetizer was salad, presumably premade as it was limp, and arrived after the first appetizer was finished. The entrees were passable though the "filet mignon" came sliced; usually an indication that the meat is not, indeed, filet.
Unhappily, not a good experience; and it shall not be repeated.

RC
1 review
Dined on June 1, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The octopus was so delicious. The billowing smoke presentation and flavor was delightful. Our husbands had New York strip and a ribeye and said it was very good. The asparagus and beat and root salad, were so fresh and tasty. We also asked them to make us specific drinks to our liking and they did a fabulous job. Our server was very attentive and accommodating and cute.

PS
Charleston
6 reviews
Dined on May 17, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Food was great and it’s a beautiful atmosphere. We love to dine here.

PS
Charleston
6 reviews
Dined on May 15, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The food was fantastic. The menu is small and apparently changes seasonally. Everything is locally sourced.

OT
New York Area
1 review
Dined on April 23, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Very decent decor and very comfortable seating. Food was quite delicious and service was on par with this level of establishment.

JR
Dallas
4 reviews
Dined on March 23, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Superb restaurant! My wife and I were in town for 4 days and ate @ Evoke twice. I had the grouper brioche each night, along with the tomato/mozzarella salad. The sauces on each were subtle and expertly made to enhance the flavors. The fish had a perfect texture. My wife had the smoked octopus, oysters and kale salad. Have told my Neice in Charlotte to put Eboke on her must dine list. She took us to 300 East which was quite good, but a step or 2 behind Evoke

D
Charlotte
1 review
Dined on March 9, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 3

Nice drink menu , $15 for one of their signature drinks. Small dinner venue but very good dishes.

A
1 review
Dined on March 6, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Service was great, my server was friendly, helpful and fast. The cocktail selection was unique and the food delightful.

OT
New York Area
4 reviews
Dined on March 5, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Fantastic food. Ordered charred octopus and Filet Mignon cooked to perfection. Seriously great ambiance and amazing food. Waiter was excellent as well.

AZ
Miami
6 reviews
Dined on February 23, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 2

I was disappointed by this restaurant. We went on a Saturday night at 7:30 and it was relatively crowded, but was very quiet and lacked atmosphere. We ordered the cornbread which was average, and then ordered the Dry Age Prime Ribeye and Scallops to share. The ribeye was not a great cut of meat. It was thin, had large chunks of blubbery fat on it (not just near the cap, all over it), and it was overcooked. The scallops were cooked very well, but came with fried rice and a sunny side up egg, which was not on the menu. Luckily, I like eggs like this, but to not include it on the menu was odd. Overall, for the price, it was average. It was definitely lower in price than other restaurants in the area, but even with that, it was not great. I would not recommend this restaurant unless you were staying in the hotel and did not want to leave.

TN
San Francisco
149 reviews
Dined on February 23, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 3ambience 3

Didn't realize this was in the Hotel, but food was tasty and came up quickly. Wine selection was limited by availability.

EL
Nashville
1 review
Dined on January 26, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 3

It was just OK

OT
Charlotte
1 review
Dined on January 25, 2019
Overall 3food 5service 1ambience 4

The food was honestly very delicious and I would go back for it (especially their creamsicle dessert!)... but as for the service, I wouldn’t come back. We waited at the “host stand” for over 14 mins (no joke, my friend and I kept track) because we were 4 mins late) after our reservation because the hostess was confused and debated with her manager on where to sit us (to be exact, we were right in front of the host stand and we decided to grab a complimentary champagne glass nearby given by the hotel until the time we got sat because we were annoyed with the lack of consideration that the manager and hostess were giving us). Once we got sat we were not greeted until I had to get someone’s attention from the waiter serving the table next to us. From my experience, no guest should have to wait over 5 mins to be even said “hello” or “hi” to at a table (we didn’t even have water until I had to ASK for it), regardless if they’re our server or not. We should be attended to as soon as possible, even by the bussers, especially at a restaurant like Evoke. If it wasn’t for City Lights Rooftop on top of the hotel, that place would be deserted because customer service sucks. Thank god for restaurant week and only paying $35 for a 3-course meal with “stellar” service. A lot of people in the lobby agreed with my guest and I attending dinner this evening.

SR
1 review
Dined on January 9, 2019
Overall 2food 2service 2ambience 3

Totally disappointed.
- Waitress not knowledgeable on preparation of dishes.
- Ceasar salad on menu was not a Ceasar salad - some other kind of salad.
- Grouper was not edible. Sent back for different entree.
-Menu describes style as small plates but actually they are normal sized.
- Roasted chicken was good.
- Asparagus & fingerling potato were great.

Evoke - Charlotte
Responded on January 11, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We apologize for the experience you had, and will immediately address your concerns. We will focus in on continuing education of our dishes and food in general, and we will be updating our menus with clearer and more accurate descriptions. Please accept my invitation to try us again by responding here, and I will make sure you have a great experience. David Biddlecom Restaurant General Manager

Report
OT
Charlotte
4 reviews
Dined on January 8, 2019
Overall 2food 2service 2ambience 5

The service was slow and the food was extremely salty. By the time our server came back to check on us, 15 minutes had passed and we didn’t have time to order another meal. I had to go to the bar to get a refill because we never saw our server.

Evoke - Charlotte
Responded on January 11, 2019

Thank you for your feedback. When we got your feedback, we made immediate changes in our execution of the seasoning of the dishes you described, and addressed your service issues. I appreciate you taking the time to let us know.

Report
EC
1 review
Dined on January 8, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 5

Steak was hands down one of the best plates I've ever had- the hen of the woods mushrooms and charred onions were a perfect match to the heavy garlic butter. Cocktails were fantastic and well-balanced, loved the offerings of side dishes, and my dining partner enjoyed the scallop dish and a side salad as well. With a generous tip, we ate for $150, and it was a fantastic experience. Chefs and managers walked the dining room and interacted with guests. Only negative, server seemed very unsure about menu when asked basic questions and could offer no recommendations/information about the cocktails. At a place like this, I would've expected a better trained staff. Would definitely return next time in town!

OT
1 review
Dined on December 8, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

We come to Charlotte often and we were told the restaurant was great. Well the last time we were in town on a Sunday, or realizing it was closed. This time we had a chance to make it. It really exceeded our expectations. Presentation was great, complexity af flavors wonderful. Will comeback and recommend to others.

OT
Cincinnati
3 reviews
Dined on November 23, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Our waiter was great

DG
1 review
Dined on October 27, 2018
Overall 5food 2service 5ambience 5

Evoke is awesome! I love the live music and the ambience was great! My friends and I loved the atmosphere. It was a great night out on the town! I found that the glazed ribs were great! I would like to see more versatility on the menu. At least have more traditional salad options as well.

LL
E. Tennessee
3 reviews
Dined on October 13, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Excellent, creative food! Loved the selection. Great place for foodies!

CC
1 review
Dined on October 13, 2018
Overall 3food 1service 3ambience 5

Portion amount was terrible. Spare ribs were too tough and knat was flying around.

OT
1 review
Dined on October 12, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Elegant and delicious small plates. Refreshing twists on traditional items. Got to meet the chef. Fun and enjoyable experience!

G
Charlotte
1 review
Dined on October 12, 2018
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 5

Very Nice staff, with excellent customer service and excellent menu.

P
Charlotte
1 review
Dined on September 8, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Excellent food, atmosphere, service, liquor and wine selection!

SF
Charlotte
15 reviews
Dined on September 1, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Nice, quiet place. Under $100 for three with drinks for two of us!

TJ
1 review
Dined on August 31, 2018
Overall 3food 4service 2ambience 4

The menu is tapas style and designed for sharing (on 4" X 6" plates!) We ate there mostly out of convenience, we were hotel guests. The second night we waited probably an hour for a table that was empty the entire time. I was told they had only one server (true), and someone else had reserved that table (not true). I'm normally not very assertive, but it was required to get seated. On the positive side, it's not expensive, the menu was innovative and the food was a little mixed, but tended to be very good. Best dish I tried was octopus, do not get the Kobe country fried steak.

OT
Charlotte
2 reviews
Dined on August 25, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Second visit and once again EVERYTHING was amazing! Food, service, atmosphere all superb!!

JG
Las Vegas
2 reviews
Dined on July 28, 2018
Overall 3food 3service 5ambience 5

6 of us went for restaurant week. Had heard a lot of great things from others who had gone. 2 of the 3 starters were excellent, but the pork belly starter was not prepared well at all. 2 of us got the pork belly and neither had the fat rendered properly nor were they tender at all. All of the entrees were delicious. We only had one steak that was supposed to be medium rare but came medium well. As a whole the food was great other than the 2 issues. However the server and the restaurant were awesome with fixing the problems and offering some free replacements. Overall a good experience.

MH
Charlotte
12 reviews
Dined on July 21, 2018
Overall 4food 5service 3ambience 4

Enjoyed every course from the Charlotte restaurant week menu. Our waitress had in my opinion too many tables to serve as a trainee. Didn't get any bread like we asked for. Checked out the city lights rooftop afterwards- beautiful view of downtown!

JI
Charlotte
30 reviews
Dined on July 10, 2018
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

I think the menu changed since the last time I was there and there's more of a focus on tapas. While it was fine with me, I think our group would have preferred a regular meal.

We'll see how this concept works in a hotel. I would think they would be better suited with regular meals.

JF
1 review
Dined on July 7, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

A hidden gem. Under new management and it really shows. This is our new favorite restaurant in Charlotte and we plan to come here frequently. Can't recommend enough!

TK
Charlotte
4 reviews
Dined on June 2, 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

This is they way all restaurants should treat their patrons. An amazing dinner at Evoke for our anniversary. Greeted warmly and visited by the general manager and chef. Very fun dinner with lots of different choices. I would warn you the small plates are not that small so we had a ton of food but it was all extremely good. Highly recommend the octopus! We will go back just for that. The entire experience was warm, inviting, fun, good food, excellent wine and spirits and then a rooftop bar to head to afterwards. We will absolutely be returning.

1
2
3
7