Permanently Closed - Edible Canada at the Market
Restaurants you may also like
We arrived at Edible 5 minutes before our reservation. The hostess said that she did not have a reservation for us. I showed her the email reminding me of my reservation, the time and date were correct. She said, too bad, we switched from Open Table last week and you were caught in the switch over. "Too bad"she said but no reservation. She did reluctantly agree to find us a table but never did come over to seat us.
The server was excellent. He told us about the switch over in reservation management and apologized for the mix up. He said that Saturday was the first day of their new menu. It was odd and limited. My meal lacked taste and others were mixed. The salmon was done nicely. There were several desserts on the menu and we had three. The one called Panna Cotta in fact was not a panna cotta at all but made from almond milk and was watery and odd tasting. The server said he agreed that the dessert did not work and took it away with no charge. My pavlova needed a jack hammer to cut into it.
We have been to Edible Canada many times and the level of food is declining. It is though they have lost their way. We are going to give them a miss for awhile until things improve.
Prompt service and food is flavorful and portions just right
Love the happy hour selection and the caesars were amazing.
We had the nest date night here! The food was to die for. Would highly recommend!
The service was impeccable! The Maple Bacon Caesar is a must!!! One of the best drinks I’ve ever had!! Cute, trendy place with delicious food and drinks!
Thanks so much for your kind words. We agree the maple bacon Caesar is a must :) Hope to see you around!
Great place to bring someone who is not from Canada, or if you want to fancy it up with family or friends.
Thanks for choosing Edible Canada and for dining with us :) We're happy to celebrate Canadian cuisine with you!!
Staff was really nice, food was delicious, my second time there and definitely not the last one
Aw, Anne, we're so happy that you had a wonderful experience at Edible Canada! Can't wait to have you back and to serve you more fresh, local, and seasonal Canadian cuisine! Have a wonderful day!
I think that there is a new chef , or new management because it used to be great. But Friday night , food was more than average, the dessert very bad !.. Wine was served for almost all tables in wine glasses but we got water glasses. Reasons they did not have enough at 7:30 pm .
We believe we already got back to you on Google but we would like to sincerely apologize again. What you have described is not in line with our standards. We've ordered new wine glasses but they, unfortunately, didn't arrive before the weekend, so we had to use a couple of water glasses that evening. We've already put some measures in place to avoid this from happening again! Our chefs do use a pinch of salt but we have to investigate what has happened and are very sorry! Sincere apologies!
Come for the fresh local flavours, stay for the relaxed ambiance. Service is attentive, and I’ve never felt rushed. Recommended for dinner before a show, and for folks with dietary restrictions. Vegetarian options are limited, but very tasty.
Thank you so much for your kind recommendation! So happy to hear that you had a great experience and enjoyed our vegetarian options too!
I had the eggs Benny with duck confit and potatoes on the side. The potatoes were absolutely amazing. They had that perfect cooked inside with a nice crisp outside and not overly seasoned. My eggs on my bennies were not quite right. One was way too over cooked and a hard yolk all the way through which is so far off the mark for Bennies. The other was fine. A bit odd. They just need closer attention to plates before they are sent out so they don’t miss those details.
Hi, We very much appreciate your feedback on our eggs benny and are sorry to hear that the one egg wasn't on point. But we are glad that you really liked our potatoes :) Hope to see you around! Have a great rest of your day!
It was a great variety on the menu for all of our guests. The food was excellent as was the wine and other beverages. We really enjoyed the store within the restaurant and was able to pick up some interesting items that you did not see in other parts of the city. This is now one of my favorite places in Vancouver. It is definitely a must visit either for lunch or dinner.
Wow! Thank you so much for your kind review!
We had a lovely dinner - staff were great with our 8 year old son and service was excellent.
Kids are always welcome at Edible Canada :) We're so happy that you had a lovely dinner!!
Dinner was great but we feel like the menu has come down a little. We ate there a few years ago and dinner choices were much better. Now it's Fish and Chips or a burger. Not the imaginative food we had there on our two previous visits. The appetizer beet salad was a prime example of what the food used to be. Incredibly inventive and well done. Their cocktails are excellent as well.
Hi, Thanks for taking the time to write this review. We're happy that you enjoyed our cocktails and that the beet salad stood out to you. We appreciate that you are sharing your concerns with us. While we do have a few staples such as our duck poutine, burger, and fish & chips, we also have plenty of other innovative items. We change our menu according to the seasons and hope that you will find lots of interesting items this fall. Have a wonderful day!
Smashed potatoes fabulous, Alberta boar's belly, not so much. On the eggs benedict, the english muffins were much like small doughy pancakes. Appreciated the effort to make them in house, but regular crispy, chewy version would be better.
Hi, We're so happy that you loved our potatoes but are quite disappointed that we couldn't satisfy you with our boar belly. Thanks for your feedback on our crumpet, this will help us to improve accordingly. Hope we will see you around again one day!
Excellent all around. Food was great, server was very friendly and accommodating. Fantastic gluten-free options.
Hi McTee, Thank you so much for this wonderful and kind review! We're happy that you enjoyed our gluten-free options! Have a great weekend!
This is the second time I have been to this restaurant and the second time the food has been a mediocre. I went for brunch this time and got the skillet. The skillet, in my opinion, was ridiculously overpriced. It was $19 for three eggs, and some peas and some corn. Service was also mediocre. I will not try this place again.
Hi, We're very disappointed to read your review and are very sorry that you didn't leave our bistro satisfied. The skillet is one of the newest dishes on our menu. After some weeks of gathering feedback, we start looking into the recipe and will improve accordingly. We truly hope that you will give us another chance one day and that we can show you that we are worth coming back! Have a good day!
I ordered fish and chips and so did one of my guest, and we were not happy. the batter was very dry and I we left all of the batter on our side plate; As for the fish it was dry as well. fries were all dark brown and hard! My other guest, was happy with her burger. The waitress never came and ask if we were happy with our food, and never said anything when she took our plates away.
Hi, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're very sorry that you were disappointed with our fish & chips! What you have described is definitely not in line with our standards and we will investigate what happened during your visit! We hope that you will give us another chance one day! Have a good day!
Food was very good. Was disappointed they charge by the cup for decaf coffee while caffeinated was bottomless.
Hi Karen, Thanks for taking the time to write this review! We take your feedback seriously and will bring it up in our next management meeting. Thanks for your patience and we hope you will come back one day!
Food fantastic as always. Service efficient and courteous. Favourite brunch place.
Yaaaaay! Thank you so much, Vancouverite! Looking forward to having you back for brunch, happy hour, or dinner!
Everything was great, but the fish and chips was a bit disappointing. The batter and sauce lacked flavour.
Hi, Thank you so much for your honest feedback! We will pass on your feedback to our Chef de Cuisine! Thanks again & have a wonderful day!
The service was great but the food not very good and was not hot. Very thing was over cooked, it not impressed! We went to the restaurant many time and was great! But this last one we went was very disappointed!
Hi, We're very disappointed with your feedback. Could you let us know what was overcooked? This will help us to improve accordingly. Thank you and have a great day!
The food is good but not always great. The desserts were really not impressive. The quality seems to have dropped in the past year.
Hi Jennifer, Thanks for your feedback which really helps us to take further steps and improve accordingly! It is very disappointing for us to hear that you have the feeling that the quality has dropped! We will pass on your feedback to the team and hope you will come back again one day!
The menu is small and limited. The burger was pretty dull. Beet salad was great. Seems there is more diversity in choice on the brunch/lunch menu
Hi Denny, Thanks for your open feedback!
We always stop here with visitors when we come to Granville. Never disappoints!
So good to hear :) See you around!!
It was not worth the money. The food was sub par for what you have to pay. Myself and two other guest were not able to finish the food. The set up for staff/service was confusing, we did not know who our server was. We had five different people, all pleasant but very uncomfortable when trying to make requests for water refill, coffee, condiments...etc.
If you are a tourist and don't know where to go outside of Granville Island, then you might get your dollars worth.
Hi, We very much appreciate your honest words! Could you let us know why you weren't able to finish your food? We will look into the date you have visited us, to understand the issues with our servers, and are very sorry for any confusion that occurred. We look forward to hearing back from you!
I love edible Canada and I go there frequently. However, this time I ordered the grain bowl and it was more of a smear on a plate with some broccoli and cauliflower for $21. I have ordered the same dish in the past and it was actually a bowl with a normal amount of food for I think $19. Being a vegan, this is the only dish I can order and I love edible canada not just because of the location and food but because it caters to all dietary restrictions. I will be returning in the future for a glass of wine on the patio, but not for dinner.
Hi Jennifer, We're very sad to hear from a local that we disappointed you with the size of our grain & veggie bowl. Thank you so much for letting us know and we will pass on the issue to our kitchen. We completely agree that it shouldn't be that way and it sounds like that this was an issue of inconsistency of plating. We still hope that you will give us another chance in the future. Have a wonderful day!
Great location for people watching while grabbing food with friends.
Hi, Thanks for your feedback! We're happy that you enjoyed your experience you had with us. Cheers!
As we had a reserv. I was surprised that we didn’t have the option to sit outside. I asked the hostess but she said we would have to wait in spite of some empty tables on the patio. We sat inside the VERY noisy dining area. The food was good as were the cocktails. We ordered dessert but it was never prepared by the kitchen. Our waitress checked on our order a few times ( we saw her ask the kitchen staff) and was told that the same cook was busy at the fryer and hadn’t done our desserts, ( one of which was their special of the day). After 20+min we cancelled our dessert order and paid our check. The waitress understood and was very apologetic. Not a way to end on a sweet note.
Hi, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. To avoid issues in case of bad weather, we only offer indoor reservations on our booking system. However, if you wish to make a reservation outside, a note would work on our system. Then we make sure to reserve a table outside for you! Thanks for understanding! We are sincerely sorry that there were issues with the dessert :( We take your review seriously and will improve accordingly.
Sturgeon was dry. Low value for money due to portion of the dishes were very small or the prices they charged.like the ambient though, and service was good.
Hi, Thanks for your honest feedback. Our seafood is Oceanwise certified and we source our produce from small local farmers, hence it's a bit more pricey. We totally agree that the sturgeon shouldn't be dry! We'll pass on your feedback to our chefs. Thanks for letting us know!
Brought friends from out of town for brunch. Beautiful day. Sat outside. A great place to showcase Vancouver. Food quality was excellent.
Yaaaaaaay, so happy that you could show off our cuisine and all the local farmers and ingredients we have in front of our doors :) So happy that you had a wonderful time. Have a great weekend!
Great ambiance and service. The food is well made and tasty. A perfect pre show dining place.
Hi, We're thrilled to read that you enjoyed our Canadian cuisine. Looking forward to having you back!
Food has really gone downhill. Friend’ fish was totally dry, salad dressing super sour, husband’s squid was very not fresh (nasty), my smoked meat sandwich was a mass of pasty-grey boiled looking meat with limp green tomato slices on a top white roll with too much artificial smoke flavour. Awful. Won’t be going back. Used to be good there.
Hi Alef, sincere apologies! What you've described is definitely not in line with our standards. We truly understand your disappointment. We take every review seriously and will make everything possible to improve accordingly. Thanks for letting us know!
Location is convenient but food is awful. Had The fish and chips...batter was good but fish was over cooked.
Hi, Thanks for your honest feedback. It sounds like that something has gone wrong in the kitchen that day! We'll investigate and will do everything to improve accordingly. We appreciate your feedback!
Seats are so uncomfortable, but everything else is great!
Hi Alex, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. May we ask if you are referring to the chair on the patio or the ones inside the bistro! We very much appreciate your feedback! Cheers!
Been here before many times and always thought it was great. I had fish & chips, as I usually do, but this time the fish was mushy (too old?) And the chips were cold and tough, as if they had been fried earlier. Did not call to attention of server since I was hosting an important business meeting, but would have done so if under more friendly circumstances. Not very happy this time.
Hi Diane, We're very sorry to hear about your fish&chips order! What you've described is definitely not in line with our standards and what we provide our guests with on a regular basis! We'll pass your concerns on to the kitchen team! Hope you will give us another chance where we can make up for your experience! Have a good day!
I had an arctic char benny
- delicious EXCEPT the crumpet was soggy
- could have been toasted or browned more.
Everyhing else was great !
Thank you for asking.
Hi Tommy, Thank you so much to share your feedback with us! What you have described is not in line with our standards and what we serve our guests on a regular basis, so we're very sorry about that! We will make sure to pass on your feedback to our chefs. Happy to hear that you enjoyed the rest! Cheers!
Tasty but overall menu didnt get me excited ...will try again sometime
Hi Tracy, Thank you for your honest words! We are quite disappointed to hear that you couldn't find anything that truly caught your eye. We're changing the menu according to the season and also tweak a few items and ingredients during the season. On the weekends you can also find some chef's features. For example, the raspberry season is on and we will have a raspberry feature at the end of the month! Hopefully, you will give our menu another chance one day!
I have been to this restaurant many times and enjoyed it. However, most recently, the sturgeon was vastly over-salted, to the extreme of causing my tongue to swell. I would recommend this restaurant, but now with hesitation.
Hi 2critical, Thanks for your honest review. We're so sorry to hear that the salt caused some swelling on your tongue! That is not acceptable and we truly want to make sorry and will share your concerns with the kitchen team. Thanks for letting us know and we hope you will give us another chance one day!
Food quality very good and flavoursome but limited choice of main dishes
Hi Ruth, Thanks for your feedback on our menu! We're operating with a smaller menu (around 3 mains each category - soil, water, pasture) in the summertime to ensure more consistency and smoother service. However, we suggest pairing your appetizers with a side protein like salmon, eggs, boar belly etc. if you want to get something from our appetizer section. Thanks for understanding!
Seated quickly with reservation otherwise looked like a long line. Food is good but not worth the price. Had salmon, lamb neck and salad with salmon. Salmon seemed dry and no flavor. Salad was a little to ‘earthy’ with an overload of clover like greens that were tough and chewy. Probably wouldn’t return here.
Hi Linda, We're sorry to hear about your experience with us. Feedback like yours is highly valuable and we promise that we will take actions to improve accordingly. We all keep learning every single day and hope that you will give us another chance one day!
Permanently Closed - Edible Canada at the Market offers takeout which you can order by calling the restaurant at (604) 682-6681.
Permanently Closed - Edible Canada at the Market is rated 4.1 stars by 1802 OpenTable diners.