CocoBolos Mexican Grill & Cantina

4.4
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
346 Reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Mexican / Southwestern
Indulge in your favorite Mexican and south of the border dishes - all made in our scratch kitchen! Surround your senses with delicious wood-fired grill flavors, colorful art and craft cocktails. Dig into the Tijuana Trainwreck, the Bolos Sizzling Fajitas, an Al Fresca Salad or our bubbling hot CocoBolos Queso. Frosty Margaritas and the freshest Sangria around. Weekly Specials and Happy Hour daily. 913-766-5000.
What 346 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.4
service
4.3
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
87% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
S
Kansas City
8 reviews
Dined on February 14, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Good food; good service; good atmosphere. There is Valet car parking right outside the front door. Very convenient. I recommend this restaurant for all.

CocoBolos Mexican Grill & Cantina
Responded on February 17, 2020

Thank you so much for the great review! We appreciate the recommendation and hope to see you again soon at Coco Bolos! Liz and the entire staff at Coco Bolos

Report
CC
Kansas City
3 reviews
Dined on February 14, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Always good food and service!

CocoBolos Mexican Grill & Cantina
Responded on February 17, 2020

ChrisC, thank you for the positive review on our food and service! Liz and everyone at Coco Bolos

Report
OT
1 review
Dined on February 14, 2020
Overall4food5service5ambience4

Food was delicious! Service was also very good! We had the house sangria and caipirinha for drinks and both were great too! We’ll sure be coming back!

CocoBolos Mexican Grill & Cantina
Responded on February 17, 2020

We are so thankful for the kind words about our food, drinks, and service at Coco Bolos! Liz and the team at Coco Bolos

Report
OT
Kansas City
2 reviews
Dined on February 8, 2020
Overall4food5service4ambience4

This was a good dinner. I really enjoy the chips and salsa.

CocoBolos Mexican Grill & Cantina
Responded on February 11, 2020

We are glad you liked our food at Coco Bolos! Thanks for the positive feedback.

Report
OT
Kansas City
1 review
Dined on January 25, 2020
Overall1food3service2ambience3

Prices were not what was in the menu. The cactus was full of ice. Not worth the posted $49. Charged $80 but took it off after discussion

CocoBolos Mexican Grill & Cantina
Responded on January 27, 2020

We are genuinely sorry for this mistake and we appreciate the feedback from your visit. If you have more information to share from your visit I would love to hear more about it. Everyone at Coco Bolos would like to make this right by offering you a gift card and making you another reservation for whenever you would like. Please contact me at Elizabeth@cocoboloskc.co or on my cell phone 913-748-6665. Again we apologize and are looking forward to hearing from you. Liz and everyone at Coco Bolos

Report
OT
Kansas City
1 review
Dined on January 25, 2020
Overall5food3service4ambience5

Bathrooms are very clean. A tad bit cold due to side door so don’t sit on the side. Lol. Pretty place

CocoBolos Mexican Grill & Cantina
Responded on January 27, 2020

We appreciate the kind words and the feedback! Liz and the entire Coco Bolos team

Report
MN
Kansas City
2 reviews
Dined on January 19, 2020
Overall4food4service3ambience3

Devil chicken is fantastic. Mahi nahi not so great. Too dry..

CocoBolos Mexican Grill & Cantina
Responded on January 22, 2020

Thank you for the feedback, MicheleN! We apologize that we didn't meet your expectations with the Mahi Mahi and I will pass the message along to the kitchen staff so they can make adjustments to ensure this doesn't happen again. Next time you should try my personal favorite, the Caribbean BBQ shrimp! Feel free to contact me at 913-766-5000 and I would be happy to make you another reservation! Liz and everyone at Coco Bolos

Report
OT
Denver
1 review
Dined on January 19, 2020
Overall2food2service2ambience2

Chips are too salty.
Waiter forgets things several times.
The boys serving food look very lost and hard to communicate. Wrong things were brought to us twice.
Salad is not fresh. No salad dressing.
The other food was average. Honestly very disappointed.

OT
Kansas City
1 review
Dined on January 18, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I went in for restaurant week with friends. Great food. Great service.

OT
Kansas City
1 review
Dined on January 18, 2020
Overall3food4service2ambience3

The service is so slow there. Always.

CS
Kansas City
3 reviews
Dined on January 17, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We enjoyed the food. Plenty of food and great atmosphere. Service was excellent!

CocoBolos Mexican Grill & Cantina
Responded on January 19, 2020

CherylS, thank you for the great review! We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with us and the community. Liz and everyone at Coco Bolos

Report
F
Kansas City
2 reviews
Dined on January 17, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We went for restaurant week and was amazed at the quantity and quality of the food! Will be returning this next weekend with friends!!!

JB
Kansas City
63 reviews
Dined on January 16, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Restaurant week experiences caused us to try. The good experience will send us back.

k
Kansas City
6 reviews
Dined on January 14, 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Our server was fabulous. The food was very good. But in such a small space the live music was overwhelming and made conversation difficult.

d
Kansas City
15 reviews
Dined on January 10, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food was great and our service was even better.

CocoBolos Mexican Grill & Cantina
Responded on January 13, 2020

Thank you for the kind words about our food and service, dgiu! I will pass it on to the staff. We look forward to having you back, Liz and everyone at Coco Bolos!

Report
BW
1 review
Dined on December 24, 2019
Overall1food1service1ambience2

Made reservations and they were closed!? Very disappointed!

OT
Omaha
19 reviews
Dined on December 4, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food and service was excellent. Amazing menu

CocoBolos Mexican Grill & Cantina
Responded on December 5, 2019

We are so grateful for your kind comments! Thanks for sharing your review with us and the OT community. We value your business and hope to see you again soon! Kyle and the entire Coco crew

Report
OT
1 review
Dined on November 29, 2019
Overall5food3service4ambience5

Overall really good. I have been a fan of this place since college. The service and ambiance was pretty good. I thought the food was a tad cold, but overall a solid experience. The sangria was amazing

CocoBolos Mexican Grill & Cantina
Responded on December 5, 2019

Thank you so much for the great review and helpful comments. Your business means a lot to us, so if you ever have additional feedback, please don’t hesitate to reach out to us directly. We are always aiming to improve guest experience and satisfaction. Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit! Kyle O'Neal and the entire CocoBolos crew

Report
OT
Kansas City
3 reviews
Dined on November 28, 2019
Overall1food1service1ambience1

I made a reservation for Thanksgiving Day that was accepted then we were going to walk over and see a movie. We get there and it’s closed! My reservation should not have been accepted! We had to call around looking for something that was open then rush to see the movie. Less than One Star.

CocoBolos Mexican Grill & Cantina
Responded on December 3, 2019

We are SO sorry about this mishap! We attempted to show closed on Open Table and obviously it didn't get done properly. This is on us and we sincerely apologize for the massive inconvenience. We would like to make this right. We don't have your information so would you be willing to email us or call us so we can take care of you? You can text or call me, Kyle O'Neal the managing partner, at 785-430-8465. Again, we apologize sincerely for putting you in this spot! Kyle & the entire Coco team

Report
KC
Kansas City
19 reviews
Dined on November 22, 2019
Overall4food4service5ambience5

We had a very good experience recently at CocoBolos. With a reservation through OpenTable, we were greeted warmly and seated promptly. Our server was at our table within moments and got our drink order underway. The red sangria was a hit and the food was tasty, all of which was served quickly. Our standing Friday night restaurant recently closed and we are on a quest to find a convenient replacement. CocoBolos is a finalist!

CocoBolos Mexican Grill & Cantina
Responded on November 27, 2019

KC Dano - Thank you so much for the great review and feedback! As you might guess, making you happy is our number one priority. Exciting we are a finalist for Friday nights! We will keep working to make the next cut. We look forward to getting to know you and if there is anything we can do to make your visit better the next time we are ON it! Thanks again for coming in. We look forward to seeing you again soon - Kyle and the CocoBolos crew :)

Report
c
1 review
Dined on November 22, 2019
Overall1food1service2ambience2

I didn’t like the food. The rice was sweet. The cheese dip was extremely salty (and I like salt). My burrito I ordered was sent out with the he wrong meat (chicken and not steak). I also asked for them to replace the sauce that was originally suppose to be on the burrito with cheese sauce. They left the sauce on it (which made the tortilla soggy and sent the cheese on the side). My Margarita was good.
It was not worth the time or money.

CocoBolos Mexican Grill & Cantina
Responded on November 27, 2019

Chasidys - we are so sorry that you didn't enjoy your experience! We work hard to make sure that doesn't happen and yet we left you disappointed. We apologize and would like to make this up to you. Would you be willing to visit our website and send us an email (listed on the site) so we can take care of you? For example, you had the coconut basmati rice and it definitely has a sweetness to it. This should have been explained. We hope to hear from you. With apologies, Kyle, Fred and the Coco crew

Report
JT
1 review
Dined on November 22, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Always great food & great service. Only issue was they sat our reservation with someone else so we had to wait an extra 15 min with some hungry kiddos.

CocoBolos Mexican Grill & Cantina
Responded on November 27, 2019

Hi JenT - Thanks so much for the awesome review and comments! Whoops - sorry that happened with the wait and kiddos. We will definitely make it up to you. Just mention your Open Table review, this reply and we'll take good care of you! We greatly appreciate your repeat business and want to be sure you are 100% happy. We look forward to seeing you, and the kiddos, again soon! Kyle and the entire Coco crew :)

Report
JN
Kansas City
8 reviews
Dined on November 22, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

This place was better than I expected. Great Happy Hour deals. Great vibe, service and really good food. We will be back.

CocoBolos Mexican Grill & Cantina
Responded on December 5, 2019

Hi JimN - Wow your review made our day! Thanks so much for sharing your good experience. Making you happy is why we exist. If there's anything we can ever do to make your next visit more special, we're on it. We look forward to seeing you again soon! All the best - Kyle and the whole CocoBolos crew

Report
SW
Kansas City
2 reviews
Dined on November 9, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Great food and service. Definitely be back!

CocoBolos Mexican Grill & Cantina
Responded on November 15, 2019

Thanks so much Stuart! We are glad you enjoyed your experience with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report
BA
Kansas City
5 reviews
Dined on October 20, 2019
Overall2food3service1ambience3

We had the weirdest waitress who kept sitting down at our table and talking about random stuff. It was super invasive and uncomfortable. We came in for the Brunch and ordered brunch cocktails. My mimosa was only half full. When I asked why I only got half a glass, the waitress said “that’s what makes it $5 for today’s special.” My husbands Bloody Mary was full, but so bad he decided not to drink it. The food was fine, but the whiny weird waitress and the false advertising on the drink deals had already put a bad taste in our mouths. We will never go back.

CocoBolos Mexican Grill & Cantina
Responded on November 16, 2019

Brianna - We sincerely apologize for your poor experience. There is ZERO excuse for it. Disruptive wait staff is uncalled for. We are dealing with this incident to ensure that it does not happen again. The drinks should never be half full - and it should have been rectified on the spot. Would you be willing to send us an email so we can take care of you? Reach me, Kyle O'Neal by phone or email; 913-766-5000 or kyle@cocoboloskc (OT will not let us write dotcom on the email). Sorry again! Kyle

Report
KK
1 review
Dined on October 5, 2019
Overall2food2service1ambience3

Service was s-l-o-o-o-w-w-w-w. Food temperature could best be described as "tepid." We returned one plate to have it reheated. I was thinking, "I would have been better of at White Castle." The place had a good number of people in it so, obviously, it has its fans. Different strokes for different folks, I guess.

OT
1 review
Dined on September 28, 2019
Overall3food1service3ambience2

I've eaten there twice now and both times I did not enjoy the food.

M
Kansas City
109 reviews
Dined on September 21, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

CocoBolos Grill is an excellent restaurant and is one of our favorites in Overland Park. The southwestern themed food is great. Our entries were excellent, and the service was very good. The bar scene is energetic and crowded. This is always a good choice when dining in Overland Park. Highly recommended.

OT
Kansas City
1 review
Dined on September 20, 2019
Overall3food4service2ambience4

Love this restaurant but was extremely disappointed in the service and lack of attention during our last visit. Not sure if they were short staffed or what but we waited ten minutes after being seated and had to go ask for a server and even after that, he came around very infrequently.

OT
Kansas City
51 reviews
Dined on September 15, 2019
Overall4food5service5ambience2

The last 3 times we have dined the flies are very bad in the restaurant, we may not be back till the flies go away...

CS
Kansas City
7 reviews
Dined on September 14, 2019
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Very good overall experience. Initially slow service, but better once a manager noticed that we had been sitting for a while. Interesting menu, huge portions, great tastes. Of note, we had requested outdoor seating on Open Table. The restaurant uses those seats on a “first come first served” basis. That being said, they did move us to an outdoor table once one became available. We will definitely eat here again.

OT
Dallas
1 review
Dined on September 13, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Very casual date day with my husband. Loved the experience (atmosphere,food and drinks) a beautiful location as well! We will be back . Oh and try the “Q” queso.. it is amazing!!!

OT
1 review
Dined on August 10, 2019
Overall3food4service2ambience2

Although the restaurant is air conditioned, you can’t tell. They leave their big doors open so restaurant is almost as warm as sitting outside. Waitress was sweating as she was delivering the food. Waitress was not friendly at all. I’ve had her before and always the same. Only smiles when she drops off bill. Too late. I would not eat here on a hot evening unless you live hot weather, then I’d just eat on the nice patio

BH
1 review
Dined on August 8, 2019
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Great atmosphere and location. We went on a Thursday evening when they have live music right there in Prairie Fire so it was extra fun and $15 sangria pitchers! They have wonderful salsa and we really enjoyed all our mixed drinks. Miles was our waiter and he gave good menu recommendations and was attentive with a great personality.

OT
1 review
Dined on August 5, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Love the back room

MG
Kansas City
22 reviews
Dined on August 2, 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food and service

OT
1 review
Dined on July 25, 2019
Overall1food1service1ambience4

Food did not taste good at all, margArita was not good, our server was super sweet and trying really hard but seemed to be struggling quite a bit.

L
Kansas City
3 reviews
Dined on July 24, 2019
Overall3food4service2ambience4

Bar service was slow -- and drinks were HEAVY on ice, light on drink.

h
Kansas City
30 reviews
Dined on July 20, 2019
Overall1food1service1ambience1

Don’t accept reservations for Thanksgiving Day if you’re closed! Infuriating!

CocoBolos Mexican Grill & Cantina
Responded on December 3, 2019

honestfeedback - Yikes we are SO incredibly sorry that this happened! We tried to update OT but apparently it didn't take. Our bad! On behalf of the entire team we would like to make this up to you. Would you be willing to email me, Kyle O'Neal, Managing Partner, from our website (OT won't let us type our email here) or call/text me at 785-430-8465. We would greatly appreciate the chance to make this right. No doubt you were beyond frustrated. Again, we apologize sincerely! Kyle & the Coco team

Report
OT
Kansas City
14 reviews
Dined on July 20, 2019
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Had dinner here with husband and daughters. Very good Tex Mex food. Casual dining atmosphere. Free chips and salsa!