Coast - Hilton Head

4.1
955 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Specializing in fresh, local sea fare, Coast is a beautifully appointed restaurant with stunning oceanfront views. Located at the world-class Sea Pines Beach Club, Coast provides an unparalleled culinary atmosphere with a breathtaking view of the ocean - the only place on Hilton Head Island to serve such an experience.

Enjoy a libation at Coast's beachfront bar, offering a casual and relaxing atmosphere, spacious wrap-around bar, a variety of specialty drinks and frozen cocktails and seasonal evening entertainment.
What 955 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.1based on recent ratings
4.0
food
3.9
service
4.6
ambience
3.6
value
Noise · Moderate
75% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
ET
Louisville
4 reviews
Dined 2 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 5

We thought the food was excellent. I must say, however that you should not have to ask for bread at a nice restaurant like Coast. Our waiter said they were a bit short staffed and this use it as an explanation on why he was less than 100% attentive. It was not really bad. I recommend the place, the food and the atmosphere

Report
Helpful
c
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 5

great place on a great day with windows open service very good and entergetic

Report
Helpful
D
Philadelphia
7 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 5

The food and view were great. I had the swordfish and my wife the scallops. The side salad was really well done. The service was slow that night.

Report
Helpful
BM
West Virginia
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great food and service. Friendly greeting and the view is awesome.

Report
Helpful
OT
Charleston
2 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 5

The live music really made the evening, food was nice.

Report
Helpful
OT
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall 3food 2service 4ambience 5

The location was beautiful, which is really why we chose to eat here. We ordered both variations of the ahi tuna, the tuna tacos, the edisto pasta, the half chicken, and the scallops. The scallops were quite good, but the rest was very mediocre. The chicken was quite dry and the guacamole tasted just like wholly guacamole from the grocery store. The flourless chocolate cake was good. We had no problems with the service, and the noise level was comfortable for us as a family of adults plus one small, loquacious child. The live musician was talented and an enjoyable addition.

Report
Helpful
TS
New York Area
9 reviews
Dined on May 12, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great experience and will definitely return. The crab cakes were perfect and the service was excellent.

Report
Helpful
l
Charleston
18 reviews
Dined on May 12, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 3ambience 5

I was a little disappointed, when we arrived which i had a reservation for weeks for 5 people we were put a table for 4 and one had to sit on a corner. The appetizers and meal came at the same time which was terrible. Our waiter was very good his name is Pierce. He apologized but didnt rectify anything not his fault. It was Mothers Day and not a flower or anything for any Mothers.

Not sure if i would recommend Coast to anyone, the place was beautiful so not sure

Report
Helpful
HH
Charleston
6 reviews
Dined on May 12, 2019
Overall 4food 3service 4ambience 5

I'm a local, and this is a great place to take guests for a VIEW. But....food is just good. Not great. And prices are on the higher side. Cocktails are great, again on the higher side. But overall my recommendation for this location is for drinks and maybe an app. Ambiance and service are great

Report
Helpful
ML
Charleston
2 reviews
Dined on May 11, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great atomsphere! Need to go early to listen to the music.

Report
Helpful
AB
1 review
Dined on May 11, 2019
Overall 3food 2service 3ambience 5

The ambiance and view are stunning. The food was very bland especially the seafood not even basic salt and pepper. Kids meal was not the correct order. We had to wait 20 minutes for the correct food. Drinks were never refilled. This was not a busy time, many empty tables. In addition we were double charged. I didn’t expect an apology because mistakes happen, however we would not be coming back or suggesting this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
V
1 review
Dined on May 11, 2019
Overall 2food 2service 2ambience 3

It was just ok server was clued out , many many dogs everywhere, food super mediocre ; view was pretty , no lights cannot see.

Report
Helpful
SH
Chicago
5 reviews
Dined on May 9, 2019
Overall 4food 3service 3ambience 5

Beautiful view on the ocean. There was live live music. Food was average.

Report
Helpful
DM
1 review
Dined on May 9, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 5

We enjoyed our visit to Coast. The food was good. The restaurant also had a really ice ambiance with the indoor and outdoor seating. We sat indoors, but the slide away glass doors provided fantastic views of the ocean and brought the outdoors inside. Our waiter Brian was great. He went out of his way to make this a birthday dinner to remember!

Report
Helpful
MD
Charleston
1 review
Dined on May 8, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

It was a wonderful atmosphere and we had great service. The food was great and the crab bisque was amazing! Live music on the patio, we sat inside with reservations but one whole wall opened the indoor out to the patio/live music. Will definitely go back.

Report
Helpful
NB
1 review
Dined on May 8, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 4ambience 5

Service was very friendly, but food was not top quality for price, drinks were skimpy, plastic glass full of ice and not much substance

Report
Helpful
SH
1 review
Dined on May 6, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great outdoor environment. The wind did make it a little and unusually chilly. Would have been nice if heaters or fire pits had been available.

Report
Helpful
NJ
New York Area
3 reviews
Dined on May 6, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great food, ambiance and music on the patio! We make a point of coming every year when in Hilton Head.

Report
Helpful
H
New York Area
31 reviews
Dined on May 5, 2019
Overall 2food 2service 2ambience 4

Really bad. Extremely slow service and food took over an hour between appetizers and main course. All food came out cold and fish was dry and over cooked. The planca which is their specialty came with a tiny piece of fish and a chunk of cold undercooked broccoli on an otherwise empty plate.

Report
Helpful
JR
New England
2 reviews
Dined on May 3, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 3

I like Coast. This time however, we waited awhile before a waitress showed up. She was very pleasant but very slow. The place got dark quick, ( our resv was at 8:15) and had to ask for a light for the table. I got the scallops which were a little under cooked. The other meals were fine. I’ve eaten here before and was happy so I’ll probably try it again :)

Report
Helpful
MF
1 review
Dined on May 3, 2019
Overall 4food 5service 5ambience 4

Wonderful dinner! And we had live music! Love that the doors were open to the ocean!

Report
Helpful
BH
Hawaii
2 reviews
Dined on April 30, 2019
Overall 2food 2service 3ambience 5

Food was sub par and the service was a bit disorganized from reception to meal completion. My steak was over done and stringy and my wife’s scallops were salty...we did not order alcoholic drinks and our bill with tip 20% was $147.00 for two people. Not a great value. Would not recommend this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
JS
New England
5 reviews
Dined on April 29, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great food. Great music. Great views.

Coast - Hilton Head
Responded on May 9, 2019

Thank you for reviewing Coast. We are so glad you enjoyed our spectacular views, live music and delicious food. We look forward to having you join us again soon at the Sea Pines Beach Club. Thank you, Beatrice Dresser

Report
Helpful
f
Charleston
15 reviews
Dined on April 29, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 5

Unfortunately I specified either balcony or outside (NOT INSIDE) in my reservation but when we got there they told me our reservation was inside. They were able to seat us outside though when we refused inside.

Waiter was not familiar with menu and brought wrong entree but mgr did bring over glass of wine to make it right.

Report
Helpful
OT
1 review
Dined on April 28, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Best carrot cake ever and believe me when I say I tried my share. Romantic setting, great atmosphere and excellent service.
Well recommended!

Coast - Hilton Head
Responded on May 9, 2019

Thank you for your review of Coast. We’re thrilled you had a wonderful experience with us. The carrot cake is a fan favorite around here , so we’re glad you loved it, too. We look forward to serving you again soon at the Sea Pines Beach Club. Thank you, Beatrice Dresser

Report
Helpful
q
Houston
2 reviews
Dined on April 28, 2019
Overall 2food 1service 2ambience 4

Food was mediocre at best. Service was slow and prices are high for the quality.

Report
Helpful
HH
New England
1 review
Dined on April 28, 2019
Overall 2food 2service 2ambience 4

Very disappointing. Beautiful venue. Food was MEH, hot delicious hush puppies served with rock hard cold butter. Staff was all high school/ college, so no their fault. Hostess greeted us with "this is my fifth day of double shifts". My first glass of wine came with a big lipstick smear on the rim - sent it back. Asked for extra crispy fries, came hot limp and mediocre. My fried shrimp was fine. Fried fish of the day served w/ limp fries and no side. $100 w/ tip....

Report
Helpful
w
Central Coast
4 reviews
Dined on April 28, 2019
Overall 2food 3service 1ambience 4

Salad and entree served at same time. Order of broccoli never delivered. Server apologetic, but very insincere. Manager was not informed of our issues and when stopped by our table to check on our experience he was blindsided by our issues. Poor training.

Report
Helpful
DB
Savannah
11 reviews
Dined on April 28, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

It was great! The view is lovely.

Coast - Hilton Head
Responded on May 9, 2019

Thank you for reviewing Coast. We’re happy you enjoyed your experience with us, capped off by the stunning Atlantic views. We look forward to serving you again at the Sea Pines Beach Club. Thank you, Beatrice Dresser

Report
Helpful
KS
Raleigh
10 reviews
Dined on April 27, 2019
Overall 2food 5service 1ambience 5

What could have been a 5 star experience was brought down significantly by the horrible quality and rate of service. The server was inattentive at best, completely ignoring our table for lengthy periods of time. I'm all for being left alone to enjoy your food but the server came by so infrequently we weren't able to even order any food to be left alone with for the first 45 minutes. It's a shame because their food was excellent and the view couldn't be better overlooking the ocean but I couldn't bring myself to go back after receiving service like that.

Report
Helpful
OT
Washington DC
4 reviews
Dined on April 27, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Anniversary

Coast - Hilton Head
Responded on May 2, 2019

Thank you for your review of Coast. We were delighted to be a part of your special anniversary dinner and are thrilled you had a fantastic time with us. We cannot wait for you to join us again at the Sea Pines Beach Club. Thank you, Beatrice Dresser

Report
Helpful
DW
Atlanta
6 reviews
Dined on April 25, 2019
Overall 2food 1service 3ambience 2

This was a very disappointing dinner. We went to Coast because it was one of the few Hilton Head Island restaurants with an ocean view. But that is all it had going for it. The food was terrible. We ordered bruschetta as an appetizer... three small pieces of toast and a bunch of flat-bread crackers. My wife had the shrimp salad, which was bland, and there was literally no salad present. I ordered the seafood pasta, also bland with some tough chunks of lobster and shrimp. The one positive was our waiter who took my wife's dinner off the check.

Report
Helpful
B
New York Area
1 review
Dined on April 25, 2019
Overall 3food 5service 3ambience 5

My complaint was with the seating. After making a reservation weeks in advance and calling to request outside seating, we were stuck inside. When I asked about seats outside, I was told a 30-45 wait even though I could see two tables of six wide open. When I asked about the open tables I was told they were already spoken for. Told outside seating was first come first serve. Not sure where those other parties were, but we were at the restaurant for two hours, no one ever sat at those two tables. If you want outside seating, I wouldn’t go to Coast. A reservation is clearly useless there.

Report
Helpful
SB
1 review
Dined on April 25, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 1ambience 4

Service was not good. Waited over 45 minutes for 2 Lobster Rolls. Everyone around us was being served. Finally Manager came over, apparently our order got lost and he comped our meal. Just took too long and waitress never checked in with us. Eat there often. Everything else was good

Coast - Hilton Head
Responded on May 2, 2019

Thank you for your review of Coast. We’re sorry your service did not meet the level we strive to provide. However, we are glad our management team was able to step in and resolve any issues. We assure you, this was not an indication of the service typically enjoyed by our guests. We hope to see you again so you, too, can enjoy a stellar experience. Thank you, Beatrice Dresser

Report
Helpful
OT
Los Angeles
1 review
Dined on April 23, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 2ambience 4

The food here was fine, but it came out of the kitchen incorrectly or incomplete for a large percentage of our items ordered. The server was friendly, but we had so many issues with our food it was chaotic. It seemed like we waited a long time for food. No dessert was offered: they were too busy breaking down the restaurant, stacking chairs, etc. Our seating was at 8:30 in a busy restaurant, not exactly last call, so we were dismayed. We were a business dinner party, which I noted on the reservation, and we always order dessert. Also, filter your water, Catch. Beach tap water tastes gross.

Note that it’s $8, cash only, to enter the gated community where this restaurant is. We were not warned of that.

Report
Helpful
RM
London
2 reviews
Dined on April 23, 2019
Overall 1food 3service 1ambience 2

One of those evenings which you prefer to forget!!!

On arrival, reception couldn’t find our reservation - so i showed them the confirmation on my phone and suddenly a table became available

Our waitress was plain poor. She couldn’t uncork the wine and in any event brought us Chardonnay instead of the Sauvignon Blanc which we had ordered. It was embarrassing for her to see other guests watching her struggle before she took it to the bar area to get somebody else to uncork it for her. We then had to ask her twice for some iced water. Our starter of nachos and dips came pretty quickly but we waited for over an hour for our main courses - three of which were salads. Again we asked twice as to when we could expect our food - and were told it was on its way very soon - only to have to wait longer . Eventually the manager came over to apologise and promise to “right the wrong” . Food was Ok.
We were offered complimentary desserts but we don’t like having them so shared one dish between the four of us. The manager never came back to see us. We couldn’t wait to leave

Poor service all round which spoilt our last night on Hilton Head Island

Report
Helpful
OT
Charleston
3 reviews
Dined on April 22, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 2ambience 3

We had dinner in the Ocean Lounge. This is the second time we’ve been there without adequate service. Only 1-2 wait staff we’re serving the entire restaurant. Plus, the noise was so bad that we could hardly hear our own conversation. Very disappointing.

Report
Helpful
KH
New England
1 review
Dined on April 22, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great atmosphere, spectacular views, service and food were wonderful.

Coast - Hilton Head
Responded on May 2, 2019

Thank you for reviewing Coast. We are thrilled you had a very enjoyable overall experience with us. We look forward to having you join us again at the Sea Pines Beach Club. Thank you, Beatrice Dresser

Report
Helpful
OT
1 review
Dined on April 22, 2019
Overall 3food 4service 2ambience 5

Small portions with sub par service. View was as good as advertised.

Report
Helpful
PM
1 review
Dined on April 22, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Very Gluten Free Friendly. Knowledgeable wait staff and kitchen.

Coast - Hilton Head
Responded on May 2, 2019

Thank you for your review of Coast. We are glad you enjoyed our gluten-free menu options as well as our attentive and accommodating staff. We look forward to having you join us again at the Sea Pines Beach Club. Thank you, Beatrice Dresser

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
24

Tweets by Coast - Hilton Head