Cluny

4.4
3545 Reviews
CAN$31 to CAN$50
French
Outdoor tables are subject to the weather. If it rains, we can not guarantee indoor space. For more information on our health & safety procedures, please visit https://distilleryhospitality.com/health-and-safety

Exciting, non-pretentious menus inspired by Frances's modern food movement paired with vibrant music, breathtaking design, & personalized service have made us the best French restaurant in Toronto. Nearly every item on our menu is made from scratch and we proudly maintain a curated Wine Spectator recognized wine list with nearly 200 bottles.

Our adjacent café lets you take Cluny home with pastries, macarons, housemade terrines and preserves, and artisanal pantry items. Take out, from coffee to fresh-baked breads, made-to-order crepes to sandwiches.

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
Physical Distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Protective Equipment
  • Waitstaff wear masks
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
What 3545 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.5
service
4.6
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
A
Annie
1 review
Dined a day ago
Overall3food4service3ambience4

Food and server was great but the hostess was terrible! Had quite an attitude right from the start and gave my friend an up-down; checking her outfit out then proceeded to make a face judging her. Super unpleasant and uncomfortable. Thankfully the server was very kind and helpful! He was also super funny which offset the terrible first impression.

OT
OpenTable Diner
Toronto
5 reviews
Dined a day ago
Overall3food2service4ambience5

Beautiful and cozy patio! The ambiance on the patio is amazing! Service is great, everyone is kind and prompt. My only complaint is with the food, our entire table didn’t enjoy the food so much and definitely didn’t think it was worth the prices! I’d recommend the patio for drinks with friends but definitely skip on the food!!!

Cluny
Responded 13 hours ago

Thank you for giving us a try! I'm happy to hear you loved our beautiful, cozy patio and attentive service. However, we're sorry to hear we didn't to knock it out of the park for you when it comes to flavours. We always want all of our guests to leave feeling wowed by our meals, and I wish we could've given you this impression. I hope we can impress you more next time! All the best, Stuart K.

Report
M
Mags
Toronto
3 reviews
Dined a day ago
Overall4food5service4ambience5

Great outdoor patio! Food was delicious; service was great.

DG
DeborahG
Vancouver
2 reviews
Dined 2 days ago
Overall4food4service4ambience5

Sat on the patio, very pretty and quiet, chairs are comfortable.
Food was delicious, but I did find it a little pricey. We were celebrating a birthday, so a nice place for a special occasion.

Cluny
Responded 13 hours ago

Deborah, it's wonderful to know you enjoyed our quaint and comfortable patio! You can count on us to always deliver on delicious cuisine, drinks, and atmosphere! Thank you for reviewing us and we can't wait to see you again the next time you're around. All the best, Stuart K.

Report
BD
BelaDark
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Everything was wonderful. The desserts are beautiful as is the inside decor and charming patio. The music was French and lovely. Definitely the right choice for a romantic date, anniversary or reunion with friends. Servers were all smiley and nice. I really can't say enough.

Cluny
Responded 13 hours ago

Bela, we're glad you loved our atmosphere, decor and had excellent, attentive service! It was a pleasure welcoming you in for an evening of delicious French cuisine and the perfect music to pair. We look forward to your next visit and discovering more delectable desserts. Until then, Stuart K.

Report
JM
JenniferM
Toronto
3 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall4food4service5ambience4

It was a lovely evening and exactly what we wanted and expected. We always love dinner on the patin at Cluny.

Cluny
Responded 2 days ago

Jennifer, we're so glad you had such a lovely evening dining on our patio! Thank you for showing your support and we can't wait for your return and another delicious meal. All the best, Stuart K.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
3 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

best good, service and ambiance! I’ll be back again next wk ;)

Cluny
Responded 3 days ago

Thanks for your kind words about our space! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your entire experience with us. Great food, service and ambiance is just the perfect combination. We look forward to your next visit very soon. All the best, Stuart K.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Pittsburgh
6 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Good food, great setting, excellent service.

Cluny
Responded 2 days ago

It was a pleasure welcoming you in. Happy to hear our cuisine, service and ambiance blew you away. We can't wait to do it all again on your next visit! Best, Stuart K.

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Toronto
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall3food3service3ambience4

Average food for above average price.

Cluny
Responded 3 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. It is disappointing to hear that your experience fell short and we're sorry that you weren't wow-ed by your meal. Please know, our prices reflect the quality of the ingredients we use and the labour required to pay those who make and serve it fair wages. Saying that, we hear your feedback. It would be our pleasure to host you again to show you the Cluny experience we are proud and capable of. All the very best, Stuart K.

Report
DR
DistilleryResident
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall2food2service3ambience2

$70 for breakfast for 2 was a little pricey and not all that tasty for the cost. Waiter spilled our drinks and apologized. Said he would bring us more coffee to compensate. Haha. I booked a patio seat so I could bring my dog but was not allowed to bring her on the patio. I understand all restaurants have a choice but the Distillery is dog friendly so I will be choosing another patio in the future.

Cluny
Responded 2 days ago

Thank you for leaving your feedback. We appreciate you giving us a try but are disappointed to hear that your experience fell short of the standard you expect and deserve. While we understand prices are subjective, we feel ours are a great balance between doing what's right by our business while reflecting the quality of our ingredients. We do hope that you will give us the chance to show you a more memorable visit should you choose to visit us again. All the best, Stuart K.

Report
c
chioimaa
Toronto
5 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Was great, the server was awesome

Cluny
Responded 3 days ago

Thank you for the wonderful feedback, Chioimaa. It was a pleasure welcoming you in and delivering the outstanding service you most definitely deserve. We look forward to your return and another lovely meal. All the best, Stuart K.

Report
AP
AlishaP28
Toronto
2 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Such a lovely spot to have lunch! The patio was wonderful. Very friendly and efficient staff. Recommend to all!

Cluny
Responded 3 days ago

Alisha, it's wonderful to know you enjoyed our lively lunch scene! There's nothing better than taking your time to enjoy delicious food and company while sitting on a patio. We can't wait for your return and another exceptional experience. Until then, Stuart K.

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Toronto
4 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall2food1service1ambience3

Order FLAKY BEEF DIP and haven’t been so disappointed in a meal in a long time. There was hardly any beef and the fries were cold.

Cluny
Responded 3 days ago

Thank you for providing your feedback and writing this review. We are disappointed to hear that you weren't a fan of the Flaky Beef Dip. Please know that we would have been happy to replace anything that wasn't to your taste. As well, any of our servers would be happy to make personalized recommendations for you. That said, we have heard your feedback and it has been passed on accordingly. We hope you'll give us another chance to make your next visit more enjoyable. Best, Stuart K.

Report
J
vipJulie
Toronto
3 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Lovely place! The setting was gorgeous, the restaurant quiet, food was great and service was attentive. A little pricey but the atmosphere is worth it.

Cluny
Responded 4 days ago

Julie, thanks for your kind words about our space! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. We'd be delighted to welcome you back for more delicious cuisine and attentive service sometime soon. All the best, Stuart K.

Report
TP
TraceyP
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

What a wonderful re-introduction to inside dining! Loveliest server made our eve great!

Cluny
Responded 4 days ago

Tracey, thank you for choosing us to celebrate your sons birthday. It was an absolute pleasure welcoming you in and providing you with exceptional service and menu recommendations. We would love to welcome you both back again for another amazing evening. Best, Stuart K.

Report
i
iskras
Chicago
2 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Cluny is unique French Bistro that offers amazing ambiance and great food. So happy inside dining is finally open! The patio is nice but can’t compare to the experience you have dining inside!

Cluny
Responded 3 days ago

Iskras, it's wonderful to have your support! You can count on us to always deliver on delicious cuisine, drinks, atmosphere, and especially ambiance. We can't wait to welcome you again soon for a table inside. All the best, Stuart K.

Report
CP
CarolynP
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We are so glad we chose Cluny to celebrate for a bride to be. It was the most beautiful place and the food was so flavourful, big portions and the service was top notch. We will definitely visit again!

Cluny
Responded 4 days ago

Carolyn, we are thrilled you chose us to enjoy a beautiful night shared by amazing food and drinks for such a special occasion! It's great to hear our dishes were full of flavour and just to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you in again soon for another exceptional experience. All the best, Stuart K.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall3food2service4ambience5

Came here for brunch, the call with their receptionist was not the best experience and definitely affected my impression for the restaurant even before my reservation. Our waitress was very friendly and accommodated all our requests, the restaurant is beautiful, love the environment. We ordered the short rib hash and nicoise benny, unfortunately the food is way below our expectation.

Cluny
Responded 3 days ago

Thank you for reviewing us. We pride ourselves in delivering above and beyond service so it is disappointing to hear that this is not the case over the phone. We truly apologize for these shortcomings. We are also sorry that you weren't a fan of our flavours. Saying that, we are thrilled you had impeccable service during your visit and enjoyed the beautiful ambiance. We hope you will give us another chance to make your next visit more memorable. All the best, Stuart K.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Toronto
1 review
Dined on July 16, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food and ambiance exceeded our expectations by far. Portion size was actually amazing for food quality. Our server, Mark, had the best recommendations. Must return.

Cluny
Responded 4 days ago

Thank you for the wonderful feedback. To us, you are one in a million, not one of a million. It was a pleasure welcoming you in and delivering the outstanding service you deserve. We're thrilled our cuisine and portion size was just to your liking and we can't wait to do it all again on your next visit. Until then, Stuart K.

Report
ET
EnkieT
Toronto
3 reviews
Dined on July 16, 2021
Overall4food5service4ambience4

At the beginning the waiter had an attitude, but the he change and was very nice.
The food was excellent, wee were seating at the patio, so the noise was base on people outside of the restaurant.

Cluny
Responded 4 days ago

Enkie, it was a pleasure welcoming you in. Thank you for taking the time to reach out. It's also wonderful to hear our cuisine made your visit that much more memorable. We look forward to your return and another lovely meal. All the best, Stuart K.

Report
CB
CatherineB
Toronto
4 reviews
Dined on July 16, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Thank you Miriam for making our girls reunion a fabulous experience 😊
Will will definitely be back!

Cluny
Responded 4 days ago

Catherine, it was wonderful welcoming you in for a lovely meal. We'll be sure to pass along your compliments to Miriam regarding the amazing service. We would be delighted to welcome you back to Cluny again for another amazing experience. Best, Stuart K.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Toronto
1 review
Dined on July 16, 2021
Overall3food4service2ambience3

Nice menu. The food was good. Place was nice. Service was …fair, the waitress seemed rather uninterested in doing anything more than physically bringing the food. Tipping 15-20% for attitude was a bit off-putting.

Cluny
Responded 4 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review! We're thrilled to hear you were a fan of our flavours and ambiance, although are disappointed to hear that the service wasn't to the standard you most definitely deserve. If you had any concerns about our staff, a manager would have been more than happy to speak with you during your visit. That said, Hope you consider giving us another chance to demonstrate the amazing service we're known for and you deserve. Best, Stuart K.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
1 review
Dined on July 15, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent service, they accommodated us in the rain and made it a very enjoyable experience nonetheless! Will definitely be back.

Cluny
Responded 4 days ago

It’s never a bother to go the extra mile for our guests! Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're thrilled our exceptional service blew you away and we can't wait to do it all again on your next visit. Until then, Stuart K.

Report
AC
AlanC
Toronto
1 review
Dined on July 15, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The onion soup was, as usual, outstanding and the serving staff were friendly, welcoming and efficient. They showed that they cared and you can ask for nothing greater.

Cluny
Responded 4 days ago

Alan, it's wonderful to know you enjoyed every aspect of your visit, especially the French Onion Soup! Outstanding service and great food are the perfect combination. Hoping we'll see you again the next time you're around. All the best, Stuart K.

Report
a
anonjm
Toronto
2 reviews
Dined on July 15, 2021
Overall5food4service4ambience4

First time back since the covid restrictions were lifted. Brought my niece for a little afternoon Cluny tasting adventure. We loved it! Delicious food and great experience with fabulous staff. Can't wait for our return.

Cluny
Responded 4 days ago

Thank you for leaving this review! We're beyond thrilled to have made your experience so memorable for you and your niece. You can count on us to always deliver on delicious cuisine, service and atmosphere! We hope you make it back our way sometime soon. All the best, Stuart K.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Toronto
3 reviews
Dined on July 14, 2021
Overall1food2service1ambience1

The service was terrible and food quality not as it used to be

Cluny
Responded on July 16, 2021

We take great pride in delivering outstanding, friendly customer service, so we're quite surprised to hear your experience was anything less than outstanding. If you had any concerns about our staff, a manager would have been more than happy to speak with you during your visit. Hope you consider giving us another chance to demonstrate the amazing service we're known for and you deserve. All the best, Stuart K.

Report
LC
LoriC
Toronto
6 reviews
Dined on July 10, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Everything was amazing!! The French toast is so delicious!! One of the best hidden patios in the city!!!

Cluny
Responded on July 13, 2021

Lori, thank you for the kind words about our space. We're thrilled you enjoyed our cuisine so much, especially the French Toast! We can't wait to welcome you back again for another delicious meal on our beautiful patio. Until then, Stuart K.

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Toronto
1 review
Dined on July 9, 2021
Overall3food2service3ambience4

We were looking forward to dining here & the patio did not disappoint - it was lovely. The food however was a different story. The French onion soup was the best part of the meal. The mains however told a different story. Flat iron steak arrived lukewarm & frites were almost cold. The dish was clearly sitting out for a long while. Flavour of the dish was average at best. The madame duck was better, however arrived lukewarm / cold as well. I would come here for a drink & appetizers to enjoy the ambiance but skip the main meal.

Cluny
Responded on July 13, 2021

We take great pride in delivering outstanding customer service and delicious cuisine so we're quite surprised to hear your experience was anything less than outstanding. We're sorry to hear that you weren't wow-ed by your meal. Please know that we would have been happy to replace anything that wasn't to your taste. That being said, your feedback has been heard and passed along. We appreciate you writing this review and we hope you'll give us another chance to impress you. Best, Stuart K.

Report
VS
ViktoriiaS
Toronto
3 reviews
Dined on July 9, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food here is amazing!!

Cluny
Responded on July 12, 2021

From drinks to desserts, Viktoria, our flavourful menu won't disappoint! It is wonderful you enjoyed the five-star experience we're known for and you expected from us. We look forward to welcoming you in again soon for some more of your favourites. All the best, Stuart K.

Report
B
mikeB
1 review
Dined on July 7, 2021
Overall4food2service4ambience4

the interior is great, can`t sit inside unfortunately due to COVID. The coctail was great, food mediocre, not worth for the price.

Cluny
Responded on July 9, 2021

Mike, thanks for coming to see us! We're thrilled you enjoyed our interiors and crafty cocktails but are disappointed to hear that you weren't a fan of our flavours. Please know we would have been happy to replace anything that wasn't to your liking. We hope you'll give us another chance to make your next visit more memorable. All the best, Stuart K.

Report
e
edward
1 review
Dined on July 4, 2021
Overall3food3service3ambience3

Came here for my a birthday dinner, expected something special for the birthday individual, but I guess the restaurant doesn't provide such service anymore.

Food is alright. more on the salty end.

Would recommend lowering the music, since it was quite loud.

Cluny
Responded on July 8, 2021

Edward, thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant! We appreciate your visit and are so glad you chose us to celebrate such a special day, but are saddened to hear that we didn't quite hit the mark on flavours this time around. Please know we would have been happy to replace anything that wasn't to your liking. We hear your feedback regarding the volume of music and it has been noted. We look forward to making your next visit more memorable. All the very best, Stuart K.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Toronto
1 review
Dined on July 4, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Wonderful as always! Thank you to Mark for the great service and to everyone at Cluny for an amazing experience.

Cluny
Responded on July 7, 2021

We're grateful for you taking a moment to leave this review! It means the world to us that you enjoyed our exceptional service and we will be sure to pass along your compliments. We look forward to welcoming you back for another lovely meal. All the best, Stuart K.

Report
S
Sandrine
Toronto
1 review
Dined on July 4, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Phenomenal experience. Highly recommend. Beautiful patio - excellent food and service!

Cluny
Responded on July 8, 2021

Sandrine, we’re happy to hear that you enjoyed our food and service! Nothing beats enjoying delicious food and a drink on our beautiful patio. We can't wait to welcome you back again soon for another phenomenal experience. Until then, Stuart K.

Report
O
Oonagh
1 review
Dined on July 4, 2021
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Great sangria! Great apps and friendly service!!!!

Cluny
Responded on July 8, 2021

Oonagh, we're so glad you enjoyed some sangria on our beautiful patio! Thank you for writing this exceptional review. We would love to welcome you back for another pitcher and fantastic food. All the best, Stuart K.

Report
EB
vipElenaB
Atlantic Canada
16 reviews
Dined on July 3, 2021
Overall3food2service4ambience5

Very nice ambiance but the food, unfortunately, is not good. Not even deserts. Even though it's a boulangerie. It is a pity.

Cluny
Responded on July 7, 2021

Thank you for giving us a try, Elena, and for taking the time to provide your feedback to us. We are happy to hear your enjoyed our ambiance and service but are disappointed that you weren't a fan of our flavours. Please know we would have been happy to replace anything that wasn't to your liking during your visit. We are confident that there is something perfect on our menu for everyone and would love to welcome you back again soon. All the best, Stuart K.

Report
K
Kevin
1 review
Dined on July 3, 2021
Overall3food2service5ambience5

First this review is written based on my dining experience of Cluny during stage 2 opening of the pandemic. Our party of 4 was quickly seated after arriving of our reservation time. The environment (patio) was wonderful and the waiter was friendly and able to have nice conversation with us. The staff checked on us couple time for service and water, and the dishes were taken away very quick. The staff did not interrupt my party's conversation so that's a plus for me. Therefore service and ambient was 5 star for sure.
The food was below expectation. The cocktails (BULLES EN FUMÉE, PRINCESS PEACH) did not please our taste. We got 2 orders of the duck and 2 monk fish for our main plate. The duck was juicy and the fries are good, however the portion was small. The monk fish was dry, nothing special and again small portion. The only pleasant dish was the beef tartar which was full of flavor and feels fresh.
We paid around $220 total for 4 of us. In conclusion the environment and staff were super nice, unfortunately the food and it's value did not meet our expectation.

Cluny
Responded on July 7, 2021

Kevin, thank you for leaving such a detailed review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful patio and had exceptional service. Saying that, it is disappointing that we didn't hit it out of the park for you when it comes to flavours. We would have been happy to replace anything that wasn't to your taste and make personalized recommendations that would have been more to your liking. We encourage you to let us create a better experience for you in the future. All the best, Stuart K.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on July 2, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing
Great food
Amazing service.

Cluny
Responded on July 12, 2021

Thank you for choosing us to be a part of your very special occasion. We are absolutely honoured to have hosted you and shown you with such a special night. You can always count on us to deliver on cuisine and amazing service. Thank you for showing your support. Come back to see us soon! Best, Stuart K.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Toronto
1 review
Dined on July 2, 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Wife night out ! Amazing as usual Cluny, we missed you guys !!

Cluny
Responded on July 5, 2021

Thank you for choosing us to make your night so special! We are thrilled to have you back and can't wait to do it all again next time. Until then, Stuart K.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Toronto
1 review
Dined on July 2, 2021
Overall1food1service5ambience1

Great service ... however restaurant was not prepared for the rain on the patio. Not enough umbrellas , disorganized service, disorganized stuff, overall chaotic environment ....

Cluny
Responded on July 5, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We are happy to hear that the service was exceptional, although are disappointed that the when the rain hit, we fell short. We hope you will give us another chance to make your next visit more memorable and please know that your feedback has been heard. All the very best, Stuart K.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on July 2, 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

quick service and friendly, accommodating staff!

Cluny
Responded on July 5, 2021

It means a lot to have your high praise for both our cuisine and awesome service! Thank you for reviewing us. Hoping to welcome you again soon for another exceptional experience. Best, Stuart K.

Report

FAQs

Cluny is rated 4.4 stars by 3545 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.

Tweets by Cluny