This restaurant added safety precaution details

This includes info about cleaning, sanitizing, social distancing, and usage of personal protective equipment. Learn more.

Cluny

4.4
3455 Reviews
CAN$31 to CAN$50
French
Outdoor tables are subject to the weather. If it rains, we can not guarantee indoor space. For more information on our health & safety procedures, please visit https://distilleryhospitality.com/health-and-safety

Exciting, non-pretentious menus inspired by Frances's modern food movement paired with vibrant music, breathtaking design, & personalized service have made us the best French restaurant in Toronto. Nearly every item on our menu is made from scratch and we proudly maintain a curated Wine Spectator recognized wine list with nearly 200 bottles.

Our adjacent café lets you take Cluny home with pastries, macarons, housemade terrines and preserves, and artisanal pantry items. Take out, from coffee to fresh-baked breads, made-to-order crepes to sandwiches.

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitizing
  • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
  • Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
Social Distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
Personal Protective Equipment
  • Waitstaff wear masks
What 3455 people are saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.4
service
4.6
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
RR
RebeccaR
Dublin
3 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall4food5service4ambience4

Food was delicious and the service was great, very attentive and friendly. More/stronger heaters could be added, especially to the tables closest to the door. Overall, a fantastic experience, will definitely be back.

Cluny
Responded a day ago

Rebecca, thank you for taking the time to show us your support! We're thrilled our food and service hit the spot. Looking forward to welcoming you back sometime soon. Until then, Stuart K.

Report
N
Nicola
Toronto
26 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall4food4service5ambience3

Great that the patio use has continued! Servers were great and the movement and access through the space was clear and reassuring. Not sure if it is possible to line up the tables more closely with the focus of the angled heaters to optimize comfort. Thanks for the blanket purchase option. Food was great though myst be eaten quickly as the weather has been brisk!

Cluny
Responded a day ago

Nicola, it's wonderful to know you enjoyed our patio! Thank you for taking the time to reach out. We hope you will join us for another good time soon! All the best, Stuart K.

Report
M
Mila
Toronto
9 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Always enjoyable to visit Cluny. My friends came for the first time and were delighted! Thank you for your great help and service! We will definitely be back outdoor or indoor regardless! Please stay safe and healthy and see you soon!!!

Cluny
Responded a day ago

Mila, we are happy to hear you have enjoyed your experience with us many times! Thanks for appreciating our cuisine and service. We look forward to welcoming back you and your friends sometime soon. Best, Stuart K.

Report
MZ
MichelleZ
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall1food2service2ambience1

Last time when I was at Cluny, it was for a colleague's baby shower. I had such a great experience back then I decided to take my buddy for her bday brunch this past Sunday. Of course it was a patio seating arrangement due to the COVID. It was close to 0 degree outside and the patio is on a alley basically so made the seating area extremely windy. Our table was not even under the heating lamps above us (they do not have standing heating lamps). My buddy and I were trembling the whole time barely could speak clearly. I ordered a beef short ribs hash which costs 26 bucks and a latte. My buddy ordered farm house and Americano. Her dish was OK mine was barely warm even when it got brought up. While we were waiting for our coffees to come, I was asking the waiter whether we can move to a table closer to the restaurant so that we did not feel we were sitting right in the middle of the wind and was declined, despite the fact there were several empty tables when we got there and left there. I barely could eat my dish as it was cold in a second. My latte turned cold in a minute. Cannot really sit there as it was so cold we decided to leave after being there for maybe over 30 mins. With tips, I paid close to 80 bucks. Had I known the patio would be unbearably cold, I would not have taken my buddy there for her bday. Needed more attentive and better services for sure.

Cluny
Responded 10 hours ago

Michelle, we truly appreciate your support throughout this time, but are sorry that your experience fell short. You are right, outdoor dining can be chilly at this time of the year, so we recommend guests layer up and even bring blankets to keep them cozy throughout their meal. Reservations for larger party sizes prevented us from moving your table, so we do apologize if this was not communicated to you clearly. That said, we hope you'll join us again in the future. Best, Stuart K.

Report
A
vipAmz418
New York Area
57 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall4food5service5ambience5

Likely our last brunch for the year - and we loved Cluny. Chose the classics, and they did not disappoint, in fact the cook was exquisite. If the heaters can be cranked up, the outdoor experience would be more enjoyable.

Cluny
Responded a day ago

We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your most recent brunch experience! We hope to welcome you back again soon for some more classics. All the best, Stuart K.

Report
MF
MarieF
2 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Very good time spent on the patio of Cluny. The service is fast and very pleasant and the food is good served in a nice setting. I will come back !

Cluny
Responded a day ago

Marie, our guests deserve only the absolute best! Thank you for showing your support. We'd love to have you join us again soon. Stuart K.

Report
GM
GlennM
Toronto
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Restaurant food service ambience always good. Small attached bakery the staff is always bad. Bakery nice staff bad. Takes away from overall experience.

Cluny
Responded a day ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback Glenn. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your experience with us many times, but are surprised to see that the same is not said of our adjacent Boulangerie. Please know that a manager would have been happy to speak with you had you any concerns about our staff. Regardless, we appreciate you reaching out and hope to see you again soon to show you another memorable meal. Until then, Stuart K.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Toronto
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent service and amazing food. Highly recommend.

Cluny
Responded a day ago

We are so glad to have given you a wonderful experience. We hope that you'll join us again soon! All the best, Stuart K.

Report
LM
vipLifestylesbyMG
Toronto
14 reviews
Dined 7 days ago
Overall1food2service1ambience2

Certainly an off day for Cluny, really not sure what happened. A very frustrating and slow dining experience. It may have been a staffing issue but we certainly left feeling incredibly disappointed.
We ordered sparkling water, the server brought the bottle but forgot to bring glasses which we had to remind him about two times. Then our server forgot to ring in our appetizer (the manager was nice enough to take care of this for us). We ordered a cocktail without ice and it came with ice (almost a cup of ice). The beef tenderloin was ordered on the rare side of medium rare and it came out done medium well to well done. It was just one disappointment after another.
On a positive note, the outside patio area offers a beautiful dining atmosphere.

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Toronto
4 reviews
Dined on October 18, 2020
Overall5food4service4ambience5

Great outdoor patio! Heaters were a welcome treat. Food was delicious and filling. Best French Inion Soup.

Cluny
Responded on October 21, 2020

We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience! We look forward to welcoming you in again soon for some more French onion soup sometime soon. Until then, Stuart K.

Report
F
Frankie
Toronto
1 review
Dined on October 18, 2020
Overall4food5service4ambience5

The outdoor patio is great! Lots of heaters and tables are socially distanced. French onion soup is a MUST!

Cluny
Responded on October 21, 2020

Frankie, We're happy we made sure you had a memorable time. Your must-try recommendation of our French onion soup is a favourite of ours as well. We would love to welcome you back again soon to discover more delicious flavours! Best, Stuart K.

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Toronto
15 reviews
Dined on October 17, 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Lovely service, excellent outdoor ambience and comfort.

Cluny
Responded on October 21, 2020

Thank you for this exceptional review! We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your experience, and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Best, Stuart K.

Report
R
Rachel
Toronto
3 reviews
Dined on October 17, 2020
Overall5food5service4ambience3

Our table was situated in between two heaters pointed away from us. It was cold as hell, but overall a nice enough experience considering current circumstances. The restaurant would do better to hang the heaters all facing the same direction so that each area gets *some* heat instead of some tables being blasted while others freeze.

Cluny
Responded on October 21, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant, Rachel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience, and appreciate your feedback regarding our outdoor heaters. We do hope that you will give us the chance to show you a more memorable visit should you choose to visit us again. All the best, Stuart K

Report
D
Dennis
Toronto
1 review
Dined on October 16, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent service from our server. He explained each meal to us.

Cluny
Responded on October 21, 2020

Dennis, we're happy to hear that the service you received made our place exceptional for you! We'd love to welcome you back again soon to try some more of our tasty menu options. Best, Stuart K.

Report
b
butyatiarepublic
1 review
Dined on October 14, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Do yourself a favor and visit this lovely restaurant in distillery district. The service is unmatched. The staff truly cares about your experience. The food is absolutely amazing – everything we tasted melted in other mouths. Highly recommend!

Cluny
Responded on October 21, 2020

Thank you for the phenomenal feedback. It was an absolute pleasure welcoming you in for an evening of the five-star food and service we're known for and you most definitely deserve. We'll make sure to pass along your compliments to our chef and team, and we look forward to welcoming you back for another lovely meal. All the very best, Stuart K

Report
BF
BruceF
1 review
Dined on October 10, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food was very well prepared and the wait staff was incredible. Dined on the patio in the evening and was a lovely affair

Cluny
Responded on October 15, 2020

Bruce, our guests deserve only the absolute best! Thank you for showing your support. We'd love to have you join us again soon. Best, Stuart K.

Report
H
Holly
Toronto
5 reviews
Dined on October 10, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Always love this place.

Cluny
Responded on October 15, 2020

Holly, it means the world to have your support. We look forward to welcoming you again sometime soon! Best, Stuart K.

Report
AK
AllisonK
Toronto
1 review
Dined on October 9, 2020
Overall4food4service3ambience3

It was nice. It wasn’t over the top but I think under the circumstances and COVID it was nice and the service was good.

Cluny
Responded on October 15, 2020

It was a pleasure to have you join us, Allison. We truly appreciate your support. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the food and service. We'll be looking forward to your next visit. Until then, Stuart K.

Report
DK
DavidK
New York Area
1 review
Dined on October 9, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Difficult to truly evaluate during the Covid closure of inside dining. We were pleased that there were outdoor heaters, however, and the service was attentive and helpful.
I've previously been there for dinner prior to the current situation, and I enjoyed the food and the ambiance.
We're trying to support our local restaurants, and hope everyone will be able to hang in.

Cluny
Responded on October 15, 2020

David, it is now more than ever that we appreciate your support. Thank you for coming down! We are glad to see that you enjoyed your experience and look forward to welcoming you again sometime soon. All the best, Stuart K.

Report
DV
DraganV
Toronto
9 reviews
Dined on October 8, 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Cluny never disappoints me. I did have a good time yet again.

Specifics: Old Fashioned (smoky one) was excellent, and the tuna was good but did not wow me.
Another pretty good day at the Cluny.

Cluny
Responded on October 15, 2020

We are happy to hear you have enjoyed your experience with us many times! Our old fashioned is a great way to treat yourself. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to discover more favourites! Best, Stuart K.

Report
SM
SaraM
1 review
Dined on October 7, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Our server Vince was excellent.
Will definitely go back.
Would like to try brunch next time.
Hoping resto's don't close.

Cluny
Responded on October 15, 2020

Sara, thank you for taking the time to show your support. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us and that Vince took such good care of you! We look forward to hosting you again sometime soon for brunch. Our heated patio is waiting! Until then, Stuart K.

Report
FS
ForeverSunshine07
Phoenix
1 review
Dined on October 4, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great place to meet up for a mimosa and brunch! Highly recommended!!

Cluny
Responded on October 14, 2020

It's flattering to hear you enjoy our outdoor ambiance, drinks, and cuisine! We hope to see you again in the future. Best, Stuart K.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on October 3, 2020
Overall2food2service2ambience4

Awesome patio seating ambience, but yeah that was it.
The cocktails were pretty ordinary
The food selection was also very normal with very small portions and high price
When asked for what would you recommend for dessert, he said “I don’t eat desserts”, which was so unusual because we were looking forward to have dessert at this place.
The bread basket which should have been complimentary for such a highly priced menu was not.
I would say just go there for a drink for the ambience and plan to eat somewhere else later.

L
Lady
1 review
Dined on October 3, 2020
Overall2food3service2ambience4

Disappointed that we waited 30 mins for our reservation and another 15 mins after we had been seated for a server to come to our table.

Cluny
Responded on October 9, 2020

You're right, you should never have to wait as long as you did to be seated and then to receive service at your table. For that, I apologize. That said, as regulations change, we're continuously making adjustments to almost every single part of how service operates. Please know your feedback is super helpful in seeing how these changes are being received, so thank you for reaching out. We hope you will give us another chance to show you the experience you truly deserve. Best, Stuart K.

Report
G
Gern
Toronto
1 review
Dined on October 3, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

wonderful experience. Thank you. It was great to get out in a safe environment.

Cluny
Responded on October 14, 2020

Thanks for your review, Gern! We look forward to welcoming you back for another exceptional experience in the future. All the best, Stuart K.

Report
T
vipTornative
Toronto
55 reviews
Dined on October 3, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

The Cluny patio is lovely. They have super-sonic heaters every ~6 ft or so on the ceiling frame and it was very cozy on a fall evening.

Our server was great and the timing of his service was perfect. We were not rushing and neither was he.

We started with cocktails and both had the steak frites. Everything was prepared with care and the deep fried asparagus was a great caloric splurge and perfect with our main course.

We are not comfortable dining indoors during Covid pandemic so we'll be dining on the Cluny patio for as long as the weather allows.

Thanks for our server - employee #25106 - for a great evening! Sorry I should have asked for your name!

Cluny
Responded on October 14, 2020

Thank you for your kind words about our space! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us, and we hope that you'll join us again the next time you are around. Until then, Stuart K.

Report
ED
ErinD
Toronto
1 review
Dined on October 3, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The salt add and food were great. We had a fantastic time with our boys. The patio was warm enough on a cool night and still open air for anyone with COVID concerns. Great experience. We were well taken care of and the food was delicious

Cluny
Responded on October 14, 2020

It was a pleasure having you join us Erin. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed the food and service. We'll be looking forward to your next visit. Best, Stuart K.

Report
VF
VickyF
Toronto
5 reviews
Dined on October 3, 2020
Overall4food5service5ambience5

The music was loud, but great work with physical distancing, and spacing tables. Great service, friendly staff, excellent food!!!!

Cluny
Responded on October 14, 2020

Thanks for coming by, Vicky! It was a delight to have you here with us to explore some awesome dishes. We hope to see you again soon! Best, Stuart K.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Toronto
1 review
Dined on October 1, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Had the best time, the servers were very sweet and accommodating. This is one of my favourite places for French food in the city, more so even because of the ambiance.

DK
DevynK
1 review
Dined on October 1, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Dylan our service was amazing + incredible food and atmosphere. will be recommending and coming back

TZ
vipTrishZ
Toronto
13 reviews
Dined on October 1, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We always enjoy the cluny great food and service and once again Ian was great!

Cluny
Responded on October 14, 2020

Trish, we're grateful for you taking a moment to leave this review! We look forward to seeing you the next time you are around. Best, Stuart K.

Report
HB
vipHB123
Toronto
7 reviews
Dined on September 27, 2020
Overall3food3service3ambience3

If you are missing places like le select or la Societe you won't find a replacement for those here. If you are heading to the d district and are looking for something decent enough this will do just fine then. Stick to the basics and avoid disappointment .

D
Daimalee
Toronto
1 review
Dined on September 25, 2020
Overall4food3service5ambience5

The service was amazing. The amount of food is ok, not a lot of options for dinner. The brunch menu looks good, will come back to try it

Cluny
Responded on September 28, 2020

It was a pleasure welcoming you in. It is wonderful you enjoyed your experience. We look forward to your return and another lovely meal. All the best, Stuart K

Report
RK
RobK
1 review
Dined on September 25, 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience5

French Onion soup was incredible! Patio was amazing! It was a great place for a date.

Cluny
Responded on September 28, 2020

Rob, we're glad you enjoyed our famous French onion soup! We'd be delighted to welcome you back to try some more of our specialties sometime soon. Best, Stuart K.

Report
FS
FernandoS
Toronto
3 reviews
Dined on September 20, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Consistently good food, great service, comfortable setting on the patio.

Cluny
Responded on September 28, 2020

Fernando, we're grateful for you taking a moment to leave this review! We look forward to seeing you at Cluny again. Best, Stuart K

Report
EN
EvaN
1 review
Dined on September 20, 2020
Overall2food2service4ambience2

I have been to Cluny’s many times, unfortunately this time the food was Completely cold (almost icy) and the outdoor patio had a terrible draft. The heat lamps were not enough and did not reach out table. It was unfortunate.

Cluny
Responded on September 25, 2020

Eva, it was our pleasure to welcome you and your guests back. We genuinely appreciate your support throughout this time, though I am very sorry to hear that your experience fell short of expectations. Please know we would have been happy to try to accommodate by turning up the heater, or moving you to another area, had you brought this to our attention. We do hope that you will give us another chance to show you the 5-star experience you deserve and we are known for. Best, Stuart K

Report
YI
YIBUMSIK
Toronto
1 review
Dined on September 20, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Absolutely my favorite place for Sunday brunch in Toronto.

One of my favorite places in the world is NYC and it is my ritual to go to Balthazar for Sunday brunch when I am there.

Toronto is a mini NYC to me and Cluny has become my Toronto favourite.

Cluny
Responded on September 28, 2020

It means the world to us that you enjoy our famous brunch. We would be happy to welcome you back to Cluny again for more of your favorites. Best, Stuart K

Report
B
Brunch
Toronto
3 reviews
Dined on September 20, 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

This time tried the beef hash, eggs which not disappoint Once again, excellent serve and overall service. The heated patio was a bonus

Cluny
Responded on September 22, 2020

We're happy to hear you enjoyed our famous brunch! We are looking forward to welcoming you back again to try some more of our flavourful menu. Best, Stuart K.

Report
GT
vipGeraldT
Calgary
14 reviews
Dined on September 20, 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Great food and ambiance. Loved the patio and the heaters kept us warm on a cool day. Service was great. Bought a few things from their pastry shop and they were all good.

X
Xxxxxx
Toronto
4 reviews
Dined on September 20, 2020
Overall3food2service3ambience4

kinda noisy and didn't keep social distance very well.
dishes are not tasty overall, onion soup was salty, bread over cooked

Cluny
Responded on September 22, 2020

We are sorry to hear that your experience was anything less than outstanding. Please know that the safety of both our staff and guests is our number one priority and we are following all guidelines set out by our local health authorities. A manager would have been happy to speak with you, had you any concerns regarding service or food. We hope you'll give us another chance to show you a better experience, but if not, we are sorry if we aren't for you. All the very best, Stuart K.

Report

FAQs

Cluny is rated 4.4 stars by 3455 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.

Tweets by Cluny