Exciting, non-pretentious menus inspired by Frances's modern food movement paired with vibrant music, breathtaking design, & personalized service have made us the best French restaurant in Toronto. Nearly every item on our menu is made from scratch and we proudly maintain a curated Wine Spectator recognized wine list with nearly 200 bottles.
Our adjacent café lets you take Cluny home with pastries, macarons, housemade terrines and preserves, and artisanal pantry items. Take out, from coffee to fresh-baked breads, made-to-order crepes to sandwiches.
- Surfaces sanitized between seatings
- Common areas deep cleaned daily
- Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
- Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
- Contactless payment available
- Limited number of seated diners
- Distancing maintained in common areas
- Extra space between tables
- Waitstaff wear masks
- Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
Grilled 8oz. hanger steak, lemon & garlic aioli
The Cluny French Onion Soup
Gruyre, glazed onions, rich beef broth
Spicy Salmon Tartar
Avocado, Dijon mustard, burnt chili salsa
Outstanding patio dining - the food was perfect and I can't wait to go back. Service was excellent.
It was lovely and the food was very good. It was just freezing and the heaters were not doing much!
Cozy and beautiful. They definitely have done the best they can given the unfortunate circumstances of 2020.
The outdoor patio at Cluny's was perfect for outdoor dining. From the overhead heaters to the blankets (for sale) to cover your legs, you couldn't ask for a better COVID dining experience. The Breakfast Hash was off the charts!
Quality food, beautifully designed and great service. We'll be back here again.
Our server was amazing! Wish I got his name.
Sat out in the heated patio area. Service and food was excellent!! I really like that the patio was semi-enclosed with artificial vines providing a bit of privacy between us and the pedestrians on the other side of the seating area.
Always such a treat to come to Cluny 💕
Great food, amazing service and the most unique ambiance. The outdoor “secret garden” felt like we were transported to the South of France!
Absolutely lovely. Can’t wait for life to get back to normal and go back
Amazing food, great ambience and staff was lovely!
A very lovely brunch. Outdoor tent was beautifully decorated.
Great food, service & atmosphere. Can't wait to return.
One of the best onion soups I've ever tasted
As always, food was great. Service has dropped a bit, culminating in our waiter literally begging to tip well.
The hostesses were very nice and efficient and no issues came up until the server began talking to us. He was not the friendliest but that didn’t really matter because we were here for the ambience and food. He made no efforts to recommend anything that was good on the menu and it seemed like he was unfamiliar himself. Everything was fine - food was not great though - until the bill came. My friend and I each paid and tipped regardless of our server’s bad attitude tonight (who knows, he may have been going through a personal problem so we did not want to judge or complain) but we felt as though he was watching us like a hawk when we were putting in our cards to pay. We both returned the machine to him and said thanks but he grabbed it and did not say anything. Not a thanks or a bye and it was so bizarre because never have I been treated like this at a restaurant. Please watch who you hire because some people are just not fit to be in the customer service/hospitality field. Due to this bad experience, I will not be returning. Additionally, the food is overpriced and you are just paying for the ambience. All that is fine because I’m a sucker for Instagram pictures but the service just completely turned me off from ever returning.
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback, and we're happy to hear that you enjoyed our ambience. That said, there is no excuse for service that misses the mark, so we truly apologize that your visit fell short. When guests experience any service issues, we encourage them to speak up, so please know a manager would have been happy to speak with you if you had any concerns. We hope you will give us another chance to show you the experience you deserve. All the best, Stuart K.
Beautifully-lit and heated outdoor patio makes you forget that it's November!
Food was good quality standard French. Location is great - central bustling Distillery but on a side street so outdoor tables not feeling like you’re eating on Yonge st. They have vine covered trellis and heaters dor outdoor dining, but you would still want a thick jacket once it gets really cold.
Indoors is really good but obviously we won’t be seeing that for a while. We had two drinks, two mains, and one dessert for $250 (inc generous tip)
A pleasant heated patio and a good bistro menu. Hard to beat in November!
Well, we got the worst seat in the house right by the front/hostess even though we had a reso - so i was hoping they would have reserved a better table and left the front ones for walk-ins. But anywho, maybe they were busy. My partner and I ordered the Steak Frites medium rate and it came back medium well. I also put in that we were celebrating a big promotion and i noticed lots of people getting birthday celebration plates but we didn't get anything which was disappointing and when we left, the hostess at the front didn't even say goodbye. The only highlight was the frites and our server who was delightful. Will not be returning.
Tori, we're sorry to hear that you did not have the outstanding experience that you deserve for such a special occasion. We always encourage guests to let us know when anything about their experience is missing the mark — we would have loved the opportunity to make things right with you. So please know a manager would have been happy to speak with you. We hope that you will give us the chance to show you a better experience should you join us again. Best, Stuart K.
We loved every aspect of our lunch...patio is decorated with ivy and twinkle light, the server was lovely, very attentive, funny and personable. Food, as always was excellent.
Our 44th wedding anniversary brunch at our favourite eating place in the Distillery District. Great food, great service from Armando. Keep up the good work.
Can’t wait to go back.
Great food and ambiance. Service was wonderful. I gave 4 stars because I wasn't blown away.
Food was average at best, expected better especially at the price point.
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback, Kevin. We're sorry to hear that you weren't wow-ed by your meal. Please know that we would have been happy to replace anything that wasn't to your taste. As well, any of our servers would be happy to make personalized recommendations. We are confident that there is something perfect on our menu for everyone. We hope to see you again soon to try some more of our flavourful menu! Best, Stuart K.
Amazing service, delicious food, wonderful ambiance, friendly staff. We had a great time.
Simge, thank you for taking the time to review us! We are over the moon to hear we provided you with amazing service and delicious food. We look forward to welcoming you in again soon for your some more of your favourites. All the best, Stuart K.
Good food, but there is a DIstillery District price bump. Service is friendly and attentive. Miss the dining room, but the patio is a lovely space.
Always enjoy it. Good food and good service. Nice patio
Glenn, we're so glad you could stop by! We'd love to see you back our way again soon for more good food and service. Best, Stuart K.
We had a great experience, the food was excellent and while the service got off to a slow start it got steadily better throughout the meal.
Absolutely love cluny! Amazing steak amazing wine! The patio is so romantic - perfect for any anniversaries. However, the patio heaters were not that effective. Was still cold, would have stayed longer for more drinks but too cold. They did have a $10 blanket but didn’t see the value in that as I have too many blankets at Home.
Food was delicious and the service was great, very attentive and friendly. More/stronger heaters could be added, especially to the tables closest to the door. Overall, a fantastic experience, will definitely be back.
Rebecca, thank you for taking the time to show us your support! We're thrilled our food and service hit the spot. Looking forward to welcoming you back sometime soon. Until then, Stuart K.
Great that the patio use has continued! Servers were great and the movement and access through the space was clear and reassuring. Not sure if it is possible to line up the tables more closely with the focus of the angled heaters to optimize comfort. Thanks for the blanket purchase option. Food was great though myst be eaten quickly as the weather has been brisk!
Nicola, it's wonderful to know you enjoyed our patio! Thank you for taking the time to reach out. We hope you will join us for another good time soon! All the best, Stuart K.
Always enjoyable to visit Cluny. My friends came for the first time and were delighted! Thank you for your great help and service! We will definitely be back outdoor or indoor regardless! Please stay safe and healthy and see you soon!!!
Mila, we are happy to hear you have enjoyed your experience with us many times! Thanks for appreciating our cuisine and service. We look forward to welcoming back you and your friends sometime soon. Best, Stuart K.
Last time when I was at Cluny, it was for a colleague's baby shower. I had such a great experience back then I decided to take my buddy for her bday brunch this past Sunday. Of course it was a patio seating arrangement due to the COVID. It was close to 0 degree outside and the patio is on a alley basically so made the seating area extremely windy. Our table was not even under the heating lamps above us (they do not have standing heating lamps). My buddy and I were trembling the whole time barely could speak clearly. I ordered a beef short ribs hash which costs 26 bucks and a latte. My buddy ordered farm house and Americano. Her dish was OK mine was barely warm even when it got brought up. While we were waiting for our coffees to come, I was asking the waiter whether we can move to a table closer to the restaurant so that we did not feel we were sitting right in the middle of the wind and was declined, despite the fact there were several empty tables when we got there and left there. I barely could eat my dish as it was cold in a second. My latte turned cold in a minute. Cannot really sit there as it was so cold we decided to leave after being there for maybe over 30 mins. With tips, I paid close to 80 bucks. Had I known the patio would be unbearably cold, I would not have taken my buddy there for her bday. Needed more attentive and better services for sure.
Michelle, we truly appreciate your support throughout this time, but are sorry that your experience fell short. You are right, outdoor dining can be chilly at this time of the year, so we recommend guests layer up and even bring blankets to keep them cozy throughout their meal. Reservations for larger party sizes prevented us from moving your table, so we do apologize if this was not communicated to you clearly. That said, we hope you'll join us again in the future. Best, Stuart K.
Likely our last brunch for the year - and we loved Cluny. Chose the classics, and they did not disappoint, in fact the cook was exquisite. If the heaters can be cranked up, the outdoor experience would be more enjoyable.
We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your most recent brunch experience! We hope to welcome you back again soon for some more classics. All the best, Stuart K.
Very good time spent on the patio of Cluny. The service is fast and very pleasant and the food is good served in a nice setting. I will come back !
Marie, our guests deserve only the absolute best! Thank you for showing your support. We'd love to have you join us again soon. Stuart K.
Restaurant food service ambience always good. Small attached bakery the staff is always bad. Bakery nice staff bad. Takes away from overall experience.
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback Glenn. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your experience with us many times, but are surprised to see that the same is not said of our adjacent Boulangerie. Please know that a manager would have been happy to speak with you had you any concerns about our staff. Regardless, we appreciate you reaching out and hope to see you again soon to show you another memorable meal. Until then, Stuart K.
Excellent service and amazing food. Highly recommend.
We are so glad to have given you a wonderful experience. We hope that you'll join us again soon! All the best, Stuart K.
Certainly an off day for Cluny, really not sure what happened. A very frustrating and slow dining experience. It may have been a staffing issue but we certainly left feeling incredibly disappointed.
We ordered sparkling water, the server brought the bottle but forgot to bring glasses which we had to remind him about two times. Then our server forgot to ring in our appetizer (the manager was nice enough to take care of this for us). We ordered a cocktail without ice and it came with ice (almost a cup of ice). The beef tenderloin was ordered on the rare side of medium rare and it came out done medium well to well done. It was just one disappointment after another.
On a positive note, the outside patio area offers a beautiful dining atmosphere.
Great outdoor patio! Heaters were a welcome treat. Food was delicious and filling. Best French Inion Soup.
We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience! We look forward to welcoming you in again soon for some more French onion soup sometime soon. Until then, Stuart K.
The outdoor patio is great! Lots of heaters and tables are socially distanced. French onion soup is a MUST!
Frankie, We're happy we made sure you had a memorable time. Your must-try recommendation of our French onion soup is a favourite of ours as well. We would love to welcome you back again soon to discover more delicious flavours! Best, Stuart K.
Cluny is rated 4.4 stars by 3484 OpenTable diners.
Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting reservations at the moment.