Chateau Morrisette

4.6
3334 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Farm-to-table
Our rustic and elegant Blue Ridge setting reflects our Provencal and New American influenced farm-to-table cuisine. Food pairings complement our award-winning wines in a fine dining experience. Sit fireside in winter or take in the view from the patio in warmer months, chosen by OpenTable diners as among the best in America.

Specials

What 3334 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.6
service
4.6
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Quiet
96% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
B
Richmond
17 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Such a lovely spot! Grabbed an outside table because the weather was amazing but the dining room was beautiful. It’s wuite a drive down winding roads but the food and setting were perfect. We were celebrating my daughter’s Virginia Tech graduation and it was certainly worth the drive.

Report
Helpful
LB
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 5

Delicious food, great service, all around a great experience!

Report
Helpful
DL
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

My family and I have been visiting the Chateau for several years. We have been at various times of the year and to celebrate special occasions. We are never disappointed in the quality of the food, wine or service provided. This past Saturday we celebrated my 65 th birthday.

Report
Helpful
LE
Louisville
6 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 5

A bit of a drive but beautiful route. Worth the trip. Would definitely go again.

Chateau Morrisette
Responded 2 days ago

Thank you for dining with us. We're gratified to hear you found your experience worthwhile and hope you can join us again soon.

Report
Helpful
CG
Greensboro
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great service and food! Beautiful location!

Chateau Morrisette
Responded 2 days ago

Thanks for dining with us and sharing your review!

Report
Helpful
T
1 review
Dined on May 12, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

It was our first trip, and we will be coming back as soon as we can!!!

Chateau Morrisette
Responded 2 days ago

Thank for dining with us. We look forward to your return!

Report
Helpful
PG
Richmond
1 review
Dined on May 12, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 5ambience 3

I always love Chateau and it is one of mom's favorites. But this experience was not that good. Our table was set in the middle of the floor and in the middle of all the traffic. I ordered the crab cake sandwich which arrived alone on a plate. The sandwich was not hot. The french onion soup was good. Mom's soup was good but again not hot. The desert choices were not great and we evidentally picked the wrong thing. We could not eat the desert. I left on mother's day feeling my mom did not enjoy her meal. The service was good. But I am sorry to say this trip was not up to the usual caliber.

Chateau Morrisette
Responded 2 days ago

Thank you for choosing to brunch with us on a special day. We are sorry to hear that the meal fell short for you. We appreciate the feedback and hope your day was wonderful otherwise.

Report
Helpful
RS
1 review
Dined on May 12, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The food was awesome and it was a very
warming place to eat my waiter was so friendly and helpful

Chateau Morrisette
Responded 2 days ago

We are delighted to hear your meal with us was enjoyable. Thank you for joining us and for sharing your review.

Report
Helpful
MG
1 review
Dined on May 12, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

This place might be a bit high in cost but I wanted to treat myself for Mother's Day. I like the food and ambiance. Thank you.

Chateau Morrisette
Responded 2 days ago

We are so glad to hear you treated yourself and enjoyed it! You are very welcome; thank you for brunching with us and for taking a moment to review.

Report
Helpful
HW
Charleston
3 reviews
Dined on May 12, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The food was excellent as usual, and the service was superb.

Chateau Morrisette
Responded 2 days ago

Thank you for your continued patronage and for taking time to review.

Report
Helpful
B
1 review
Dined on May 5, 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

Had a nice experience. Went for Mother's day on a Sunday for brunch. My only concern is that we ordered two orders of French onion soup but only one was available. It was around 2pm so not close to closing time. Our waitress was awesome very personable and efficient! The food tasted great and I hope to go back again sometime.

Chateau Morrisette
Responded 2 days ago

Thank you for sharing the special day with us. We appreciate your feedback, and we hope to see you again soon.

Report
Helpful
BC
1 review
Dined on May 5, 2019
Overall 3food 4service 4ambience 4

I found the Sunday brunch menu to be very limited and overpriced for the amount of food you received. Everything else was very nice, as usual but this was the first time for brunch and we left hungry.

Chateau Morrisette
Responded 2 days ago

We're sorry to hear our brunch offerings did not suit you. Thank you for your patronage and feedback.

Report
Helpful
JL
Naples
1 review
Dined on May 2, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Very nice lunch with a great view. Wine tasting was nice

Report
Helpful
t
Richmond
7 reviews
Dined on May 1, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 4

This was probably the 20th or more time I have been to CM, and enjoyed it every time. The service was the best ever. And the food was great!

Report
Helpful
M
Richmond
3 reviews
Dined on April 28, 2019
Overall 5food 4service 4ambience 3

We enjoyed our experience. The food was good and the service was good. The only problem we had was the people sitting close to us were very loud.

Report
Helpful
JL
1 review
Dined on April 28, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 4

How can you pass up eating your favorite meal in this beautiful location? Lovely ambiance although the food wasn’t as good this time.

Report
Helpful
SF
Richmond
1 review
Dined on April 27, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We always have an excellent experience at Chateau Morrisette. We have been multiple times with our younger daughter. Our favorite place to dine when the weather is comfortable is on the veranda. The view is incredible. On this last visit, we wanted to take advantage of the spring wine sale at the winery so we went there first and bought several bottles of wine. We also took our older daughter who had never been to Chateau Morrisette. She had heard us speak about what a great place Chateau Morrisette is so she was thrilled when we asked her to go with us. She was even more thrilled when she saw that they had duck on the menu which is her absolute favorite! We have also had our office Christmas party at Chateau Morrisette and it was a great experience.

Chateau Morrisette
Responded on April 30, 2019

Thank you for making us a part of your life and sharing us with your family. It is our pleasure to provide a gratifying experience. Thank you for taking time to share your review.

Report
Helpful
OT
Greensboro
3 reviews
Dined on April 27, 2019
Overall 3food 2service 4ambience 4

Was disappointed that the menu had changed. Always had been a gourmet experience. This was sub par The French dip sandwich was 1 piece of fatty meat on a hot dog bun. For $16
The views and restaurant is very nice as is the service. The menu needs improvement. Always loved the shrimp and grits ....

Chateau Morrisette
Responded on April 30, 2019

We're sorry to hear you did not enjoy your meal. Our menus change seasonally with local and regional offerings. We are glad that you have enjoyed your previous visits and look forward to the opportunity to provide a better experience on your next visit.

Report
Helpful
WG
Richmond
1 review
Dined on April 21, 2019
Overall 1food 1service 1ambience 1

We drove 1 hour and 15 minutes to the restaurant only to be told they were closed due to a power failure that happened at 7am. So there we were Easter Sunday trying to find a nice place to have our Easter meal. I would think someone could have contacted us either by email or phone. if the issue is with open table not being notified by the restaurant in order to avoid us driving so far for no reason then I shall not use it again and call the restaurant directly and book my reservation through them direct.
Very disapointed

Chateau Morrisette
Responded on April 30, 2019

We share your disappointment. Our restaurant staff did attempt to contact everyone who had reservations as soon as we confirmed we would close, beginning at 10a. I am very sorry to hear that a message did not reach you. If you have not heard from a restaurant manager, I encourage you to phone or email us. Thank you for planning to join us on a special day.

Report
Helpful
AN
Richmond
1 review
Dined on April 21, 2019
Overall 1food 1service 1ambience 1

We could not dine with you because there was no electricity.

Chateau Morrisette
Responded on April 30, 2019

We share your disappointment. We hope you can join us soon.

Report
Helpful
OT
Richmond
2 reviews
Dined on April 20, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Food and wine were wonderful in taste and presentation. The lamb bolognese was unique and delicious.

Chateau Morrisette
Responded on April 30, 2019

Thank you for dining with us and taking time to review.

Report
Helpful
SS
1 review
Dined on April 20, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Wonderful food, wine, service and setting. I will return for dinner soon.

Chateau Morrisette
Responded on April 30, 2019

We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you, and we look forward to your next visit.

Report
Helpful
t
Richmond
1 review
Dined on April 18, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Lovely birthday celebration with my husband including scenic view of the mountains on a beautiful (though windy) sunny day. Could not have been a better experience! THANKS to all who created the opportunity, grew the food, prepared and served the meal and helped to make the experience possible.

Chateau Morrisette
Responded on April 30, 2019

Thank you for sharing your special day with us! It is our pleasure to have honored the occasion with a memorable experience. We welcome your next visit.

Report
Helpful
EM
1 review
Dined on April 17, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We thoroughly enjoyed this lunch! Good food, good wine, friendly service!

Chateau Morrisette
Responded on April 30, 2019

We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for visiting and reviewing!

Report
Helpful
CS
1 review
Dined on April 13, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 3ambience 5

It's always lovely to visit the Chateau and drink their wine, and the food was stupendous! Terrific as always. Can't wait til the weather improves so we can return to sit on the porch and dine!

Chateau Morrisette
Responded on April 30, 2019

Thank you for enjoying your day with us! We have begun seating on the terrace. We look forward to having you back.

Report
Helpful
MZ
1 review
Dined on April 11, 2019
Overall 3food 2service 4ambience 5

It is worth it to just be on this mountain with that view! The service at lunch was great, but the food was a bit disappointing. I had the trout almondine with green beans. There were three times as many beans as I could possibly eat on the plate set under the trout (so hard to get to), and they were terribly overcooked (nothing like a flaccid green bean to spoil a meal). The trout was fresh but smothered in butter. My friend had duck. It was overdone. In spite of the food disappointments, we enjoyed our lunch on a beautiful spring day just off of the Blueridge Parkway.

Chateau Morrisette
Responded on April 30, 2019

Thank you for visiting us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your day and appreciate your feedback. We welcome you to try us again as spring unfolds for a fuller view!

Report
Helpful
B
Richmond
1 review
Dined on April 10, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We had the best service and attention to detail. The food was fabulous. When they couldn't find our member information, the marketing director personally came to our table to try to speak with us about the situation and followed up with an email to help us correct the problem. One of our all time favorite places to dine!

Chateau Morrisette
Responded on April 30, 2019

It was a pleasure to meet you! Thank you for your loyal patronage and generous good humor. We are delighted that you continue to enjoy our wines and dining.

Report
Helpful
SN
West Virginia
1 review
Dined on April 7, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We had an excellent waitress. Our food was delicious and the variety of options made it easy for us to find something we all liked. Will definitely visit again!

Chateau Morrisette
Responded on April 30, 2019

Thank you for dining with us and taking time to review! We look forward to your return.

Report
Helpful
JC
1 review
Dined on April 6, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Excellent lunch for 4 after a tasting for two and consequently two bottles purchased while dining. Excellent chardonnay and petit manseng. Erin was a wonderful barista at the winery counter. Julie was our Gracious waitress who served us well with a variety of foods- trout salad, pan fried chicken, and crab cake sandwiches.... all tasty but quite different from one another. We dined outside on the porch overlooking a long panorama of magnificent Appalachian mountains

Chateau Morrisette
Responded on April 30, 2019

Thank you for dining and tasting with us. You were lucky with the early outdoor seating weather. We are often 10F cooler than surrounding lowlands, which is a treat for much of the year but tricky in early spring and late fall! We hope you can return soon.

Report
Helpful
ML
Raleigh
5 reviews
Dined on April 6, 2019
Overall 3food 1service 4ambience 4

This is the first time I have been disappointed in the food at this restaurant. My husband and I discovered it on a 50th Wedding Anniversary Trip and we have enjoyed it many times since. I have taken my wine club, friends and my daughters.
However this time it was not good at all. Our food was so salty we actually sent back the soup. My daughters french dip was "chewy". My trout and haricort vert was swimming in grease - not a pleasant grease.
As well for the last two years we have enjoyed the Vin Gris.However this year it had a bite to it that I did not care for
We will go back because everyone has an off day but if it is the same we will cross it off our list!

Chateau Morrisette
Responded on April 30, 2019

We are grateful for your repeated custom. Thank you for sending back the soup - the culinary team appreciates the opportunity to adjust a dish to your satisfaction. We appreciate your feedback.

Report
Helpful
OT
New York Area
1 review
Dined on March 31, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Wonderful food and gorgeous views

Report
Helpful
BR
Richmond
1 review
Dined on March 30, 2019
Overall 4food 3service 4ambience 5

We love coming to the Chateau, such a lovely venue at all times of the year. Sad there was no fire in the fireplace in March as promised but quite a good sunset. Service and attention was excellent and our request honored, table by window but forgot my birthday! Husbands food Trout, excellent and starters and dessert very super, but was disappointed with my $20 lamb. I had envisioned chunks of lamb but it was just ground up with sauce so it could could have been beef as I could not taste the lamb at all. I would not choose Lamb with gnocchi again. I love lamb and like to taste it.

Chateau Morrisette
Responded on April 30, 2019

No fire in March is certainly a lapse on our part - we apologise. Thank you for visiting and sharing your feedback.

Report
Helpful
DR
Birmingham
2 reviews
Dined on March 30, 2019
Overall 4food 3service 5ambience 5

As a regular visitor, we usually dine at the winery once a month or more, we like the service, ambiance and food. On this night I ordered a garden salad that came with a vinegrette dressing. I could not enjoy my salad for the saturation of dressing, it was swimming in dressing. Otherwise our experience was pleasant. I love pasta and wish it would be on the menu regularly. Thank you.

Chateau Morrisette
Responded on April 30, 2019

We appreciate your regular patronage and your feedback. Chef Slade's Spaghetti with Crystallized Ginger may be calling your name!

Report
Helpful
PB
1 review
Dined on March 30, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Our dinner was outstanding. We had not been there for dinner for quite some time. Everything was excellent

Chateau Morrisette
Responded on April 30, 2019

Thank you for your visit and for taking time to review. We hope you can return sooner next time!

Report
Helpful
S
Richmond
1 review
Dined on March 30, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great restaurant. The food was delicious and the service was excellent. We always look forward to taking visitors here for a beautiful treat in rural southwest Virginia.

Chateau Morrisette
Responded on April 30, 2019

Thank you for dining with us and reviewing.

Report
Helpful
RS
Philadelphia
21 reviews
Dined on March 29, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We had a lovely dinner with out of town friends. The food was fantastic, the service was solid. The gnocchi were light and airy, the sauces were delicious. Our friend rated the burger very highly. The server suggested wine pairings that went very well with the meal. Coffee and dessert were a nice finish. We’ve been going to the Chateau for years. This is the best that it has been in quite a while. Kudos to Slade and Nicole!

Chateau Morrisette
Responded on April 1, 2019

Thank you for your loyal patronage. We are honored to read such praise from someone with such perspective on our offerings. Thank you for taking time to share your review.

Report
Helpful
PG
1 review
Dined on March 29, 2019
Overall 5food 3service 5ambience 5

Our waitress was the best ever. She knew wines and everything. Give that girl a raise. The food was ok. I think you need more foods that are lunch and not major heavy foods . Quiche was be awesome

Chateau Morrisette
Responded on April 1, 2019

Thank you for dining with us! We're glad you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for the feedback and for sharing your review.

Report
Helpful
SU
Charleston
6 reviews
Dined on March 24, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

This was our first visit to Chateau Morrisette and definitely won't be the last. The restaurant is beautiful, the service was excellent, the food was so delicious and most importantly, the staff were so friendly and welcoming. Fires were burning in the fireplace which made the room warm and inviting and the reality of being in the mountains were truly there. the featured mimosa was not to our liking so Julie, our server, offered to make a different one, which was so good. We felt the prices were very reasonable and the amount of food you were served was quite abundant. After brunch, we walked down to the winery to learn about the different wines and again, greeted with such warmth and friendliness. We were not able to stay for a tour but definitely plan to go back and allow time for that. There are many outside tables and gazebos to sit and relax with a glass of wine while taking in the beauty the mountains and surrounding valleys. Definitely a restaurant and winery to visit.

Chateau Morrisette
Responded on March 27, 2019

Thank you for your visit and for your time sharing your review. We look forward to having you join us again soon.

Report
Helpful
L
New York Area
4 reviews
Dined on March 17, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Steak and eggs one of the favorites. French toast was just as yummy and loved the Cherry Mimosa. Good menu with variety and my family really enjoyed the meal. Jason was an excellent server. Can't wait to go back.

Chateau Morrisette
Responded on March 27, 2019

We look forward to having you back. Thank you for your visit and review.

Report
Helpful
W
1 review
Dined on March 16, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We had a lovely experience with awesome food and incredible wine (of course)!!

Chateau Morrisette
Responded on March 27, 2019

Thank you for dining and sipping with us!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
84

Tweets by Chateau Morrisette