Cascal

4.6
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
3389 Reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Tapas / Small Plates
Old World taste meets New World appeal in this vibrant restaurant concept by veteran Restauranteur, Don Durante. Serving spirited Pan-Latin cuisine, Cascal is a place to meet and linger with friends over exotic cocktails and enticing foods with bold flavors and personality from Spain and Latin-America.
What 3389 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.4
service
4.4
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
95% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Filters
OT
San Francisco
1 review
Dined a day ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Love it, just so loud.

FJ
San Francisco
8 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We love Cascal and go there often before TheatreWorks matinees.
The fish we adore has been off the menu for some time and we were pleased to learn it was coming back...but not until Wednesday, we were told.
Then the manager said he thought the kitchen could prepare two orders right now...which they did.
That and the eggplant made for a most tasty lunch!
Above and beyond as always at Cascal!

Cascal
Responded 2 days ago

We're so happy to hear you had a pleasant experience with us, FoodieJ! We're always working hard to please our guests as much as we can, and yes, the Pescado Marbella is officially back on the menu! Thanks for your review and hope you come back soon =)

Report
VA
1 review
Dined on October 5, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Had a great time celebrating my anniversary at your location. My wife was very happy with the live music and the service. Definitely going back again.

Cascal
Responded 2 days ago

Thanks for your review, Victor! We're happy to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your anniversary with us =) Please come back soon!

Report
OT
1 review
Dined on October 4, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 3

Interesting menu, lots of authentic Spanish dishes and my gluten-free wife was delighted at the selection. House made Sangria highly recommended, will come back!

Cascal
Responded 2 days ago

We're so happy that you and your wife had a great time dining with us! Thanks for the review, and please come back soon!

Report
OT
San Francisco
1 review
Dined on October 2, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Birthday dinner my best friend treated me out to! We both love this place and I chose it cause we were craving the paella and empanadas! 🤤 didn’t take a pic of them cause we ate them real quick!

Cascal
Responded 2 days ago

We're so happy to hear you had a great birthday! Thanks for your review, and please come back anytime! =)

Report
O
San Francisco
22 reviews
Dined on October 1, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 3

For starters, the Combo Plate appetizer was good but, my wife found a hair in the stuffed pepper. The waiter replaced the plate but, our appetite was gone. They should have removed it from our bill... but they didn't. The house Paella was overcooked and dry. The taste was decent but we have had better elsewhere. The sangria was good, $35 for a carafe. Service was so-so, had to flag down the waiter a few times for water, etc. Not sure we will come back

Cascal
Responded 2 days ago

We're sorry to hear you experienced issues while dining with us, Opsman. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences experienced, and you can be sure that we take your feedback very seriously so that issues like this don't happen in the future. Thanks for your review and hope you come back and give us another shot!

Report
SH
San Francisco
12 reviews
Dined on September 27, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Friend’s 90th birthday.
The food, as always, was stellar, as was the service.

Cascal
Responded on October 5, 2019

Thanks so much for your review and for being our customer, Sally! We're happy to hear your friend had a great 90th's birthday =) Thanks for choosing us and please come back soon!

Report
S
San Francisco
24 reviews
Dined on September 24, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 2ambience 4

I was a regular at Cascal's when I had business in Mountain View. I think it's been about a year since I was there. Had a reservation at 1PM which was unnecessary . Hardly anyone was there. The waiter was really not very good. Got ice tea with lunch and he came back about 20 minutes later asking if we wanted more ice tea, as our glasses were empty. The Cuban Wrap was not as good as I remembered. I think the reason the place was so empty IS the food and service has gone DOWNHILL. Sad. I used to really like this place. Will I go again? I doubt it.

Cascal
Responded on September 26, 2019

Thanks for your review, Spence. We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences with the food and service, as it's not representative of the experience we want to offer our guests. If you're interested, we would be happy to speak with you further to obtain more insight on the issues you encountered. Hope you come back to give us another shot!

Report
MH
San Francisco
1 review
Dined on September 18, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Greeted promptly, had option to sit outside which was perfect. Waiter advised us it was happy hour and we all enjoyed a round of drinks.

We shared the corn poblano sauté and two orders of wild mushroom empanadas, just right for 4 people.

Everyone ordered something different for dinner, crab tostaditos, braised pork belly, arepas,& Cuban wrap. Food was delicious!

Service was excellent all food delivered at same time waiter was attentive, we all shared warm chocolate soufflé cake just right!

Cascal
Responded on September 26, 2019

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your patio dining experience with us, Monica! Thanks so much for taking the time to write the review, and we hope you come back soon to try more of our options =)

Report
OT
San Francisco
2 reviews
Dined on September 14, 2019
Overall 3food 1service 1ambience 3

I have eating at cascal for the past 7 yrs, but my recent experience there was less than mediocre. The food was cold, tasteless, and the service was extremely poor. I am not going back for a long time.

Cascal
Responded on September 18, 2019

Thank you for your review and for being our customer for the past 7 years. We sincerely apologize for any issues you experienced during your visit, and we hope you can provide us with further feedback on what happened, so we can prevent it from occurring in the future. We appreciate each and every one of our customers, and though off-days and problems can occur, we want to avoid them as much as possible. Hope you come back and let us make it up to you!

Report
l
San Francisco
14 reviews
Dined on September 14, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 3

It is a Tapas style restaurant but the prices are high for what you get.

Cascal
Responded on September 18, 2019

Thanks for the review, lesm! And we sincerely apologize if you found our prices inconvenient. You can be sure our priority is to deliver top quality food, outstanding service, and a great vibe, so that the overall experience of all our guests is worth every penny =) Hope you come back soon!

Report
C
1 review
Dined on September 14, 2019
Overall 4food 5service 4ambience 4

Great food and service overall. We originally made reservation for 5 but turned out to have 6 and they were able to accommodate us. However, we were there to celebrate a birthday and it was specifically stated on our reservation but nothing was done about it. If they don’t celebrate customer’s birthday then why ask?

Cascal
Responded on September 18, 2019

Thanks for your review, Cristina! We're glad you had a good overall experience dining with us =) You can be sure your feedback regarding the birthday celebration has been noted, and we will work harder so that we don't miss reservation notes like this one in the future. Hope you come back soon!

Report
OT
San Francisco
1 review
Dined on September 13, 2019
Overall 4food 5service 4ambience 3

We’ve been to Cascal countless of times over the last 2 years it’s one of our favorite places to go on Friday night date. And this was the place where we had our first date so it’s special to us even now that we are married.
The food is great, our favorite is the pork belly, paella and short ribs. Plantain and sweet potato Mash is great for dessert.even if it’s a side dish. What I love most is there are many dishes in the menu that is Gluten Free and that is important for someone who is on a Paleo diet like us. We haven’t tried anything that we didn’t like and there are still more we would explore in the future.
Service is fast, friendly and helpful. I hope they keep that good quality of customer service. Ambience is good although sometimes tables seems to be close to each other but most times we are given great spots. Looking forward to another visit and we have yet to experience listening to the band since they usually come later in the night while we usually visit earlier. But go ahead and try them. Worth it!

Cascal
Responded on September 18, 2019

Thanks so much for your review and for being our customer! We really really appreciate your words, they are what motivate us to work hard to make sure all our guests have the best experience with us. Hope you come back soon for some dancing as well =)

Report
V
San Francisco
4 reviews
Dined on September 12, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 4ambience 3

This restaurant is so loud the waiter can’t hear you when you place your order! It’s by far the noisiest restaurant I’ve ever been in. Food was good however and our waiter good natured.

Cascal
Responded on September 18, 2019

Thanks for your review, Vanna, and we sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you had during your visit. We suggest trying our outside patio in your next visit, which is very pleasant for a meal and the noise level much lower than inside. We're happy to hear you enjoyed our food =) Hope you come back soon!

Report
OT
San Francisco
5 reviews
Dined on September 9, 2019
Overall 2food 3service 3ambience 1

We’ve been coming here since they opened and it WAS one of our favorite spots. I made reservations ahead so we could celebrate a special occasion and talk. This time there was a huge party of 100 in the main space and the noise was almost deafening which made our special dinner a bit stressful. It was hard to think let alone talk. The food was not up to the usual standard and the waiters were too busy to serve us adequately (although they tried). I was disappointed. It seems if there is a party booked of 100 people, maybe it should be considered a private party where they close, for it really was a loud bunch which made it somewhat unpleasant for us. Not sure we’ll be back.

Cascal
Responded on September 18, 2019

Thanks for your review, and our most sincere apologies for the issues you encountered during your visit with us. Please know that your feedback has been well noted to avoid issues like this in the future. That being said, we would love to speak further with you about the inconveniences that happened and how we can take action to prevent them in the future. Hope you come back and let us make it up to you!

Report
OM
San Francisco
5 reviews
Dined on September 9, 2019
Overall 5food 4service 4ambience 5

I've been to Cascal many times, but hadn't been for a while before this time.
I was pleasantly surprised by the vast improvement in the quality of the food. I'm a big fan (and critic) of Paella. On this visit, the Paella was truly excellent.
Well done for improving the food quality and the service.

Cascal
Responded on October 5, 2019

We are so so happy to hear that, Omar! We are continuously gathering feedback from our customers so that we can improve the experience any way we can, and it's great to hear you thought so. Thanks for your review and please keep coming back to visit us =)

Report
LR
1 review
Dined on September 9, 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

Sat outside so noise level was good , paella was good

Cascal
Responded on September 18, 2019

Thanks for your review, Linda! We're happy to hear you had a good experience dining with us, please come back soon!

Report
CH
San Francisco
10 reviews
Dined on September 7, 2019
Overall 3food 4service 2ambience 4

I have only been here twice when in the area pre-concert @ Shoreline. The food is always good. I love the pan-Latin dishes, wines and sangria is fun. On this most recent visit, the service was an issue. We were seated and no server. Others nearby promptly had their cocktails who were seated after us. It was a 30 min wait. The food came out while I was still eating salad (something I specifically discussed with server). Then there was a small quality control issue on one of the dishes which I would think should be caught at the pass. In the end, did enjoy the great flavors of the paella, scallops, and Valencia salad.

Cascal
Responded on September 18, 2019

Thanks for your review, Cheryl! We are deeply sorry about the issues you encountered with the service during your visit. We want to assure you that we work hard to avoid this type of incidents, as providing outstanding service is one of our priorities. We are actively listening to feedback like yours from our customers in order to improve and make corrections. We hope you come back and let us make it up to you!

Report
JS
1 review
Dined on September 4, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 2ambience 3

I am not sure I would go back because of the service. Our waiter took our order and never returned. Others brought our food out one item at a time and at each I asked for more water but never got it. I asked 3 different people and each agreed, walked away and never returned. We couldn't get our waiters attention until he finally dropped off the bill. The food was ok but nothing so great that I would give up poor service for.

Cascal
Responded on September 7, 2019

We are deeply sorry you had inconveniences with our service, Janet. We'd like to assure you that one of our main priorities is to offer great service to all our guests, so you can be sure we will take your feedback seriously to avoid issues like this in the future. Thanks for your review and hope you come back to let us make it up to you =)

Report
OT
San Francisco
5 reviews
Dined on September 4, 2019
Overall 4food 5service 3ambience 5

Nice outdoor seating with tasty creations! Service just OK, but birthday celebration made it very worth it. Thank You!!

Cascal
Responded on September 7, 2019

Thank you for your review! Please come back soon!

Report
P
New York Area
5 reviews
Dined on September 2, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Great place to gather with friends and to share the food! Highly recommended Tapas in the bay area.

Cascal
Responded on September 7, 2019

Thanks for your review and recommendation, Patricia! We're happy you've enjoyed your time with us, please come back soon!

Report
MB
San Francisco
12 reviews
Dined on September 1, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great food and service. I will definitely recommend for either lunch or dinner

Cascal
Responded on September 7, 2019

Thanks for your recommendation and for your review, Michael! We really appreciate it =) Please come back soon!

Report
OT
Phoenix
3 reviews
Dined on September 1, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Talked and ate very happily!

Cascal
Responded on September 7, 2019

We love to hear that! Thanks for your review!

Report
RF
15 reviews
Dined on September 1, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Alway enjoyable. Relaxing atmosphere before the theater.

k
San Francisco
1 review
Dined on August 31, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great service. Great food. Great music = Gypsy Tribe!

OT
San Francisco
1 review
Dined on August 31, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 3ambience 4

Great food, slow service

Cascal
Responded on September 7, 2019

Thanks for your review! We apologize for any inconveniences with the service and we hope you come back soon!

Report
W
San Francisco
71 reviews
Dined on August 31, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We enjoyed a great dinner at an outdoor table before the theater. The flavors and food were great and very different from what we usually find. WE enjoyed it very much.

Cascal
Responded on September 7, 2019

We are so happy to hear that you had a good pre-theatre experience with us, Walt! We do like to send our guests happy to their shows =) Please come back soon!

Report
OT
San Francisco
1 review
Dined on August 30, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 3ambience 4

Waiter was kind of slow

DN
San Francisco
5 reviews
Dined on August 26, 2019
Overall 5food 4service 4ambience 4

Food was very good and service was excellent.

Cascal
Responded on August 29, 2019

Thanks for your review, DNS56! We're happy you enjoyed dining with us, and we really hope you come back soon! =)

Report
B
New York Area
4 reviews
Dined on August 25, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Excellent food and service

Cascal
Responded on August 29, 2019

We're glad to read you had a great experience with us, Bern! Thanks for your review and please come back soon!

Report
R
New York Area
6 reviews
Dined on August 25, 2019
Overall 4food 5service 3ambience 5

asked for a high chair made the note during reservation, asked at the time of being seated. didn’t get it 🤔

Cascal
Responded on August 29, 2019

Thanks for your review, Runningsnail. We deeply apologize for the inconvenience with the high chair, and you can be sure your feedback was heard, to avoid issues like this from occurring in the future. Hope you come back soon!

Report
OT
San Francisco
2 reviews
Dined on August 23, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 4

Awesome food and ambiance

Cascal
Responded on September 7, 2019

Thanks so much for your review!

Report
MW
Seattle
4 reviews
Dined on August 23, 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

We had the meat tasting menu, and it was full of all sorts of different flavors! Normally tasting menus have anywhere between 4 and 8 different courses or dishes, but this one had 12! They were often small, but delicious! There were some spicy courses, so if you're a spice wimp (which we are not), be careful.

Cascal
Responded on August 29, 2019

We're happy you enjoyed your experience dining with us, Mary! We really appreciate your words and recommendation =) Hope to see you back soon!

Report
SY
Toronto
1 review
Dined on August 22, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Paella was one of the best I had (including those in Spain)!

Cascal
Responded on August 29, 2019

Wow, we're so honored and excited to read that Samuel! Thanks so much for your review, please come back soon!

Report
T
San Francisco
1 review
Dined on August 22, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 3

If you can and weather is nice eat outside. Noise level inside is horrendous.
Small plates are very tasty, and new impossible burger sliders well flavored if a bit chunky. Mushroom dishes are terrific. Enjoy

Cascal
Responded on September 7, 2019

Thanks for your review, Tantej! We're happy you enjoyed our food, please come back soon!

Report
MS
Tahoe
3 reviews
Dined on August 18, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

I just love Cascal. The food is out of this world and the service is outstanding!

Cascal
Responded on August 29, 2019

Thanks for your review and for being our customer, Maria! We're happy to hear that you've had great experiences with us =) Please come back soon!

Report
OT
San Francisco
1 review
Dined on August 17, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 3ambience 5

Seated us right away on the patio which was great.
Initial service a little slow.
Food and wine excellent.

Cascal
Responded on August 20, 2019

Thanks so much for your review! We're happy you enjoyed our food and wine, and hope you come back to visit soon!

Report
JH
San Francisco
7 reviews
Dined on August 17, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Outstanding across the board, as usual!! We'll be back. :-)

Cascal
Responded on August 20, 2019

Thanks so much for your review and for being our customer, Jason! We're happy you've had great experiences dining with us! Please come back soon! =)

Report
RK
1 review
Dined on August 15, 2019
Overall 3food 2service 3ambience 3

Food did not have good flavor/tasteless. Waitress was hurried and somewhat clumsy. Busboy refilled iced tea but the waitress never returned to ask about our lunch.

Cascal
Responded on August 20, 2019

Thanks for your review, Richard. We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you might have encountered during your visit with us. We would love it if you could provide us with further feedback on the specific issues you experienced, in order to avoid their occurrence in the future as our priority is to deliver the best food and service to all our guests. Hope to hear back from you soon and thanks!

Report
SD
1 review
Dined on August 14, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Got seated right away (even though we were 30 minutes early). Love this place 😊

Cascal
Responded on August 20, 2019

Thanks so much for your review, SomeDude! We're really happy to hear you had a great experience dining with us and hope you come back soon!

Report
1
2
3
85