Cafe Champagne Restaurant - Thornton Winery
We’ve been to Thornton Winery for lunch many times in the past but unfortunately our meal this time was just so-so ( the complimentary desserts for our birthday really weren’t edible) and the items were just way overpriced for a lunch menu! I know Temecula is no longer our reasonably priced hidden gem, but the prices are now on par with Napa and Paso Robles. A sad but true reality 😕
We had a delicious lunch and our server took excellent care of us. The atmosphere at Thornton is understated and elegant, they have a tremendously thoughtful menu with so many wonderful options. Highly recommend the champagne flight - it's not to be missed. We'll be back again soon.
Had a terrible experience for mother’s day weekend. Had reservations At 3pm . 15 minutes after we were seated the music ended. We were told when we made the reservations that all moms in our party would get a glass of champagne. That was not the case . There was flies all over the food. We spent almost $900 for a party of 8 and when we called the manager Kyle to complain he took 3 days to return our call and pretty much said sorry can’t do nothing about your experience. I will never eat there again and I will make sure I tell all my friends about this awful experience we had on a day that was supposed to be extra special for us. Kyle did not even offer any type of apology. Horrible horrible place for the price we paid !!!
It was a perfect Mother's Day for Brunch at Cafe Champagne/Thornton Winery. The food was good however could have been excellent if it had been protected from the flies in such a seasoned business. Proper flooring should have been thought of for the elderly mother's and women with heels on to avoid tripping and falls due to cement cracks. Nice music and service. I will consider coming again next year.
Stefanie our server and Alex her assistant made the food dining service experience exceptional.
It was ok. We went for the Mother’s Day brunch. In my opinion it wasn’t worth $70 per person.
So, many more other choice of gorgeous views, entertainment, ambiance, and great food. Do not waste your time, money ( very expensive for the quality) when other great places, just across the street.
We celebrated Mother's Day here and did so on a Saturday to beat the Sunday crowds. Overall, I liked the restaurant and the food was good. I just think they are way overpriced. We sat outside on the patio, and the tables/chairs were meh. For example, the chairs looked old and not matched. The table cloth looked very dated. I would expect more from a place like this. If you eat inside, it is a much better ambiance. I just wished they took that same ambiance outside. Don't get me wrong, the views are beautiful, so no complaints there.
Our server, Blake, was fantastic.
The food was great, but a little overpriced, as expected in Wine Country.
The female manager was rude. When we ordered a flight of wine, she said they were too busy to serve flights. There were only 4 other tables at the time.
We left our debit card at the table, and when we returned she BARKED "ID" twice before my husband could comprehend that she was literally barking orders at him.
While we loved the food, and Blake was great--we probably would not return after this experience.
We had excellent service, food and drinks!!! Highly recommend this place for Brunch and we will be back!
Excellent service, food and atmosphere. A great place to start a day of wine tasting!
Very organized and outstanding customer service! The food was delicious and of course the wine was great! The only complaint was that the chairs were a bit uncomfortable sitting in them during the concert (over 2 hours).
Easter brunch with family
We were there during one of the winery's Friday music night - to be outside on a beautiful spring evening, drinking delicious Thornton blanc de noirs, being served by Kyle (who was attentive & good at his job), having salmon (and the burger) cooked to perfection, singing along with the "dueling pianos," celebrating birthdays with family - was our idea of a wonderful experience.
Arrived on time for reservation - was seated in upper patio right behind a pole. There were several empty tables, requested to move to a table right next to ours (so view wouldn't be blocked) said they were for other reservations.. An hour later they were seating walk-ins at the empty tables!!! If they have people with reservations that request to be move they should accommodate those FIRST rather than offering them to walk ins!!
Good food, good service and great environment. Very much enjoyed it.
No outdoor heaters, bathrooms are in desperate need of updating. Too many people for the amount of stalls. Women were using Mens bathroom. Heard "No" too many times. Ran out of Zinfandel, no bread is served on Fridays and had to ask Manager if I could get a side of Fries? This establishment makes enough revenue to fix bathrooms and replace burned out lights. Servers need more power and not have to ask their manager. Fire Marshall and State Board Licensing need to be addressed. Oh ya right out front? Sobriety Station to top it off!
Hi Cristyc, Thanks for reaching out and we will share your experience with the owners and managers at our facility. Please know that we do have a limited menu on concert events due to the size of the crowds (we had over 600 people at this show and cannot accommodate all requests). We cannot provide heaters, due to a fire hazard and made sure to called/emailed all reservations to inform them prior. Unfortunately, we have absolutely no control over the sobriety check point that was conducted
I only attended because BIG was performing. I will have to visit on a regular day to give valid input.
I think the food is overpriced, a salad shouldn't cost over $20 dollars. You guys should come up with a happy hour menu. Or a menu with fair priced items and drinks. Being forced to buy food there for such an unreasonable price is unfair. Along with purchasing a ticket to see the entertainment.
Thank you for reaching out about our concert food menu. We value your feedback and it will be shared with the owners and managers at our facility. Please remember, our food menu was provided to all customers prior to them making a dinner reservation. In addition, dinner reservations are not required when attending our concerts. We do offer General Admission chairs where food is not required. Thanks again and hope to see you at another event. Cheers!
I will recommend this Café based on the food. Outstanding cheese.
The wine was not so good.
It was just ok due to the fact that 1 no one acknowledged we were there after about 5 minutes and having 5 people walk right past us. The server on the other hand was AMAZING but at the end of the dinner a worker from there literally yelled out to the dining room “everyone security is coming to lock the gates so if you wanna get out of here you need to go as soon as u can” which I found COMPLETELY distasteful and actually ruined ANY good thing about the dinner. There’s a way to convey closing for a restaurant and that was not it.
Had a great time and we find using this app for reservations is wonderful!
Overall it was a fun experience. Wasn’t too fond of the music but the atmosphere was good.
Need to try again before I would recommend. Our food was c ld and my chicken was so dry I didn't eat!
Everything was great, as always!
Second time dining here...
"Better than excellent" food and very attentive service!
Would definitely recommend.
Lovely lunch on the patio with great food and wine/champagne tastings. Jordan was our server and he was fantastic.
Celebrating friends birthday the staff was amazing.Our server Kyles wine knowledge and his menu knowledge and recommendations was spot on. The food was prepared perfectly and the restaurants atmosphere is high scale but not stuffy. One of our favorite places for lunch or dinner when enjoying Temecula wine country.
Food was great table was a little small but overall it was great time and very romantic
Good quiet evening, food took a little while to come out but luckily the waiter was very attentive and consistent. I had the shrimp scampi, but it had a lot of olive oile. Shrimp was ok, I felt it needed a little more flavor. But nice place none the less. I still enjoyed it.
Celebrated my brother-in-law’s 76th. Everyone said “this is a repeat!”
The food is quite good but overpriced. $25 for a hamburger is egregious. The location is pleasant and if the weather is nice, the patio is nice. I find the higher end wines at $17 a glass expensive but there are less expensive wines that are acceptable. I would note that I consider all of the various winery restaurants that I have been to in Temecula to be over priced. There are more attractively priced restaurants in other parts of the Temecula area so if you're interested in wine tasting, I recommend just tasting at the wineries and having lunch or brunch elsewhere.
I had guests visiting from out of town and Thornton really delivered. We had an excellent meal and and thoroughly enjoyed our flights in a warm, relaxing environment.
Belated Valentines Day Dinner
The service was excellent. Conner did a great job. I definitely recommend the fabulous french toast and delicious crab omelets.
The food was overpriced. But of poor quality. I sent my plate back it was so bad. The wine wasn't very good either. I don't recommend Thornton winery to anybody.
Overall it was a wonderful dinner experience. The food was wonderful, but a bit pricey. My main complaint was the service. We barely saw our server, and not once did they mention or do anything for the special occasion that we were celebrating.
My wife and I had a great time at this restaurant.