Bistro du Midi

4.6
2667 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
French
Bistro du Midi's cuisine features French Cuisine inspired by Coastal New England influences. Our wine list represents the true soul of a bistro wine list. In a classic French bistro, wine is very much a part of every meal. As such, we offer a variety of experiences and wines at a tremendous value in a range of prices. Our elegant yet relaxed environment overlooks Boston's beautiful Public Garden with a spectacular view. A street level Bistro features floor-to-ceiling windows, and in the spring and summer our patio provides some of the most optimal al fresco dining in the city.
avatar copy

Private Dining

Book your next event with us

View details

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Come celebrate Mother's Day at Bistro du Midi for brunch between 10.30 and 2.30 or during dinner from 4.30 to 8.00. Enjoy our coastal New England menu with French influence with your family and friends choosing from many exciting and innovative dishes!

Sunday, May 12, 2019

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Daily 5:00PM - 6:30PM

What 2667 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.5
service
4.6
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
91% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
OT
San Francisco
5 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall 1food 2service 1ambience 2

I have eaten here before with a great experience. Today, Easter Sunday, the restaurant was not busy at all. However, the service was dreadful and our food was cold.
It was a really poor experience.

Bistro du Midi
Responded 20 hours ago

Good afternoon and thank you for your feedback. I'm so sorry to hear that on Easter Sunday you didn't have the same good experience you did before. There is no excuse for cold food and dreadful service. Please, reach out to me at the restaurant at your convenience at 617-426-7878, as I would like to apologize personally, learn more about that and make up for it. My best - Federico

Report
Helpful
AM
New England
10 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Everything about the meal was superb from start to finish - the service was attentive and the food outstanding.

Bistro du Midi
Responded 20 hours ago

Thank you AnnM, Just what we like to hear! :) I hope to see you again sometimes soon - Federico

Report
Helpful
B
New England
8 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 4

Fabulous Easter brunch. Our meals were delicious and well prepared.

Report
Helpful
CC
New York Area
3 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 5

We had Easter brunch here. My tuna tartar left something to be desired, but my waffle and duck with rhubarb sauce was amazing. The lemon tart was fine, good lemon curd, crust was uninspiring.

We thought perhaps the staff was inexperienced as they were not very attentive and the entire brunch took 3 hours. I don’t mind leisurely meals, but there were periods when we wanted a drink or coffee that no one was around to attend to our needs.

The view of the flowering trees was incredible, and we had a thoroughly enjoyable Easter.

Bistro du Midi
Responded 21 hours ago

Good afternoon CulinaryCurator, Thank you for your review and the feedback. I'm glad that you enjoyed most of the food but I'm sorry to hear that service was slow and inattentive. Please, reach out to me at the restaurant at your convenience at 617-426-7878 as I would like to hear more about it and apologize personally about that. - Federico

Report
Helpful
OT
New England
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall 3food 3service 4ambience 5

Trying too hard with the tapioca olive oil

Report
Helpful
GT
New England
26 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall 4food 5service 4ambience 5

The food was good the service was good and the price we paid was very reasonable . We will return to try some of the other dishes.

Bistro du Midi
Responded 21 hours ago

Hi GasTronome and thank you for the nice review. We are looking forward to having you back. My best - Federico

Report
Helpful
R
1 review
Dined 7 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Everything we were served was delicious! Our children really enjoyed the doppio ravioli. I loved the framboise souffle and my husband loved the almond frangipane. All of the staff were very attentive and welcoming as this was our first visit.

Bistro du Midi
Responded 21 hours ago

Thank you Rebecca for the nice review! I'm glad that you and your family enjoyed everything. I hope to see you again. My best - Federico

Report
Helpful
M
Greensboro
3 reviews
Dined on April 13, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Excellent everything!!! Food was out of this world!!!

Bistro du Midi
Responded 21 hours ago

Hi Marathontwosome, Thank you for your five star review! I'm very happy that you enjoyed your time at Bistro du Midi. I'm hoping to seeing you soon again. Best - Federico

Report
Helpful
DB
New England
21 reviews
Dined on April 12, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Both food and service were amazing. The food is wonderfully prepared and beautifully presented.

Bistro du Midi
Responded 21 hours ago

Thank you DBBrookline for such a nice review! I'm looking forward to seeing you soon again. My best - Federico

Report
Helpful
R
New England
34 reviews
Dined on April 7, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great location. Excellent variety of meal choices. Interesting cocktails. The view from either downstairs or upstairs is terrific people watching. What an enjoyable Sunday Brunch.

Report
Helpful
C
New York Area
3 reviews
Dined on April 7, 2019
Overall 2food 1service 4ambience 4

This restaurant has a great atmosphere and I thought the service was very good. The staff is friendly and helpful.
Unfortunately, I was really disappointed in the food quality.
I ordered the truffle flatbread for $22. It was really average and hardly any truffle flavor. For $22 you would think they could have sprung for a little extra truffle oil. Also, there was a minimal amount of mushrooms.
Food quality is the only real reason to revisit a restaurant. Won't be revisiting this place.

Bistro du Midi
Responded on April 10, 2019

Hi 4Commonpalate, I am glad that our team provided a good service in a friendly atmosphere! I am so sorry though that you haven't enjoyed the food. Chef prepares out Truffle Flatbread by making in house a winter black truffle creme fresh that is more delicate compared to the truffle oil. The intention is to offer a more elegant flavor made with real ingredients only. I will be very happy if you would like to come back and let me guide you through our menu personally. My best - Federico

Report
Helpful
MG
New England
30 reviews
Dined on April 6, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great pre theater spot. They had a pre-theater special with discounted parking and dinner. Food was excellent and beautifully presented. We were six people and everyone enjoyed their appetizers and entrees. I love the location and the view as well. An absolutely lovely evening.

Bistro du Midi
Responded on April 9, 2019

Thank you so much MarionG for the five star review and the nice words! I am looking forward to hosting you and your guests again soon. Best - Federico

Report
Helpful
t
New York Area
16 reviews
Dined on April 6, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 5ambience 5

If this place were not where it is, you'd say, good service, nice design, fairly standard menu HEAVY on seafood/fish. But it is where it is and that keeps the crowds coming. Try for a table by the window if you can get it.

My steak had to be sent back since it was ordered on the medium side of medium rare and was served noticeably red. Also I asked it to be made as a steak au poivre and it really wasn't. Terrific salad and a good souffle served with a stingy amount of ice cream.

Report
Helpful
MM
New York Area
9 reviews
Dined on April 5, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Overall another very good meal at Bistro du Midi. The food and service were very good, as always. The one mystery of the evening was the bread basket. It was filled with cold flavorless bread and stale breadsticks. An easy fix for a fine dining restaurant... Looking forward to next time.

Bistro du Midi
Responded on April 9, 2019

Hello MalcomM and thank you for the nice review and your feedback. I'm so sorry that your bread basket wasn't up to your expectations. Please, make sure to ask for me next time you come in and I will personally take care of you! My best - Federico

Report
Helpful
JG
Philadelphia
8 reviews
Dined on April 4, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 3

It was fine food - good but not amazing. Way overpriced - entree, glass of wine, tip = $60. Come on

Bistro du Midi
Responded on April 9, 2019

Good evening JackG, I'm sorry that you found Bistro du Midi to be overpriced. One of our goals is to provide our guests with a wide variety of choices that include more affordable choices and premium options. Both Chef Robert and our sommelier Chris make sure to have on the menu and on the wine list items for every palate and every budget. If you'd like to come back, I will be happy to guide you through our menu personally. My best - Federico

Report
Helpful
B
San Francisco
4 reviews
Dined on March 31, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

There is no better venue in Boston than Bistro du Midi. Ambiance, location, service and food - the full experience is always impeccable.

Bistro du Midi
Responded on April 3, 2019

Thank you so much for the kind words and the nice review Bostonchow! I'm looking forward to seeing you soon again. Best - Federico

Report
Helpful
s
New England
73 reviews
Dined on March 30, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We enjoyed every bite of food, chef really puts out amazing flavors and lovely presentation without going over the top. Chris, the somm, recommended a bottle of wine that was perfectly aligned with what we described as our taste.

Bistro du Midi
Responded on April 3, 2019

Good afternoon sassysaveur, Thank you for the five star review! I am very happy to hear that you had a great time at Bistro du Midi. Both Chef Robert and Chris are very talented and it is a pleasure for me as well to learn about new ingredients, flavors and new wine labels all the time. I am looking forward to hosting you soon again. My best - Federico

Report
Helpful
OT
New England
2 reviews
Dined on March 29, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We just love coming here. Betsy is always fantastic!

Bistro du Midi
Responded on April 3, 2019

Thank you so much for the nice review! Betsy is great in our opinion too! ;)

Report
Helpful
J
New York Area
4 reviews
Dined on March 29, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We loved everything we ordered and our 13 year old grandson thought it was great!

Bistro du Midi
Responded on April 3, 2019

Thank you very much Jane and grandson! :) We are looking forward to seeing you again soon. My best - Federico

Report
Helpful
W
New England
59 reviews
Dined on March 29, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Fast becoming one of my favorite restaurants in Boston. The service is friendly and professional, the food is delicious. Nice wine list and lovely Spring selections.

Report
Helpful
KB
New England
5 reviews
Dined on March 24, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Awesome. Thank you.

Bistro du Midi
Responded on March 27, 2019

Thank you KateB! :)

Report
Helpful
MT
New England
8 reviews
Dined on March 24, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 5

We have dined here several times. It never disappoints. Exceptional food and ambiance. Will return again soon.

Bistro du Midi
Responded on March 27, 2019

Thank you MarkT, I'm glad to hear that! i'm looking forward to seeing you soon again and maybe meet you in person. Please, ask for me next time you are in. Best - Federico

Report
Helpful
V
San Francisco
10 reviews
Dined on March 23, 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 4

We had an interesting dinner. We shared a salad which was excellent and the tagliatelle dish from the appetizers, which I recommend. Then my husband had the halibut and I ordered the bouillabaise. The halibut was nicely cooked (neither raw nor overdone) and the sauce and accompaniments were fine. It was just extremely salty. The bouillabaise, on the other hand, was a bit lacking in flavor and in my opinion was missing a touch of salt. Both dishes were generous in size and both seafood and fish were fresh and not overcooked. I also found it odd that the bouillabaise was served with some tiny pieces of toast and an abundant plate of grated cheese (a no-no) and missing the aioli that most regularly accompanies it. Service was very attentive and the whole experience was otherwise enjoyable.

Bistro du Midi
Responded on March 27, 2019

Hi Violeta1860, Thank you for the review and the feedback! I'm sorry if the main course dishes weren't "spot on". I'm looking forward to hosting you and your husband again and make sure everything will be perfect! Please, ask for me next time you're in. My best - Federico

Report
Helpful
OT
New England
2 reviews
Dined on March 23, 2019
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 2

Lighting was way to bright in dining room and bar . Feels like a bus station really took away from the experience

Report
Helpful
SG
New England
3 reviews
Dined on March 23, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Fun evening. We had a birthday dinner with eight people. The food was superb and beautifully presented: the service was excellent and the ambience festive. I would recommend Bistro du Midi for group celebrations.

Bistro du Midi
Responded on March 27, 2019

Hello SuzanneG and thank you for the five star review and the nice words! I'm glad you had a good time at Bistro du Midi and I'm looking forward to host you and your guests again. My best - Federico

Report
Helpful
SN
New York Area
6 reviews
Dined on March 23, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The dining room overlooking the Boston Public Garden is lovely. It is formal but comfortably so. There were 4 of us and we really did not want to big Entrees they were offering. When we asked if we could see the downstairs menu the waiter could not have been more accommodating and gracious. It's more of an upscale bar menu. 2 of us had the short rib Bistro burgers and 2 had the steak and truffle fries. They also split the 2 arugula and endive salads into individual portions.

Bistro du Midi
Responded on March 27, 2019

Hello SandraN and thank you for the nice review! I'm glad our team was accommodating. We always want to make sure to give our guests what they are looking for and I'm happy to hear that we took care of you and your guests on Saturday. - Federico

Report
Helpful
SS
New England
19 reviews
Dined on March 23, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Perfect spot for a birthday brunch! Really good options. Very nice and courteous staff. Highly recommended!

Bistro du Midi
Responded on March 27, 2019

Thank you very much SomervilleStrong! - Federico

Report
Helpful
F
New England
117 reviews
Dined on March 20, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

I had reserved well ahead for a pre-theater birthday dinner for my husband at our favorite restaurant, so I was disappointed when Bistro du Midi called me a few days before the date in question to ask if we'd be willing to dine downstairs in the Cafe, rather than in the dining room, which had been bought out for a "special event." Since the restaurant was convenient to the theater, and since I didn't have time to investigate an alternative venue, I agreed, though I was concerned the Cafe might prove a bit noisy for what was intended to be a romantic dinner. We were seated at a table at the Cafe's front window, and greeted with a complimentary glass of Prosecco as a thank you for our flexibility. For dinner we shared a mushroom flatbread and the restaurant's signature bouillabaisse -- both delicious -- along with a glass of red wine. We ended our meal with a complimentary birthday dessert -- the pepita financier -- a sweet coda to what turned out to be a lovely and generally quiet celebration. Service was excellent throughout. The pre-theater discounts on food (15%) and valet parking (50%) helped make our evening out a bit more affordable, and the much-appreciated complimentary Prosecco and dessert made it even more special.

Bistro du Midi
Responded on March 27, 2019

Hello Frankophile and thank you very much for the nice review! I'm very happy to hear that we were able to make you feel comfortable and cozy even if our main dining room was booked for the event. I'm sorry again for the hiccup, anyway. Next time, I will make sure to reserve a special table on the second floor for you. You can reach out to me when you make your reservation and I will be very happy to assist and meet you when you'll be in. My best - Federico

Report
Helpful
r
New England
12 reviews
Dined on March 17, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

I think the noise level would have been higher if it had been more crowded, but as it was the evening was perfect. They were out of the bottle of wine we selected, but the sommelier recommended a good substitute. Unfortunately that bottle was corked, and the cork in the next one sank, but they were very gracious about the situation, and the third was the charm. Food was creative and expertly prepared; service was attentive without hovering. The room is lovely, and we had a table overlooking the Public Garden. Terrific experience overall!

Bistro du Midi
Responded on March 19, 2019

Thank you robinr for the nice review! I'm sorry that the wine selection has been a little "hectic", but I'm glad to hear that eventually we were able to make it happen! ;) My best - Federico Salvador

Report
Helpful
OT
New England
4 reviews
Dined on March 17, 2019
Overall 3food 4service 1ambience 4

This is the second time we’ve tried BdM. The food is wonderful and location is great, but we continue to be disappointed with the service. It’s almost like there’s not enough wait staff but there seem to be people walking around. Brunch was not that busy today and we waited at our table for almost 15 minutes before someone came by with water. With lots of choices in the city, I’d recommend another spot unless you have a low bar for service.

Bistro du Midi
Responded on March 19, 2019

Hello, Thank you for your review and your feedback. I'm so sorry to hear that service hasn't been good on both your visits. As much as we do care about prompt service, and it is always my priority to provide constant attention to our guests, we definitely failed on that with your party. I will address that immediately. I also would like to make up for it. Please, reach out to me at the restaurant at your convenience at 617-426-7878 as I wish to apologize personally. My best - Federico Salvador

Report
Helpful
OT
1 review
Dined on March 16, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great thanks Robert!

Bistro du Midi
Responded on March 23, 2019

Thank you very much! Glad you enjoyed your experience at BDM! Chef Robert

Report
Helpful
PP
New England
6 reviews
Dined on March 16, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 5

A wonderful evening. Everything was perfect, and we cant wait to return.

Bistro du Midi
Responded on March 19, 2019

Thank you PatrickP, We can't wait to taking care of you and your guests again! Federico

Report
Helpful
R
New England
3 reviews
Dined on March 16, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

I love the quality of the food and the staff very nice and friendly

Bistro du Midi
Responded on March 19, 2019

Thank you Roya! Best - Federico

Report
Helpful
a
1 review
Dined on March 16, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We enjoyed our meal -- good food, great service, and wonderful views of Boston Common.

Bistro du Midi
Responded on March 27, 2019

Thank you so much amchamp! I'm always happy to hear that we did a good job! :) I'm looking forward to seeing you soon again! Best - Federico

Report
Helpful
n
New England
2 reviews
Dined on March 14, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Pretty good. One if the best dine our Boston I have aver tried. I will come with my friends on regular price.

Bistro du Midi
Responded on March 19, 2019

Thank you nick, I'm glad to hear that! We are looking forward to your next visit, and please, next time you're in, ask for me. My best - Federico

Report
Helpful
BE
New England
36 reviews
Dined on March 13, 2019
Overall 2food 3service 2ambience 3

I expected high-quality, professional service and exquisite food, and instead we got really lackluster service and so-so food. We also were not able to sit in the dining room because it was an Open Table reservation, so we felt like second-class citizens. Seriously disappointed and will never return.

Bistro du Midi
Responded on April 3, 2019

Hello BostonEats, Thank you for your review and the feedback. I am so sorry to read about the disappointing experience you had at Bistro du Midi. Let me apologize for letting you down. We do care about all of our guests, the quality of the food and attentive service. I am not sure why things went so wrong during your visit, but I would love to make up for it. Please, reach out to me at the restaurant at 617-426-7878 since I would like to chat with you personally. My best - Federico Salvador

Report
Helpful
AP
New England
8 reviews
Dined on March 13, 2019
Overall 3food 5service 1ambience 5

I went to Bistro du Midi with a group of 5 for lunch during Dine Out Boston this week. While the food was excellent, we were extremely disappointed by the service. It took our waiter 30 mins just to take our order, after which it took another 30 mins to receive appetizers. Given that this was a work lunch, after an hour and a half we asked for our desserts to go because we simply did not have time for such a long meal. The server then rang up at the dinner price, and we waited 20 minutes while this was sorted out, during which our desserts to go never arrived. After an hour and 45 minutes our meal never came with a third course, and we simply left without receiving dessert at all, which we had all paid for as part of the prix fix lunch. This was very disappointing given the high quality of food and ambiance in the restaurant.

Bistro du Midi
Responded on March 21, 2019

Hello AnnaP, I'm sorry to read about the inattentive service you received on Wednesday. If you have been here before you may have noticed how this is not our standard. No matter what, there is no excuse for such a poor experience, and I want to apologize. Your opinion matter to us and we will be working to make sure that these mistakes won't happen again. Please, reach out to me at your convenience here at the restaurant, at 617-426-7878. My best - Federico Salvador

Report
Helpful
p
1 review
Dined on March 12, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Friendly service and nice interior design. Loved the desserts.

Report
Helpful
MV
New England
2 reviews
Dined on March 11, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 3

Went here for dine out Boston and were floored with the food and the service. I had the spring garlic soup, the lamb, and the panna cotta, and my date had the mussels, the hake, and the frangipane. Everything was prepared perfectly with really interesting ways to bring out the best in every flavor. Will definitely be coming back.

My only complaint is that as the restaurant gets busy, it gets very loud, and the tables are very close together. I had an easier time hearing the conversation at the next table than I did hearing my date speak. The space is not well-designed for acoustics. I intend to request to be seated in a corner next time, or ask about off-peak times for my next visit.

Report
Helpful
OT
Las Vegas
2 reviews
Dined on March 10, 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Always have good dinner here. Thank you

Bistro du Midi
Responded on March 12, 2019

Thank you!! :)

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
67

Tweets by Bistro du Midi