Enable JavaScript to run this app.
Skip to Main Content
OpenTable logo
  1. Home
  2. United States
  3. Los Angeles
  4. Pasadena / San Gabriel
  5. Puente Hills
Benihana - Puente Hills, CA, Los Angeles, CA

Benihana - Puente Hills, CA

4.0
4
3021 Reviews
$30 and under
Japanese
Welcome to Benihana and a dining experience unlike any other! Our guests are seated at communal tables in groups. Watch as we slice and dice, preparing a meal that will dazzle your eyes as well taste buds, whether you choose mouth-watering steak, tender chicken or succulent seafood. You can also enjoy sushi prepared by a talented sushi chef and indulge in a specialty cocktail. Benihana in Puente Hills is beloved by families who have been returning for generations and boasts a loyal following of Benihana fans who enjoy delicious teppanyaki dining as well as fresh and savory sushi. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more. An 18% service charge is added to all guest checks for parties of eight or more. This service charge will be paid directly to the employees who provided service to you.

Make a reservation

2 people

7:00 PM


Booked 53 times today

Order delivery or takeout

Delivery

  • Order online
  • Logo image for Postmates
  • Logo image for Uber Eats

Additional information

  • Dining style

    Casual Dining

  • Cuisines

    Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

  • Hours of operation

    Lunch Daily 11:00 am–3:00 pm Dinner Mon–Thu, Sun 3:00 pm–10:00 pm Fri, Sat 3:00 pm–11:00 pm Happy Hour Mon–Fri 4:00 pm–7:00 pm

  • Phone number

    (626) 912-8784

  • Payment options

    AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

  • Dress code

    Smart Casual

  • Neighborhood

    Puente Hills

  • Cross street

    Azusa Ave

  • Parking details

    Public Lot

  • Additional

    Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Options, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Vegan, Wine

What 3,021 people are saying

Overall ratings and reviews

Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant

4.0
4 based on recent ratings
  • 4.3Food
  • 4Service
  • 4.1Ambience
  • 3.9Value

NoiseModerate

Loved For

  • Pasadena / San Gabriel

    Kid Friendly

  • Pasadena / San Gabriel

    Good for Groups

  • Pasadena / San Gabriel

    Most Booked

Sort by

Filters

  1. SP

    SPEEDYDEEDEE

    Los Angeles

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined today

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Jacob was the best chef ever. Great showmanship. Would always want Jacob to be our chef.
  2. E

    thatEnigma

    San Francisco

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined 3 days ago

    overall4food3service5ambience5
    Food is typically good, but this chef didn’t use much seasoning, so wasn’t as tasty as usual.
  3. EH

    EliasH

    Los Angeles

    7 reviews

    5.0

    7 reviews

    Dined 4 days ago

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    This has always been my favorite location. Great decor and ambience. Very good service from all staff members.
  4. KV

    KimberlyV

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined 5 days ago

    overall3food5service5ambience5
    Overall excellent service the only thing was the wait time for the chef to actually come to our table. We waited about 45 minutes to an hour .
  5. PQ

    PQHY

    Los Angeles

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined 6 days ago

    overall2food2service1ambience5
    I provided my birthday coupon to my waitress and she still forgot it was my birthday. I didn't get a candle on my dessert and did not get my birthday picture taken as well. I was already upset with the horrible service from the waitress being MIA majority of the time so I didn't care to remind her it was my birthday. It was understandable that our wait time for a chef to get to our table could take up to 1 hour, but it did not make sense that chefs were attending the other tables that sat down after us. After we informed the hosts that chefs were going to the tables that sat down after us, the gentleman that worked there with short hair in a white tee kept staring us down. I'm going to assume it was just because we expressed our frustration on why chefs were attending to the tables that sat after us. Benihana should coach their employees to stay on their professional side and if your employees are not on the clock, they should stay off the floor, out of the kitchen and stop staring down customers that express their frustrations! Our chef was great though! He had lots of different tricks that I've never seen before. This horrible experience is just for the waitress, the fact that our table was not being attended to in which we had 4 children at our table by the way and they were starving and for getting that uncomfortable stare down by the short hair in white tee employee that was obviously not on the clock because he kept walking in and out, back and forth and with a bag sometimes, which didn't make sense since he was still walking back and forth majority of the time.
  6. I

    Irene

    Los Angeles

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined 6 days ago

    overall2food4service1ambience4
    I don't understand point of a reservation. My reservation was at 4:30 and food didn't start cooking until 6pm. We sat at our table for an hour with no communication.
  7. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Los Angeles

    4 reviews

    vip
    2.0

    4 reviews

    Dined 7 days ago

    overall2food2service2ambience2
    Last two time waited over one hour for our cook. Our meal was one that is prepared in the kitchen and still had to wait longer.
  8. MM

    MichelleM

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined 7 days ago

    overall4food5service5ambience5
    Benihana works with us that evening! Had an emergency and accommodated the rest of the party. Very Understanding! Thank you.
  9. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Los Angeles

    3 reviews

    3.0

    3 reviews

    Dined 7 days ago

    overall3food5service3ambience4
    Two different chefs. One chef brought the food. Left the table, and another chef arrived 30 min later.

    Benihana - Puente Hills, CAResponded 6 days agoDear Guest Your feedback is appreciated. We will be sure to share your review with the team.

  10. VL

    VickieL

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on June 17, 2022

    overall2food2service1ambience2
    The front desk service no service at all, chef definitely no show

    Benihana - Puente Hills, CAResponded 6 days agoDear VickieL on behalf of our team here at Benihana, we would like to sincerely apologize for your recent visit with us. If you have not done so already, please contact us via the Contact Us page on our website. We want to thank you for taking the time to share your review with us and welcome you to ‘Copy/Paste’ your review in order to save time. We look forward to following up with you.

  11. s

    sidneyl

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on June 17, 2022

    overall2food3service2ambience2
    The hosts are so rude, no smile at all. The food was okay. We were celebrating my mothers birthday but did not feel welcomed. The performance of the cooking was poor. I was very disappointed. When the server came to sing the birthday song, they didn’t bother to wait for us to take out our camera.

    Benihana - Puente Hills, CAResponded 6 days agoDear sidneyl We apologize for your recent visit. To better assist you, please contact our team via the Contact Us page on our website.

  12. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Los Angeles

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on June 15, 2022

    overall4food5service5ambience5
    Celebrate Birthday

    Benihana - Puente Hills, CAResponded 6 days agoDear Guest Thank you for allowing us to be a part of the special occasion!

  13. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Los Angeles

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on June 14, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Excellent meal, our grill chef amazing !!

    Benihana - Puente Hills, CAResponded 6 days agoDear Guest Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are happy to hear that you had a great experience.

  14. m

    miguelm

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on June 12, 2022

    overall1food4service1ambience2
    Had a 2:45pm reservation, we checked in 25 minutes before, got a table around 3:25pm. The waitress took our meal order, but our table chef came out around 5pm. It was ridiculous that we had to wait 1 hour & 35 mins. The manager came out and just said they didn’t have people prepping in the kitchen. Didn’t offer a discount or a free appetizer or anything for the amount we waited.
  15. BE

    BEdC

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on June 12, 2022

    overall3food2service3ambience2
    Inside was extremely hot and uncomfortable. Even before our chef came.
  16. M

    Matt

    Los Angeles

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on June 12, 2022

    overall3food5service4ambience3
    Became too expensive. Will not come back for this reason.
  17. AM

    AliciaM

    Los Angeles

    5 reviews

    1.0

    5 reviews

    Dined on June 10, 2022

    overall1food2service1ambience2
    Like always they were short staff. Cook and waitress were horrible.
  18. MC

    MaureeneC

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on June 10, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Best food ever, great show and great place to celebrate birthdays
  19. DT

    DanielT

    Los Angeles

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on June 9, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    Marcel, thanks for your Excellent Service! You are the BEST !!!
  20. K

    Kct331

    Los Angeles

    15 reviews

    vip
    1.0

    15 reviews

    Dined on June 8, 2022

    overall1food1service1ambience2
    We have been a customer of Benihana for decades. Our recent experience on my wife's birthday was quite possibly my worst dining experience and one I feel compelled to share. The food was bad that night. Over salted, over buttered, unable to eat. The chef was disengaged and quiet, making the normal experience dull. I am aware every restaurant and chef has an off day. We have experienced off-nights over the years, but this was not that. The issue was the management and how they handled the situation. The management seemed bothered by our disappointment. We ate what we could and boxed up what was marginally good. When the manager came out he stated he would remove charges, but made a very public spectacle of the matter by demanding he take back all food in order to be compensated. It made the other party that was sitting with us uncomfortable to the point where they offered their food back as well. When all was said and done, we were presented with a bill that, when the proper tip was added, totaled $200 for my wife, our 3 young kids, and me. This was for a meal we were unable to eat. Fortunately, there are other Benihana locations in the area that we will visit in the future.
  21. SH

    StephanieH

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on June 5, 2022

    overall3food5service3ambience5
    Long wait time despite early arrival for reservation
  22. J

    John

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on June 5, 2022

    overall4food5service4ambience3
    Great Chef Raymond or Raymundo. Had reservations at 6 was seated at 6:20. Food was great or chef was the reason our night at benihana was so good. He had a great attitude and the show was entertaining. The food was what we expect from a great restaurant. I have been coming to this location 4-6 a year for 20+ years. I felt bad for the other tables who had a quiet chef who didnt smile and was their for their hourly wage. Also it looks bad to have more than one person at the front desk just leaning and talking. Someones eye contact and smile is important it shows they want to be there.
  23. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on June 4, 2022

    overall4food5service4ambience3
    Graduation
  24. MR

    MicheleR

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on June 2, 2022

    overall3food4service2ambience3
    Service was poor. Drink refills. Needing service but nobody around. Pre ordered tempura banana and server forgot. Ordered fried rice extra and chef didn’t have enough and gave extra rice to other party

    Benihana - Puente Hills, CAResponded on June 3, 2022Dear MicheleR Thank you for sharing your review. We understand your concern. If you would like to get in touch with our team, please do so via the Contact Us page on our website. Your feedback helps us to make improvements, and we’re hopeful that you will provide us with an opportunity to serve you again. Arigato.

  25. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on May 30, 2022

    overall1food1service1ambience1
    My mother‘s 67th birthday that was ruined from the start had two tables with 16 guess my sister and her kids me and my kids and my granddaughter one table Scott seated in probably 820 minutes before we even got our server to do a little show nothing but poor service an attitude tried to overcharge on kids meals they charge like these little by little nieces $45 adult bills with her wearing the kid hats and have kid drinks the manager did not want to hear it it was real rude worst time ever and we go to that very hot is a lot

    Benihana - Puente Hills, CAResponded on June 3, 2022Dear Guest On behalf of our team here at Benihana we would like to sincerely apologize for the negative experience you encountered, especially while celebrating a special occasion. If you would like to get in touch with our team, please do so via the Contact Us page on our website so we can properly address your concerns.

  26. d

    dianei

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on May 29, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    There was no music while we were there . Our reservation was for 2:15 and we didnt hear music until after 4pm. So, it was on the quiet side, some Japanese or any music would have been better.

    Benihana - Puente Hills, CAResponded on June 3, 2022Dear dianei Thank you for sharing your review. We understand your concern. If you would like to get in touch with our team, please do so via the Contact Us page on our website. Your feedback helps us to make improvements, and we’re hopeful that you will provide us with an opportunity to serve you again. Arigato.

  27. JK

    JuanitaK

    Los Angeles

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on May 29, 2022

    overall4food5service3ambience4
    Slow service at the beginning. Had to ask for water & thought the chef was late in starting to cook. The chef was great in cooking & very entertaining. Had to ask three times for extra steam rice.

    Benihana - Puente Hills, CAResponded on June 3, 2022Dear JuanitaK Thank you for sharing your review. We understand your concern. If you would like to get in touch with our team, please do so via the Contact Us page on our website. Your feedback helps us to make improvements, and we’re hopeful that you will provide us with an opportunity to serve you again. Arigato.

  28. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on May 26, 2022

    overall4food5service5ambience5
    We enjoyed it ♥️our waiter was awesome! Our cook was awesome
  29. EM

    EM22

    Los Angeles

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on May 25, 2022

    overall5food3service5ambience4
    Great waitress! She was thee best helper we have ever had at Benihana's over the multiple years.
  30. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Los Angeles

    5 reviews

    4.0

    5 reviews

    Dined on May 25, 2022

    overall4food3service5ambience3
    Our chef and server were exceptional - probably one of the best we’ve experienced at any Benihanas ever. However, the cleanliness was subpar, as was the quality of the food. There were so many burnt specks on our food that our kid didn’t want to eat it thinking it’s black pepper.

    Benihana - Puente Hills, CAResponded on June 3, 2022Dear Guest Thank you for sharing your review. We understand your concern. If you would like to get in touch with our team, please do so via the Contact Us page on our website. Your feedback helps us to make improvements, and we’re hopeful that you will provide us with an opportunity to serve you again. Arigato.

  31. RL

    RamiroL

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on May 25, 2022

    overall2food1service3ambience1
    I have been going to Benihana's since the 1980's. It made me so sad how bad everything was FOOD ,DRINK and Birthday celebration my ice cream was melted. I always have a Mai Tai .But this time I could tell that the juice was from a can instead of fresh juice. SO SAD!!! The supposedly Chef did not talk & did not do tricks. The supposedly Chef look like he was making Taco's at a house party instead of a Benihana's chef. Like I said before HOW SAD. Thank God I have beautiful memories of the way Benihana's use to be.

    Benihana - Puente Hills, CAResponded on May 26, 2022Dear RamiroL on behalf of our team here at Benihana, we would like to sincerely apologize for your recent visit with us. If you have not done so already, please contact us via the Contact Us page on our website. We want to thank you for taking the time to share your review with us and welcome you to ‘Copy/Paste’ your review in order to save time. We look forward to following up with you.

  32. S

    Starr

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on May 25, 2022

    overall1food1service1ambience1
    I would not return to this Benihana location. The restaurant, at least the lobby area, smelled like sewage. We waited for 30 minutes after our reservation time and left.

    Benihana - Puente Hills, CAResponded on May 26, 2022Dear Starr on behalf of our team here at Benihana, we would like to sincerely apologize for your recent visit with us. If you have not done so already, please contact us via the Contact Us page on our website. We want to thank you for taking the time to share your review with us and welcome you to ‘Copy/Paste’ your review in order to save time. We look forward to following up with you.

  33. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Los Angeles

    7 reviews

    5.0

    7 reviews

    Dined on May 24, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    A birthday celebration with a friend. Everything was excellent!
  34. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on May 24, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience5
    My boyfriend and I went for my birthday. It was a great experience!

    Benihana - Puente Hills, CAResponded on May 26, 2022Dear Guest Thank you for allowing us to be a part of the special occasion!

  35. DL

    DavidL

    Los Angeles

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on May 24, 2022

    overall5food5service5ambience4
    It was a good time. Food was good, but not a Japanese chef! The Latino was good, just not Japanese anymore. Some service took a bit but it was good overall. Waitress tried maybe lack of workers.

    Benihana - Puente Hills, CAResponded on May 25, 2022Dear DavidL We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the dining experience!

  36. f

    frenchy584

    Los Angeles

    25 reviews

    vip
    5.0

    25 reviews

    Dined on May 24, 2022

    overall5food5service3ambience5
    Slow service this time probably due to short help

    Benihana - Puente Hills, CAResponded on May 25, 2022Dear frenchy584 on behalf of our team here at Benihana, we would like to sincerely apologize for your recent visit with us. If you have not done so already, please contact us via the Contact Us page on our website. We want to thank you for taking the time to share your review with us and welcome you to ‘Copy/Paste’ your review in order to save time. We look forward to following up with you.

  37. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Los Angeles

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on May 22, 2022

    overall4food4service2ambience4
    Server was slow ....chef was great

    Benihana - Puente Hills, CAResponded on May 24, 2022Dear Guest Your feedback is appreciated. We will be sure to share your review with the team.

  38. K

    Keithp

    Orange County

    9 reviews

    4.0

    9 reviews

    Dined on May 22, 2022

    overall4food3service5ambience5
    It was good, waitress was very attentive!! Food was ok , fair , he put every item on the grill At once and meals were prepared very out of Order . Mostly it was fair , chef was quiet for most of the time .

    Benihana - Puente Hills, CAResponded on May 24, 2022Dear Keithp Thank you for your feedback! Come back soon!

  39. DH

    DianeH

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on May 21, 2022

    overall1food1service1ambience1
    did not get my food, the waitress kept telling me the it was on its way .

    Benihana - Puente Hills, CAResponded on May 24, 2022Dear DianeH on behalf of our team here at Benihana, we would like to sincerely apologize for your recent visit with us. If you have not done so already, please contact us via the Contact Us page on our website. We want to thank you for taking the time to share your review with us and welcome you to ‘Copy/Paste’ your review in order to save time. We look forward to following up with you.

  40. FG

    FernandoG

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on May 21, 2022

    overall5food4service5ambience4
    Had a large party reservation and the hostess was awesome in trying to keep our party as close as possible. We were seated within 10 minutes of our entire party arriving. Our server was also great, kept our drinks fresh. The food was well prepared and delicious!

    Benihana - Puente Hills, CAResponded on May 24, 2022Dear FernandoG Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are happy to hear that you had a great experience.

Safety precautions

  • Cleaning & sanitizing

    • Surfaces sanitized between seatings
    • Digital, disposable or sanitized menu provided
    • Common areas deep-cleaned daily
    • Sanitizer or wipes provided for customers
  • Screening

    • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace

FAQs

You can order delivery directly from Benihana - Puente Hills, CA using the Order Online button. Benihana - Puente Hills, CA also offers delivery in partnership with Postmates and Uber Eats.

Benihana - Puente Hills, CA is rated 4 stars by 3021 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable.

Make a reservation

2 people

7:00 PM


Booked 53 times today

Order delivery or takeout

Delivery

  • Order online
  • Logo image for Postmates
  • Logo image for Uber Eats
Google Map for Benihana - Puente Hills, CA

17877 Gale Ave. Los Angeles, CA 91748

Additional information

  • Cross street

    Azusa Ave

  • Neighborhood

    Puente Hills

  • Hours of operation

    Lunch Daily 11:00 am–3:00 pm Dinner Mon–Thu, Sun 3:00 pm–10:00 pm Fri, Sat 3:00 pm–11:00 pm Happy Hour Mon–Fri 4:00 pm–7:00 pm

  • Cuisines

    Japanese, Sushi, Steakhouse

  • Dining style

    Casual Dining

  • Dress code

    Smart Casual

  • Parking details

    Public Lot

  • Payment options

    AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

  • Additional

    Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Options, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Vegan, Wine

Copyright © 2022 OpenTable, Inc. 1 Montgomery St Ste 700, San Francisco CA 94104 - All rights reserved.
OpenTable is part of Booking Holdings, the world leader in online travel and related services.
Booking LogoPriceline LogoKAYAK LogoAgoda LogoRentalcars LogoOpenTable Logo